The Official 5000ES 4K Laser Sony Owner's Thread - Page 90 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1168Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2671 of 2872 Old 03-24-2019, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 24,148
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Art,
I am doing my best to avoid getting a Lumagen - even though they have tone mapping now.
Please give update on the 9000 tone mapping capability and results on the 5000.
I am very curious.
Ash
Will do ! Ken is working with the dynamic tone mapping for me right now. I should be able to make a comparison by next week with the 9000.

Art
Art Sonneborn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2672 of 2872 Old 03-24-2019, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2506 Post(s)
Liked: 2028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Art,
I am doing my best to avoid getting a Lumagen - even though they have tone mapping now.
Please give update on the 9000 tone mapping capability and results on the 5000.
I am very curious.
Ash
Well, the Lumagen now offers dynamic tone mapping, which the 9000/5000 will not. Big difference IMO having used it a few weeks. Jim and Patric and Lumagen are still working out some kinks, but it already is making a significant difference.
Art Sonneborn and telem like this.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #2673 of 2872 Old 03-24-2019, 10:54 AM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 277
For those that use a Lumagen with their 5000....Aside from the aspect ratio, tone mapping, calibration benefits when incorporating a Lumagen with the 5000 is there any consensus on whether it makes HDMI switching better or worse? I have used a Lumagen from day one with my 5000 and HDMI handshake/switching is ok on the best days and very frustrating on the worst. I'm considering pulling it from the chain to see if there is an improvement but before I do I figured I'd ask? I have tried numerous cable combinations and currently use a 45ft Ruipro fiber cable. Its the best so far but my handshake issues still leave much to be desired.

Thanks in advance, Paul
dinamigym is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2674 of 2872 Old 03-24-2019, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2506 Post(s)
Liked: 2028
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinamigym View Post
For those that use a Lumagen with their 5000....Aside from the aspect ratio, tone mapping, calibration benefits when incorporating a Lumagen with the 5000 is there any consensus on whether it makes HDMI switching better or worse? I have used a Lumagen from day one with my 5000 and HDMI handshake/switching is ok on the best days and very frustrating on the worst. I'm considering pulling it from the chain to see if there is an improvement but before I do I figured I'd ask? I have tried numerous cable combinations and currently use a 45ft Ruipro fiber cable. Its the best so far but my handshake issues still leave much to be desired.

Thanks in advance, Paul
You might want to post this in the Radiance Pro thread if you haven’t already...

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #2675 of 2872 Old 03-24-2019, 01:31 PM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
You might want to post this in the Radiance Pro thread if you haven’t already...
Thanks...I'll try that also.
dinamigym is online now  
post #2676 of 2872 Old 03-25-2019, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinamigym View Post
For those that use a Lumagen with their 5000....Aside from the aspect ratio, tone mapping, calibration benefits when incorporating a Lumagen with the 5000 is there any consensus on whether it makes HDMI switching better or worse? I have used a Lumagen from day one with my 5000 and HDMI handshake/switching is ok on the best days and very frustrating on the worst. I'm considering pulling it from the chain to see if there is an improvement but before I do I figured I'd ask? I have tried numerous cable combinations and currently use a 45ft Ruipro fiber cable. Its the best so far but my handshake issues still leave much to be desired.

Thanks in advance, Paul
I've been dealing with the same issues since a few years - and it continues to be an issue undeniably. But with the Ruipro cable, the frustration has lessened significantly. 50% of the time, I cycle through inputs or do some other stuff to "get a signal" and then on, it's great. But since most everyone (including my calibrator) have strongly recommended the Lumagen, I figured the positives outweigh the only HDMI handshake negative (I think); so, I'm keeping it in.
netroamer and dinamigym like this.
RS3771 is offline  
post #2677 of 2872 Old 03-25-2019, 11:29 AM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 277
The Official 5000ES 4K Laser Sony Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by RS3771 View Post
I've been dealing with the same issues since a few years - and it continues to be an issue undeniably. But with the Ruipro cable, the frustration has lessened significantly. 50% of the time, I cycle through inputs or do some other stuff to "get a signal" and then on, it's great. But since most everyone (including my calibrator) have strongly recommended the Lumagen, I figured the positives outweigh the only HDMI handshake negative (I think); so, I'm keeping it in.


