THE Epson 5050UB/6050UB Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 258 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2984Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7711 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 04:13 PM
Member
 
pete ramberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: montana
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Oh yes, that was the first thing I did. We've had it less than two months, and the filter basically looked brand new when I checked it, no dust at all.
OK - was hoping for a quick fix for you.
skylarlove1999 likes this.
pete ramberg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7712 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete ramberg View Post
OK - was hoping for a quick fix for you.
Thank you, Pete. A quick fix would definitely have been awesome...
skylarlove1999 likes this.
Fox1966 is offline  
post #7713 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 04:22 PM
Member
 
pete ramberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: montana
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Thank you, Pete. A quick fix would definitely have been awesome...
Years ago, I had to send an Epson 5020UB in and they (support) were quick and efficient in getting a new unit to me. Just FYI.
Fox1966 likes this.
pete ramberg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7714 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Thanks Pete, I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
Fox1966 is offline  
post #7715 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustolemite View Post
This is the cable I am using to run from my AVR to my Epson which is about 40ft.
The times I have had the HDMI ports stop working it never affected the cable or the HDMI on other devices that are connected to the AVR with passive cables.
Its always the ports on the AVR and usually the port on the Epson the cable is connected too.



https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1



That is a good cable. I suspect power issues. Is the AVR/Processor and the projector on the same circuit? Might be there in the panel, or if you have a lot of outages, I would look at something like an AudioQuest Power 3. Not sure how a fiber optic would do this, but? Glad the others are happy with Blue Jeans, use what works.

Marantz AV8805 Oppo UDP-205 Panasonic UB9000 B&K 200.7 S2 Marantz MM7055 M&K S-150THX 7.2.4 w/350 SVS3000 subs Furman IT-REF 15I Apple 4K TV Epson 5050UB Audioquest wire
misterg51 is online now  
post #7716 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 11:10 PM
Member
 
twinturbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Nvidia Shield Settings > Marantz SR7011 > 6050ub

Hey guys
I'm a first time owner of an Epson projector and excited to be part of the group!

I have a 2019 Nvidia Shield + Marantz SR7011 + 6050ub . I couldnt find in this LONG thread the optimal resolution/hz/hdr settings for my Shield/6050ub combo.

I assume the Marantz should have zero video processing. But should I set my Shield artificially to 1080p and let the Epson do "4K enhancement", or should I set the Shield to 4K? I played around with different options, and i cant seem to make up my mind which one is better.

Ideally the Shield is in 4K, because I also use it on my regular 4K TV during day-time use.

If the Shield is 4K, should i choose one of the presented "default resolution options" such as 4k 59fps (or 1080p 23fps HDR etc.....,) or, should i dig in deeper in the long list of resolutions to choose something else with HDR? (I have fiber optic HDMI 2.0 cables)

Finally two more questions: (1) if the Shield is 4K and the Epson option for 4K enhancement is greyed out, am i still getting faux4k / lens shifting, (2) do you guys turn on the Nvidia Ai / resolution sharpening stuff?


THANKS!!

Last edited by twinturbo11; 06-28-2020 at 11:16 PM.
twinturbo11 is offline  
post #7717 of 7830 Old 06-28-2020, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1261 Post(s)
Liked: 1079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Thanks Luminated67. I just want a replacement as fast as humanly possible, ideally a new one (not refurbished) since this one is practically brand new itself. I know these things happen, but this additional stress is something I didn't need right now.
I don’t know what US policy is but here in the UK beyond 30 days it’s repair not replace. Frankly I would actually prefer it repair than a new machine that might happen again, with a repair they check everything out so the fault shouldn’t happen again and in my case I’m 14-15 months in after the repair and touch wood never missed a beat.
Fox1966 likes this.

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)

Movie Image collection
Luminated67 is offline  
post #7718 of 7830 Old 06-29-2020, 07:26 AM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Well, I called Epson this morning. Spoke to someone who simply said the unit would have to be replaced. I very nicely explained my situation and why I felt that I should be receiving a new unit and not a refurbished one from "B" stock....she put me on hold and said she checked and there were "no new units in stock to send." They show in stock on Epson's website though.

She then told me that it would take up to two days for someone else to call me and get my credit card info for the "credit card hold" before they would ship, and then another 3 to 5 days to ship and receive.

