The official Theta Owners Thread - Page 353 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1359Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10561 of 13178 Old 05-31-2016, 03:22 PM
Member
 
DinsdalePiranha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannga View Post
1. Interesting question. Have you actually tried, HDMI out from your TV to Casablanca, and it doesn't work?

2. I use a separate box for streaming and would vote for this. It's simple and cheap enough.

BTW in my experience, Dolby Digital Plus is good but it is NO match for the full lossless audio of Blu-ray. 192 kbps means there is a huge amount lossy compression, and unfortunately Cable Companies & Internet Service Providers will keep it there for foreseeable future. We watched first four seasons of Game of Thrones on Blu-ray's and were so disappointed when we switched to streaming subsequently.



I haven’t tried it yet, but will when my 2nd 10m HDMI cable arrives in a few days. I suspect that a run from SONY ARC-enabled HDMI in to any CB HDMI in jack will work. If not, there’s also a TOS output on the set. From what I understand, ARC does NOT support the new lossless codecs anyway, so a TOS fallback might yield results identical to ARC.

With streaming apps moving to 4K and HDR, running them natively on the Smart-TV might be the best overall Audio / Video solution. I’ll have my opinion on the matter soon ……
DinsdalePiranha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10562 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post
The best quality is currently only through analog as there are no software decoders with digital outs. Bob Stuart is saying the even without MQA being decoded it will still sound better than what we have been streaming. Right now, to hear full quality MQA, there will need to be hardware inside the box.
To put this more broadly, for best quality the MQA decoder needs to "know the DAC" which means a customised-to-DAC hardware solution will always be best.

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #10563 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Forgive me if I missed it but has there been any update on ATI's deployment of Hypex NC500-based amps?

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10564 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thezaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Laveen, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post
Forgive me if I missed it but has there been any update on ATI's deployment of Hypex NC500-based amps?
Good question. I tried looking at the website, but both the ATI and Theta websites have been down since yesterday. I phoned ATI yesterday and they noticed the problem, but both websites are still down today...

Dave
thezaks is online now  
post #10565 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stereojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Whittier, CA USA
Posts: 1,739
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Websites are up and running now.

Jeff
Stereojeff is offline  
post #10566 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stereojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Whittier, CA USA
Posts: 1,739
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post
Forgive me if I missed it but has there been any update on ATI's deployment of Hypex NC500-based amps?
ATI NC-500 based amplifier availability: Soon.

Jeff
Stereojeff is offline  
post #10567 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,324
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereojeff View Post
Websites are up and running now.

Jeff
What websites?

Rod#S is offline  
post #10568 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod#S View Post
What websites?
Originally Posted by stevekale
Forgive me if I missed it but has there been any update on ATI's deployment of Hypex NC500-based amps?
Good question. I tried looking at the website, but both the ATI and Theta websites have been down since yesterday. I phoned ATI yesterday and they noticed the problem, but both websites are still down today...

Dave

Current Equipment: Datasat LS10 w/ Atmos and DIRAC. ATI 6005, AT527NC, Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), SR3's sides, LR3's (rears), Seaton Submersive HP, Marantz VP15s1, 123" diag 16:9 Stewart Cima Neve screen, Oppo BDP-103, Palliser Flicks Theater Seating AC Power: Eaton whole-house surge protector at main panel, three dedicated 20 amp circuits, Surgex XR315 surge protector at equipment rack, Cyberpower 1400VA/900 watt, true sine wave UPS.
jdlynch is online now  
post #10569 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,324
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Ah, thanks

Rod#S is offline  
post #10570 of 13178 Old 06-02-2016, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 20,213
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1665 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereojeff View Post
ATI NC-500 based amplifier availability: Soon.

Jeff
I heard about this some time ago but I know how to keep my mouth, pen and fingers typing shut! HA! It is [email protected]@@ (A "Borg phrase"?)

Theater Renovation: 3 Aerial Acoustics 7ts & 6 7LCRs; 13 Triad Rotating Silver/9 Sat; 9 Seaton 21" sealed subwoofers; Trinnov Altitude 32 SSP; 3 Theta Digital Prometheus, Trinnov Amplitude 8 & 8M, and ATI AT526NC amplifiers; Sony VW5000 projector; Lumagen Radiance Pro; Panamorph DCR lens; Stewart Filmscreen Vistascope 14' wide 2.40 SnoMatte 100 screen; Kaleidescape & Pioneer UDP-LX500 4k players; Apple TV 4k; TIVO Bolt OTA.
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #10571 of 13178 Old 06-03-2016, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yeah like when you read post 10370 on the 3rd of March? Jeff said then they were 2.5 months away and hence why I was asking for an update...

Jeff, when you are ready to share can you post here as well - even though they're not technically Theta. I'd be interested to hear what choices you made regarding supply and input buffer configuration as well as pricing etc.

