JBL Synthesis SDP-75 - Page 21 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 207Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 623 Old 01-31-2020, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
ROCKNMUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there a setting to delay the output of the trigger to the amps?
ROCKNMUD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 623 Old 02-01-2020, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
JBL Synthesis SDP-75

So glad to see, in addition to the DTS X Pro update, the SDP75 now has the full Altitude PEQ. That’s in addition to the pre-loaded anechoic files for all the JBL speakers.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
appelz, SOWK, DonH50 and 1 others like this.

Last edited by ccool96; 02-01-2020 at 02:26 PM.
ccool96 is online now  
post #603 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
So glad to see, in addition to the DTS X Pro update, the SDP75 now has the full Altitude PEQ. That’s in addition to the pre-loaded anechoic files for all the JBL speakers.
I had my unit updated last night - and this PEQ functionality is not there Just the previous AEQ. I wonder what made your update special?

Bummer, I would like to get that Minidsp out of my multi sub layout.
Lioarlan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #604 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
I had my unit updated last night - and this PEQ functionality is not there Just the previous AEQ. I wonder what made your update special?



Bummer, I would like to get that Minidsp out of my multi sub layout.


What version are you on?

It isn’t just my SDP75 that now has PEQ.

Of the 5-6 SDP75 units I know of, they all have PEQ after the latest 4.2.15 DTS:X Pro update.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ccool96 is online now  
post #605 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
What version are you on?

It isn’t just my SDP75 that now has PEQ.

Of the 5-6 SDP75 units I know of, they all have PEQ after the latest 4.2.15 DTS:X Pro update.
Mine shows 4.2.15. It's a 24 ch unit. This is a mystery ...
Lioarlan is offline  
post #606 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
Mine shows 4.2.15. It's a 24 ch unit. This is a mystery ...


Can you send a picture of what you see when you click on the “AEQ” button.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ccool96 is online now  
post #607 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 03:23 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Will send when I get home from work. It shows the usual drop down of choices for my speakers (Salon2, Voice2, LSR 705i).
Lioarlan is offline  
post #608 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
What version are you on?

It isn’t just my SDP75 that now has PEQ.

Of the 5-6 SDP75 units I know of, they all have PEQ after the latest 4.2.15 DTS:X Pro update.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Strangely enough, Chris and I just talked about something completely different, but chatted about this as well.

My first guess was a mistake in the rush to get units updated, and the wrong firmware was applied, which exposed the AEQ filters on the SDP-75's. If anyone isn't aware, AEQ and PEQ are really the same thing. AEQ is just a group of PEQ filters that are derived from JBL's spinorama measurements, loaded into the SDP-75 and then hidden, and additional PEQ filters locked.

Second guess is that since everyone including JBL realizes that having access to PEQ is critical, they finally decided to not treat those filters as proprietary and the SDP-75's now behave exactly like Altitudes regarding PEQ's. Filter sets can be saved, loaded, recalled, additional PEQ filters added, etc.

If some units have PEQ exposed and some are still locked to AEQ, I'd wager it was a mistake.

If any of the DSP-75's that show PEQ also have remapping available, then definitely a mistake.
Rex Anderson likes this.

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
post #609 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 04:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
Quote:
Originally Posted by appelz View Post
Strangely enough, Chris and I just talked about something completely different, but chatted about this as well.



My first guess was a mistake in the rush to get units updated, and the wrong firmware was applied, which exposed the AEQ filters on the SDP-75's. If anyone isn't aware, AEQ and PEQ are really the same thing. AEQ is just a group of PEQ filters that are derived from JBL's spinorama measurements, loaded into the SDP-75 and then hidden, and additional PEQ filters locked.



Second guess is that since everyone including JBL realizes that having access to PEQ is critical, they finally decided to not treat those filters as proprietary and the SDP-75's now behave exactly like Altitudes regarding PEQ's. Filter sets can be saved, loaded, recalled, additional PEQ filters added, etc.



If some units have PEQ exposed and some are still locked to AEQ, I'd wager it was a mistake.



If any of the DSP-75's that show PEQ also have remapping available, then definitely a mistake.


So my SDP75 doesn’t have “Remapping” feature, but does have PEQ.

So sounds like your second guess is correct, in that JBL knew they needed PEQ, even if it did expose their Speaker Tuning filters.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ccool96 is online now  
post #610 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by appelz View Post
Strangely enough, Chris and I just talked about something completely different, but chatted about this as well.

My first guess was a mistake in the rush to get units updated, and the wrong firmware was applied, which exposed the AEQ filters on the SDP-75's. If anyone isn't aware, AEQ and PEQ are really the same thing. AEQ is just a group of PEQ filters that are derived from JBL's spinorama measurements, loaded into the SDP-75 and then hidden, and additional PEQ filters locked.

Second guess is that since everyone including JBL realizes that having access to PEQ is critical, they finally decided to not treat those filters as proprietary and the SDP-75's now behave exactly like Altitudes regarding PEQ's. Filter sets can be saved, loaded, recalled, additional PEQ filters added, etc.

If some units have PEQ exposed and some are still locked to AEQ, I'd wager it was a mistake.

