Trinnov Altitude - Page 147 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2557Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4381 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
kingwiggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK -> FL, USA
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
Hi,

Can someone tell me the cheapest Altitude 32 which has AES EBU output, how much is it? What do you get with the price?


Thanks


Trinnov offers the Altitude32 in four versions: the eight-channel AL32-88 base model ($20,000), 16-channel AL32-816 ($24,000), 24-channel AL32-1624 ($29,500), and 32-channel AL32-1632 ($33,500)—all priced without the $2,750 3D Audio package that brings Atmos, DTS:X, and Auro-3D into the fold.



Updated to avoid confusion

Trinnov Altitude 32, LCR JBL M2, JBL LSR 708i, 705i, Q-SYS Core 110f, Amps- QSC CXD4.2Q, 4.3Q, 4.5Q
Kaleidescape Strato, Zapitti 4K HDR Duo, Xbox One X, 8TB Tivo Roamio Pro,
JVC RS600 + ISCO IIIL, 158" 2.40:1 AT screen, Calman 5 Enthusiast, i1 Pro 2, i1 Display Pro, Spyder 5, 3D LUT Box
Oppo UDP-203, BDP-105, Onkyo DAC-1000s, Onkyo DP-X1 DAP, QNAP TVS-871

Last edited by kingwiggi; 05-23-2018 at 12:34 PM.
kingwiggi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4382 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingwiggi View Post
Trinnov offers the Altitude32 in four versions: the eight-channel AL32-88 base model ($17,500), 16-channel AL32-816 ($21,000), 24-channel AL32-1624 ($25,500), and 32-channel AL32-1632 ($29,000)—all priced without the $2,500 3D Audio package that brings Atmos, DTS:X, and Auro-3D into the fold.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Old pricing.

Alt32-88 $20,000
Alt32-816 $24,000
Alt32-1624 $29,500
Alt32-1632 $33,500

3D Codecs $2750
3D Measurement Probe $700

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
post #4383 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
kingwiggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK -> FL, USA
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by appelz View Post
Old pricing.

Alt32-88 $20,000
Alt32-816 $24,000
Alt32-1624 $29,500
Alt32-1632 $33,500

3D Codecs $2750
3D Measurement Probe $700

WOW


Good way to drive more people to the Altitude 16

Trinnov Altitude 32, LCR JBL M2, JBL LSR 708i, 705i, Q-SYS Core 110f, Amps- QSC CXD4.2Q, 4.3Q, 4.5Q
Kaleidescape Strato, Zapitti 4K HDR Duo, Xbox One X, 8TB Tivo Roamio Pro,
JVC RS600 + ISCO IIIL, 158" 2.40:1 AT screen, Calman 5 Enthusiast, i1 Pro 2, i1 Display Pro, Spyder 5, 3D LUT Box
Oppo UDP-203, BDP-105, Onkyo DAC-1000s, Onkyo DP-X1 DAP, QNAP TVS-871
kingwiggi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4384 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingwiggi View Post
WOW


Good way to drive more people to the Altitude 16
I think your pricing was from 2015?

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
post #4385 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,203
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1573 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingwiggi View Post
WOW


Good way to drive more people to the Altitude 16
More like a way to separate out A16 buyers from CIs designing the higher channel count rooms, where the 24 and 32 channels (or more, if you go digital output in the future) come into play, and would be the processor of choice for that level of room and needs for specific I/O. It's market differentiation at work.

I'm going to guess that the 24 and 32 channel Altitudes are the vast majority of the A32s that get sold in the HT space. Maybe there's some pro audio folks that want the latest Optimizer software and bass management features, or the speaker configurations for monitoring (?) where the other units might come into play, or a few consumer audio folks with a bunch of active speakers and subs that aren't into immersive audio.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 32 (24 channel), NAD M27 amps (3)
Video: JVC RS600, Seymour 100" UF Screen, Lumagen Radiance Pro 4444 (coming soon)
Speakers: PSB Imagine T3 LCR, Imagine T Wides/Side Surround 1, T2 Side Surrounds, Imagine XB rears, Image B6 screens, PSB CS1000 ceilings (6), HSU ULS-15 Mk 2 subs (4) - 13.4.6
HAA HT1 and HT2 Certification

