Kaleidescape Strato Movie Player 4K HDR $4,500 - Page 189 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2801Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
jtjjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I am back to normal on download speed.

John
A7mad78 likes this.
jtjjen is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
jtjjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applemike68 View Post
Why is bloodshot not up for preorder


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It’s been announced but with no release date for either disc or digital. It is rumored to be released sometime in June.

John
jtjjen is online now  
post #5643 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Antonio, Tejas
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 789 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mntneer View Post
Anyone else having issues downloading right now? I'm getting maybe 7 to 8 Mbps at best. Tried checking everything. Sometimes the Strato thinks the player is not idle and therefore throttling downloads.
My internet's just been slower than normal these past few days. I think it has to do with mass amounts of people staying home and streaming like mad.
Montucky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5644 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
I understand that the KScape version of Rise Of Skywalker has a good amount larger file size than the 4k disc version, due to space limitations on the disc for a 2.5 hour movie. Once the disc comes out, it would be great if someone could compare its picture quality to the KScape version.

I got in early at Amazon.comuk and got the entire Star Wars 9 disc set 4k for 150 Euro (now its 199 Euro) to be released April 21st. Now that Disney has acquired Fox, and the Star Wars KScape versions all are in Dolby Atmos, I am wondering if its worth it to pay more (actually a LOT more) and simply get the KScape movies.

My theater is down a few more months for renovation/upgrade and I just can't get myself to watch too many 4k blu ray or KScape 4k movies on my 65" LG OLED down my basement with a measly 1993 5.1 Polk in wall system, so I have time. HA!
Steve - I had the same dilemma (though my theatre is up and running). I had pre-ordered the disc box set, but decided to purchase "A New Hope" as a test - to the quality of the title and my nerve. "My nerve" didn't hold out. I ponied up for them all - only watched "A New Hope" but it's a stunning transfer IMO. Yes it is the Maclunkey edition, but I don't care. I watch the films for "how they are", not "how they were". Just cancelled the box-set.

With regard to the size differential. Does the download size on K include the "Extras". If so that might account for the difference in K download to disc.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5645 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 21,029
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2103 Post(s)
Liked: 1391
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Steve - I had the same dilemma (though my theatre is up and running). I had pre-ordered the disc box set, but decided to purchase "A New Hope" as a test - to the quality of the title and my nerve. "My nerve" didn't hold out. I ponied up for them all - only watched "A New Hope" but it's a stunning transfer IMO. Yes it is the Maclunkey edition, but I don't care. I watch the films for "how they are", not "how they were". Just cancelled the box-set.

With regard to the size differential. Does the download size on K include the "Extras". If so that might account for the difference in K download to disc.
I was only talking about the last and 9th Star Wars movie having a larger KScape file size, so I've been told, than could be accommodated on disc. I think I read that there were no extras with that movie. KScape should always have at least the same file size as the disc, but sometimes more if its a longer movie and thus more compression was necessary for the movie if it is only on one disc.

Pray for all of our healthcare providers, food manufacturing and delivery workers, all of whom are doing their best at great risk to help us survive the current Covid-19 virus crisis.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #5646 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
I was only talking about the last and 9th Star Wars movie having a larger KScape file size, so I've been told, than could be accommodated on disc. I think I read that there were no extras with that movie. KScape should always have at least the same file size as the disc, but sometimes more if its a longer movie and thus more compression was necessary for the movie if it is only on one disc.
Yes, I know K don't have the space restriction brought about by the disc size. On the basis that the disc sets are reportedly using 66Gb discs, then all the titles on K are larger, based on the download size - particularly The Rise of Skywalker which is 80.1Gb on K. I thought the downloads may include "Special Features", but to get these you have to separately download the Blu-Ray version. So all titles in K are larger than their disc equivalents (again based on the discs being 66Gb in size).
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5647 of 6330 Old 03-15-2020, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 21,029
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2103 Post(s)
Liked: 1391
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Yes, I know K don't have the space restriction brought about by the disc size. On the basis that the disc sets are reportedly using 66Gb discs, then all the titles on K are larger, based on the download size - particularly The Rise of Skywalker which is 80.1Gb on K. I thought the downloads may include "Special Features", but to get these you have to separately download the Blu-Ray version. So all titles in K are larger than their disc equivalents (again based on the discs being 66Gb in size).
In view of this info I cancelled my Amazon UK order for the discs, and when my theater gets back up I'll get the KScape versions.

