Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 202 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1171Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6031 of 6045 Old 09-23-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereojeff View Post
The original THX recommendations relied on known high pass response of the L/R "satellite" speakers. Their second order high pass function added to the electronic second order filter gave 4th order (24 dB per octave) high pass to match the electronic 4th order low pass filter in the THX crossover.
Jeff
Ah, right. So this is what the Theta approach is doing...giving the speaker a predictable 2nd order rolloff. I didn't see in the manual that they recommended a 2nd order LR crossover. As I'm sure you know, there is a 4th order LR crossover, which adds more group delay which must be accounted for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Exactly. It is the only way to accurately determine the best crossover frequency, slope angle and type (and LFE delays).
Yup. I learned a number of years ago that subwoofer dsp adds a certain amount of delay to the signal. I had an Anthem D2 and when I used REW to see the effects of changing the sub delay I was astonished to see how much better the sub to speaker transition was after optimization.

The Datasat manual says in bold to set crossovers BEFORE running Dirac. I wonder if there are differences in the Dirac functionality between Theta and Datasat? I know the Datasat version says it can help optimize the transition between sub and speakers by adjusting delays and phase etc...

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6032 of 6045 Old 09-23-2019, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,742
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5095 Post(s)
Liked: 3948
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
The Datasat manual says in bold to set crossovers BEFORE running Dirac. I wonder if there are differences in the Dirac functionality between Theta and Datasat? I know the Datasat version says it can help optimize the transition between sub and speakers by adjusting delays and phase etc...

I no longer have my Datasat, but if I recall correctly, Bass Management is disabled when doing the Dirac measurements. I can never remember (it has been quite some time since I did a Datasat calibration) setting crossovers prior to running Dirac.

Mark 10:45 ][ Home Theater of The Month: The Oconee Theater ][ Music by Leslie Austin ][
Jeremiah 4:1-2
audioguy is offline  
post #6033 of 6045 Old 09-23-2019, 06:28 PM
Member
 
htdhvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc)

I think I have the error sorted. I went through the log file and found that when the error shows on the screen there is an error in the log that says Dec 693 fw bootloader failed to load. Figured that was my Atmos car acting up. Spoke with ATI support (they looped in the Datasat support) and they came to the same conclusion. We're working out logistics to get the card replaced.



Random unrelated questions -



A few people have mentioned here that the Datasat (and other DSP based pre/pros) doesn't (don't) support more than 7.x.4 discrete channels. If i captured that accurately:



1. What is the point of the H617 add on cards for the RS20i which add 8 channels per card? Just more cloned channels? If yes, couldn't you accomplish the same thing much cheaper with XLR splitters on the channels you would be cloning? Or for biamping? If for biamping, can you set different crossover levels for two outputs on the same channel?



2. Do subwoofers count impact the limit? I know they are the x in the 7.x.4 above but if one sets up 4 independent subwoofers, does it impact the above? If so, does the answer change if you setup 1 subwoofer in the RS20i and then connect 4 XLRs from the RS20i breakout cable to 4 subwoofers and map them to that single subwoofer channel in the RS20i?



If these have been specifically addressed elsewhere in the thread I apologize.

Revel Ultima2 Salon2 [pair] || Revel Ultima2 Voice2 || Revel Ultima2 Gem2 [quad] || B&W CCM-8.5 [pair] || JL Audio Gotham g213 [pair] || JL Audio Fathom f212 [pair] || Datasat RS20i || Mark Levinson No 532 || Datasat RA7300 || Furman IT-Reference 20i || Sony VPL-VW675ES || SI Series 7 Zero Edge - Black Diamond 133" 2.35:1 || Control4 EA-5
HtdHvy's (ever-evolving) Audiophile Home Theater Rig

Last edited by htdhvy; 09-23-2019 at 07:29 PM.
htdhvy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6034 of 6045 Old 09-23-2019, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,742
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5095 Post(s)
Liked: 3948
You need additional channels if you are going to bi-amp or tri-amp, or if you want to copy one channel to another. I calibrated a 7.x.4 system that had bi-amped fronts and bi-amped surrounds. That requires 14 channels; 2 more for subs; 4 for the ceiling speakers - for a total of 20 channels.

Mark 10:45 ][ Home Theater of The Month: The Oconee Theater ][ Music by Leslie Austin ][
Jeremiah 4:1-2
audioguy is offline  
post #6035 of 6045 Old 09-23-2019, 11:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 30
A DSP basietes pre / pro can decode more than 16 channels, as StormAudio proved with the 24 docoding channels.
[email protected] is online now  
post #6036 of 6045 Old 09-24-2019, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3024 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
A DSP basietes pre / pro can decode more than 16 channels, as StormAudio proved with the 24 docoding channels.
That's incorrect. Storm, or any other DSP based processor, can only decode a maximum of 16 Atmos channels (7.1.6, 9.1.4 etc) on the newest DSP chips - they can only attempt to copy and upmix channels to expand beyond that.
appelz and Ganymed4 like this.
Wookii is offline  
post #6037 of 6045 Old 09-24-2019, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
That's incorrect. Storm, or any other DSP based processor, can only decode a maximum of 16 Atmos channels (7.1.6, 9.1.4 etc) on the newest DSP chips - they can only attempt to copy and upmix channels to expand beyond that.
https://www.stormaudio.com/en/news/4...edia-expo.html
[email protected] is online now  
post #6038 of 6045 Old 09-25-2019, 04:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3024 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
OK, so they're adding DTS:X Pro, that's good for them (though not so good for anyone who has bought a Storm processor already, as they'll have to sell it and buy a new unit presumably ) - but that's still not Atmos, which will be limited to 16 channels as stated.
Wookii is offline  
post #6039 of 6045 Old 09-25-2019, 05:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 30
No, you do not have to sell, there will be an upgrade for the old StormAudio.
[email protected] is online now  
post #6040 of 6045 Old 09-25-2019, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3024 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
No, you do not have to sell, there will be an upgrade for the old StormAudio.
A hardware upgrade presumably then? Return to base or user installable? And at what cost?
Wookii is offline  
post #6041 of 6045 Old 09-25-2019, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 30
On request by the user instalierbar, should cost 2-3k.
[email protected] is online now  
post #6042 of 6045 Old 09-25-2019, 06:16 PM
Home Theater Enthusiast
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1535 Post(s)
Liked: 720
I have a new Datasat RA7300 Amp for sale if anyone is interested. Please PM if you are. It's listed in the classifieds.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Wisconsin Home Theater Enthusiasts Meet
SOWK Home Theater

Last edited by SOWK; 09-26-2019 at 07:36 AM.
SOWK is online now  
post #6043 of 6045 Old 10-07-2019, 09:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, UK
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Anyone know the best way to contact Datasat ATI. I have a fault with my unit and no longer have a supplier. I have tried using this address but I am getting no replay:

[email protected]

Thanks
magicj1 is online now  
post #6044 of 6045 Old 10-08-2019, 01:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ganymed4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Try one from this page: https://www.datasatdigital.com/team/


I would recommend Buzz or Natasha.


Hope that helps.
GGA and magicj1 like this.
Ganymed4 is offline  
post #6045 of 6045 Old 11-02-2019, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
usxplong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I watched terminator in IMAX last night and the sound was not there. My RS20 blows the sound of IMAX out of the water. The sound was not tight, there was no dynamic, it was narrow and the bass was lacking.
usxplong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off