Last edited by sdrucker; 05-23-2018 at 12:47 PM.
sdrucker is offline  
post #4386 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,203
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1573 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post
Certainly great points and based on the pace of channel counts at Marantz, et al, it appears that a truly low price point atmos box (24-64 channel) is not on the horizon yet.
I'm the first person to want 24 channels as a starting point for 3D audio and having both multi-sub and speaker array flexibility, leaving out an active crossover setup, but if that definition of "low" is less than the Storm Audio ISP, it doesn't exist at this point beyond 16 channels.

And even in that case (Storm), the rollout is still TBD for a 20 or 24 channel expansion card, and the limitation is still native Atmos in 9.1.6 (which is still embryonic in their brand), with a product that's still in the early rollout stage. There's Datasat but their 11 channel Atmos/DTS:X technology is frozen in 2015 as far as immersive audio goes on the RS20i.

Quote:
Add in the fact that all those DSP based units do not have cross-compatible speaker layouts. I believe that consumer confusion and setup confusion is more the "fault" of Dolby/Auro/DTS at this point.
Far less so DTS:X than Auro, but if you want to stick with one format as your baseline, there's plenty of documentation on Atmos and to a lesser extent Auro. But on the Altitude, we have the Help menu on the Speaker Configuration tool that can tell us prerequisite speaker, as well as pre-defined layouts (user beware IMO), and especially visual aids for ideal vs. physical placement of speakers on the Optimizer. Then there's the subscription-based software in The Cinema Designer, which will predict the number of speakers associated with high channel count given your room's number of rows and seats, as well as other variables it takes into account.


Quote:
Heck, even the limits of the Altitude's cross compatibility with layouts have not been made very clear on their website and literature. I made a lot of "mistakes" in speaker placement since I had my room built before the Altitude was on the market.

Remapping can help you there if you can't get perfect placement, but the Help menu on Speaker Configuration can be of assistance at times.


Quote:
At this point the 'rational' choice for consumers is to skip the entire rat race, which is what most of the streaming generation is already doing.
And miss out on 200+ Atmos and slightly less than 100 DTS:X releases? For most humans 7.1.4 is still good enough as a starting point IMO. If you don't have the room or the budget for an Altitude, there's still plenty of relatively cheap options. Onkyo has a nine channel pre/pro for $799 that has both Atmos and DTS:X) that can meet the entry level of 5.1.4. Obviously Trinnov is in a class by itself, but going big or going home isn't a binary choice here.

Quote:
If the studios keep on releasing titles that are not "full atmos" (limited) channel counts, that is going to lead to another stumbling block for high speaker count setups. I am still dumbfounded about Wonder Woman (given their budget) and the release of fixed channel count Atmos.
Right now, it's the studio (Disney), not the studios in the plural as the biggest offenders, and it's for two releases to be sure: The Last Jedi and Thor: Ragnarok that are apparently fixed to 7.1.4 on our Input meters. Other Disney movies listed as "7.1.4 Dolby Atmos" are suspect until proven otherwise. And even there, Guardians of the Galaxy Part 2 was listed as 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos, but the top middles are used semi-occasionally, so 7.1.6 is a better description.

We need to be aware of this, obviously, as an issue in our world, and monitor movies as much as we can with our toolkit, but it's not quite at the "Sky is Falling" level.

Wonder Woman is effectively 7.1.4 but there's a few instances where the wides light up, from a few seconds to maybe 10 to 15 seconds max. It's more of a poor use of Atmos objects for speaker locations beyond the obvious than a printed to 7.1.4 mix.

Saving Private Ryan, OTOH is 7.1.6, no wides or anything else, and the .6 is about 80% the top middles at that, with the top front and rears used for ambient effects. And other movies like Source Code are only using the 9.1.6 palette, rather than liberal use of objects that can be take fuller advantage of the higher channel count of native Atmos scaled to what we have in the 24.1.10 layout.