Pray for all of our healthcare providers, food manufacturing and delivery workers, all of whom are doing their best at great risk to help us survive the current Covid-19 virus crisis.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #5648 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,891
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
In view of this info I cancelled my Amazon UK order for the discs, and when my theater gets back up I'll get the KScape versions.
Maybe they will go on sale by then!
SJHT is online now  
post #5649 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 21,029
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2103 Post(s)
Liked: 1391
!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Maybe they will go on sale by then!
Since my theater won't be done and read for at least a few months, right now I only buy stuff on KScape to watch later when there's a good sale. Great minds think alike

Pray for all of our healthcare providers, food manufacturing and delivery workers, all of whom are doing their best at great risk to help us survive the current Covid-19 virus crisis.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #5650 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgarcia View Post
I have had the same problem. I suspect it may be due to people staying home and downloading.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I would concur.... snapshot from the weekend...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SpeedTest failure.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	257.1 KB
ID:	2698686  
Killer is offline  
post #5651 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 71
My Terra server isn’t going into sleep mode. Suggestions before i call KScape? My strato does go into sleep mode and up to recently the terra would as well.

JVC RS3000 : Panamorph DCR Lens :Seymour Reference NEO 2.40 144"
Trinnov Altitude 16 : Kaleidescape Strato S 12TB :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Procella P8's LCR and P5IW/P5's for surrounds and atmos
Procella P15SI x 4 : Audiocontrol G4 AMPS x 4 : Current Setup 9.4. 4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is offline  
post #5652 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,891
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 969
How do you know the Terra is in sleep mode? Didn’t know it had one.... Low power mode is listed on the Strato spec sheet, but not on the Terra. SJ
SJHT is online now  
post #5653 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
How do you know the Terra is in sleep mode? Didn’t know it had one.... Low power mode is listed on the Strato spec sheet, but not on the Terra. SJ
Maybe I’m losing it but I don’t remember the light on the terra staying on the whole time. It used to go off after the Strato went to sleep.

JVC RS3000 : Panamorph DCR Lens :Seymour Reference NEO 2.40 144"
Trinnov Altitude 16 : Kaleidescape Strato S 12TB :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Procella P8's LCR and P5IW/P5's for surrounds and atmos
Procella P15SI x 4 : Audiocontrol G4 AMPS x 4 : Current Setup 9.4. 4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is offline  
post #5654 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 21,029
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2103 Post(s)
Liked: 1391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applemike68 View Post
Maybe I’m losing it but I don’t remember the light on the terra staying on the whole time. It used to go off after the Strato went to sleep.
I'm not using the Strato now and my Terra has its front light off.

Pray for all of our healthcare providers, food manufacturing and delivery workers, all of whom are doing their best at great risk to help us survive the current Covid-19 virus crisis.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #5655 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,891
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 969
The light is controllable. You set the intensity but it goes off when playing a movie from another player I believe. I have mine set to off all the time. It does turn off if you power down the unit. Send a note so the support folks as they will let you know. SJ
SJHT is online now  
post #5656 of 6330 Old 03-16-2020, 09:24 PM
WCW
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Rise of Skywalker is incredible. Very, very well done Kscape!
WCW is offline  
post #5657 of 6330 Old 03-17-2020, 12:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
The light is controllable. You set the intensity but it goes off when playing a movie from another player I believe. I have mine set to off all the time. It does turn off if you power down the unit. Send a note so the support folks as they will let you know. SJ
Mine is on permanently - other than cutting power, I've never seen it off
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5658 of 6330 Old 03-17-2020, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,891
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Mine is on permanently - other than cutting power, I've never seen it off
That’s the likely scenario. You can turn it off in the web GUI settings. That’s what mine is set at. I was guessing about during movie playing as that’s how a Strato reacts. The lights also come back on during movie credits. You also can set the overall intensity or even off. Pretty much the same GUI control.
SJHT is online now  
post #5659 of 6330 Old 03-17-2020, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Just spoke with Kscape. Due to a recent upgrade the light stays on. But before the light would go off after awhile. I knew i wasn’t losing my mind. . Thanks for the reply’s


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
bjorg, SJHT and steelman1991 like this.

