Official JVC RS4500/Z1 Owner's Thread - Page 132 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3174Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 4557 Old 02-18-2020, 10:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
If you are zooming and not using an A-lens then you figure the screen size width but with an aspect of 16:9, matching the projector panel.

So with a 140” wide screen (scope or 16:9) doesn’t matter with the zoom method. With a .8 gain and 2500 lumens gives you 26fL to fill the entire 140” screen width. You would have the same 26fL if you had a 140” wide screen that was 16:9 aspect ratio as well.
You really won’t be able to clamp down on the iris at all.

Even with the Lumagen DTM, personally I consider 30fL the bare minimum for HDR content. ...
....
My screen will be CIH (side) masking. So as 2.40 it is 140" x 58.3"=56.6 sq ft native. As 16:9 , it shrinks to 104" x 58.3"=42 sq ft. The native JVC panel is 17:9 ratio. Lumens to work with = 2000 lumen (2500 calibrated in high laser * 0.8 gain).

Sorry, I do not understand how you calculated 26 fL for both the 16:9 image and 2.40:1 image (latter with JVC zoom to scope function).

My calculation for a 16:9 image is 2000 lumens/42 sq ft= 47.7 fL.
I do not know how to calculate for 2.40, as I cannot conceptualize the light loss using ZOOM. I assume 2000/56.6=35 fL is not accurate?
Sorry guys, tried to google this stuff but still cannot find clear explanation of the math.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDesigns View Post
Did you use the whole 17:9 panel area when calculating by hand? The projector illuminates the whole 17:9 area even though your screen is scope. With the DCR you could get all of the lumens to scope format.

Also, throw distance is measured from the lens. How long is your room from the screen to the back wall?
Not sure how to alter the above calculation to reflect its native 17:9 panel, projected to 16:9 and 2.40 ratios?
I realize throw is lens to screen. My room is 19' 9" long (237"). I will lose 4" (front wall to screen surface), 8" (behind projector for connections), and 28" (projector length itself) = 197" throw distance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Why not dump the 0.8 screen and go with a st100 or even st130?
I need an acoustically transparent screen. My front/main seating is 10' away from screen (2 x screen height). The Stewart ST100 and ST130 only have microperf available, which will be visible from my seating distance and degrade the picture. The Seymour screen Enlightor Neo is a woven fabric, and also will offer better contrast.
blake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 4557 Old 02-18-2020, 11:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 1206
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
My screen will be CIH (side) masking. So as 2.40 it is 140" x 58.3"=56.6 sq ft native. As 16:9 , it shrinks to 104" x 58.3"=42 sq ft. The native JVC panel is 17:9 ratio. Lumens to work with = 2000 lumen (2500 calibrated in high laser * 0.8 gain).



Sorry, I do not understand how you calculated 26 fL for both the 16:9 image and 2.40:1 image (latter with JVC zoom to scope function).



My calculation for a 16:9 image is 2000 lumens/42 sq ft= 47.7 fL.

I do not know how to calculate for 2.40, as I cannot conceptualize the light loss using ZOOM. I assume 2000/56.6=35 fL is not accurate?

Sorry guys, tried to google this stuff but still cannot find clear explanation of the math.

I didn’t say If you reduced your 16:9 imagine to 104” wide it would be the same fL. Yes if you zoom down to 104” wide 16:9 image you would have 47fl. That is correct.

I said with the zoom method you calculate your screen size based on a 16:9 screen at your full image width, even if you are using a scope screen, because your projector is projecting that 16:9 image, it’s just projecting black above and below the screen.

So to calculate for a 140” scope screen using zoom method you would calculate the screen area not as 140” x 58.3” but 140” x 78.75” because that’s the size of the image the projector is projecting.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ccool96 is offline  
post #3933 of 4557 Old 02-18-2020, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
MDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
I didn’t say If you reduced your 16:9 imagine to 104” wide it would be the same fL. Yes if you zoom down to 104” wide 16:9 image you would have 47fl. That is correct.

I said with the zoom method you calculate your screen size based on a 16:9 screen at your full image width, even if you are using a scope screen, because your projector is projecting that 16:9 image, it’s just projecting black above and below the screen.

