THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1341Likes

post #3841 of 4633 Old 10-14-2019, 12:18 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggydeen
So just got word from Epson on my newly 6050ub with a dead pixel in it. They said 1 dead pixel is not eligible for DOA procedure... They only start DOA when there are 5(!!) dead pixels.

Strange thing is that this dead pixel is only visible when switching sources. And when my PC is attached, I can only see it when browsing in chrome but not when playing movies.

Anyway, i'm contacting Epson again about this because no way i'm paying several thousand euro's for a machine with a dead pixel...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luminated67 View Post
I’m no expert in such matters but I would have thought if you have a dead pixel it would be even seen on the startup screen or in fact any screen or source material, are you 100% certain it’s not an issue with a cable.

When you say switching source, do you mean switching by your AVR?

Another non-expert opinion.... If it were me, I wouldn't be suspecting a dead pixel but possibly a screen artifact, especially if it's not present at ALL TIMES. Does it disappear if you move right up to the screen and then move your point of view a foot or two left and right? Alternatively, if it only appears when switching sources or with a PC, then I'd, also, suspect a cable issue as Laminated67.

Panasonic DP-UB820, Marantz AV7704, Epson 5050UB, Stewart Firehawk 16x9 82"; Amplifiers: Parasound HCA 1000A, Parasound HCA 1206; Speakers: Paradigm Monitor v.4 (R/L/BR/BL) ADP-370 (SS), Premier 600C, Hsu sub VTF-2 Mk5; Power Condition: Adcom ACE 315 & 515, Tripplite HT7300PC & HTRL15UPS; Other Sources: Pioneer CLD-D606 & DVL-919, JVC HR-S9600U; Redmere Elite HDMI cable, Monster Mi.2S speaker cable, Kimber Kable interconnects.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement