Trinnov MC set up guide with SSP and JVB modded Oppo! - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 279 Old 01-18-2017, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
What VNC software do you use?
VNC Viewer. Always worked perfect for me.

Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 05:41 AM.
CaptCapitalism is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 279 Old 01-18-2017, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptCapitalism View Post
VNC Viewer. Always worked perfect for me.
VNC Viewer for Google Chrome should also work. I use both, depending on the VNC client I am trying to talk to.

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
post #273 of 279 Old 02-03-2017, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did anyone ever resolve the lipsync issues with this setup?

Audio is double delayed with the Trinnov and Vanity's reclocking.
I started a thread on how to configure a video delay:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptCapitalism View Post
My audio gets delayed twice...
Also, JVB said a Vanity 203 should be ready soon.
So it looks like the Vanity is not going anywhere soon.

Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 05:41 AM.
CaptCapitalism is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 279 Old 02-06-2017, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Trinnov is amazing. It tells you the latency in ms & frame rates. How very honest of them.
As per the screen shot below, my latency is 40 ms.

I ordered the Roland vc-1-dl. I read the manual and spoke with my Vintage king Trinnov dealer, it should work.
It's HDCP. The Roland device is the only HDMI video delay in existence so not much choice. Roland does not mention 4k, do not have 4k anyway. I would rather have my lip sync corrected more than 4k anyway.

I had bad luck with HDMI in the past. I got the HDMI NanoAvr and it was not compatible with my PrePro. I really hope this works! Will keep you posted.

Since the Roland only delays by (1/2) frame rates (they call fields) and I most of the time watch 1080p60, I am 2.26 frames behind with just the Trinnov as per the 30fps screen shot below.

If the Vanity latency is 10ms I would be able to "dial" in 2.5 frames.

If you look at the 2nd pic, the Trinnov 24fps, the delay is .91 frame. If the Vanity is a mere 4 ms delay, I would be able to dial in 1 frame. Even.
I know nothing about syncing A/V, but I would not round frames. I would not want to be ahead a pic/frame. So if the Vanity has no delay I would have dialed in .5 frame. But if the Vanity delay is 4ms I can do a frame.
Yes, I would have to manually dial in the delay when I switch 24fps vs 60fps. But I am manually putting in BD anyway...
Just hope I remember to put it back . BD frame rates are more than double the ms time of 60fps.

I figure I'll start with the Trinnov delay and then move on to the Vanity's. Either Vanity will know their audio reclocking latency or I will have to buy the Sync one2 to analyze.

BTW: We can add syncing A/V to the list of "What does a PrePro do for me."
I have a whole new respect that they reclock the A/V in sync.

This is so cool. I will have a dedicated device just delay the video. I love componentizing things. Do you know they make PSU's as seperate components. I think I''l get one for my Tivo.






Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 05:40 AM.
CaptCapitalism is offline  
post #275 of 279 Old 02-06-2017, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Really odd coincident

The Roland has a single 110ohm RCA input ?!!??!!
In the manual it says to only use one input for dig.

That's another thing, I did not know devices can have use the same input for dig and analog. Never seen that.

Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 05:40 AM.
CaptCapitalism is offline  
post #276 of 279 Old 02-14-2017, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Oppo has an A/V sync settings!
Never realized. You must scroll down.
I thought I had to return the HDMI Video delay box.

But the A/V sync settings has no effect. Is it that the setting is for HDMI A/V and would not have had worked on the analog board or the settings has no effect on the Vanity?

To make sure, I set the A/V sync to 200ms and it had no effect. I added a 200ms dedlay to the Trinnov and that did have an obvious effect.
CaptCapitalism is offline  
post #277 of 279 Old 05-23-2018, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
darrellh44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North Dallas
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1058 Post(s)
Liked: 517
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but is anybody here using the JVB VanityHD mod with an Oppo 203 while hosting Roon on an HTPC? I have my Roon HTPC connected to my JVB/Oppo 203 via HDMI, and I cannot get Roon to recognize the Oppo as a Roon endpoint. This may be a silly question since the JVB mod removes the DAC in the original 203 analog outputs (where I guess the Roon endpoint would normally be), and replaces them with SPDIF PCM outputs to a DAC further downstream. I'm assuming the SPDIF link isn't smart enough to manage the Roon endpoint connectivity all the way to the final DAC in this case.

