The McIntosh MX160 A/V Processor Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1627Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3431 Old 12-09-2015, 10:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Do you guys think that once Mc has this unit at a far more functional level than the series we have, they will raise the price or release a 161? This whole situation just seems very odd to me. My dealer had practically disappeared and talking with Mc regarding the unit is definitely a different experience than I have had in the last 3 decades as a Mc customer.
daimler2015 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 03:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,748
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1204
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
Do you guys think that once Mc has this unit at a far more functional level than the series we have, they will raise the price or release a 161? This whole situation just seems very odd to me. My dealer had practically disappeared and talking with Mc regarding the unit is definitely a different experience than I have had in the last 3 decades as a Mc customer.
I am looking at it with a different perspective. Once we get that firmware which will make it fully functional without as many bugs as possible then I will look at it as a 161.

daimler2015 likes this.

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #63 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,256
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4718 Post(s)
Liked: 3500
@joerod :

I thought I recalled that you previously had the Datasat RS20i. What is it about this new Mcintosh product that got you to dump the Datasat in favor of this?
audioguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
Do you guys think that once Mc has this unit at a far more functional level than the series we have, they will raise the price or release a 161? This whole situation just seems very odd to me. My dealer had practically disappeared and talking with Mc regarding the unit is definitely a different experience than I have had in the last 3 decades as a Mc customer.
I asked that question to Mc several weeks ago and of course was told no they will not come out with a 161 after they fix all these issues. Marantz did it this year with the AV7702 which came out last Nov, after six or so months they came out with the AV 7702 MKII.

All in all the MX 160 sounds amazing, I only use a 5.1 set up anyway, so coming out with anymore features in a 161 probably wouldn't do anything for me anyway.

On a side note, I had complained earlier about my TV phasing in and out, it has stopped doing that, the only thing I changed was the connection from the MX 160 to the MC 8207. My installer used the old connector which was set up for my Marantz, which was mono to stereo, the Mc uses stereo on both sides. I guess it is just the little things that make a big difference.
Impounder is offline  
post #65 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,748
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1204
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
@joerod :

I thought I recalled that you previously had the Datasat RS20i. What is it about this new Mcintosh product that got you to dump the Datasat in favor of this?
Actually as of now I still have both. I won't make up my mind on which to keep until the 160 is at its peak or very close to it. Time will tell. I will say I really really like the 160 though...


4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #66 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,256
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4718 Post(s)
Liked: 3500
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
Actually as of now I still have both. I won't make up my mind on which to keep until the 160 is at its peak or very close to it. Time will tell. I will say I really really like the 160 though...

Very interesting. Price notwithstanding, their is a huge difference in functionality and flexibility between these two products. While I don't have the McIntosh, I have been told by the local dealer (who is also the Datasat dealer) that the user has little to no control over things like target curves or changing trims or distances after Room Perfect does it's thing. Assuming that is accurate, how does one, for example, have one level of LFE for action films and another for what I refer to as "relationship" movies.

While most folks won't need it, the available number of channels is quite different as well. Furthermore, as you know, with the RS20i, you can set PEQ's on the output channels (and input channels) prior to running Dirac to facilitate a better final response.

I've set up an RS20i in multiple different rooms (including my own) and configurations and I have yet to hear anything I thought needed improving (other than the price). If the Mac can match that at about 1/2 the price, that would be quite the feat!!

I will subscribe to this thread to see how your evaluation turns out. I would be most interested in seeing some plots of the final eq under both systems.
audioguy is offline  
post #67 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,037
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Is the RP in the Mc any different than in the Steinway Lyndorph?

The latter makes a great piano!
@audioguy . Been sick the past few days might catch up later this weekend.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #68 of 3431 Old 12-10-2015, 08:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiles View Post
Is the RP in the Mc any different than in the Steinway Lyndorph?