So to calculate for a 140” scope screen using zoom method you would calculate the screen area not as 140” x 58.3” but 140” x 78.75” because that’s the size of the image the projector is projecting.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Also with the 17:9 panels you lose about 6% of brightness to the side black bars when using only the 16:9 width of the panels. That has to be subracted from the final numbers. I think there is no "zoom"-mode in the RS4500 to use the whole panel width, like in the newer 4K series? *****Edit: RS4500 does have the zoom-option, so you can use the whole panel width for wider aspects.

Also the DCR lens can't be used with the RS4500 without Lumagen or MadVR Envy. It doesn't have the proper anamorphic scaling modes to use the whole panel.

JVC DLA-RS500

Last edited by MDesigns; 02-20-2020 at 01:57 AM.
MDesigns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3934 of 4557 Old 02-18-2020, 11:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
@blake

just for your info.

I run my Z1/RS4500 at 21ft throw onto a 143" Scope screen 1.26 gain

I use a HTPC with madVR ..i use MED Laser for HDR and SDR. before madVR i had to use HIGH Laser for HDR.

I gave up obsessing/chasing "ft/l" fiqures and now just thoughourly ENJOY the image projected...

Either madVR or the Lumagen is IMHO "Mandatory" in order to achieve stunning results with HDR..
OzHDHT, Craig Peer and markmon1 like this.
woofer is online now  
post #3935 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 01:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDesigns View Post
Also with the 17:9 panels you lose about 6% of brightness to the side black bars when using only the 16:9 width of the panels. That has to be subracted from the final numbers. I think there is no "zoom"-mode in the RS4500 to use the whole panel width, like in the newer 4K series?

...
.


Can anyone confirm this ? Seems like a waste to have a 17:9 panel when all content will essentially be using only 16:9.

I don’t believe there is even cinema 4K (17:9) content even available for home use !
blake is offline  
post #3936 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 02:00 AM
Senior Member
 
MDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Can anyone confirm this ? Seems like a waste to have a 17:9 panel when all content will essentially be using only 16:9.

I don’t believe there is even cinema 4K (17:9) content even available for home use !
I really think you should wait for the Envy or if in a hurry get the Lumagen. Those can sort also this "feature", give you awesome tone mapping and upscaling(Envy) and scale with the DCR if you decide to get that later.

JVC DLA-RS500
MDesigns is offline  
post #3937 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 02:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 1206
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Can anyone confirm this ? Seems like a waste to have a 17:9 panel when all content will essentially be using only 16:9.

I don’t believe there is even cinema 4K (17:9) content even available for home use !


Doesn’t even matter. It is what it is.

All 4K projectors from Sony and JVC are this way.

With a DCR lens and a Lumagen you are able to make use of the full 17:9 panel.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
OzHDHT and Craig Peer like this.
ccool96 is offline  
post #3938 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 02:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ccool96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 1206
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDesigns View Post
Also with the 17:9 panels you lose about 6% of brightness to the side black bars when using only the 16:9 width of the panels. That has to be subracted from the final numbers. I think there is no "zoom"-mode in the RS4500 to use the whole panel width, like in the newer 4K series?



Also the DCR lens can't be used with the RS4500 without Lumagen or MadVR Envy. It doesn't have the proper anamorphic scaling modes to use the whole panel.


Very true. And agree you can’t use the DCR without the Lumagen or Envy because the projector doesn’t have the correct aspect modes built in, but I don’t even consider those VPs as optional.

DTM is a must for 4K projection. So for anyone buying the 4500, one of these devices, typically the Lumagen, is really mandatory.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
OzHDHT and Craig Peer like this.
ccool96 is offline  
post #3939 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 05:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 10,596
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5774 Post(s)
Liked: 4876
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDesigns View Post
Also the DCR lens can't be used with the RS4500 without Lumagen or MadVR Envy. It doesn't have the proper anamorphic scaling modes to use the whole panel.
But the Panamorph Paladin lens can be used without the Lumagen and while it won't give the full 38% increase, it will provide 30+% --- still much better than without a lens!!
audioguy is online now  
post #3940 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,997
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8050 Post(s)
Liked: 10615
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
Very true. And agree you can’t use the DCR without the Lumagen or Envy because the projector doesn’t have the correct aspect modes built in, but I don’t even consider those VPs as optional.

