Kaleidescape Strato Movie Player 4K HDR $4,500 - Page 182 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2093Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5431 of 5479 Old 01-06-2020, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
uderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Sonneborn View Post
Quite a collection.

Art
Also have just as many in dead formats like laserdiscs, d-vhs and hd-dvds lol

Wanted:
HD-VMD Discs
Muse/Hi-Vision Discs - Mint/Complete Only!
uderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5432 of 5479 Old 01-06-2020, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 774 Post(s)
Liked: 435
https://www.mediaplaynews.com/uhd-al...msung-philips/

FYI.
Montucky and A7mad78 like this.

Video: JVC NX7, Stewart Cima Neve 135"
Audio: Marantz AV7704, Emotiva XPA-11 Gen 3
Speakers: Focal Electra 1038 Be x 2, Electra CC 1008 Be, Aria 906 x 8, REL S5 SHO x 2
Sources: Apple TV 4k, Kaleidescape Strato, Xbox One X, Nintendo Switch
Xbox Live: TrackZ
JaremyP is offline  
post #5433 of 5479 Old 01-10-2020, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Naylorman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 222
hey everyone,

what HDMI cables are you using these days for your K components? I have been using the ones that came with each device but lately i've been having audio/video hiccups during movies (maybe once or twice a movie) and im wondering if my cables are starting to go bad?

I'm currently using this for my projector-processor
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

JTR Speakers, RSL Atmos, Kaleidescape, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Marantz Processor, Emotiva Amps, JVC RS540
Naylorman32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5434 of 5479 Old 01-10-2020, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naylorman32 View Post
hey everyone,

what HDMI cables are you using these days for your K components? I have been using the ones that came with each device but lately i've been having audio/video hiccups during movies (maybe once or twice a movie) and im wondering if my cables are starting to go bad?

I'm currently using this for my projector-processor
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I’ve been dealing with audio drops for a few seconds, once or twice an evening... I’ve tried 5 different 18 gib certified cables, same issue... K is actively investigating, I would suggest emailing their support with the issue as strength in numbers always helps (you’ll likely get a reply from Rusty...)
Naylorman32 likes this.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5435 of 5479 Old 01-10-2020, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Naylorman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
I’ve been dealing with audio drops for a few seconds, once or twice an evening... I’ve tried 5 different 18 gib certified cables, same issue... K is actively investigating, I would suggest emailing their support with the issue as strength in numbers always helps (you’ll likely get a reply from Rusty...)
I guess its a bit comforting knowing its not just a ME issue. Yeah i sent Rusty a note. Thanks! hopefully its just a small bug.

JTR Speakers, RSL Atmos, Kaleidescape, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Marantz Processor, Emotiva Amps, JVC RS540
Naylorman32 is offline  
post #5436 of 5479 Old 01-10-2020, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For the guys experiencing dropouts , are you using a strato playing movies on its internal drives or playing movies across your network ?

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #5437 of 5479 Old 01-10-2020, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,941
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naylorman32 View Post
hey everyone,

what HDMI cables are you using these days for your K components? I have been using the ones that came with each device but lately i've been having audio/video hiccups during movies (maybe once or twice a movie) and im wondering if my cables are starting to go bad?

I'm currently using this for my projector-processor
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Interesting both you and Thrang have a Radiance in your chain.

AudioXtream
Authorized Dealer:

Trinnov, Anthem, SVS, Triad, Genelec,
Revel, JBL Synthesis/JBL Pro, Paradigm, Kaleidescape, PS Audio, JVC,
Panamorph, LG

Last edited by adidino; 01-10-2020 at 10:17 AM.
adidino is offline  
post #5438 of 5479 Old 01-10-2020, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 224
From Jim Peterson at Lumagen on the Lumagen thread (last week):

Concerning audio dropouts after an update:

I can say from experience that if you do an update and then get any dropouts, this comes down to the HDMI cabling. The different releases can have slightly different output jitters. The Pro has some of the lowest jitter measurements of any HDMI device I know about, but the low jitter does vary from release to release by a small margin. However, this should not affect either audio or the video. If it does check your cables:

- Make sure you did not loosen a HDMI plug while updating. It happens. I did this to myself on the latest release. I had a drop out in video and then discovered a plug slightly moved out. Plugged it back in and no more dropouts.

- Make sure all passive HDMI cables are 2 to 3 meters long and 18 GHz Certified. Very important. Cables under 2 meter can cause issues with the signal being "too hot" and audio goes first due to the IMO poor decision that it is carried as a non-coherent data stream on top of video. I solve issues in the field all the time by getting people to replace their 1 meter cables with 2 meter cables.