See Oblivion, Star Trek: Into Darkness, War for the Planet of the Apes, Hacksaw Ridge etc. for examples of "full Atmos". Or if you really want crazy busy object use for anything you're likely to have (as least in my own case of 13.4.6), check out REM's Automatic for the People or Luca Terilli’s Rhapsody’s Prometheus.

Quote:
There are a lot of mixed signals from the various levels of the industry at this point. Streaming with crap audio on the one side and uhd discs with mediocre atmos utilization on the other side. These are not good signs for the next 10 years but I could be wrong...
Not according to FilmMixer on the Dolby Atmos thread. He cited the Netflix Atmos series that are streamed-only to be 9.1.6, NOT 7.1.4 as such.

What's a more likely sign - one that's only been discussed on the DTS:X thread - is that we're settling on Dolby winning a decisive victory in the 3D audio codec wars and becoming a de facto monopoly in 3D audio, unless you're in Europe and absolutely have to have an Auro layout for some movies that were mixed to Auro for that market. As I write this (May 23) there are literally no planned releases in the next two months of UHD DTS:X movies, and the vast majority of films in UHD and DTS:X lately have come from Universal at that.
mtbdudex likes this.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 32 (24 channel), NAD M27 amps (3)
Video: JVC RS600, Seymour 100" UF Screen, Lumagen Radiance Pro 4444 (coming soon)
Speakers: PSB Imagine T3 LCR, Imagine T Wides/Side Surround 1, T2 Side Surrounds, Imagine XB rears, Image B6 screens, PSB CS1000 ceilings (6), HSU ULS-15 Mk 2 subs (4) - 13.4.6
HAA HT1 and HT2 Certification

Last edited by sdrucker; 05-24-2018 at 09:14 AM.
sdrucker is offline  
post #4387 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 04:14 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post
I'm going to guess that the 24 and 32 channel Altitudes are the vast majority of the A32s that get sold in the HT space. Maybe there's some pro audio folks that want the latest Optimizer software and bass management features, or the speaker configurations for monitoring (?)...
Or home stereo listening with active speakers + subs.
mikela and sdrucker like this.
RUR is offline  
post #4388 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
santodx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by appelz View Post
Old pricing.

Alt32-88 $20,000
Alt32-816 $24,000
Alt32-1624 $29,500
Alt32-1632 $33,500

3D Codecs $2750
3D Measurement Probe $700



Do all of them have AES EBU DB25 output?


Thanks
santodx5 is offline  
post #4389 of 7605 Old 05-23-2018, 07:57 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
Do all of them have AES EBU DB25 output?


Thanks
Yes, they do.
RUR is offline  
post #4390 of 7605 Old 05-26-2018, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I keep getting unable to determine speaker 5 Rt rear surround position. I have move measurement microphone around a bit and still no good. Suggestions/reason I'm getting the error message?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180526_083538.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2407730  
DaveN is offline  
post #4391 of 7605 Old 05-26-2018, 10:14 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post
I keep getting unable to determine speaker 5 Rt rear surround position. I have move measurement microphone around a bit and still no good. Suggestions/reason I'm getting the error message?
User manual page 133 summarizes common causes & remedies. Which message are you getting?
RUR is offline  
post #4392 of 7605 Old 05-26-2018, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Tommy_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post
I keep getting unable to determine speaker 5 Rt rear surround position. I have move measurement microphone around a bit and still no good. Suggestions/reason I'm getting the error message?
Check possible speaker position angles for the rears:
1. https://www.stereo.net.au/forums/upl...c0a17b5e10.png
2. https://www.stereo.net.au/forums/upl...45da6efbe0.png
3. https://www.stereo.net.au/forums/upl...1368a70c3a.png

Check also this more detailed approach from:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post55222296

Text from manual to continue RUR's comment further:

If the calibration tool plays more than 3 MLS bursts for a speaker, it means that it’s finding it difficult to perform a reliable
measurement of that speaker.

