Trinnov Altitude - Page 357 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4476Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10681 of 11072 Old 02-19-2020, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,458
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post
Are you referring just to Jack Ryan being 7.1 with a little use of heights (mostly top front)? I don't have it memorized, but there was at least a few Amazon Prime video releases that are more than just 7.1.2 that I remember seeing. Let me look tonight...

Could be the preset I used but I thought it was mostly top mid, it was such fleeting moments In any event, if you can scare up a few examples where more speakers were used, that's great! I appreciate it - thanks Stu!

Steve

Last edited by ss9001; 02-19-2020 at 12:43 PM.
ss9001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10682 of 11072 Old 02-19-2020, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Jish9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
The LFE 1 & 2 issue coupled with a comment on "L side & R side" subs (if I recall his comment correctly), is why I got the idea that IMAX Enhanced may use so-called stereo subs vs the standard. But if the home version is going to use an algorithm & specific crossover to create an LFE ch from L & R's then that doesn't need an LFE 1 & LFE 2 sub Sort of sounds like line level/speaker level use of subs as in the 2 ch world instead of LFE + bass mgmt.

We're good, all will eventually become clear.


What was also interesting was that IMAX Enhanced would stream via DTS:X. This was a little confusing as that format does have LFE content, but it sounded like they were going to use the DTS:X format to render the 12.0 channels. Unless one has a large 1.85 screen to display the content, and no LFE to boot, I don’t see how the home user is going to adopt this format.

It was also interesting the explanation about the bottom channels and their use. Seems like it would work well with at least a 10’ ceiling and in conjunction with heights to create the wall of sound. Wonder how Neural:X would handle it with regular DTS-MA content?
Jish9 is offline  
post #10683 of 11072 Old 02-19-2020, 11:09 PM
Member
 
mandragora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Attended the webinar yesterday. I guess IMAX Enhanced is coming in the next update? Not sure what that gives us? SJ
Any chance to see a recording of the webinar ?

thanks for the help,

ben
mandragora is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10684 of 11072 Old 02-20-2020, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1287 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandragora View Post
Any chance to see a recording of the webinar ?

thanks for the help,

ben
Usually they send out the recording, but haven’t yet.....
SJHT is offline  
post #10685 of 11072 Old 02-20-2020, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Berland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Usually they send out the recording, but haven’t yet.....
They have.

HT: Trinnov A32 (AL32-1632)/AMP8/8M - BRYSTON 4B SST2 - B&W 802D3, 803D2, 2*DB1, HTM2D2, 804D2, SCMS, Nautilus SCM1, 805D2 - NORDOST Heimdall2/Frey2 - ISOTEK EVO3 Titan,Sigmas - LG OLED65B7V - GIK ACOUSTICS
HP: 2*MOON 430HA D, 2*MiND2 - 2*Yggdrasil - 2*Hydra Z/ZPM - ISOTEK EVO3 Sigmas, Aquarius - NORDOST Heimdall 2 - AUDEZE LCD-4 rev2, 2*LCD-XC - SHURE SE846 - Bose NC 700
Berland is offline  
post #10686 of 11072 Old 02-20-2020, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Usually they send out the recording, but haven’t yet.....
Did you register for the webinar? They sent it to me the next day. I got busy and could not listen.
Papouche Le Mec is offline  
post #10687 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 12:06 AM
Member
 
mandragora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Papouche Le Mec View Post
Did you register for the webinar? They sent it to me the next day. I got busy and could not listen.
unfortunately I've missed the registration ... I was hoping that was possible to have the recording video anyway.
Papouche Le Mec likes this.
mandragora is offline  
post #10688 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 02:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
A7mad78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Any one is interested to listen to the webinar here the record

https://register.gotowebinar.com/rec...36245436350727



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
A7mad78 is online now  
post #10689 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1287 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Papouche Le Mec View Post
Did you register for the webinar? They sent it to me the next day. I got busy and could not listen.
Found it!
Papouche Le Mec likes this.
SJHT is offline  
post #10690 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I read (in this thread) that particular XLR to RCA adapters are required that do not have two of the pins tied together are needed for the outputs when going from XLR to RCA. I need to adapt RCA into the XLR input. What is the correct adapter for this or can I use one with the pins tied together for this (as I have those already)?


