THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread - Page 96 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1122Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
@skylarlove1999 , I think I've come to the conclusion that the HDMI cable I'm using now, can do 1080p 12 bit, but can't handle 4K 12 bit, as proof shown when I switch my sources to output 1080p. Here's the million dollar question though. When my sources are set to output 4K, what is happening with anything I play that is 1080p? The 4K Enhancement is grayed out, so does that mean 1080p content isn't being upscaled to 4K? Or does it mean everything I play is automatically getting the 4K Enhancement, even 1080p, because my sources are set to output 4K?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
@skylarlove1999 , I think I've come to the conclusion that the HDMI cable I'm using now, can do 1080p 12 bit, but can't handle 4K 12 bit, as proof shown when I switch my sources to output 1080p. Here's the million dollar question though. When my sources are set to output 4K, what is happening with anything I play that is 1080p? The 4K Enhancement is grayed out, so does that mean 1080p content isn't being upscaled to 4K? Or does it mean everything I play is automatically getting the 4K Enhancement, even 1080p, because my sources are set to output 4K?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
It means everything you play is automatically getting the 4K Enhancement, even 1080p, because your sources are set to output 4K. You have to make sure your sources within your receiver are set correctly as well. Which I believe yours are.


Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2853 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
It means everything you play is automatically getting the 4K Enhancement, even 1080p, because your sources are set to output 4K. You have to make sure your sources within your receiver are set correctly as well. Which I believe yours are.


Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
The Optical HDMI is coming today, so hopefully when I connect it, that will give me some answers. The only thing I'm concerned about with the new HDMI cable, is the bend I have to make to get it to the back of the projector. I know you don't really want to be bending optical cables too much.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2854 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
BIC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Just received my 6050. I know there's been a lot of talk about dust on the lens. Not sure what to look for, but with bulb on, looking at the lens from the front, sure seems like the lens elements are covered with numerous specs of dust at various depths of the lens. What is it I'm seeing? Thanks.

Epson Pro Cinema 6050 Projector, Screen TBD, Onkyo DX-C390 Six-Disk CD Changer
Triad Silver Speakers (11 in a 7.2.4 configuration), 2 JTR 118HT Subwoofers
Yamaha CX-A5200 11 Channel Processor, Monoprice Monolith 11 Channel Amplifier
Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD Blu-ray, Sony BDX-BP57 Blu-ray, Oppo DV-981HD, Harmony Elite Remote
BIC2 is offline  
post #2855 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
The Optical HDMI is coming today, so hopefully when I connect it, that will give me some answers. The only thing I'm concerned about with the new HDMI cable, is the bend I have to make to get it to the back of the projector. I know you don't really want to be bending optical cables too much.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Just be gentle I have several bends in my run from my AV cabinet to my projector. I am confident unless you are bending it in half you should be fine.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2856 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIC2 View Post
Just received my 6050. I know there's been a lot of talk about dust on the lens. Not sure what to look for, but with bulb on, looking at the lens from the front, sure seems like the lens elements are covered with numerous specs of dust at various depths of the lens. What is it I'm seeing? Thanks.
As far as I know you are seeing the magnification of dust by the optical lens. Mine was the same way. There is so much almost microscopic dust in our indoor environments.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2857 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Just be gentle I have several bends in my run from my AV cabinet to my projector. I am confident unless you are bending it in half you should be fine.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
I need close to a 90° bend.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2858 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I need close to a 90° bend.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
I have two 90 degree bends because I tacked the fiber optic HDMI to my walls behind my drop ceiling

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2859 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,143
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12264 Post(s)
Liked: 9868
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
The projector should be level with Earth and use the vertical shift to move the image up and down

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
If you want to get picky, the internal optics should be perpendicular with the vertical and horizontal plane of the screen. One because the projector level and the optics level are usually not exactly the same. Two, if the screen is not perfectly level in both planes, then the projector optics should not be level. In the old days, when dealing with projectors that did not have vertical lens shift/fixed offsets, often times you angled the screen bottom up and tilted the projector down so that you would get a perfect rectangular image and be able to place the projector higher than the fixed offset.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #2860 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
I have two 90 degree bends because I tacked the fiber optic HDMI to my walls behind my drop ceiling

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Ah, great. That's good to know.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2861 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
If you want to get picky, the internal optics should be perpendicular with the vertical and horizontal plane of the screen. One because the projector level and the optics level are usually not exactly the same. Two, if the screen is not perfectly level in both planes, then the projector optics should not be level. In the old days, when dealing with projectors that did not have vertical lens shift/fixed offsets, often times you angled the screen bottom up and tilted the projector down so that you would get a perfect rectangular image and be able to place the projector higher than the fixed offset.
Truer words have never been spoken . What you describe is very hard for us mere mortals to achieve so I try to make the screen as true as possible to the lens and use a level for aligning the projector with the screen. It works pretty well.



Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2862 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Okay, so I hooked up the new cable. When I set the Nvidia Shield to output 4K, I'm not getting HDR, only SDR. When I switch the Shield to output 1080p, then I get 12 bit HDR. Does this make any sense?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2863 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
This is an HDR UHD demo video that I'm running through Kodi, on the Nvidia Shield. The only way I can get 12 bit HDR, is to set the Shield to output 1080p. If it's set to 4K, then I get 8 bit HDR.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2864 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Same results with the Xfinity box. The only way to get higher than 8 bit, is to set the output to 1080p.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2865 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
This is an HDR UHD demo video that I'm running through Kodi, on the Nvidia Shield. The only way I can get 12 bit HDR, is to set the Shield to output 1080p. If it's set to 4K, then I get 8 bit HDR.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
You are definitely having an issue since you should never have REC 709 SDR in the same line as HDR10 as you do in the last photo. My guess is some type of handshake issue in your chain. Plug the cable directly from the Nvidia Shield into the projector . See if you can get 12Bit HDR. It is frustrating. Sorry it wasn't an easy fix.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2866 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
You are definitely having an issue since you should never have REC 709 SDR in the same line as HDR10 as you do in the last photo. My guess is some type of handshake issue in your chain. Plug the cable directly from the Nvidia Shield into the projector . See if you can get 12Bit HDR. It is frustrating. Sorry it wasn't an easy fix.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
This is with the Shield directly to the projector, and the Shield set to output 4K.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2867 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
And that's with the Shield directly connected to the projector, but set to output 1080p.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2868 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I'm plugged into HDMI 1 on the back of the projector, if that matters.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2869 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
And that's with the Shield directly connected to the projector, but set to output 1080p.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
It shouldn't. HDMI 1 and 2 on the 5050 are both 4K/60FPS 18GBPS . Maybe go buy a RoKu 4k player from best Buy that you can return. Or 4k player and test your cable with and without the receiver in the chain. I am not sure which part isn't working. I don't believe it is the projector. Or just stand under the projector and connect the Shield directly to the projector with a 6ft 4K HDMI CABLE and see what are the results. Then if that is successful move the receiver within the same distance and add that back to the chain using the same cables. I know it is all a gigantic pain in the butt.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2870 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
It shouldn't. HDMI 1 and 2 on the 5050 are both 4K/60FPS 18GBPS . Maybe go buy a RoKu 4k player from best Buy that you can return. Or 4k player and test your cable with and without the receiver in the chain. I am not sure which part isn't working. I don't believe it is the projector. Or just stand under the projector and connect the Shield directly to the projector with a 6ft 4K HDMI CABLE and see what are the results. Then if that is successful move the receiver within the same distance and add that back to the chain using the same cables. I know it is all a gigantic pain in the butt.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
The Nvidia Shield is a 4K player, and so is the Xfinity box. Both are doing the same thing.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2871 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
The Nvidia Shield is a 4K player, and so is the Xfinity box. Both are doing the same thing.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
I would try either one then by using a shorter cable directly to the projector. I know you saw my results with my UHD player and Roku Ultra player. Your results should be the same. I know you want to rip your hair out if you have any.
It is quite maddening.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2872 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
That's the Shield set to output 4K, using a shorter high speed cable, that I used in my old setup before I got the projector. Does everything look right now?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2873 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
That's the Shield set to output 4K, using a shorter high speed cable, that I used in my old setup before I got the projector. Does everything look right now?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Yes it is looking better. It is still so tough because we don't know what Netflix agreement with Nvidia is for HDR content. That is the only reason I suggested the Roku Ultra because it is then an apples to apples comparison with my setup using Denon and only real difference would be the cable. This is Netflix through the Roku for the Highwaymen.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2874 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
That's the Shield set to output 4K, using a shorter high speed cable, that I used in my old setup before I got the projector. Does everything look right now?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
still not the same exact signal as mine but that could be Netflix on Nvidia.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2875 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Okay, so I went in to the settings of the Shield, and set the default display mode to the one in the picture. Here's what I'm getting now on Netflix.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2876 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Okay, so I went in to the settings of the Shield, and set the default display mode to the one in the picture. Here's what I'm getting now on Netflix.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
There you go that's the highest I've seen Netflix in terms of what you should and any streaming service as far as I know currently available maybe now hook up the cable again the long one and see if it works if you haven't already

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2877 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
There you go that's the highest I've seen Netflix in terms of what you should and any streaming service as far as I know currently available maybe now hook up the cable again the long one and see if it works if you haven't already

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Everything I've tried watching, is now showing as 12 bit, even 1080p content. Is that right? Also, after reconnecting the new HDMI cable, everything is still good. Next step is to add back the receiver in the chain.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2878 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I added the receiver back in the mix, and now I'm only getting 10 bit HDR. What could that be ?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #2879 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I added the receiver back in the mix, and now I'm only getting 10 bit HDR. What could that be ?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Similar to the EDI d setting to enhance for the projector there is a similar setting for the Denon receiver that you might have not set to highest output. It also seems a bit strange to me that with 1080p content you're showing the HDR BT 2020 in the projector info that doesn't make sense to me since there is no 1080p content that would have the encode for that color space

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #2880 of 3415 Old 08-23-2019, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
Similar to the EDI d setting to enhance for the projector there is a similar setting for the Denon receiver that you might have not set to highest output. It also seems a bit strange to me that with 1080p content you're showing the HDR BT 2020 in the projector info that doesn't make sense to me since there is no 1080p content that would have the encode for that color space

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
1080p content can be output in 12 V that is accurate it would be more the color space meaning Rec 709 vs. BT 2020 that you want to make sure that matches up between SDR content and HDR content

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5050 , Epson , frame interpolation , motion smoothing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off