Thanks...I decided to go back to the old Lumagen 18ghz code and it has definitely improved. Jim recommended trying 9ghz auto output instead of 18 but for some reason that messes with my Strato. Not sure why it would, but it gives the appearance of a frame rate issue when nothing says it should. So I went back to 18 auto. Love the 5000. Just sucks I feel like I have to hold my breath every time I need an hdmi sync.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
netroamer and telem like this.

Trinnov Altitude 16, Magico A3, Magico ACC, Magico A1s, Dual Rythmik FV25HP
Amps- ATI AT523NC, AT524NC, AT528NC
Kaleidescape Terra Server/Strato, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV4k, XFinity X1
Sony VPL-VW5000, 136" 2.35:1 Stewart Studiotek 100 screen, Lumagen Pro 4242

Last edited by dinamigym; 03-25-2019 at 11:32 AM.
dinamigym is online now  
post #2678 of 2872 Old 03-26-2019, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,505
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 2943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
For those of us with the Apple 4k TV:

With my Sony VW5000ES projector & Lumagen Radiance Pro: I like to watch Star Trek Discovery on CBS All Access, which here in US is only broadcast in 1080i, having my Apple 4k TV set at 1080p.
Hey, you might want to check amazon prime video. I thought I was reading that you can get this show via all-access from amazon prime and it's broadcast in 1080p 5.1 that way.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #2679 of 2872 Old 03-26-2019, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,745
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Hey, you might want to check amazon prime video. I thought I was reading that you can get this show via all-access from amazon prime and it's broadcast in 1080p 5.1 that way.
That's how I'm getting it - I am simply assuming that since its HD here in US, that its broadcastr 1080i then with Apple 4k TV one can set 1080p output. And my Apple 4k TV shows i am getting multi-channel sound, not stereo PCM!

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/show....php?t=1158431 No dealer is authorized to tell you I refer to them - any referrals I make will be done personally by me. Over the years I have found certain dealer(s) who I cannot recommend for good reason.
! 9.4.13 Trinnov Altitude 32 Theatre renovation/upgrade starts end of July 2019!
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #2680 of 2872 Old 03-26-2019, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,505
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 2943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
That's how I'm getting it - I am simply assuming that since its HD here in US, that its broadcastr 1080i then with Apple 4k TV one can set 1080p output. And my Apple 4k TV shows i am getting multi-channel sound, not stereo PCM!
This is not a fair assumption. First off, discovery is not broadcast. Secondly, scripted TV is film and broadcast 1080i but the content is 1080p just with telecine applied. So the HDTV content is also really 1080p. When this comes from a streaming provider, it comes as 24fps 1080p not 30fps 1080i telecined.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #2681 of 2872 Old 03-26-2019, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,745
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
This is not a fair assumption. First off, discovery is not broadcast. Secondly, scripted TV is film and broadcast 1080i but the content is 1080p just with telecine applied. So the HDTV content is also really 1080p. When this comes from a streaming provider, it comes as 24fps 1080p not 30fps 1080i telecined.
Thanks! What about network tv shows which are broadcast in 1080i? Is content also 1080p, so when streamed 1080p is actually “native”?