JVC RS3000 : Panamorph DCR Lens :Seymour Reference NEO 2.40 144"
Trinnov Altitude 16 : Kaleidescape Strato S 12TB :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Procella P8's LCR and P5IW/P5's for surrounds and atmos
Procella P15SI x 4 : Audiocontrol G4 AMPS x 4 : Current Setup 9.4. 4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is offline  
post #5660 of 6330 Old 03-20-2020, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2598 Post(s)
Liked: 1861
I just noticed this on my Terra as well. Lights are on always (but not Strato)..

I salute our Immersion professionals: Curt Hoyt to which I am very thankful for positioning my JBL loudspeakers correctly to achieve a very tight bubble and the greatly missed Peter CINERAMAX whose fearless R&D in PRO-RIBBON cinemas, curation of most immersive Kaleidescape scripts and forging ahead to 55 loudspeaker Crystal Led Cinemas will pave the road ahead. And Adam Pelz for bringing the system to jawdropping life!
thebland is offline  
post #5661 of 6330 Old 03-20-2020, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Antonio, Tejas
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 789 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Times like these make me REALLY glad I have my beloved Terra server to keep my quality at 100% while the rest of the world's internet comes to a crawl:
https://www.fiercevideo.com/video/yo...clogs-networks
I've totally noticed my internet speeds taking a hit this week and my streaming quality is pretty lousy for a while before it finally buffers enough. TONS of crushed blacks and macroblocking still.

Enjoy your Kaleidescape systems while we get through these crazy days, folks! Time to finally catch up on my backlog of movies now.
markrubin and UptownLG like this.
Montucky is offline  
post #5662 of 6330 Old 03-20-2020, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 21,179
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4560 Post(s)
Liked: 6081
Thanks to all who pointed out that the always-on Terra Server light was intentionally done by Kscape. That was driving me NUTS! Now that I know it’s normal, I can relax and be happy again. Thanks again.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+; Apple TV 4K
gwsat is offline  
post #5663 of 6330 Old 03-21-2020, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Antonio, Tejas
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 789 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Amazon and Apple are now going to be joining the streaming quality reduction party (in Europe):
https://www.theverge.com/2020/3/20/2...be-coronavirus

I want people to remember this event when they think streaming is just as or nearly as good as physical media (or locally stored data like K)!!! Even if you bought the movies like with Apple, I REALLY don't like the thought of my quality getting downgraded or straight unavailable at the behest of any remote factor. Oh, and you just wait and see how happy people are with Netflix if we ever had rolling internet blackouts! It could happen!

Long live Kaleidescape! (And Blu-Ray!)

Also with the internet slowdowns I've been having, I even blew the dust off my old Boxee Box and hard drives where I have gazillions of my own DVD/BD rips. Enjoyed the original Mad Max the other night. Road Warrior's next. Then after Beyond Thunderdome (on K), I'm gonna revisit Fury Road - The Black & Chrome Edition (also on K).
bgarcia, markrubin, SJHT and 3 others like this.
Montucky is offline  
post #5664 of 6330 Old 03-21-2020, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 24,688
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 2313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montucky View Post

Long live Kaleidescape! (And Blu-Ray!)
Plus 1 here. The bigger the screen the closer the seating the more important it is.

Art
bgarcia, thebland, bjorg and 5 others like this.
Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #5665 of 6330 Old 03-21-2020, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2598 Post(s)
Liked: 1861
Hey. I noticed Apple and Vudu are renting ‘Emma’ and They Way Back’. Anyone know when these new releases will be on the K Store?
llang269 likes this.