The latter makes a great piano!
@audioguy . Been sick the past few days might catch up later this weekend.
I've had an MX-150 with Room Perfect and still also own a small Steinway Lyngdorf P100 based system (yet to be upgraded to P200). I have not been able to determine any fundamental differences in RP implementation between the 2 systems. They even appear to be written the same via the GUI on the both systems, right down to the basic text font look.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #69 of 3431 Old 12-12-2015, 12:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Curious...
Do you guys do any manual level adj or other adjustments after running room perfect?
daimler2015 is offline  
post #70 of 3431 Old 12-12-2015, 04:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,748
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1204
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
Curious...
Do you guys do any manual level adj or other adjustments after running room perfect?
I do some minor tweaks on the speaker trims but that is usually just the Center and Butt Shakers.

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #71 of 3431 Old 12-14-2015, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,748
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1204
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
Actually as of now I still have both. I won't make up my mind on which to keep until the 160 is at its peak or very close to it. Time will tell. I will say I really really like the 160 though...

I'm actually picking my RS20i back up today (was getting HDMI upgrade) and can soon start my comparisson. Of course I prefer both be up to speed and at full strengths so it will take some time.

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #72 of 3431 Old 12-14-2015, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
uderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I'm actually picking my RS20i back up today (was getting HDMI upgrade) and can soon start my comparisson. Of course I prefer both be up to speed and at full strengths so it will take some time.
HDMI2.0/HDCP2.2 I presume?

Wanted:
HD-VMD Discs
Muse/Hi-Vision Discs - Mint/Complete Only!
uderman is offline  
post #73 of 3431 Old 12-14-2015, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,748
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1204
Quote:
Originally Posted by uderman View Post
HDMI2.0/HDCP2.2 I presume?
Yes. Drove home in some crazy rain but it is safe now.

NextLevel217 likes this.

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #74 of 3431 Old 12-14-2015, 05:45 PM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hey Joe any word on the Atmos card??
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #75 of 3431 Old 12-15-2015, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,748
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1204
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Hey Joe any word on the Atmos card??
I am patiently waiting so I can compare these awesome components. Last heard was "soon" so hopefully by the end of the year? Still waiting on the next big firmware for the 160 too...

NextLevel217 likes this.

4K HDR10- ignore the “rules” and trust your eyes!
joerod is offline  
post #76 of 3431 Old 12-15-2015, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
uderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 58
This is unlikely of anyone interest but I will ask anyway. Can you access usb 3 pc audio in for zone 2? Most SSPs only allow analog inputs to be routed to zone outputs.

Wanted:
HD-VMD Discs
Muse/Hi-Vision Discs - Mint/Complete Only!
uderman is offline  
post #77 of 3431 Old 12-17-2015, 10:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quick question for all 160 owners, I have noticed over the last week that when I turn my unit off when it is in a different Source than Cable, that when I turn it back on (using Control4) the Source will change to Cable on the 160 but the picture and sound are not displayed. I turn the unit off again and turn it back on and than it works fine. Do you think it has something to do with cable box, control4, or the 160?
Impounder is offline  
post #78 of 3431 Old 12-17-2015, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
JFR0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Impounder View Post
Quick question for all 160 owners, I have noticed over the last week that when I turn my unit off when it is in a different Source than Cable, that when I turn it back on (using Control4) the Source will change to Cable on the 160 but the picture and sound are not displayed. I turn the unit off again and turn it back on and than it works fine. Do you think it has something to do with cable box, control4, or the 160?
Sounds like an HDMI handshake issue. Does it do this if you had been in another source (call it Source A) than cable and then start up in yet another different source (call it Source B)? I am trying to ascertain whether it is unique to just your cable box as a start-up source.

John
JFR0317 is offline  
post #79 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I am not sure I need to do some more testing, played around with it yesterday and now it seems fine. I know the splitter is causing some issues, yesterday I was watching a concert on my projector from DVD and had to pause it for 20 minutes, after that it started doing the same phasing out of the picture till the picture finally went out completely, so I unplugged the HDMI cable from the splitter and plugged it right back in and the picture came back. It has not done this for sometime now. I wish McIntosh take care of this firmware issue already so I can get rid of the splitter.

Ps. The concert I was watching was Andrea Bocelli Vivera in Tuscany from 2007 the sound was the best I have ever heard him. Besides seeing him live.
Impounder is offline  
post #80 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Oakdene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Firmware version 1.0.7-5

Hello,

I have just taken delivery of an MX160 in Sweden and probably I am the first in Scandinavia to be that fortunate.
The firmware version is the one mentioned above. I have seen that 1.0.7-7 is the latest if I have understood it correctly.

