Trinnov Altitude - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3265Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 8754 Old 02-14-2014, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curt_Trinnov View Post

As the Altitude is coming out later in the year, currently customer preferences are being considered vs R&D/implementation costs.  It is too early to say what codecs will be in the Altitude just yet.  As we know, codecs cover both decoding (MP3, DD HD, to emerging 3D decoding) and up mixing (PL2, PL2x, NEOx, etc).  Each comes with benefit and cost.  Some are redundant- as Trinnov has pointed out, and others will be desired for their uniqueness.  

Favorite codecs- which ones are essential and which ones optional in a processor- that is a good question here.  What would you like to see?

Hi Curt,

I'm with hifiaudio2 on this. I think as long as Altitude can decode whatever a $200 receiver can, that would be great plus DSD.

Audio: 5.1 Martin Logan Summit X (Front), ML Stage (Center), ML Script i (Surround), Paradigm Seismic 110 (Subwoofer), Emotiva XMC-1 (Processor), Anthem P5 (Amplifier)
Video: LG OLED65E6, Oppo-103, Zidoo X9S (Media Player), Darbee, (Video Processor)
sharok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 8754 Old 02-14-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curt_Trinnov View Post

As we know, codecs cover both decoding (...) and up mixing (...).  

Hi Curt,

Isn't the Optimizer (or whatever) its own upmixer? If true then all I need are the decoders. I would like decoders for all the 5.1 and 7.1 hi-res formats from Dolby and DTS. DSD would be a nice to have.

As mentioned previously, I also have a device that can only bitstream and cannot decode.
artur9 is offline  
post #63 of 8754 Old 02-14-2014, 03:19 PM
Member
 
euphonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Curt, all dolby Digital/Hd, same for DTS and Euro3D

Slan
euphonium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 8754 Old 02-14-2014, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Deepsky4565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dolby ProLogic IIx or IIz is a requirement for me for upmixing from stereo. I have Trinnov ADA unit, and Dolby upmixing is much more immersive.
Deepsky4565 is offline  
post #65 of 8754 Old 02-15-2014, 01:23 PM
Member
 
MJBraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi Curt,
The processor should definitely contain the current hi-res 7.1 codecs along with some type of 3D surround processig like Auro or Atmos, if it is going to compete with the Datasat products. Dolby PLII and neo X should also be included to take advantage of the added height channels (maybe a proprietary software that up-mixes 5.1 soundtracks to 11.1 hemispherical presentations.
MJBraz is offline  
post #66 of 8754 Old 02-19-2014, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,227
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

Some video processor manufacturer told me a month ago, I might be wrong.

A few days after I posted about Emotiva they backtracked and said they were actually 1.4b. This only two weeks after they said it was 2.0. They "mistakenly" took the feature set of the Analog Devices chip they are using to be HDMI 2.0. Utterly ridiculous. But anyway, you are probably right. Expensive, or at least only available in limited quantities right now. Hopefully any issues get worked out and the floodgates open quickly. Or we all move to displayport smile.gif.
Mike_WI likes this.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #67 of 8754 Old 03-10-2014, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 879
My wish list:

DTS Neo X 11 channel support.
Future upgradability to DTS or Atmos playback (but obviously this is way too soon to even speculate on)
Control4 home automation support or easy implementation. (provide drivers for IP control hopefully).
I have 6 subwoofers: I would like it to be able to EQ multiple subwoofers independently while checking permutations for room "Best response". Or at least, let me adjust subs one-by-one.
Crazy quiet S/N ratio with absolutely NO hiss so that I can use it to run my 105db horn speakers.
HDMI 2.0 (or easily upgradable)

The Datasat comes VERY close to this except it uses Dirac instead. I have no idea how good each of these units are... haven't tried or heard either. I have to buy unseen most likely.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #68 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 28
For those wanting to get their feet wet with Trinnov, I am selling my ST2-Pro.

https://www.avsforum.com/t/1522400/trinnov-st2-pro
edorr is offline  
post #69 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
yetis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Here it is! Sept 2014!

Hopefully they update the HDMI specs before launch.

yetis is offline  
post #70 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 01:11 PM
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 5,021
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Yetis:

Where did this info originate?
LJG is online now  
post #71 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,227
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
That looks like the same info we discussed on the first page. A handout from an overseas show.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #72 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Yes its the same info as linked on the previous page from a scan from the brochure handed out at ISE Amsterdam.
djnickuk is offline  
post #73 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,323
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2226 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
The ideal solution.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #74 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 77
If they add decoders then yes, it's a great solution. €15000 for the base model mean the top model should be a good €15k less than the Ada reference.

But they need add decoders.
djnickuk is offline  
post #75 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Decoders are a mixed blessing. On the one hand you will get less a/d and d/a conversion events if you have decoders in the unit.