Does this sound right? From the experience of others that I've read through, I thought Epson got these out pretty much same day?

*Update: They already called me back, and said the refurbished unit will likely ship out today, 2nd day via Fed-Ex. Keeping fingers crossed that this all works out and I'm as happy with the unit they send as I was with this unit before it crapped out. I'll post an update when there is something to update.

Last edited by Fox1966; 06-29-2020 at 08:06 AM.
Fox1966 is offline  
post #7719 of 7830 Old 06-29-2020, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
covsound1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Well, I called Epson this morning. Spoke to someone who simply said the unit would have to be replaced. I very nicely explained my situation and why I felt that I should be receiving a new unit and not a refurbished one from "B" stock....she put me on hold and said she checked and there were "no new units in stock to send." They show in stock on Epson's website though.

She then told me that it would take up to two days for someone else to call me and get my credit card info for the "credit card hold" before they would ship, and then another 3 to 5 days to ship and receive.

Does this sound right? From the experience of others that I've read through, I thought Epson got these out pretty much same day?

*Update: They already called me back, and said the refurbished unit will likely ship out today, 2nd day via Fed-Ex. Keeping fingers crossed that this all works out and I'm as happy with the unit they send as I was with this unit before it crapped out. I'll post an update when there is something to update.
Very sorry for you hope this all works out
Fox1966 likes this.
covsound1 is online now  
post #7720 of 7830 Old 06-29-2020, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
rollon1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Tonight my two month old 5050 shut itself down in the middle of a movie, the fan came on super loud, and the blue status and orange temp lights began flashing. The fan ran for about 5 mins, but the lights continued to flash. I unplugged it. Waited about 5 or 10 mins, tried it again, and same thing. Waited about 40 minutes and tried it again, and it seemed to come on and work normally, but I didn't have time to check it out more than 5 minutes, so I don't know if the same thing will happen again when it runs awhile. Has this happened to anyone else? According to Epsons' site, this error means "fan or sensor" error. Pretty worried about my new projector, we love it and really not looking forward to having to send an essentially new projector in for repair
Remove lamp and re-install it. It can be due to a lamp that is not properly sitting in the unit / has been knocked out of place. It could also be a faulty lamp. The ballast on these units does not have a known issue but it could be that if reinstalling the lamp (or failing that replacing it) does not solve your issue.
Fox1966, covsound1 and Luminated67 like this.
rollon1980 is offline  
post #7721 of 7830 Old 06-29-2020, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Fox1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by covsound1 View Post
Very sorry for you hope this all works out
Covsound1, thank you...
covsound1 and skylarlove1999 like this.
Fox1966 is offline  
post #7722 of 7830 Old 06-30-2020, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
covsound1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Covsound1, thank you...
If you have a 5050 and they send you a 6050 that might be a lucky option for you. But there is nothing like having your original unit that was brand new in the box. From your info you stated that they took your credit card information so you still have your original unit. I would recommend when the refurbished unit arrives and if not new swap the lamp and check to see if it is stable. When you unpluged the your unit youmay not have accounted for,you may have had a brown out condition or under volt which will throw a fault. The power companies do this all this all the time especially at night. I am telling you this because I had this happen to Me Too! Knock on wood she is still running strong with 600+ hours.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Fox1966 likes this.
covsound1 is online now  
post #7723 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 02:00 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I bought an elite screen 125 2.35.1 and this thing is amazing, to be able to change the aspect ratio. Unfortunately the lens memory to me is not accurate. I have all the time to make micro adjustment. To 2.35.1 I don’t know how is accurate. But when I try the 16.9 after I followed the epson instructions is returning to previous same off position. I save it in different memory slots but is still by little off. I remember somebody in this forum have the same problem. Did he resolve it. Maybe I got a lemon? I wrote to epson support, let’s see what they gonna say. And again I followed the instructions somebody post here from the support page of the lens position on epson.

This guy here he makes micro adjustment so easy and he is able to save it. To me even I saved it I have to adjust my little again.
covsound1 likes this.