DTM is a must for 4K projection. So for anyone buying the 4500, one of these devices, typically the Lumagen, is really mandatory.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I couldn't agree more. DTM has transformed 4K HDR completely. I couldn't be without my Lumagen. If I couldn't afford both, I'd get the Lumagen first, and add the DCR lens down the road.
OzHDHT likes this.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #3941 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 10,596
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5774 Post(s)
Liked: 4876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
I couldn't agree more. DTM has transformed 4K HDR completely. I couldn't be without my Lumagen. If I couldn't afford both, I'd get the Lumagen first, and add the DCR lens down the road.

+1
audioguy is online now  
post #3942 of 4557 Old 02-19-2020, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
@blake in regards to your query in the Lumagen thread...


i have posted info on this several times....... i have a friend who has in exccess of 6000hrs on his Z1/RS4500 .. no loss of light output .. he has done regular measurments form new...

The 20,000 hr "Half Life" is for 100% output in HIGH Laser 100% of the time.......this never occurs unless you were to project a full static white screen . Dispaying real world dynamic content combined with the Laser dimming the Laser is not operational at 100% output 100% of the time..
OzHDHT likes this.
woofer is online now  
post #3943 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 12:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6779 Post(s)
Liked: 4888
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Can anyone confirm this ? Seems like a waste to have a 17:9 panel when all content will essentially be using only 16:9.

I don’t believe there is even cinema 4K (17:9) content even available for home use !
Zoom works fine on the RS4500. I use it for all content that's not 16x9 and zoom to the whole 17x9 panel. You can set two separate installation memories, one zoomed one not and one button between the two. My automation software I wrote automatically selects the right preset via IP control based on the software detected aspect ratio of my content I play.
MDesigns likes this.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3944 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 12:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Official JVC RS4500/Z1 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
@blake in regards to your query in the Lumagen thread...





i have posted info on this several times....... i have a friend who has in exccess of 6000hrs on his Z1/RS4500 .. no loss of light output .. he has done regular measurments form new...



The 20,000 hr "Half Life" is for 100% output in HIGH Laser 100% of the time.......this never occurs unless you were to project a full static white screen . Dispaying real world dynamic content combined with the Laser dimming the Laser is not operational at 100% output 100% of the time..


Thanks for moving this over from the Lumagen thread. Very Interesting. I wonder if the deterioration in laser diode brightness over time relates more to heat issues or “sustained high brightness” type stress you may not necessarily induce in all use-cases. Has anyone actually documented light loss yet at 5000 or 10,000 hours ? Maybe if you keep this particular projector cool enough for example , the laser will last forever !
blake is offline  
post #3945 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 01:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Thanks for moving this over from the Lumagen thread. Very Interesting. I wonder if the deterioration in laser diode brightness over time relates more to heat issues or “sustained high brightness” type stress you may not necessarily induce in all use-cases. Has anyone actually documented light loss yet at 5000 or 10,000 hours ? Maybe if you keep this particular projector cool enough for example , the laser will last forever !
Please PM me your email address and i will forward you some private info...thanks..


Email sent...
tigerhonaker likes this.

Last edited by woofer; 02-20-2020 at 01:51 AM.
woofer is online now  
post #3946 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 01:55 AM
Senior Member
 
MDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Zoom works fine on the RS4500. I use it for all content that's not 16x9 and zoom to the whole 17x9 panel. You can set two separate installation memories, one zoomed one not and one button between the two. My automation software I wrote automatically selects the right preset via IP control based on the software detected aspect ratio of my content I play.
Thanks for correcting the wrong info I gave. It is just the DCR anamorphic features missing.

Lähetetty minun MRD-LX1 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
markmon1 likes this.