Thanks,
Brian
Brian B is offline  
post #10691 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Berland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post
I read (in this thread) that particular XLR to RCA adapters are required that do not have two of the pins tied together are needed for the outputs when going from XLR to RCA. I need to adapt RCA into the XLR input. What is the correct adapter for this or can I use one with the pins tied together for this (as I have those already)?


Thanks,
Brian
If you don't get an answer here, check with support[a]trinnov.com.
I only use XLR all the way and DB25 so don't have an answer to your question.

HT: Trinnov A32 (AL32-1632)/AMP8/8M - BRYSTON 4B SST2 - B&W 802D3, 803D2, 2*DB1, HTM2D2, 804D2, SCMS, Nautilus SCM1, 805D2 - NORDOST Heimdall2/Frey2 - ISOTEK EVO3 Titan,Sigmas - LG OLED65B7V - GIK ACOUSTICS
HP: 2*MOON 430HA D, 2*MiND2 - 2*Yggdrasil - 2*Hydra Z/ZPM - ISOTEK EVO3 Sigmas, Aquarius - NORDOST Heimdall 2 - AUDEZE LCD-4 rev2, 2*LCD-XC - SHURE SE846 - Bose NC 700
Berland is offline  
post #10692 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 01:15 PM
Member
 
Teejoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Hi, I was wondering where I can set the separate lip sync for a source? I only found the 'master' lip sync option.
Teejoo is offline  
post #10693 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Berland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teejoo View Post
Hi, I was wondering where I can set the separate lip sync for a source? I only found the 'master' lip sync option.
Same place you have master you also have relative delay (right side) - stored with preset:


Which to use can be set on source config.


This will actually give you the possibility to store delay on preset; and then decide how it should be used (or not used) on each input.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skjermbilde 2020-02-21 kl. 22.17.14.png
Views:	512
Size:	928.5 KB
ID:	2688114   Click image for larger version

Name:	Skjermbilde 2020-02-21 kl. 22.17.39.png
Views:	505
Size:	1,006.9 KB
ID:	2688116  

HT: Trinnov A32 (AL32-1632)/AMP8/8M - BRYSTON 4B SST2 - B&W 802D3, 803D2, 2*DB1, HTM2D2, 804D2, SCMS, Nautilus SCM1, 805D2 - NORDOST Heimdall2/Frey2 - ISOTEK EVO3 Titan,Sigmas - LG OLED65B7V - GIK ACOUSTICS
HP: 2*MOON 430HA D, 2*MiND2 - 2*Yggdrasil - 2*Hydra Z/ZPM - ISOTEK EVO3 Sigmas, Aquarius - NORDOST Heimdall 2 - AUDEZE LCD-4 rev2, 2*LCD-XC - SHURE SE846 - Bose NC 700

Last edited by Berland; 02-21-2020 at 01:35 PM.
Berland is offline  
post #10694 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 01:44 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by A7mad78 View Post
Any one is interested to listen to the webinar here the record

https://register.gotowebinar.com/rec...36245436350727


Thanks for this!

Does anyone have a link to the webinar before this latest one? I've signed up for the webinars, have not been able to attend live, but don't seem to get recording links sent afterward.
A7mad78 likes this.
Lioarlan is offline  
post #10695 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Teejoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berland View Post
Same place you have master you also have relative delay (right side) - stored with preset:


Which to use can be set on source config.


This will actually give you the possibility to store delay on preset; and then decide how it should be used (or not used) on each input.
Thanks! So this means I should make a preset for each input if delays are off?
Teejoo is offline  
post #10696 of 11072 Old 02-21-2020, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Berland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teejoo View Post
Thanks! So this means I should make a preset for each input if delays are off?
If you need different delay for multiple sources that is a possibility.

Usually each source device got its own setting as well. I only use master setting to align with processing time of my OLED, all sources are the same (no delay set on any of the source devices either). I have never experienced the need to adjust this for each source, what devices do you have connected?