Last edited by vagos1103gr1; 07-01-2020 at 02:07 AM.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #7724 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 02:36 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post
I bought an elite screen 125 2.35.1 and this thing is amazing, to be able to change the aspect ratio. Unfortunately the lens memory to me is not accurate. I have all the time to make micro adjustment. To 2.35.1 I don’t know how is accurate. But when I try the 16.9 after I followed the epson instructions is returning to previous same off position. I save it in different memory slots but is still by little off. I remember somebody in this forum have the same problem. Did he resolve it. Maybe I got a lemon? I wrote to epson support, let’s see what they gonna say. And again I followed the instructions somebody post here from the support page of the lens position on epson.

This guy here he makes micro adjustment so easy and he is able to save it. To me even I saved it I have to adjust my little again.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WCk1PqZ4HQ
I make a quick video with my problem.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #7725 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 03:08 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post
I bought an elite screen 125 2.35.1 and this thing is amazing, to be able to change the aspect ratio. Unfortunately the lens memory to me is not accurate. I have all the time to make micro adjustment. To 2.35.1 I don’t know how is accurate. But when I try the 16.9 after I followed the epson instructions is returning to previous same off position. I save it in different memory slots but is still by little off. I remember somebody in this forum have the same problem. Did he resolve it. Maybe I got a lemon? I wrote to epson support, let’s see what they gonna say. And again I followed the instructions somebody post here from the support page of the lens position on epson.

This guy here he makes micro adjustment so easy and he is able to save it. To me even I saved it I have to adjust my little again.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WCk1PqZ4HQ
There's nothing wrong with your projector. Just accept that Epson's lens memory isn't perfect. I've 6 saved lens memory positions for different aspect ratios. Some are better than others, but I'll have to adjust almost all of them a little bit when not using my anamorphic lens. This guy's adjustments are also not perfect. You'll have to use the internal test pattern to judge accurately, not a still picture from a movie. He's overshooting on all 4 sides of the screen as the movie has a 2.40:1 aspect ratio, that's why an inch to any of the sides is not noticeable in this clip. His 16:9 image seems shifted more to the right.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: OPPO UDP-203, OPPO BDP-103D, OPPO BDP-95 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4
dimi123 is offline  
post #7726 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
aoaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox1966 View Post
Thanks Luminated67. I just want a replacement as fast as humanly possible, ideally a new one (not refurbished) since this one is practically brand new itself. I know these things happen, but this additional stress is something I didn't need right now.


I had the same issue 17 days into purchase and was gutted.

Ended up returning it as there were no new 9400s/6050ubs in the stock... so I think the shortage for this PJ is real.

Its an amazing PJ but sadly it caught me on the wrong day where I was pissed off so I just returned it.

Display: 77'' CX LG OLED, Valve Index, Sony PJ + Draper React 3.0 ALR
Audio: Arendal 1723S Tower S, 1723S Centre, 1723S Surrounds, KEF Q50a, BK Monolith Plus
Powered by: RTX 2080/8086k, Denon AVR, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch

Last edited by aoaaron; 07-01-2020 at 04:59 AM.
aoaaron is online now  
post #7727 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
There's nothing wrong with your projector. Just accept that Epson's lens memory isn't perfect. I've 6 saved lens memory positions for different aspect ratios. Some are better than others, but I'll have to adjust almost all of them a little bit when not using my anamorphic lens. This guy's adjustments are also not perfect. You'll have to use the internal test pattern to judge accurately, not a still picture from a movie. He's overshooting on all 4 sides of the screen as the movie has a 2.40:1 aspect ratio, that's why an inch to any of the sides is not noticeable in this clip. His 16:9 image seems shifted more to the right.
Epson doesn’t think the same.
I just received an email from them after my inquiry to them:

Lens memory position failed most of the time.
I tried many times for 16:9 and 2.35.1 to save the lens memory potition but most of the time I need to make micro adjustments. I saw somewhere on youtube that user was successful save the lens memory no matter how adjust it. To me fail most of the time. Propably a fail unit?
Answer from epson:

Unfortunately, the issue you are describing points towards an unrecoverable internal error with the projector and the unit will likely need to be replaced.
To return back to the dealer for a new one or to epson for a refurbished one?
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #7728 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post
Epson doesn’t think the same.
I just received an email from them after my inquiry to them:

Lens memory position failed most of the time.
I tried many times for 16:9 and 2.35.1 to save the lens memory potition but most of the time I need to make micro adjustments. I saw somewhere on youtube that user was successful save the lens memory no matter how adjust it. To me fail most of the time. Propably a fail unit?
Answer from epson:

Unfortunately, the issue you are describing points towards an unrecoverable internal error with the projector and the unit will likely need to be replaced.
To return back to the dealer for a new one or to epson for a refurbished one?
I have three Epson units and they all behave the same. It's normal. Try moving the lens horizontally in one direction and save the position afterwards. You will need to do this more than once. I would exchange the Epson only for a new unit, not for a refurbished one. Good luck!

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: OPPO UDP-203, OPPO BDP-103D, OPPO BDP-95 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4
dimi123 is offline  
post #7729 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi123 View Post
I have three Epson units and they all behave the same. It's normal. Try moving the lens horizontally in one direction and save the position afterwards. You will need to do this more than once. I would exchange the Epson only for a new unit, not for a refurbished one. Good luck!
My offset is little bit vertical and needs little zoom out. No matter what save I do is going back in my first setup 16:9 ratio. I tried to erase the lens position but nothing. I didn’t try yet to reset the settings.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #7730 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post
My offset is little bit vertical and needs little zoom out. No matter what save I do is going back in my first setup 16:9 ratio. I tried to erase the lens position but nothing. I didn’t try yet to reset the settings.
Try adjusting for zoom first and save, then adjust vertically and save and lastly adjust horizontally and save. Always move the lens in one direction with at least 6 clicks.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: OPPO UDP-203, OPPO BDP-103D, OPPO BDP-95 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4
dimi123 is offline  
post #7731 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luminated67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1261 Post(s)
Liked: 1079
I must be a lucky one because my lens memory seems to hit the mark pretty close and by close I mean with in 4-5mm.

Epson EH-TW9400 - QualGear Fixed Frame 100” - Sony x700 BRP & Panasonic 420 BRP - Sony 1080 AVR - IPL Acoustics M1TLs & IPL Acoustics AVC Pro Centre, Four KEF surrounds & 2 Sub boxes (10” Sub + 10” Passive Radiator)

Movie Image collection
Luminated67 is offline  
post #7732 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
rustolemite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 146
In case anybody is wondering the 1.03 update it back on the US Epson website.

Has anybody else have anymore "Handshake" issues after updating to the new firmware?


Thanks

VIDEO: Epson 5050UB * SeymourAV CenterStage XD 137.7"
AUDIO: Yamaha RX-A3080 * PSA MTM-210T (3) * PSA MTM-110 (2) Surrounds * Klipsch RP-500SA (4) * HSU VTF-3MK4
MEDIA: Nvidia Shield * Xbox One X * HTPC * Media Server PC (40TB) * URC MX-990
http://www.invelos.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rustolamite
rustolemite is offline  
post #7733 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
HTX^2steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tampa - Florida
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Don't get me going on that lens memory crap. If you search my back posts you will see what Epson sent me regarding what everyone has been saying to half ass fix it. It does suck that we spend mucho cashola on this pretty projector and for us out there that switch between aspect ratios does put a damper on things. Epson doesn't give a crap about it so here we are. I wouldn't waste your time sending it back and then having it do the same thing you would just be going in circles.

HTPC 5.1.2 on a budget...Epson 5050UB/120"-16x9+DIY black velvet mask 2:35:1, 4-13.5" JL-Audio Subs, 4-10" JBL Woofers, 4 - Polk Surrounds, JBL Center, 2- Polk Presence speakers, 2 - Yamaha Atmos speakers, Adcom Sub Amp 555MKII, Yamaha Receiver TSR-7810, COVID-19 FREE Theater
HTX^2steve is online now  
post #7734 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
JonfromCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Council Bluffs Iowa
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustolemite View Post
In case anybody is wondering the 1.03 update it back on the US Epson website.

Has anybody else have anymore "Handshake" issues after updating to the new firmware?


