Audiocontrol Maestro M9 - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 Old 04-18-2018, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,299
Mentioned: 291 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6110 Post(s)
Liked: 5670
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaronF2001 View Post
I should have a unit in for review this week. Stay tuned.
Any news?
Marc Alexander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 Old 04-19-2018, 05:43 AM
Senior Member
 
RedBaronF2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Any news?
I will have it this weekend. It is my understanding that they build them by hand there in Washington, so it took a few days to produce. Stay tuned, it's on the FedEx truck!
RedBaronF2001 is offline  
post #33 of 44 Old 05-18-2018, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
RedBaronF2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Any news?
I have the M9 in hand, integrated into my system, and up and running. So far, so good. The build quality is excellent. I should have time today to play with Dirac Live and get that dialed in.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-05-15 11.39.53.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	1.16 MB
ID:	2404294   Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-05-15 20.02.34.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	1.06 MB
ID:	2404296  
RedBaronF2001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 44 Old 09-17-2018, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaronF2001 View Post
I have the M9 in hand, integrated into my system, and up and running. So far, so good. The build quality is excellent. I should have time today to play with Dirac Live and get that dialed in.
Been a while.... what's your conclusion?
gbryant226 is offline  
post #35 of 44 Old 09-18-2018, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1642 Post(s)
Liked: 1111
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaronF2001 View Post
I have the M9 in hand, integrated into my system, and up and running. So far, so good. The build quality is excellent. I should have time today to play with Dirac Live and get that dialed in.



So what are your thoughts?


I'm curious to see if there are noticeable differrences between this, the Arcam and the Lexicon units.

Selling in AVS Classifieds
FS: Funk Audio 21.0LX Subwoofer
madhuski is online now  
post #36 of 44 Old 09-21-2018, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
RedBaronF2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
So what are your thoughts?


I'm curious to see if there are noticeable differrences between this, the Arcam and the Lexicon units.
The Maestro M9 has been a delight to use. Sound quality, whether two or multi-channel, is first-rate. Passing 4K/DV/HDR is seamless. Dirac speaks for itself. It just works and it gets out of the way of the presentation.

The UI is atrocious, but I'm not sure it can be improved. For a pricey unit, it is pathetic. This is the only major downside to the unit.
BobDyl and madhuski like this.

Chris Kimmelshue
kimmelshue.com
@chriskimmelshue
RedBaronF2001 is offline  
post #37 of 44 Old 10-17-2018, 05:50 AM
Member
 
elvinps2626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaronF2001 View Post
The Maestro M9 has been a delight to use. Sound quality, whether two or multi-channel, is first-rate. Passing 4K/DV/HDR is seamless. Dirac speaks for itself. It just works and it gets out of the way of the presentation.

The UI is atrocious, but I'm not sure it can be improved. For a pricey unit, it is pathetic. This is the only major downside to the unit.
Hello

Im thinking on getting this unit. It is good to know that it docent have problem with HDMI handshake. Im very interested on Dirac for this unit. Ive been reading on the Arcam forum and I saw that they fixed the problem they were having with bass management and Dirac. Did the Maestro M9 had the same problem and did they fixed it? Are their any bugs on this unit we should be concern ? I'm debating on getting a Maestro M9, NAD M27 V2 or a Arcam 860. If you have any input on those preamps or anyone please tell me as I've been reading many forums and not all preamps are bug free. What I'm looking for is Audio quality over features and the Maestro M9 has been highly praised on audio quality.
elvinps2626 is offline  
post #38 of 44 Old 10-20-2018, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
BobDyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaronF2001 View Post
The Maestro M9 has been a delight to use. Sound quality, whether two or multi-channel, is first-rate. Passing 4K/DV/HDR is seamless. Dirac speaks for itself. It just works and it gets out of the way of the presentation.