Should I bother to update to this latest firmware or should I ignore it and wait for the big 'bang' that some of you are expecting fairly soon?

By the way where do I find the 1.0.7-7 if I want it?

Thanks in advance
Oakdene is offline  
post #81 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
JFR0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oakdene View Post
Hello,

I have just taken delivery of an MX160 in Sweden and probably I am the first in Scandinavia to be that fortunate.
The firmware version is the one mentioned above. I have seen that 1.0.7-7 is the latest if I have understood it correctly.

Should I bother to update to this latest firmware or should I ignore it and wait for the big 'bang' that some of you are expecting fairly soon?

By the way where do I find the 1.0.7-7 if I want it?

Thanks in advance
You have a PM.

John
JFR0317 is offline  
post #82 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Oakdene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFR0317 View Post
You have a PM.
Thank you John
Oakdene is offline  
post #83 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Today in the middle of a show,
the 160 stopped normal operation and gave me the message "Resume Timeout".
The on and off on the remote and front panel are not affecting the unit. Anyone else ever receive this?
daimler2015 is offline  
post #84 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Powered down the unit. Now display says "SW Update Check"
Very strange.
daimler2015 is offline  
post #85 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 02:03 PM
Member
 
KE_Houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
I've had an MX-150 with Room Perfect and still also own a small Steinway Lyngdorf P100 based system (yet to be upgraded to P200). I have not been able to determine any fundamental differences in RP implementation between the 2 systems. They even appear to be written the same via the GUI on the both systems, right down to the basic text font look.
Hey OzHDHT, Sorry for posting this Q here. Looking at TDAI-2170, how do you compare the two channel of MX-150 ( when you had it ) to TDAI-2170. Do they sound the same or TDAI is much better at 2 Ch.
KE_Houston is offline  
post #86 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
hughmcmillan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
Today in the middle of a show,
the 160 stopped normal operation and gave me the message "Resume Timeout".
The on and off on the remote and front panel are not affecting the unit. Anyone else ever receive this?
Yes, this happens to me on a regular basis.

My solution is to turn off the switch on the rear of the MX160, count halfway to a hundred and then turn the switch back on.
While displaying Resume/Timeout (one over the other) no buttons or dials on the MX160 appear to do anything.
It will usually happen to me when the unit is OFF during the night. It is not caused by a power loss and subsequent restore as that typically causes my Philips Hue bulbs to turn on.

No firmware update seems to correct this behavior. It would be helpful if McIntosh were to include some documentation as to what the firmware is designed to improve/correct as a well as perhaps requests for issues that people find to be problematic. Since this is a unit which is still very much in Beta, IMHO.

When the unit works it sounds great but as a first time McIntosh owner who bought the MPC1500 Power Controller and the MC207 Amp I can't say that I am impressed with the MX160 given the very preliminary documentation and the issues I have had. I certainly hope that McIntosh gets it act together sooner rather than later.
hughmcmillan is offline  
post #87 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
"Updating Dv05 FEP to version 0.27a"
Then update failed then frozen on "SW Update Check"
This is getting ridiculous.
daimler2015 is offline  
post #88 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by KE_Houston View Post
Hey OzHDHT, Sorry for posting this Q here. Looking at TDAI-2170, how do you compare the two channel of MX-150 ( when you had it ) to TDAI-2170. Do they sound the same or TDAI is much better at 2 Ch.
A near impossible question to answer really. An MX-150 in an a HT driving Revel Studio 2's with a Sub1 vs a semi partitioned living area set up with TDAI-2170 driving Burmester floors standers. Two system so totally different that it essentially renders a comparison impossible. If I'd had them in the same system sure I could comment, but def not the case here. Sorry.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #89 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Now it's frozen with "Boot Timeout" displayed. I wonder what brought on this huge issue. Never had my unit sitting here completely unusable.
daimler2015 is offline  
post #90 of 3431 Old 12-18-2015, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,037
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Some products ESCAPE vs being released...

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off