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/show....php?t=1158431 No dealer is authorized to tell you I refer to them - any referrals I make will be done personally by me. Over the years I have found certain dealer(s) who I cannot recommend for good reason.
! 9.4.13 Trinnov Altitude 32 Theatre renovation/upgrade starts end of July 2019!
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #2682 of 2872 Old 03-26-2019, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,505
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4639 Post(s)
Liked: 2943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
Thanks! What about network tv shows which are broadcast in 1080i? Is content also 1080p, so when streamed 1080p is actually “native”?
That's right. All content that's filmed at 24fps, which is all scripted tv shows, is just 1080p with telecine applied to hit 30fps and it comes across as 1080i. But you don't need to deinterlace it and play it at 30fps instead you inverse telecine it and play back the 1080p. The streaming providers get the 1080p files to stream. 1080i is probably just stuff like the local news and maybe sports.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #2683 of 2872 Old 04-03-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
D6500Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 119
A CRT-convert in Virginia joins the club. A VPL-VW5000ES, processed by Lumagen Radiance Pro, projected onto a 12' wide 2.40:1 Seymour Neo S screen. 3D LUTs created for both REC709 and SDR2020.

Absolutely stunning!


Ken Whitcomb

Calibrations Inc
Indianapolis, IN

ISF, THX, PVA
Now offering LightSpace CMS 3D LUT calibration
D6500Ken is offline  
post #2684 of 2872 Old 04-03-2019, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 24,148
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
Quote:
Originally Posted by D6500Ken View Post
A CRT-convert in Virginia joins the club. A VPL-VW5000ES, processed by Lumagen Radiance Pro, projected onto a 12' wide 2.40:1 Seymour Neo S screen. 3D LUTs created for both REC709 and SDR2020.

Absolutely stunning!


Ken Whitcomb

I'd expect nothing less. I hope he is pleased.

Art
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #2685 of 2872 Old 04-06-2019, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Lafayette, (Bay Area) CA USA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by D6500Ken View Post
A CRT-convert in Virginia joins the club. A VPL-VW5000ES, processed by Lumagen Radiance Pro, projected onto a 12' wide 2.40:1 Seymour Neo S screen. 3D LUTs created for both REC709 and SDR2020.

Absolutely stunning!


Ken Whitcomb
Hi Ken. Is there a considerable picture and maybe brightness increase on the Sony 5000ES using a Lumagen Radience Pro? I had it calibrated as is and am very happy with performance, but may want to squeeze out any additional performance if possible. I'm bummed I don't have the throw distance for the Palladium. Please let me know. Thanks.

Silence is overrated!
FS: Seymour Screen Excellence 4K 137” diagonal masking Screen Reduced: $1995.00:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/218-di...l#post53049130
FS: Sony VPL VW5000ES. Two Weeks old REDUCED: $ 32,900.00
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/218-di...-ve5000es.html
adidadi is offline  
post #2686 of 2872 Old 04-08-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
D6500Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidadi View Post
Hi Ken. Is there a considerable picture and maybe brightness increase on the Sony 5000ES using a Lumagen Radience Pro? I had it calibrated as is and am very happy with performance, but may want to squeeze out any additional performance if possible. I'm bummed I don't have the throw distance for the Palladium. Please let me know. Thanks.
The Radiance Pro cannot create more light, but their Dynamic Intensity Mapping can create that illusion for HDR sources by improving on the tone-mapping of the Sony. If you are using a cinemascope screen, you could also have the benefit of instantaneous aspect-ratio changes (no lens movement).


Ken Whitcomb

Calibrations Inc
Indianapolis, IN

ISF, THX, PVA
Now offering LightSpace CMS 3D LUT calibration
D6500Ken is offline  
post #2687 of 2872 Old 04-08-2019, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,745
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by D6500Ken View Post
The Radiance Pro cannot create more light, but their Dynamic Intensity Mapping can create that illusion for HDR sources by improving on the tone-mapping of the Sony. If you are using a cinemascope screen, you could also have the benefit of instantaneous aspect-ratio changes (no lens movement).


Ken Whitcomb
Aside from Mr Wizard Ken's using my Radiance Pro for tone mapping all HDR sources, I am now using the instant aspect ratio changing feature which is very nifty!!!