HT: Trinnov A32 (AL32-1632)/AMP8/8M - BRYSTON 4B SST2 - B&W 802D3, 803D2, 2*DB1, HTM2D2, 804D2, SCMS, Nautilus SCM1, 805D2 - NORDOST Heimdall2/Frey2 - ISOTEK EVO3 Titan,Sigmas - LG OLED65B7V - GIK ACOUSTICS
HP: 2*MOON 430HA D, 2*MiND2 - 2*Yggdrasil - 2*Hydra Z/ZPM - ISOTEK EVO3 Sigmas, Aquarius - NORDOST Heimdall 2 - AUDEZE LCD-4 rev2, 2*LCD-XC - SHURE SE846 - Bose NC 700
Berland is offline  
post #10697 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lasalle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berland View Post
1. If you don't set up Lhr/Rhr DTS decoder will remap using surrounding speakers (Ltm/Rtm, Ltr/Rtr, Lrs/Rsr). So yes, this is a good call.
There seemed to be confusion on this point in the above webinar , they kind of dodged the mapping question saying it was very room setup specific. One comment that struck me in particular was if you have tiered seating and you surrounds follow the angle of the tier (per Trinnov recommendations) the separation between your rear surround and rear height maybe too small. This will be especially true if you have a lot of distance between the MLP and Rear Surround. They seemed to imply the renderer was smart enough to blend Rs and Rh into the Rs and vector the height info into tr speakers. It was not very clear, may require a follow up with Trinnov.
Lasalle is offline  
post #10698 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Berland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lasalle View Post
There seemed to be confusion on this point in the above webinar , they kind of dodged the mapping question saying it was very room setup specific. One comment that struck me in particular was if you have tiered seating and you surrounds follow the angle of the tier (per Trinnov recommendations) the separation between your rear surround and rear height maybe too small. This will be especially true if you have a lot of distance between the MLP and Rear Surround. They seemed to imply the renderer was smart enough to blend Rs and Rh into the Rs and vector the height info into tr speakers. It was not very clear, may require a follow up with Trinnov.
I know, I was the one trying to push them for an answer.... either they pretend not to know and avoid the question; or they just don't know of the "problem" It is not a problem, but it is very confusing and undocumented feature in the DTS decoder.

Edit:
The reality is that the DTS decoder remaps to surrounding speakers if the Lh, Rh, Lhr and Rhr are missing. It seems to be required to have these in the ceiling.

HT: Trinnov A32 (AL32-1632)/AMP8/8M - BRYSTON 4B SST2 - B&W 802D3, 803D2, 2*DB1, HTM2D2, 804D2, SCMS, Nautilus SCM1, 805D2 - NORDOST Heimdall2/Frey2 - ISOTEK EVO3 Titan,Sigmas - LG OLED65B7V - GIK ACOUSTICS
HP: 2*MOON 430HA D, 2*MiND2 - 2*Yggdrasil - 2*Hydra Z/ZPM - ISOTEK EVO3 Sigmas, Aquarius - NORDOST Heimdall 2 - AUDEZE LCD-4 rev2, 2*LCD-XC - SHURE SE846 - Bose NC 700
Berland is offline  
post #10699 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 10:28 AM
Member
 
Teejoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berland View Post
If you need different delay for multiple sources that is a possibility.

Usually each source device got its own setting as well. I only use master setting to align with processing time of my OLED, all sources are the same (no delay set on any of the source devices either). I have never experienced the need to adjust this for each source, what devices do you have connected?
I have an ATV4K + 2 Panasonic 9000 UHD players.

Stil discovering all settings in the Altitude.

I received a low noise adapter for the CPU fan from Antoine, but unfortunately that didn't fit connector from the standard intel fan on the Altitude 16. I adjusted the fan speed in the Bios for the moment. Let's see how that works out, but of course you want to slow the fan down when it runs 100%. Hopefully they find some better CPU fans.
Teejoo is offline  
post #10700 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,894
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3270 Post(s)
Liked: 2034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post
I read (in this thread) that particular XLR to RCA adapters are required that do not have two of the pins tied together are needed for the outputs when going from XLR to RCA. I need to adapt RCA into the XLR input. What is the correct adapter for this or can I use one with the pins tied together for this (as I have those already)?
Inputs and outputs are not dealing with the same issues, so only the output RCA adapter should avoid the shorting of pins 1 and 3. Pin 3 is the inverted output, and shorting it to ground (pin 1) just creates unnecessary current flow in that driver.