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!

Last edited by stevekale; 06-03-2016 at 02:25 PM.
stevekale is offline  
post #10572 of 13178 Old 06-03-2016, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 20,213
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1665 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post
Yeah like when you read post 10370 on the 3rd of March? Jeff said then they were 2.5 months away and hence why I was asking for an update...

Jeff, when you are ready to share can you post here as well - even though they're not technically Theta. I'd be interested to hear what choices you made regarding supply and input buffer configuration as well as pricing etc.

[Post 10370]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereojeff View Post
Your psychic powers are working well.

2.5 months away. ATI brand. 2 to 8 channels. 3RU. Universal voltage sensing. Will release more details as we approach launch.

Jeff
Actually, I heard about it a long time before that post, too! I know how to keep my mouth shut! HA!

Theater Renovation: 3 Aerial Acoustics 7ts & 6 7LCRs; 13 Triad Rotating Silver/9 Sat; 9 Seaton 21" sealed subwoofers; Trinnov Altitude 32 SSP; 3 Theta Digital Prometheus, Trinnov Amplitude 8 & 8M, and ATI AT526NC amplifiers; Sony VW5000 projector; Lumagen Radiance Pro; Panamorph DCR lens; Stewart Filmscreen Vistascope 14' wide 2.40 SnoMatte 100 screen; Kaleidescape & Pioneer UDP-LX500 4k players; Apple TV 4k; TIVO Bolt OTA.
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #10573 of 13178 Old 06-10-2016, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm looking at new speaker wire for my CBIV, and my Kef's, Reference 1's, and LS50 as surrounds.
Audioquest is what I'm looking at. The wire will be run through a wall, so it has to be flexible!
And I have to have a 16' pair because of the set up I have...so can't do the top of the line for this, too $.
Suggestions? Anyone using Audioquest speaker wire?
dancjodanc is online now  
post #10574 of 13178 Old 06-10-2016, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post
I'm looking at new speaker wire for my CBIV, and my Kef's, Reference 1's, and LS50 as surrounds.
Audioquest is what I'm looking at. The wire will be run through a wall, so it has to be flexible!
And I have to have a 16' pair because of the set up I have...so can't do the top of the line for this, too $.
Suggestions? Anyone using Audioquest speaker wire?
You wouldn't need anything special for speaker wire, CL2 rated and somewhat large gauge (12AWG?) is what I look for.... I have used Monster, Audioquest, ADI versions of CL2 wire and can not seem to find any difference.

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_...FVc1aQod_k4D4Q

My Home Theater Site:

https://imageshack.com/a/dPJl/1
AV Doogie is offline  
post #10575 of 13178 Old 06-10-2016, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 3,253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1086 Post(s)
Liked: 519
I used Kimber kwik 12 and I love it for running through the walls.

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #10576 of 13178 Old 06-17-2016, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anybody have any news on the Casablanca IVA or E? Haven't heard any news for a while now!
Theta and Mc's is offline  
post #10577 of 13178 Old 06-19-2016, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinlg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 171
One likes tubes the other solid state

Bulldogger likes this.

Aerial Acoustics/Anthem/JL Audio/Linn/Sony/Theta Digital
kevinlg is offline  
post #10578 of 13178 Old 06-19-2016, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 20,213
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1665 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinlg View Post
One likes tubes the other solid state

You've got a real "pussy" of an audio system that really "purrs" along!

Theater Renovation: 3 Aerial Acoustics 7ts & 6 7LCRs; 13 Triad Rotating Silver/9 Sat; 9 Seaton 21" sealed subwoofers; Trinnov Altitude 32 SSP; 3 Theta Digital Prometheus, Trinnov Amplitude 8 & 8M, and ATI AT526NC amplifiers; Sony VW5000 projector; Lumagen Radiance Pro; Panamorph DCR lens; Stewart Filmscreen Vistascope 14' wide 2.40 SnoMatte 100 screen; Kaleidescape & Pioneer UDP-LX500 4k players; Apple TV 4k; TIVO Bolt OTA.
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #10579 of 13178 Old 06-19-2016, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinlg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
You've got a real "pussy" of an audio system that really "purrs" along!
Witty, I love it!

Aerial Acoustics/Anthem/JL Audio/Linn/Sony/Theta Digital
kevinlg is offline  
post #10580 of 13178 Old 06-23-2016, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Palos Verdes - Lakers Land
Posts: 3,412
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1904 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinlg View Post
One likes tubes the other solid state
Real cute - the preamp too not just the pussy cat . That's a beautiful preamp; I always love the McIntosh blue meter.
Really funny how the cat zero'ed in on the warmth of tubes.
kevinlg likes this.

Regards, Can
My System & Theta Casablanca Mini-Review (CB IVa setup help HERE) Uncontrolled passion for music, and sound.
Interesting Audio Diagrams :-) & High-End Speaker Reviews
JTR Subwoofer Thread I don't always listen to subwoofers, but when I do, it's JTR :-).

Last edited by cannga; 06-23-2016 at 11:57 AM.
cannga is offline  
post #10581 of 13178 Old 06-26-2016, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've mentioned in a past thread about wanting a music service. Headless. Just plug in a hard drive, let it do it's thing, and use an iPad to control it.
Auralic, aurender....looking at those company's, and Elac because it comes with Roon installed!
My concern is MQA and the future...and it's future with Theta. Aurender only has USB out, so I'd have to buy and converter for the CBIV, unless the new CBIVa update includes
a USB input?
Aurender has many outputs...but I read that MQA will only work on devices that have analog out's only.....they won't support a digital out on a device.
Then I just read that Bluesound is updating to MQA, as a software update....but the Node 2 has analog and digital outs? How can it support MQA with digital out's?

I'm just trying to make an educated buy, but some of this information is conflicting?
dancjodanc is online now  
post #10582 of 13178 Old 06-27-2016, 12:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 7,133
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post
To put this more broadly, for best quality the MQA decoder needs to "know the DAC" which means a customised-to-DAC hardware solution will always be best.
They seem to be willing to work with companies doing their own digital filter designs as per comments made by Bob Stuart in response to PS Audio. http://www.audiostream.com/content/p...2dpioU8qEyq.97 Much of how much restriction is placed upon MQA I suspect will depend upon how successful it is. Once they figure out their limitations, we may see decoders everywhere. I think MQA is going to fail however. https://benchmarkmedia.com/blogs/app...855-is-mqa-doa Mike Moffet ,formerly of Theta Digital, http://schiit.com/news?m

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #10583 of 13178 Old 06-27-2016, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 7,133
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post
I've mentioned in a past thread about
Auralic, aurender
Then I just read that Bluesound is updating to MQA, as a software update....but the Node 2 has analog and digital outs? How can it support MQA with digital out's?

I'm just trying to make an educated buy, but some of this information is conflicting?
No decoded MQA via the digital outs on the Bluesound. Once decoded, it goes straight to the devices dacs. MQA will not allow the decoded signal to be output via digital. They will help other companies design filters but will not allow a decoded MQA signal via digital out. I contacted Bluesound and asked.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #10584 of 13178 Old 06-27-2016, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So MQA will be analog. Othewise, the digital outs will work on the Bluesound? The digital is disabled for MQA only? I was going to call Bluesound..could not find a number.
They seem to be the only one talking about MQA right now. But as your links stated...it could fail? Maybe I should just get one of the highly rated Aurender or auralic and be done with it!
dancjodanc is online now  
post #10585 of 13178 Old 06-29-2016, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
Since I use a Theta CBIV SSP, 3 external Theta Gen VIII DACs, and five Theta Prometheus monoblocks, here's something really interesting sonicwise for Theta luvers!


EGADS! ROON has just got WAY better in my audio/home theater [email protected]@@

My ROON setup, until tonight, was as follows:

CAPSv4 (Computer Audiophile forum server, version 4), USB out. With Roonserver loaded, designated as my primary music computer for ROON, because ROON would only use the USB out from the primary music server.

iPad Pro with the iPad Pro app for ROON, used as a controller only.

Also a Toshiba laptop, with the full RoonInstaller loaded, but used only as a controller as well.

_______________

Tonight, as I started listening to music with ROON, an auto ROON software install came up and loaded. I checked and found out the ROON version is now 1.2. And version 1.2 also has RoonBridge software, which now allows the full RoonInstaller to be installed on a computer remote, that is, from the media server that is outputting the USB music!

Now my ROON setup, as of late last night (Tuesday night) (EXCITING!) is:

CAPSv4 (Computer Audiophile forum server, version 4), USB out. With Roonserver and RoonBridge loaded, designated as a remote computer for ROON.

CAPSv3 Zuma (Computer Audiophile forum server, version 3) (modded a bit). I use this media server only for multi-channel out via HDMI using JRiver Media Center software (as ROON does not at this time do multi-channel audio). But NOW I have loaded the main RoonInstaller, the full ROON program, and I have this computer designated as primary for ROON. ROON’s database is now on this computer. This computer does all the filing, searching, internet connections, audio processing, etc now for ROON and my 2 channel audio – then the audio file goes through my wi-fi network to the CAPSv4 and out its USB. HA!

iPad Pro with the iPad Pro app for ROON, used as a controller only.

Also a Toshiba laptop, with the full RoonInstaller loaded, but used only as a controller as well.
____________________________

ROON as configured prior to tonight, in my system, sounded better than JRiver Media Center 21, for stereo!