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/show....php?t=1158431 No dealer is authorized to tell you I refer to them - any referrals I make will be done personally by me. Over the years I have found certain dealer(s) who I cannot recommend for good reason.
! 9.4.13 Trinnov Altitude 32 Theatre renovation/upgrade starts end of July 2019!
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #2688 of 2872 Old 04-09-2019, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 203
I posted this in the Lumagen thread, but since pretty much everyone here has a Lumagen too may as well give the heads up. See my edit at the bottom - for those of you willing to try this, I'd be very curious to see if you see the same issue where everything is way overly bright and blown out. I'm giving it another day before rolling back...

Just checked the Lumagen site and looks like there is a new firmware:

Beta 020619- Fix for audio loss issue using netlifx. Many improvements to Dynamic Tone Mapping. Added dynamic settings to left arrow pop-up HDR menu. Some other small fixes. Please continue giving us your detailed feedback on issues via email at [email protected] .

Edit: Just downloaded and am trying it out with my Sony 5000 projector. Not sure if it's something in my settings, but now with DTM enabled, even on 1, it is over-brightening everything and it looks terrible. I'll have to do some more testing tomorrow.
tcramer is offline  
post #2689 of 2872 Old 04-10-2019, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcramer View Post
I posted this in the Lumagen thread, but since pretty much everyone here has a Lumagen too may as well give the heads up. See my edit at the bottom - for those of you willing to try this, I'd be very curious to see if you see the same issue where everything is way overly bright and blown out. I'm giving it another day before rolling back...

Just checked the Lumagen site and looks like there is a new firmware:

Beta 020619- Fix for audio loss issue using netlifx. Many improvements to Dynamic Tone Mapping. Added dynamic settings to left arrow pop-up HDR menu. Some other small fixes. Please continue giving us your detailed feedback on issues via email at [email protected] .

Edit: Just downloaded and am trying it out with my Sony 5000 projector. Not sure if it's something in my settings, but now with DTM enabled, even on 1, it is over-brightening everything and it looks terrible. I'll have to do some more testing tomorrow.

Sounds like there was in fact a bug in this and they have identified it, issuing a fix soon. So hold off and don't updated your Lumagen to 020619 just yet!
tcramer is offline  
post #2690 of 2872 Old 04-11-2019, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcramer View Post
Sounds like there was in fact a bug in this and they have identified it, issuing a fix soon. So hold off and don't updated your Lumagen to 020619 just yet!
Updated (fixed) firmware just dropped to fix the brightness issues with DTM. Hopefully I'll be testing it out this weekend.

Beta 020819- Fixup for issue causing overly bright result with DTM (Dynamic Tone Mapping). Fix for another bug that in some cases gave incorrect DTM results. A quality improvement for DTM. Fixup for bringing up test patterns when in DTM mode. Fix for getting a message in menu that settings have changed when they hadn't been. Please continue giving us your detailed feedback on issues via email at [email protected] .
Craig Peer likes this.
tcramer is offline  
post #2691 of 2872 Old 04-12-2019, 04:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 24,148
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #2692 of 2872 Old 04-12-2019, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Sonneborn View Post
When did that update come ?

Art
Just last night I got the email from Lumagen support saying it had dropped. I haven't tried it out yet, but hope to do so this weekend.
Art Sonneborn and Craig Peer like this.
tcramer is offline  
post #2693 of 2872 Old 04-13-2019, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First post! On the fence purchasing a 5000ES dealer demo unit and wanted to get the real experts’ opinions. Unit will have north of 7K hrs (@80% laser) but include a full factory warranty. Would you guys be hesitant at all given it’s heavy use, based on a 20K hr lifespan? Thanks in advance.

-Sean
smslevin03 is offline  
post #2694 of 2872 Old 04-13-2019, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 24,148
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
Quote:
Originally Posted by smslevin03 View Post
First post! On the fence purchasing a 5000ES dealer demo unit and wanted to get the real experts’ opinions. Unit will have north of 7K hrs (@80% laser) but include a full factory warranty. Would you guys be hesitant at all given it’s heavy use, based on a 20K hr lifespan? Thanks in advance.