If any of the DSP-75's that show PEQ also have remapping available, then definitely a mistake.
So I just rechecked, my firmware is listed as 4.2.15.1

My guess is, that .1 is a fix for the "mistake". Too bad ...
Lioarlan is offline  
post #611 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,588
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2437 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
So I just rechecked, my firmware is listed as 4.2.15.1

My guess is, that .1 is a fix for the "mistake". Too bad ...
Really? WHen did you download the new version??

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #612 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Really? WHen did you download the new version??
It was downloaded last night.
Lioarlan is offline  
post #613 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,588
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2437 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
It was downloaded last night.
Wow... Didn't take long. I wonder why it's such an issue to keep secret?

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #614 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
JBL Synthesis SDP-75

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lioarlan View Post
So I just rechecked, my firmware is listed as 4.2.15.1



My guess is, that .1 is a fix for the "mistake". Too bad ...


That’s the same version I am on with the full PEQ.

JBL indicated to me that the PEQ was added on purpose and had been in the works for a while.

If they had accidentally loaded the standard Altitude firmware, my SDP75 would have speaker remapping, which it doesn’t.









Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by ccool96; 02-05-2020 at 07:25 PM.
ccool96 is online now  
post #615 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
That’s the same version I am on with the full PEQ.

JBL indicated to me that the PEQ was added on purpose and had been in the works for a while.

If they had accidentally loaded the standard Altitude firmware, my SDP75 would have 3D remapping, which it doesn’t.
Huh! Time for me to get JBL support involved in my case.

Screenshot of my AEQ dropdown attached ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AEQ.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	232.9 KB
ID:	2680984  
Lioarlan is offline  
post #616 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
That’s the same version I am on with the full PEQ.

JBL indicated to me that the PEQ was added on purpose and had been in the works for a while.
Great news then. I still prefer having an external DSP when I can, but sometimes there are constraints and at least this gives me options.

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
post #617 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,588
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2437 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
That’s the same version I am on with the full PEQ.

JBL indicated to me that the PEQ was added on purpose and had been in the works for a while.

If they had accidentally loaded the standard Altitude firmware, my SDP75 would have speaker remapping, which it doesn’t.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I just noticed the .1 patch too and my PEQ is gone!

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #618 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
JBL Synthesis SDP-75

So everyone disregard my post.

I just looked back at the speaker layout screen and the PEQ is gone. It’s back to AEQ.

I didn’t realize they had pushed another update or patch to my unit since it stays off unless it’s in use.

I guess they did load the standard Altitude firmware by accident like @appelz said!

That’s a bummer as my JBL rep told me that they had been working to have PEQ on the SDP75, but I guess they still want to keep their speaker tunings secret.

Bummer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ccool96 is online now  
post #619 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,588
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2437 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Not so secret... I have screen shots of the speaker tunings... It's public domain now. They should bring it back..
Marc Alexander and ccool96 like this.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is online now  
post #620 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 07:48 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
So everyone disregard my post.

I just looked back at the speaker layout screen and the PEQ is gone. It’s back to AEQ.

I didn’t realize they had pushed another update or patch to my unit since it stays off unless it’s in use.

I guess they did load the standard Altitude firmware by accident like @appelz said!

That’s a bummer as my JBL rep told me that they had been working to have PEQ on the SDP75, but I guess they still want to keep their speaker tunings secret.

Bummer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Imma just delete my "yay" post then...hehe.

Having access to both the AEQ filter sets and PEQ is definitely something they want. Last I heard from someone who would know was that it wasn't going to be real soon.

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
post #621 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
One last interesting point.

I just checked with an SDP75 owner who is still on 4.2.15.

His unit shows an update for 4.2.15.1 is available but he hasn’t updated.

But even on the 4.2.15, where he had PEQ the other day, now it’s back to AEQ.

So it don’t know what the 4.2.15.1 update does, but that isn’t want caused the PEQ to disappear.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ccool96 is online now  
post #622 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Lioarlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Not so secret... I have screen shots of the speaker tunings... It's public domain now. They should bring it back..
Anybody with free REW and a cheap audio interface can measure the response of a speaker AEQ, and trivially reverse engineer the PEQ to closely match that response. If JBL is thinking that this is a primary differentiation of the SDP-75, seems like a pretty thin reed to me ... I think the bigger value prop for the SDP-75 vs Altitude is the one stop shopping for complete systems including SOTA speakers, amps, subs, etc along with the necessary installation, calibration, and support.
Lioarlan is offline  
post #623 of 623 Old 02-05-2020, 08:28 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A Hilton property near you!
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
One last interesting point.

I just checked with an SDP75 owner who is still on 4.2.15.

His unit shows an update for 4.2.15.1 is available but he hasn’t updated.

But even on the 4.2.15, where he had PEQ the other day, now it’s back to AEQ.

So it don’t know what the 4.2.15.1 update does, but that isn’t want caused the PEQ to disappear.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Possible that it was just a bit flipped @jamin and the fix didn't require a firmware upload. Just that the machine be powered on and connected to the Trinnov servers, and changed on the fly.
jamin likes this.

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
JBL Master ARCOS Calibrator, CEDIA Designer, Home Acoustics Alliance Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video, Level III Trinnov Altitude Calibrator
Mercenary Calibrator for Manufacturers, Integrators and System Owners
appelz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off