I salute our Immersion professionals: Curt Hoyt to which I am very thankful for positioning my JBL loudspeakers correctly to achieve a very tight bubble and the greatly missed Peter CINERAMAX whose fearless R&D in PRO-RIBBON cinemas, curation of most immersive Kaleidescape scripts and forging ahead to 55 loudspeaker Crystal Led Cinemas will pave the road ahead. And Adam Pelz for bringing the system to jawdropping life!
thebland is offline  
post #5666 of 6330 Old 03-22-2020, 04:01 AM
Member
 
telem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Yes, I know K don't have the space restriction brought about by the disc size. On the basis that the disc sets are reportedly using 66Gb discs, then all the titles on K are larger, based on the download size - particularly The Rise of Skywalker which is 80.1Gb on K. I thought the downloads may include "Special Features", but to get these you have to separately download the Blu-Ray version. So all titles in K are larger than their disc equivalents (again based on the discs being 66Gb in size).
In case you are not aware, there is no need to download the HD version of the movie to get the special futures if you have the 4K version. Yes, you have to select it for download and when it begins you have two downloads in the queue, one is the movie(Feature) and the other one the "special features"(Supplement). Just delete the main movie in HD (Feature) from the download queue and download the "Supplement" only. "Play Extras" will then be available along with the 4K version of the movie.

Kostas
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1641.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	149.1 KB
ID:	2700592  
SJHT and A7mad78 like this.

Trinnov Altitude 32 & Amplitude*2 - Sony VW-5000ES - Panamorph Paladin DCR- Lumagen Radiance Pro 4449 - Screen Research 173" ClearPix 4K White 1.0 - Wisdom Audio speakers: L8i (LCR) - P6i (SL, SR) -P4i (SBL, SBR - LW, RW(wide for Atmos)) - 6* B&W CCM7.4 (Ceiling Atmos) - Paradigm SUB2 - Kaleidescape Encore & Premiere - Oppo 205 - SKY Q - Apple TV 4K - Technics MK2 SL-1200GAE Limited Edition
telem is offline  
post #5667 of 6330 Old 03-22-2020, 04:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by telem View Post
In case you are not aware, there is no need to download the HD version of the movie to get the special futures if you have the 4K version. Yes, you have to select it for download and when it begins you have two downloads in the queue, one is the movie(Feature) and the other one the "special features"(Supplement). Just delete the main movie in HD (Feature) from the download queue and download the "Supplement" only. "Play Extras" will then be available along with the 4K version of the movie.

Kostas
Thanks for the clarification Kostas. Yes I was aware, just didn't explain it succinctly enough in my post.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #5668 of 6330 Old 03-24-2020, 04:40 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,303
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1859 Post(s)
Liked: 3681
I have been seeing an issue when connecting the Strato to a HDMI matrix switcher: I feed the video signal to 3 HDR capable displays: I use the Strato HDMI 2 out for audio to a separate processor

the matrix switch is the Atlona AT-HDR-44MA: when I play certain 4k HDR movies from the Strato, I occasionally get a flash on the screen, and occasionally the Strato shows a message that the secure connection has been restored: tried different cables, disconnecting other displays, sources, etc. My cables are somewhat longer (20 ft) than the Atlona max length of 15 feet.
When I connect the Strato direct to a display using a 15 ft cable, it performs perfectly. I also tried another brand of 4k HDMI matrix switch that did not perform as well as the Atlona.

The only long term fix was to go into the Strato menu (via the web GUI) settings/advanced video settings/4K Ultra HD support/ and set the bandwidth from automatic (default) to Limit output to 13.5 Gbps: it says this setting is used if the device or cabling has difficulty sustaining a stable connection at higher speeds; this setting limits chroma resolution to 4:2:0 in 4k Ultra HD 50/60Hz modes, and all other HDMI features, including deep color, are still available.


using this setting restores the stability of the Strato with the switcher

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner



Last edited by markrubin; 03-24-2020 at 05:39 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #5669 of 6330 Old 03-24-2020, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,891
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 969
Difficult times, but amazing we can get first run titles so quickly and in full resolution. Bloodshot in 4K HDR with Dolby Atmos just downloaded. SJ
bjorg likes this.
SJHT is online now  
post #5670 of 6330 Old 03-25-2020, 02:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtjjen View Post
I am back to normal on download speed.

John
I just noticed this morning that blood shot and birds of prey downloaded in 8 and 12 minutes respectively. Both in 4K HDR. I’ve never downloaded movies that fast before 🤔

JVC RS3000 : Panamorph DCR Lens :Seymour Reference NEO 2.40 144"
Trinnov Altitude 16 : Kaleidescape Strato S 12TB :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Procella P8's LCR and P5IW/P5's for surrounds and atmos
Procella P15SI x 4 : Audiocontrol G4 AMPS x 4 : Current Setup 9.4. 4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off