The UI is atrocious, but I'm not sure it can be improved. For a pricey unit, it is pathetic. This is the only major downside to the unit.
Could you help me understand the bass management capabilities of the M9 -- I can't find the answer in their user manual. Do you have individual, granular speaker level crossover controls? Including Atmos ceiling speakers? Thanks in advance....
BobDyl is offline  
post #39 of 44 Old 10-31-2018, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,692
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Bob,

I don’t think you can do what you want on the Audio Control / Arcam.

You can only have one curve loaded at a time. You can tweak that on a laptop then send that back to the unit.

But still you can’t fiddle with individual speakers or groups of speakers IIRC.

Contact AC or Arcam to verify.
BobDyl likes this.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #40 of 44 Old 11-02-2018, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Unherdable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobDyl View Post
Could you help me understand the bass management capabilities of the M9 -- I can't find the answer in their user manual. Do you have individual, granular speaker level crossover controls? Including Atmos ceiling speakers? Thanks in advance....
If it helps, the answer to your question for the AudioControl Concert AVR-9 (which appears to be the "receiver" version of the M9), is "no". Just one cross over frequency for all speakers. Also the two subwoofer outputs are not independent (other than "level"), so just 1 sub out. The bass management is terrible. The Dirac Live calibration made a major screwup with the 2 subs and I had to do the bass management manually. But as I said, these comments are for the AVR-9, which I believe has an identical UI.

I use the AudioControl AVR-9 for a 5.2 setup with Totem Acoustic Tribe Vs and two Totem Tribe subs at my office, and it sounds great. The included microphone is pitiful, but you can use your high end calibrated mic and a USB mic amp with it.
Unherdable is offline  
post #41 of 44 Old 11-02-2018, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
BobDyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unherdable View Post
If it helps, the answer to your question for the AudioControl Concert AVR-9 (which appears to be the "receiver" version of the M9), is "no". Just one cross over frequency for all speakers. Also the two subwoofer outputs are not independent (other than "level"), so just 1 sub out. The bass management is terrible. The Dirac Live calibration made a major screwup with the 2 subs and I had to do the bass management manually. But as I said, these comments are for the AVR-9, which I believe has an identical UI.

I use the AudioControl AVR-9 for a 5.2 setup with Totem Acoustic Tribe Vs and two Totem Tribe subs at my office, and it sounds great. The included microphone is pitiful, but you can use your high end calibrated mic and a USB mic amp with it.
Thank you, exactly what I needed to know!

5.2.4: JVC RS540 | Stewart Greyhawk 120” 2.35 | AudioControl AVR-9 | Oppo 203 | TV 4K | Xbox One X | Roku Ultra | Triad Rackamp 700 | Gold/6 LCR | Silver surrounds & heights | Bronze/6 subs
5.1: Sony 940E | AudioControl AVR-7 | TV 4K | Xbox One X | Roku Ultra | Tivo Roamio OTA | Triad Rackamp 300 | Bronze/4 LCRS | Bronze/4 sub
BobDyl is offline  
post #42 of 44 Old 12-09-2019, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maestro M5 for MRX720 Trade

I've been offered a straight up trade: my Anthem MRX 720 for an AudioControl Maestro M5. I'm strongly considering it. Talk me into it!

I'm already using external amplification for all channels and I believe that a fully balanced pre/pro (have even considered going to an Anthem AVM 60) might help alleviate an interference buzz I'm hearing on my height channels, which the Maestro M5 is. I love ARC Genesis and want to stick with it, but am also very curious about Dirac Live. I don't know what to do!!!
flashedvirus0 is offline  
post #43 of 44 Old 12-09-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,635
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2525 Post(s)
Liked: 946
try the receivers/processors forum

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #44 of 44 Old 05-12-2020, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I’m trying to determine the exact difference between the two modes “Dolby Digital” and “Dolby Surround” on the M5?

My main source is generally an AppleTV 4K so a lot of 5.1, 7.1 and Atmos content. My setup is 7.1.4.

Best I can research is that “Dolby Digital” is the designed for modern content like I’m using vs “Dolby Surround” is designed to scale up 2.0 content to fill the room. Something also about bitrate capability of the two modes?

A clear explanation of the difference would be helpful!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Chris Coudron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off