- I recommend the Tributaries UHDP passive HDMI cables, but there are a few other good HDMI cables available. Getting people to switch to the UHDP has solved issues on a number of occasions.

- Might even help to clean the contacts. Pull each end of every HDMI cable half way out and push back in five times. This cleans the contacts and better forms the contacts together. This little trick has resolved a lot of issues in various systems.
steelman1991 and Naylorman32 like this.


Theater 1: LG OLED55E6P, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Dune HD Solo 4K
Theater 2: Sony VPL-VW885ES, Seymour Premier 16:9 128", Lumagen 4242, Oppo 103D (CFW) & 203, Apple TV 4K, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Denon AVR-X6500H (7.1.4)
fatherom is offline  
post #5439 of 5479 Old 01-15-2020, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Terminator: Dark Fate has an issue with double subtitles - not every subtitle, but some random and repeatable number of them...

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5440 of 5479 Old 01-15-2020, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post
Interesting both you and Thrang have a Radiance in your chain.
I have hda both the Radiance and Strato on my chain for the last 4 weeks and have not yet experienced this issue. I'm using the those 6' Monoprice certified premium high speed HDMI 18Gbps cables...
Kris Deering likes this.

Speakers: L/C/R: Ascend Sierra Towers (Raal) / Ascend Horizon (Raal) Subwoofers: 2 x JTR Captivator 2400ULF Surrounds: Revel S16(4) / Atmos: RSL C34e (4)
Video: JVC RS2000, Lumagen 4444, 132.8" SeymourAv 2.40:1 with dual roller masking to 16:9
Other: Anthem AVM60 / DSonic M3a 2800-7 / Crown XLS 1002 (2) / Kaleidescape Strato S, XBOX One X, ATV4k, UB820, Elan G1, 2x GC-100-18R
crg28 is offline  
post #5441 of 5479 Old 01-15-2020, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by crg28 View Post
I have hda both the Radiance and Strato on my chain for the last 4 weeks and have not yet experienced this issue. I'm using the those 6' Monoprice certified premium high speed HDMI 18Gbps cables...
I dont pass audio through the Radiance... I also tested without the Radiance even for the video portion

Its not frequent but once or twice a long night of movie watching. I dont know for certain, but it may only be Atmos titles - I dont recall on Blu Ray or UHD's with True HD/DTS-MA-HD or lower

I also don't get the drop from my ATV4k which does run through the Radiance (Strato originally did the same - running through the Radiance - but switched months ago as a troubleshooting step to the HDMI Audio only out direct to the Trinnov).

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5442 of 5479 Old 01-15-2020, 09:42 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tspotorno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 56
FYI, recently switched from Datasat RS20i to the Trinnov Altitude 32... I am experiencing audio drop outs couple times per movie as well. Honestly, never remember having this issue with the Datasat, or at least I don't remember it. I do run audio thru the Lumagen...

Got some new cables today to see if that makes a difference.

I reported it to KScape and they are having me do a bunch of diag steps and have to send them the results. Want a log that I have to get when it happens.

Very annoying as I have to stop the movie, and restart it to regain the audio...

Sony VW5000 | Stewart Vistascope 14' ST100 screen
Trinnov Altitude 32/24 | 3 x MC601 | 2 x ATI AT526NC | Oppo 205 | Lumagen Radiance Pro
B&W 800 / HTM 2 Diamonds | 4 x Paradigm ADP3 | 2 x Fathom F212 | 6 x ML Vanquish
D-Box HEMC & 2 x SRP 330 platforms | Synology DS3615xs 12x6TB drives
tspotorno is offline  
post #5443 of 5479 Old 01-15-2020, 11:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,690
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1211 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by tspotorno View Post
FYI, recently switched from Datasat RS20i to the Trinnov Altitude 32... I am experiencing audio drop outs couple times per movie as well. Honestly, never remember having this issue with the Datasat, or at least I don't remember it. I do run audio thru the Lumagen...

Got some new cables today to see if that makes a difference.

I reported it to KScape and they are having me do a bunch of diag steps and have to send them the results. Want a log that I have to get when it happens.

Very annoying as I have to stop the movie, and restart it to regain the audio...
I would recommend discussing with Lumagen Support. My Trinnov arrives this week and they have suggestions for this setup. They have the same gear in their Lumagen Theater. SJ
SJHT is offline  
post #5444 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 04:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbm007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New London, North Carolina
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by tspotorno View Post
FYI, recently switched from Datasat RS20i to the Trinnov Altitude 32... I am experiencing audio drop outs couple times per movie as well. Honestly, never remember having this issue with the Datasat, or at least I don't remember it. I do run audio thru the Lumagen...

Got some new cables today to see if that makes a difference.