The most common warning messages are:
“Crest factor too low for capsules”
- Check the Input Meters in the Processor/Meters page
- Make sure the microphone routing is correct (read cables and multipositioning sequence order)
- It can also be the PP3 battery inside the microphone that is out of energy (led indicator)
“Unstable position for speaker”
- Someone may have moved during the calibration
- Too many strong reflections around the microphone environment disturb the impulse response measurement.
[use more measurement softening on top of leather seats]

- An obstacle between the microphone and the speakers disturbs the measurement
- The bandwidth of one of the speakers is too narrow
"Unable to localize speaker”
- Dipole/bipole speakers providing more than one wave at the same time
- Several speakers chained providing more than one sound wave at the same time

Bigger speaker installed @horizontal might also impact to measurement. In case space is limited I might recommend using coaxial speakers, that might help to localization problem. Are the rear speaker tweeter and mid units at equal positions from the 180 degree mid position at rear wall. Try vertical speaker positioning also.
Tommy_HT is offline  
post #4393 of 7605 Old 05-27-2018, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post
User manual page 133 summarizes common causes & remedies. Which message are you getting?
I am only getting unable to determine speaker 5 Rt rear surround yet Lt rear surround is fine. They are close to each other so I wonder what the issue is with measuring the right speaker.
DaveN is offline  
post #4394 of 7605 Old 05-27-2018, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,112
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2499 Post(s)
Liked: 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post
I am only getting unable to determine speaker 5 Rt rear surround yet Lt rear surround is fine. They are close to each other so I wonder what the issue is with measuring the right speaker.
Are those floor standing speakers mounted on their sides??

I think you need to change speakers to more point source in walls or on walls - maybe the JBL SCS-8

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #4395 of 7605 Old 05-28-2018, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Are those floor standing speakers mounted on their sides??

I think you need to change speakers to more point source in walls or on walls - maybe the JBL SCS-8
No, they are configured like my center channel.
DaveN is offline  
post #4396 of 7605 Old 05-28-2018, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,112
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2499 Post(s)
Liked: 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post
No, they are configured like my center channel.
Not sure what that means. ‘configured like my center channel’

What are they? They aren’t a bi-polar design are they?

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #4397 of 7605 Old 05-28-2018, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Not sure what that means. ‘configured like my center channel’

What are they? They aren’t a bi-polar design are they?
No, conventional box speaker.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180528_161925.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	885.1 KB
ID:	2408818  
DaveN is offline  
post #4398 of 7605 Old 05-28-2018, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,899
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Dave, the dual tweeter design of that speaker could be making it difficult for the mic to determine location of the speaker. I believe the tweeters are typically wired out of phase.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Not sure what that means. ‘configured like my center channel’

What are they? They aren’t a bi-polar design are they?
No, conventional box speaker.

AudioXtream
Authorized Dealer:

Trinnov, Anthem, SVS, Genelec,
JBL Synthesis/JBL Pro, Paradigm, Kaleidescape, PS Audio, JVC,
Panamorph, LG
adidino is offline  
post #4399 of 7605 Old 05-30-2018, 10:42 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rola View Post
4.2.8.2
Huh, I finally pulled the remote from my box and it does not work running SW 4.2.8.2 (A32). Even tried a new battery and no soap.
RUR is offline  
post #4400 of 7605 Old 05-30-2018, 12:56 PM
Member
 
rola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post
Huh, I finally pulled the remote from my box and it does not work running SW 4.2.8.2 (A32). Even tried a new battery and no soap.
I tried the remote again, and it works for me. I normally use c4 or the VNC-app in a ipad, but the remote works at least from a close distance.
rola is online now  
post #4401 of 7605 Old 06-02-2018, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,201
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 610
I wonder if Trinnov will be forced to deal with this & how this may impact the Altitude:
https://www.audioholics.com/audio-te...upmixing-atmos

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #4402 of 7605 Old 06-02-2018, 05:15 PM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
I wonder if Trinnov will be forced to deal with this & how this may impact the Altitude:
https://www.audioholics.com/audio-te...upmixing-atmos


I am about 6 months away from likely purchasing my trinnov and this could be a serious game changer and not in a good way