On the other hand, you will then be stuck to whatever hdmi implementation and decoders are in the unit with a generally high upgrade price for decoder cards.

I would be a fan if trinnov made an outboard decoder box with all digital pcm outputs... This way you just swap out for the latest decoder/hdmi box when it comes out. Keep the trinnov processing in a box with digital inputs (instead of analog with a/d converters).

This would give EVERYONE what they want imo. I cant imagine that costing dramatically
more...

This way, when dolby atmos or whatever comes out, just change the processor box out and use the 32 channel trinnov box to take care of the room correction without any recalibration needed.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #76 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Decoders would not add any further ad / dac stages. It would just need to run the HDMI bitstream thru an additional dsp stage. I'm thinking of adding a KScape system and if I did then i would not be able to use the Altitude as the KScape has no decoding.
djnickuk is offline  
post #77 of 8754 Old 03-13-2014, 10:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Decoders would not add any further ad / dac stages. It would just need to run the HDMI bitstream thru an additional dsp stage. I'm thinking of adding a KScape system and if I did then i would not be able to use the Altitude as the KScape has no decoding.

Yes, decoders in the same box would not require further A/D conversion, thats what I meant. That would be an advantage of decoders in the same box like I said. This is like any other AVR.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #78 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 01:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

KScape has no decoding.

Just FYI. On the premier series at least this is not true. The decoding is limited to 5.1 PCM but the interface for managing this is brilliant.
djnickuk likes this.

Neil Davidson - DT Screens
ceenhad is offline  
post #79 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 05:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetis View Post

Here it is! Sept 2014!

Are those custom installations realistic? I mean, 19 outputs for a 7.1 system? Would someone do something like that?
artur9 is offline  
post #80 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
yetis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

Yetis:

Where did this info originate?

http://www.htforum.nl/yabbse/index.php?topic=140442.25
yetis is offline  
post #81 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 06:41 AM
LJG
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 5,021
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post

Are those custom installations realistic? I mean, 19 outputs for a 7.1 system? Would someone do something like that?

I am at 13.2 which is 15 without Bi-ampimg, if I bi-amped my front 4 speakers that would put me at 19
LJG is online now  
post #82 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 07:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,323
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2226 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post

Are those custom installations realistic? I mean, 19 outputs for a 7.1 system? Would someone do something like that?

I am planning on using all 16 Channels. Actively crossing over 3 LCRs will use 6 channels (bi-amped). Side fronts, sides, rears will add another 6 channels. Heights adds another 2 and I have 5 subs (4 will run mono off one output) and one rear sub will have it's own output. That totals 16 channels of output. Adds up fast.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #83 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,227
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #84 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,323
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2226 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
You know. I am leaning towards the Quested but Mark Seaton sent up a Catalyst to try out. I have those to compare to the Questeds as well as my own speakers. I'm getting there.... Not easy and time consuming.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #85 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post

Are those custom installations realistic? I mean, 19 outputs for a 7.1 system? Would someone do something like that?

I am at 11.6 right now so that would already occupy 17 channels unless I mono a couple of my subs together.

I want to be able to add around 9 more channels for an Atmos configuration if I can get my room wired for it. It's going to be a hell of a project with all the trim work that is in my room.

So about 20.6-22.6 is what I am guessing for a very enveloping soundstage based on my experience with DTS NEO X 11.x so far.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #86 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,227
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #87 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Im at 19ftx23ftx13feet approximately give or take trim and treatments.

Its not huge and I may be overestimating how many speakers I will need. If I wire again... I am going to over do it this time. I should have run a lot more wire everywhere the first time... i am clearly an idiot for not having done so and I'm kicking myself.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #88 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,227
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
yeah mine is about 16 x 29 x 10 and I have trouble envisioning how I would get more than the 7.4 I have in there right now. Maybe a "voice of God" channel but otherwise I can't really see how it would be done. Unless I used tiny orb speakers or very shallow depth stuff. That wouldn't pair well with the dynamics of my Catalysts, I dont think smile.gif.

Although perhaps some Procella shallow depth stuff would work.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #89 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 879
I have narrow line source speakers that are in-walls for now. I would need to add klipsch or other similar midrange horn speakers to be able to fit and be efficient enough to match reasonably well with my other speakers. If they are overly bright, that could be solved with EQ on surrounds without fidelity suffering too much.

The height speakers at the theater were not atmos theater was not dramatically noticable. It doesn't seem like bass response has to be phenomenal. Speakers that can cross over at 80hz seem like they would be sufficient for height and ceiling. The theater had only moderate sized speakers on the ceiling, maybe max 2ftx2ft, likely horn loaded if i had to guess.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #90 of 8754 Old 03-14-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,323
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2226 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
Surround speaker output has been the biggest issues. With these codecs, it is possible to have a full reference sound from a single surround speaker. Finding one that will do 105 db (and not compress) at the listening position is not easy.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off