I reported it to KScape and they are having me do a bunch of diag steps and have to send them the results. Want a log that I have to get when it happens.

Very annoying as I have to stop the movie, and restart it to regain the audio...
Are you loosing video as well or just audio?

If its just audio you can rule out the K unit.

Are all your HDMI cables at least 6 feet long?

Shorter HDMI cables can cause timing issues.

Lumagen scaler has the most rigid HDMI protocol standards in the world.

Which Lumagen software release are you using?

Lumagen updates its software every couple of weeks.

Try changing the audio input feed to the Trinnov to a different HDMI port.

We have 4 Kal units here and a Lumagen 4442, Trinnov 16 s and have never had audio drop outs.

Video drop outs.... YES, depending on the current software release from Lumagen.
jbm007 is offline  
post #5445 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2338 Post(s)
Liked: 1551
Good advice here but did you simply bypass the Lumagen to see if the drop outs continue?

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is offline  
post #5446 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbm007 View Post

If its just audio you can rule out the K unit.
I don’t know if that’s necessarily true. I am running audio output only from the strato and bypassing the lumagen... it’s either the strato, connectivity to the terra, or the Altitude. I’ve tried multiple 6 foot 18 gig certified cables so it’s not that.

Both my Strato and Terra are on the same gig switch in my rack with Fluke certified gig enet cables as well.

Sounds like tspotorno is having a different issue than some of us reporting here... once the audio drops it’s gone until he restarts playback? That’s how his post reads.

My drops are momentary (1-2 seconds)

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5447 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 05:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Naylorman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
I don’t know if that’s necessarily true. I am running audio output only from the strato and bypassing the lumagen... it’s either the strato, connectivity to the terra, or the Altitude. I’ve tried multiple 6 foot 18 gig certified cables so it’s not that.

Both my Strato and Terra are on the same gig switch in my rack with Fluke certified gig enet cables as well.

Sounds like tspotorno is having a different issue than some of us reporting here... once the audio drops it’s gone until he restarts playback? That’s how his post reads.

My drops are momentary (1-2 seconds)


Mine also drops out just for 1-2 seconds, definitely seems different than what tspotorno is saying (at least i think). I havent thought to look into it being a problem with my aging gig switch, so thats a good point.

I logged a couple instances last week, but havent fired my theater back up since. I only use my Lumagen for the NLS and DTM features, and if i need to buy new HDMI cables its going to be a pain. So i posted it in the classifieds to see if i can get back what i paid. If not, i'll just keep troubleshooting it with Rusty at K, and maybe send Jim a note to see if he has suggestions.

JTR Speakers, RSL Atmos, Kaleidescape, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Marantz Processor, Emotiva Amps, JVC RS540
Naylorman32 is offline  
post #5448 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbm007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New London, North Carolina
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naylorman32 View Post
Mine also drops out just for 1-2 seconds, definitely seems different than what tspotorno is saying (at least i think). I havent thought to look into it being a problem with my aging gig switch, so thats a good point.

I logged a couple instances last week, but havent fired my theater back up since. I only use my Lumagen for the NLS and DTM features, and if i need to buy new HDMI cables its going to be a pain. So i posted it in the classifieds to see if i can get back what i paid. If not, i'll just keep troubleshooting it with Rusty at K, and maybe send Jim a note to see if he has suggestions.
Well we have similiar setups.

One thing is different. We feed the audio/video to the Lumagen and send the audio out the second Lumagen output to the Trinnov.

We use a Cisco 1000 gig sw. and all Cat 8 cabling in our systems. We use a Luxul EPIC 3 – DUAL BAND WIRELESS AC3100 GIGABIT ROUTER W/ DOMOTZ & ROUTER LIMITS

We use Velox Passive HDMI® Cables

We have 4 Stratos, and 2 Terra servers.

No audio drop outs have occurred in our system to date.

Guess I just cursed us................
jbm007 is offline  
post #5449 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbm007 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naylorman32 View Post
Mine also drops out just for 1-2 seconds, definitely seems different than what tspotorno is saying (at least i think). I havent thought to look into it being a problem with my aging gig switch, so thats a good point.

I logged a couple instances last week, but havent fired my theater back up since. I only use my Lumagen for the NLS and DTM features, and if i need to buy new HDMI cables its going to be a pain. So i posted it in the classifieds to see if i can get back what i paid. If not, i'll just keep troubleshooting it with Rusty at K, and maybe send Jim a note to see if he has suggestions.
Well we have similiar setups.

One thing is different. We feed the audio/video to the Lumagen and send the audio out the second Lumagen output to the Trinnov.