I think I may have answered my own question, but I haven't been able to find any confirmation on what should work with this setup. Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Darrell

darrellh44's Home Theater
Guide to Subwoofer Calibration and Bass Preferences

"Faith is not about everything turning out OK, Faith is being OK no matter how things turn out".
darrellh44 is online now  
post #278 of 279 Old 06-16-2018, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
tibia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrellh44 View Post
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but is anybody here using the JVB VanityHD mod with an Oppo 203 while hosting Roon on an HTPC? I have my Roon HTPC connected to my JVB/Oppo 203 via HDMI, and I cannot get Roon to recognize the Oppo as a Roon endpoint. This may be a silly question since the JVB mod removes the DAC in the original 203 analog outputs (where I guess the Roon endpoint would normally be), and replaces them with SPDIF PCM outputs to a DAC further downstream. I'm assuming the SPDIF link isn't smart enough to manage the Roon endpoint connectivity all the way to the final DAC in this case.

I think I may have answered my own question, but I haven't been able to find any confirmation on what should work with this setup. Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Darrell
I have the AES balanced version of the JVB VanityHD board installed in an OPPO 103D. This board is a drop-in replacement for the 103 or 103D analog output board and provides a fully compliant AES balanced feed to my Trinnov 16 channel MC. When I purchased the newer OPPO 203 I had hoped I could transplant the Vanity HD board. After opening the 203 I immediately saw such a transplant would not be easy for mechanical reasons and probably impossible due to electrical incompatibility. I discussed this with OPPO engineering confirming the 203 audio board is an entirely different design and in no way would work with the VanityHD board. I continue to use my 103D for Netflix, Xfinity, and 1080P BluRay and use the 203 only for 4K UHD discs using thje player's 7.1 RCA analog outputs feeding Trinnov's analog inputs. I know this hookup does not support immersive audio formats in which I have no interest.

Shortly after the 203 came on the market I contacted JVB about a 203 compatible VannityHD board. At that time they said they had not yet fully determined if such a product would be viable in the marketplace. Looking at JVB website today I see a 203 compatible board still is not offered. I don't expect there ever will be.

Dennis
tibia is offline  
post #279 of 279 Old 06-16-2018, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
darrellh44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North Dallas
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1058 Post(s)
Liked: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibia View Post
I have the AES balanced version of the JVB VanityHD board installed in an OPPO 103D. This board is a drop-in replacement for the 103 or 103D analog output board and provides a fully compliant AES balanced feed to my Trinnov 16 channel MC. When I purchased the newer OPPO 203 I had hoped I could transplant the Vanity HD board. After opening the 203 I immediately saw such a transplant would not be easy for mechanical reasons and probably impossible due to electrical incompatibility. I discussed this with OPPO engineering confirming the 203 audio board is an entirely different design and in no way would work with the VanityHD board. I continue to use my 103D for Netflix, Xfinity, and 1080P BluRay and use the 203 only for 4K UHD discs using thje player's 7.1 RCA analog outputs feeding Trinnov's analog inputs. I know this hookup does not support immersive audio formats in which I have no interest.

Shortly after the 203 came on the market I contacted JVB about a 203 compatible VannityHD board. At that time they said they had not yet fully determined if such a product would be viable in the marketplace. Looking at JVB website today I see a 203 compatible board still is not offered. I don't expect there ever will be.
Hi Dennis,

Thanks for the reply.

I wound up purchasing a JVB modded 203 directly from JVB which I have connected to my Trinnov MC12 using the SPDIF connections. I'm thrilled with the audio results when playing any CD, DVD, or lossless Bluray from the 203. But it seems to me that when playing Roon content from my HTPC thru the 203 (connected via HDMI), it doesn't sound quite as good (even for the few hirez audio downloads I've purchased). Someone suggested connecting my Roon host to the 203 as a Roon endpoint via internet. I haven't tried this yet, but I don't even know if that's still possible with the JVB mod given that JVB removes the original 203 DACs in favor of their de-jitter buffer and SPDIF digital outputs (instead of the analog outputs that used to come from the 203 DACs).

If anyone else knows the answer, I'd appreciate them chiming in.

Thanks,
Darrell

darrellh44's Home Theater
Guide to Subwoofer Calibration and Bass Preferences

"Faith is not about everything turning out OK, Faith is being OK no matter how things turn out".
darrellh44 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off