-Sean
Not a real expert just own two, one for three years. I don't think any of us are out there yet to give great advice ( to 7000 hours I mean). Frankly, I've not seen a decay graph of any kind. I run mine at 100% and interestingly due to inter-unit variability my older unit with 2300 hours on it has higher output than my new unit with 850 hours on it (15 months old). I'd ask the seller if he can give you some numbers. Calibrated they generally have about 4600 lumens round or so.
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #2695 of 2872 Old 04-13-2019, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by smslevin03 View Post
First post! On the fence purchasing a 5000ES dealer demo unit and wanted to get the real experts’ opinions. Unit will have north of 7K hrs (@80% laser) but include a full factory warranty. Would you guys be hesitant at all given it’s heavy use, based on a 20K hr lifespan? Thanks in advance.

-Sean
It would have to be one heck of a discount, plus the unit would have to have excellent convergence for me to consider it.
G-Rex is offline  
post #2696 of 2872 Old 04-13-2019, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcramer View Post
Just last night I got the email from Lumagen support saying it had dropped. I haven't tried it out yet, but hope to do so this weekend.

Got a chance to do some testing and it is much better and the brightness issue is resolved. It still elevates black scenes a touch, but overall the tradeoff is worth it for the much improved highlight brightness. There is a "black" setting I messed with a bit and initially it seems to get those black scenes darker without crushing, but I need to test with more content before feeling confident moving it below 0. If that setting can lower the black scenes without crushing on a consistent basis, it would be amazing.

Overall the DTM actually makes HDR somewhat resemble HDR on these projectors. Bright scenes actually have pop and nothing is dark and dingy - quite an extreme improvement.

Art - DTM could be what makes you satisfied with your dual setup and actually give you the full HDR effect!
tcramer is offline  
post #2697 of 2872 Old 04-14-2019, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
mani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Since lot of members here use Lumagen pro with Sony5000, i thought I will post this question here. Just updated the firmware (did so after 9 months maybe .... so I skipped the rest of the updates). Lumagen was calibrated by Ken. So what HDR setting is everyone using now with Sony (settings that show up when you click left button while watching HDR movie)? Lot of those setting didn't use to exist when Ken was here to calibrate. Maybe Ken himself can chime in !!!
'
mani is online now  
post #2698 of 2872 Old 04-22-2019, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
mitchlampert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I have an unusual question. I have my 5000es mounted on a plywood shelf in a storage room at the back of my theater. The problem is the intake air temps have risen above 100f because the intake and exhaust air is just recirculating on the shelf. I want to mount a small fan to move fresh air from the room to the projector. Is there a way to control turning the fan on and off when the projector turns on and off other than integrating the fan into my automation system?

Thanks!
mitchlampert is offline  
post #2699 of 2872 Old 04-22-2019, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchlampert View Post
I have an unusual question. I have my 5000es mounted on a plywood shelf in a storage room at the back of my theater. The problem is the intake air temps have risen above 100f because the intake and exhaust air is just recirculating on the shelf. I want to mount a small fan to move fresh air from the room to the projector. Is there a way to control turning the fan on and off when the projector turns on and off other than integrating the fan into my automation system?

Thanks!
I have installed AC infinity fans around my hush box ( in addition to top exhaust ) to help dissipate the heat . They work really well and are controlled by temp probe and can be daisy chained and are not expensive
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B2FEDFBF-D665-4E28-AEC3-E74EDF79098A_1555958079775.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	2556800  
mani is online now  
post #2700 of 2872 Old 04-22-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchlampert View Post
I have an unusual question. I have my 5000es mounted on a plywood shelf in a storage room at the back of my theater. The problem is the intake air temps have risen above 100f because the intake and exhaust air is just recirculating on the shelf. I want to mount a small fan to move fresh air from the room to the projector. Is there a way to control turning the fan on and off when the projector turns on and off other than integrating the fan into my automation system?

Thanks!
Look at Post 1451 of this thread - see if it helps..
Ash Sharma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off