Forum Jump: 
 3Likes

post #1 of 35 Old 12-06-2019, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Project newbie

I am new to the projector world and am looking at getting my first projector.
I would mainly be using it for my Xbox One S (games and Netflix mostly).
The room will have some ambient light with the ability to block most but not all.
I have been researching myself in circles with everything to consider.
My price range is around $800 USD.
I have seen many reviews on the Optoma GT1080Darbee for its gaming performance and DarbeeVision and found that a successor was recently released, the GT1080HDR.

So I am at a toss-up between two projectors: the GT1080Darbee and GT1080HDR. (Unless I am totally off, in which case I am open to suggestions)
Due to the HDR one being released recently there are not many reviews out for it. From what I have been able to find people have stated the Darbee will have better depth due to the DarbeeVision. But my assumption would be that the HDR would be better as it is the successor of the Darbee and by the specs, it looks like a significant upgrade.
Does the HDR have DarbeeVision capabilities or something similar?
Or is the HDR just all-around better or worse?

Again, open to suggestions.
Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 Old 12-07-2019, 12:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Liked: 596