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is online now  
post #4403 of 7605 Old 06-02-2018, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,203
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1573 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
I wonder if Trinnov will be forced to deal with this & how this may impact the Altitude:
https://www.audioholics.com/audio-te...upmixing-atmos
I would expect that as a Dolby licensee, they have to make the mandated change by Dolby like anyone else with firmware/software upgrades, but that should be confirmed.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 32 (24 channel), NAD M27 amps (3)
Video: JVC RS600, Seymour 100" UF Screen, Lumagen Radiance Pro 4444 (coming soon)
Speakers: PSB Imagine T3 LCR, Imagine T Wides/Side Surround 1, T2 Side Surrounds, Imagine XB rears, Image B6 screens, PSB CS1000 ceilings (6), HSU ULS-15 Mk 2 subs (4) - 13.4.6
HAA HT1 and HT2 Certification
sdrucker is offline  
post #4404 of 7605 Old 06-02-2018, 05:29 PM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 77
So it sounds to me like they will still be able to use their own dsp such as the speaker remapping etc on top of the Dolby surround upmixer but not allowed to use dtsx or auro instead of dsu




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is online now  
post #4405 of 7605 Old 06-03-2018, 06:55 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy View Post
I am about 6 months away from likely purchasing my trinnov and this could be a serious game changer and not in a good way
Potential diabolical plan: Buy the Altitude before Trinnov releases the software update imposing the Dolby restriction and then deny said update if and when it comes 'round. Not ideal, but if you've just gotta have that upmixing capability...….
mikela and sdrucker like this.
RUR is offline  
post #4406 of 7605 Old 06-03-2018, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,112
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2499 Post(s)
Liked: 2018
While I’m all for keeping choices open, this seems like a very incidental change from a real-world usage perspective.

I never find myself switching back and forth between upmixers...I play a movie and watch it, and let the Trinnov choose the default up mixer.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #4407 of 7605 Old 06-03-2018, 07:27 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post
Huh, I finally pulled the remote from my box and it does not work running SW 4.2.8.2 (A32). Even tried a new battery and no soap.
PS: @mikela came by last week and brought his (new, unused) remote along. It, too, refuses to light up my unit.
So based on a sample of two, the remote will not work with A32+V4.2.8.2 software. Anyone having better luck?
RUR is offline  
post #4408 of 7605 Old 06-03-2018, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,203
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1573 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post
PS: @mikela came by last week and brought his (new, unused) remote along. It, too, refuses to light up my unit.
So based on a sample of two, the remote will not work with A32+V4.2.8.2 software. Anyone having better luck?
Make that three. Bur since I use VNC and don’t mind hitting the “on” button manually until I get around to having a real control system, it’s no big deal.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 32 (24 channel), NAD M27 amps (3)
Video: JVC RS600, Seymour 100" UF Screen, Lumagen Radiance Pro 4444 (coming soon)
Speakers: PSB Imagine T3 LCR, Imagine T Wides/Side Surround 1, T2 Side Surrounds, Imagine XB rears, Image B6 screens, PSB CS1000 ceilings (6), HSU ULS-15 Mk 2 subs (4) - 13.4.6
HAA HT1 and HT2 Certification
sdrucker is offline  
post #4409 of 7605 Old 06-03-2018, 07:54 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post
Make that three. Bur since I use VNC and don’t mind hitting the “on” button manually until I get around to having a real control system, it’s no big deal.
Understood, Stuart, but I'd like to have simple, in-hand volume control that doesn't require an iPad or the wires associated with the USB wheel control I'm using now. The remote would give me that, if only it worked.
sdrucker likes this.
RUR is offline  
post #4410 of 7605 Old 06-03-2018, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 8,944
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4465 Post(s)
Liked: 3237
This falls into the FWIW category.

The music on the ending credits of the recently re-released 4K/HDR version of The Matrix (in Dolby Atmos) is lots of fun and uses all of my 9.x.6 speakers. It may use a lot more.

Played at or near reference, it is a sonic barn burner.

Just sayin'

(And I forgot how much I enjoyed that movie, and very specifically, Carrie-Ann Moss)
ss9001 and Nalleh like this.
audioguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off