For RCA-XLR inputs, you do want to use an adapter with pin 3 grounded so that the differential input of the processor is not left dangling.
appelz likes this.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #10701 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Inputs and outputs are not dealing with the same issues, so only the output RCA adapter should avoid the shorting of pins 1 and 3. Pin 3 is the inverted output, and shorting it to ground (pin 1) just creates unnecessary current flow in that driver.

For RCA-XLR inputs, you do want to use an adapter with pin 3 grounded so that the differential input of the processor is not left dangling.
There used to be a section on the Rane website that detailed out the various balanced/unbalanced audio signal interconnections, but unfortunately it seems to be gone. In any case, I found it quite difficult to find adapters properly wired for balanced to unbalanced outputs, as Roger describes. I ended up buying some RCA cables and Neutrik XLR connectors, and making my own. Perhaps others on this forum have a source for this type of adapter and can save folks some trouble.

Note that once you adapt a balanced output to unbalanced, it is subject to the same hum and noise vulnerabilities as any other unbalanced connection.
Lioarlan is offline  
post #10702 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,894
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3270 Post(s)
Liked: 2034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
There used to be a section on the Rane website that detailed out the various balanced/unbalanced audio signal interconnections, but unfortunately it seems to be gone. In any case, I found it quite difficult to find adapters properly wired for balanced to unbalanced outputs...
At least if one searches the web for "Rane Sound System Interconnection" it does appear from multiple sources. The web never forgets.

ETA: Here's an example of a proper adapter for XLR outputs.
https://emotiva.com/products/balance...r-interconnect

Adapters using male XLR to RCA of the correct type should be easier to find.

For more examples, see the 5 posts starting at this other AVS thread.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"

Last edited by Roger Dressler; 02-22-2020 at 08:33 PM.
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #10703 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 08:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bigguyca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Turkestan
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1351 Post(s)
Liked: 1201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
There used to be a section on the Rane website that detailed out the various balanced/unbalanced audio signal interconnections, but unfortunately it seems to be gone. In any case, I found it quite difficult to find adapters properly wired for balanced to unbalanced outputs, as Roger describes. I ended up buying some RCA cables and Neutrik XLR connectors, and making my own. Perhaps others on this forum have a source for this type of adapter and can save folks some trouble.

Note that once you adapt a balanced output to unbalanced, it is subject to the same hum and noise vulnerabilities as any other unbalanced connection.

Google is your friend. Took perhaps a minute.

https://www.ranecommercial.com/kb_ar...p?article=2107
bigguyca is online now  
post #10704 of 11072 Old 02-22-2020, 11:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,789
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2388 Post(s)
Liked: 3203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post
A recent content item re Amazon Prime & Atmos:

After watching Man in the High Castle (excellent!), we started the Jack Ryan series which has Atmos in the 4K version.

Other than some use at the beginning music and opening few minutes, the vast majority (98%?) of every mix so far is 7.1. There's only a very occasional blip to the tops and only the mids. The 7.1 is solid & enveloping on its own but I'm curious if these are 7.1.2 printouts or if they do use objects? My guess is printouts for bandwidth reasons but I can't tell on the meters from the extremely limited height usage.

I did find that if I set the Altitude's audio to Upmix on Native & tweak a setting in the DSU upmixer, the soundtrack can revert to 5.1 DD+ and it'll add Neural X for a more enveloping (& pleasing) use of overheads. Interesting to say the least! It's hard to say which is better, since the Atmos 7.1 is pretty solid just very timid on heights. The Altitude sure makes it easy to experiment!

I wonder what other Prime series have Atmos & is the norm for them?


I mixed Carnival Row for Amazon. It’s in Atmos.

Give it a listen and tell me what you think...

There are no printouts.... I know this to be true for all the series they are producing.

And as I did a bunch of research on the subject as we prepared season one, I learned that “printouts” don’t save space in a lossy encode.

Dolby Digital Plus is a constant bitrate codec. An original mix with two objects take the same amount of space to encode as one with 118.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #10705 of 11072 Old 02-23-2020, 12:45 AM
Member
 
CP850-CLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
I mixed Carnival Row for Amazon. It’s in Atmos.

Give it a listen and tell me what you think...

There are no printouts.... I know this to be true for all the series they are producing.

And as I did a bunch of research on the subject as we prepared season one, I learned that “printouts” don’t save space in a lossy encode.