By moving all the PC “work” and “processing” over to the CAPSv3, the sonic improvement is astounding and [email protected]@@

ROON is a terrific audio playing program for audiophiles and music luvers! Its metadata capabilities alone are reason to use ROON. But its audio quality particularly when you use a separate computer for the ROON processing, etc (as I use the CAPSv3), and use a media server pretty much only to pass on the audio signal (as I use the CAPSv4), is second to none! I am blown away! I wonder how long I will stay up listening to music tonite? Its already 2 AM!
Do you have a Tidal Hi-Fi subscribtion ?
If so, have you notice that Tidal sounds better than your ripped CD's ?
Have you tried the HQ player ?
If yes, notice any difference in SQ ?

Last edited by ANRE; 06-29-2016 at 06:22 PM.
ANRE is offline  
post #10586 of 13178 Old 06-29-2016, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have long time waited for a network interface and/or a USB interface on either Gen 8 or the Casa. Now with the Sonore microRendu available, I'm not so sure if this should be a priority for Theta to implement.
MQA support may be more important, and Roon ready.

However Roon support may require USB or network interface if I have understood this correctly.

A USB to SPDIF converter eliminate the need of USB interface. Berkely and m2Tec have one of the best available.

It would be interesting to see if the Gen 8 will receive MQA and/or Roon support first.
If I got it right, it will take some time, if ever, before MQA will be multichannel, so that may favor the Gen 8. And maybe easier to implement on the Gen 8.

It will be interesting to see which direction Thata choose on these things.

Here is some interesting reading about USB:
http://www.digitalaudioreview.net/20...uality-varies/
You may find some other nice articles on that site.

Roon is now available for Qnap and Synology NAS, so no need for a PC anymore as well.

So to me it seems with very reasonable priced technology available now, USB and network interface can be solved, and with excellent results.

That leave us with MQA implementation as first priority. Which I believe should be quite straight forward. At least for the Gen 8.

Any thoughts ?

Last edited by ANRE; 06-30-2016 at 04:38 AM.
ANRE is offline  
post #10587 of 13178 Old 06-30-2016, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post
I keep reading about MQA. All the components in the chain have to be MQA compatible, right?
Wondering where that leaves the CBIV down the road? Then I read somewhere that it will only be
output through analog. Anyone know if that's true?
I'm in the market for a new music server...looking at the Elac Discovery, with Roon....but don't want
to buy something and not have it be at least somewhat future ready for MQA.
Not sure what you mean by all components, but basicly as today only the DAC needs to be MQA certified.

However the technology (or philosophy as Bob calls it), will at some time open for MQA in SW.

Roon's plan is to do this an automatically way by two way communication with present USB DAC's. If they are allowed to implement SW MQA.

For a SPDIF interface you would need to tell the software what DAC you are using.

It is very unclear to me if this only relate to the DAC chip, or the whole DAC.
MQA (the company) may sell you the DAC chip SW, but DAC manufacturers may like an other approach.

Also you may suspect the best SQ will come from a MQA DAC.

The only reason IMO to use MQA is together with Tidal, or any other future streaming services that support MQA.

I think it is technical possible and probably easy to implement MQA in Gen 8. Maybe harder to do in the CB ?
And I think Theta should tell us what to expect.

Also remember that even a non MQA system will benefit from MQA material.
If you like to test MQA today, probably Meridian Explorer DAC is the easiest and cheapest solution.

As music server, a NAS is probably the cheapest and best, since you now get Roon for Qnap and Synology. I like Qnap best. You need one with i3 or i5 processor. Other Linux options at a much higher cost are available. And Computer Audiofile is a good source to learn more about it.

However I personally doubt a dedicated Linux music server like Aurender will outperform a NAS with the MicroRendu.
I rather spend money on the DAC, and how you power the MicroRendu. And power conditions.

Last edited by ANRE; 06-30-2016 at 04:07 AM.
ANRE is offline  
post #10588 of 13178 Old 06-30-2016, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ANRE is offline  
post #10589 of 13178 Old 06-30-2016, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyree91 View Post
I'm told by Theta that they are looking at MQA, but after the CB IV A is finished. Norm
And did they tell you when CBIVa is ready ?
ANRE is offline  
post #10590 of 13178 Old 06-30-2016, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post
If that statement is true, it means the Casablanca with X3 dacs is the best bargain in the history of audio. I'm wondering what Theta did to make it "smoke" a Gen VIII with many of the same parts used in both? To say I'm skeptical is putting it mildly. Theta doesn't even say that the new dacs are better than a Gen VIII.
I was advices by Theta to keep my Gen8. And Steve B is not selling his either

And we do not yet know which product get the planned USB interface first, do we ? Nor MQA support.

Also when my CB goes for upgrade I still have my Gen 8 to use.
ANRE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off