Thanks
Well, kind-of. I'm using a 50' Ruipro. Sometimes I leave the PJ off and listen to Music Choice (via my cable provider), or turn the PJ off and leave the cable music source on. Since the update my Denon AVR isn't recognizing my cable box unless the PJ is on.
JonfromCB is online now  
post #7735 of 7830 Old 07-01-2020, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTX^2steve View Post
Don't get me going on that lens memory crap. If you search my back posts you will see what Epson sent me regarding what everyone has been saying to half ass fix it. It does suck that we spend mucho cashola on this pretty projector and for us out there that switch between aspect ratios does put a damper on things. Epson doesn't give a crap about it so here we are. I wouldn't waste your time sending it back and then having it do the same thing you would just be going in circles.
Can you sent me a link of your previous post about this? For me this is a big deal and maybe I have to return it back to the dealer.
I email the dealer about the issue and responded to call epson. Since my 30 days didn’t passed already I will insist to return to them.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #7736 of 7830 Old 07-02-2020, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I scaled epson for the exchange and I asked them if they gonna sent me a refurbished unit or new. They told me they gonna sent me a new one. Should I trust them? From where I will know if the unit is not refurbished? I fixed the aspect ratio for both 16:9 and 2.35.1 now by a little bit off.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #7737 of 7830 Old 07-02-2020, 10:49 AM
Member
 
tomtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 27
To avoid digging through the lengthy thread, is the Peerless-AV PRG-UNV a good mount for 5050ub? Going in dedicated room with 10 ft. ceilings, and may be upgrading from 133" to a 150" screen that i would prefer to keep 18" or so from floor to avoid craning neck upward (current 133" screen about 26" from floor now to fit dual power sound audio subs i will have to move). Not sure if i understand epson calculator well enough to be sure i can accomplish this. I would expect I would be adding a pipe to lower mount a little, maybe 6-9 inches long. Want the sturdiest connection to ceiling i can get as I live in home built on pilings in an often windy climate.
This is what I've found for mount components:

1. Mount
https://www.amazon.com/Peerless-AV-P..._t1_B00GYUQT8C

2. Joist attachment
https://www.amazon.com/Peerless-ACC5...Y6F0ZYPGX7Y7SN

3. Pipe extension
https://www.amazon.com/Peerless-Indu...M7X6QB612GGJ95
tomtoo is offline  
post #7738 of 7830 Old 07-02-2020, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
dimi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post
I scaled epson for the exchange and I asked them if they gonna sent me a refurbished unit or new. They told me they gonna sent me a new one. Should I trust them? From where I will know if the unit is not refurbished? I fixed the aspect ratio for both 16:9 and 2.35.1 now by a little bit off.
I wouldn't risk it if your Epson has good convergence, sharpness and no dead pixels or dust blobs. There is always a chance that even a new one will have some of these problems.
skylarlove1999 likes this.

PJ: Epson EH-TW9300W | Screen: 135" 2.40 Stewart StudioTek 100 | Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic Cinomorph P-100M | AVR: Denon AVR-X7200WA | Amp: 3x Naim Nait 5si Stereo Amplifier| HTPC: Intel Core i7, GTX1080Ti | BR Player: OPPO UDP-203, OPPO BDP-103D, OPPO BDP-95 | Speakers: JBL Studio L Series, 7.2.4
dimi123 is offline  
post #7739 of 7830 Old 07-02-2020, 10:57 AM
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Honey Brook Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,171
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2276 Post(s)
Liked: 2439
Quote:
Originally Posted by vagos1103gr1 View Post
I scaled epson for the exchange and I asked them if they gonna sent me a refurbished unit or new. They told me they gonna sent me a new one. Should I trust them? From where I will know if the unit is not refurbished? I fixed the aspect ratio for both 16:9 and 2.35.1 now by a little bit off.
The next projector is not going to be that much better if any in fact it could be worse you just need to overscan a little bit that's why there's a feature on the projector for overscan or you can just do it manually lastly you guys were chasing Perfection you need to buy a television instead for real

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Terence and dimi123 like this.
skylarlove1999 is offline  
post #7740 of 7830 Old 07-02-2020, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 42
When I go to the service menu says total operation time 59h and lamp op time 84h. Which one is correct? Definitely I don’t have 84 h on the pj. Maybe they sold me a slightly used?
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
5050 , 5050ub , Epson , frame interpolation , motion smoothing , shieldtv , strdn1080

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off