We use a Cisco 1000 gig sw. and all Cat 8 cabling in our systems. We use a Luxul EPIC 3 – DUAL BAND WIRELESS AC3100 GIGABIT ROUTER W/ DOMOTZ & ROUTER LIMITS

We use Velox Passive HDMI®️ Cables

We have 4 Stratos, and 2 Terra servers.

No audio drop outs have occurred in our system to date.

Guess I just cursed us................
I originally ran combined audio and video to the Radiance and then audio out to the Altitude.

When I heard the dropouts I tried the Strato audio only direct to the Altitude to see if running through the Radaince was the problem, but same type of occasional and sporadic behavior occurs.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5450 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2338 Post(s)
Liked: 1551
Anyone know when MGM and James Bond are coming to K?

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is offline  
post #5451 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Anyone know when MGM and James Bond are coming to K?
That and what happened to general MGM releases - we got a first batch then nothing

NBC/20th Century advanced codecs and MA updates would be appreciated as well
A7mad78 likes this.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5452 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbm007 View Post
Well we have similiar setups.

One thing is different. We feed the audio/video to the Lumagen and send the audio out the second Lumagen output to the Trinnov.

We use a Cisco 1000 gig sw. and all Cat 8 cabling in our systems. We use a Luxul EPIC 3 – DUAL BAND WIRELESS AC3100 GIGABIT ROUTER W/ DOMOTZ & ROUTER LIMITS

We use Velox Passive HDMI® Cables

We have 4 Stratos, and 2 Terra servers.

No audio drop outs have occurred in our system to date.

Guess I just cursed us................
Thought you guys ran and recommended Tributaries cable?
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5453 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
NBC/20th Century advanced codecs and MA updates would be appreciated as well
I reckon we're flogging a dead horse on that subject Thrang.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5454 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbm007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New London, North Carolina
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Thought you guys ran and recommended Tributaries cable?
We do. But for our customer's systems.

But when you have $800 worth of other cables in your demo systems, you don't get a wild hair up your ass and replace them.
jbm007 is offline  
post #5455 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbm007 View Post
We do. But for our customer's systems.

But when you have $800 worth of other cables in your demo systems, you don't get a wild hair up your ass and replace them.
LOL - touche. Thanks Jim
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5456 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbm007 View Post
Well we have similiar setups.

One thing is different. We feed the audio/video to the Lumagen and send the audio out the second Lumagen output to the Trinnov.

We use a Cisco 1000 gig sw. and all Cat 8 cabling in our systems. We use a Luxul EPIC 3 – DUAL BAND WIRELESS AC3100 GIGABIT ROUTER W/ DOMOTZ & ROUTER LIMITS

We use Velox Passive HDMI®️ Cables

We have 4 Stratos, and 2 Terra servers.

No audio drop outs have occurred in our system to date.

Guess I just cursed us................
Thought you guys ran and recommended Tributaries cable?
Personally the Tributaries is one of 4-5 18gig certified cables I’ve tried

I think Jim at Lumagen puts too much emphasis on cables when there are issues. Yes bad cables can be an issue but in reality any certified cable should be fine and I’ve had plenty of non certified cables work in other 4k/lossless audio implementations without issue

Usually a wonky cable is a very obvious issue
tcramer likes this.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5457 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,296
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 2165
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
NBC/20th Century advanced codecs and MA updates would be appreciated as well
I reckon we're flogging a dead horse on that subject Thrang.
My arm does not tire though... 🙁
steelman1991 likes this.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 32/24 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5458 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Personally the Tributaries is one of 4-5 18gig certified cables I’ve tried

I think Jim at Lumagen puts too much emphasis on cables when there are issues. Yes bad cables can be an issue but in reality any certified cable should be fine and I’ve had plenty of non certified cables work in other 4k/lossless audio implementations without issue

Usually a wonky cable is a very obvious issue
Definitely - I have "Omars" 2M Premium Certified (cheap as chips) cables and they are solid in my set-up.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5459 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,690
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1211 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Also (recommended by Lumagen and how they have theirs setup), try only using input 6 or 7 on the Altitude. Not 1-4 as they go through two HDMI chips in series...
Kris Deering likes this.
SJHT is offline  
post #5460 of 5479 Old 01-16-2020, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbm007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New London, North Carolina
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Personally the Tributaries is one of 4-5 18gig certified cables I’ve tried

I think Jim at Lumagen puts too much emphasis on cables when there are issues. Yes bad cables can be an issue but in reality any certified cable should be fine and I’ve had plenty of non certified cables work in other 4k/lossless audio implementations without issue

Usually a wonky cable is a very obvious issue
Actually I think its the connectors that are the real issue.

Some connectors are just too loose and the quality of the pin outs is subject.
steelman1991 likes this.
jbm007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off