Dolby Digital Plus is a constant bitrate codec. An original mix with two objects take the same amount of space to encode as one with 118.
Did you do Hunters too? Wow, look forward to it.

"I have spoken."
CP850-CLED is online now  
post #10706 of 11072 Old 02-23-2020, 01:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,789
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2388 Post(s)
Liked: 3203
Quote:
Originally Posted by CP850-CLED View Post
Did you do Hunters too? Wow, look forward to it.

Yes I mixed “Hunters” also.

Alas it’s 5.1. But still very proud of the mix.

Looking out over the rest of 2020 I’d say that the ratio of Atmos to 5.1 projects coming up is around 3:1.
G-Rex, ss9001, Ringnut and 5 others like this.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #10707 of 11072 Old 02-23-2020, 04:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,458
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
I mixed Carnival Row for Amazon. It’s in Atmos. Give it a listen and tell me what you think...
Hi, Film! Good to hear from you.

I'll be happy to sample ep1/2 to hear your approach to Atmos. Not ready yet to watch the whole series but it's next after we finish Ryan. So far we've watched S4 of Expanse, the Philip Dick series, Undone & Man in the High Castle on Prime so I needed to give my wife a break from sci-fi! It was either Ryan or Mrs Maisel

Hunter is also on my list, especially after High Castle. Good news that Atmos mixes are on the upswing at Amazon.

Steve

Last edited by ss9001; 02-23-2020 at 04:10 AM.
ss9001 is offline  
post #10708 of 11072 Old 02-23-2020, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Speaking of Hunters on Amazon, I recently got an apple TV so I could have Atmos thru the Trinnov. Netflix is amazing with HDR and Dolby Vision, and Atmos. But I've been watching Hunters..I'm only getting PCM for audio. Not even Dolby. Do I have to fix a setting in the Apple TV. It all looks right
dancjodanc is offline  
post #10709 of 11072 Old 02-23-2020, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Berland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post
Speaking of Hunters on Amazon, I recently got an apple TV so I could have Atmos thru the Trinnov. Netflix is amazing with HDR and Dolby Vision, and Atmos. But I've been watching Hunters..I'm only getting PCM for audio. Not even Dolby. Do I have to fix a setting in the Apple TV. It all looks right
Hunters is 5.1 here as well. Other titles on Amazon is Atmos, so suspect it is actually mixed in 5.1 (else Amazon have screwed up something).

Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
Yes I mixed “Hunters” also.

Alas it’s 5.1. But still very proud of the mix.

HT: Trinnov A32 (AL32-1632)/AMP8/8M - BRYSTON 4B SST2 - B&W 802D3, 803D2, 2*DB1, HTM2D2, 804D2, SCMS, Nautilus SCM1, 805D2 - NORDOST Heimdall2/Frey2 - ISOTEK EVO3 Titan,Sigmas - LG OLED65B7V - GIK ACOUSTICS
HP: 2*MOON 430HA D, 2*MiND2 - 2*Yggdrasil - 2*Hydra Z/ZPM - ISOTEK EVO3 Sigmas, Aquarius - NORDOST Heimdall 2 - AUDEZE LCD-4 rev2, 2*LCD-XC - SHURE SE846 - Bose NC 700

Last edited by Berland; 02-23-2020 at 12:44 PM.
Berland is offline  
post #10710 of 11072 Old 02-23-2020, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,789
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2388 Post(s)
Liked: 3203
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post
Speaking of Hunters on Amazon, I recently got an apple TV so I could have Atmos thru the Trinnov. Netflix is amazing with HDR and Dolby Vision, and Atmos. But I've been watching Hunters..I'm only getting PCM for audio. Not even Dolby. Do I have to fix a setting in the Apple TV. It all looks right

The Apple TV passes Atmos as PCM. (Atmos MAT.)

For everything else it decodes internally to PCM... so there is nothing wrong with your setup.

It does that so it can integrate in voice control via Siri and can mix those sounds into the stream.

You should see the same behavior on other Atmos apps (Netflix, Disney +, etc).

As I said above we mixed Hunters in 5.1. Some Amazon titles in Atmos are Jack Ryan, carnival Row and the movie Susperia.... I’ve tested all of them on my Apple TV. There is nothing wrong with your Apple TV or the Amazon Prime App


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
FilmMixer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off