JVC DLA-RS500
MDesigns is offline  
post #3947 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 04:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6779 Post(s)
Liked: 4888
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
@blake in regards to your query in the Lumagen thread...


i have posted info on this several times....... i have a friend who has in exccess of 6000hrs on his Z1/RS4500 .. no loss of light output .. he has done regular measurments form new...

The 20,000 hr "Half Life" is for 100% output in HIGH Laser 100% of the time.......this never occurs unless you were to project a full static white screen . Dispaying real world dynamic content combined with the Laser dimming the Laser is not operational at 100% output 100% of the time..
6000 hours? I am just a panty waist I guess at a mere 2038 hours on mine.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3948 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
@blake in regards to your query in the Lumagen thread...


i have posted info on this several times....... i have a friend who has in exccess of 6000hrs on his Z1/RS4500 .. no loss of light output .. he has done regular measurments form new...

The 20,000 hr "Half Life" is for 100% output in HIGH Laser 100% of the time.......this never occurs unless you were to project a full static white screen . Dispaying real world dynamic content combined with the Laser dimming the Laser is not operational at 100% output 100% of the time..
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
6000 hours? I am just a panty waist I guess at a mere 2038 hours on mine.
I thought I was a really-really high user but 6,000 hours, Wow !!!

I'm at something like 3,200 hours .............

Terry
tigerhonaker is offline  
post #3949 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,997
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8050 Post(s)
Liked: 10615
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
6000 hours? I am just a panty waist I guess at a mere 2038 hours on mine.
I'm at 1700 and change. Although I feel some movie marathon weeks coming soon !
Craig Peer is online now  
post #3950 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
6000 hours? I am just a panty waist I guess at a mere 2038 hours on mine.
Yeah, his family basically just uses it as their main "TV" ...goes on in the morning and runs till late evening most days!..
woofer is online now  
post #3951 of 4557 Old 02-20-2020, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6779 Post(s)
Liked: 4888
So I got my ST130 G4 installed today. It's so much brighter than what I had. And I can't see any sparkles at all. I'm able to run the majority of my content on LOW LASER! HDR might need mid laser. Have to test where games will fall.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3952 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 12:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
So I got my ST130 G4 installed today. It's so much brighter than what I had. And I can't see any sparkles at all. I'm able to run the majority of my content on LOW LASER! HDR might need mid laser. Have to test where games will fall.
Hi Mark,

What is the "Real World" gain of this screen ?

I feel my bank balance dropping again.......
woofer is online now  
post #3953 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 12:51 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 4,206
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 2604
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
So I got my ST130 G4 installed today. It's so much brighter than what I had. And I can't see any sparkles at all. I'm able to run the majority of my content on LOW LASER! HDR might need mid laser. Have to test where games will fall.
Or keep it on the original laser setting that it seems you could live with and close the iris down for more contrast?
bobof is offline  
post #3954 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6779 Post(s)
Liked: 4888
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
Hi Mark,

What is the "Real World" gain of this screen ?

I feel my bank balance dropping again.......
I dont think I have the ability to measure this. But rumor is stewart's numbers are suppose to be reliable. I could send you my G4 screen sample material. I'm not sure how long it will take to get to AU. What screen do you have now? The other thing is that, on a pure white image, the pixel grid is sharper than it ever has been before. I feel like I have a new projector. And after adding that IB 12 in my seating for tactile in your back feeling I feel like i have a whole new theater haha.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Or keep it on the original laser setting that it seems you could live with and close the iris down for more contrast?
This is certainly why I bought the 1.3 gain screen in the first place. But getting very satisfying results on low laser is temping since it uses up the light source slower. And on some stuff it looks perfect.
tigerhonaker and bobof like this.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3955 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 03:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1826 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I dont think I have the ability to measure this. But rumor is stewart's numbers are suppose to be reliable. I could send you my G4 screen sample material. I'm not sure how long it will take to get to AU. What screen do you have now? The other thing is that, on a pure white image, the pixel grid is sharper than it ever has been before. I feel like I have a new projector. And after adding that IB 12 in my seating for tactile in your back feeling I feel like i have a whole new theater haha.



This is certainly why I bought the 1.3 gain screen in the first place. But getting very satisfying results on low laser is temping since it uses up the light source slower. And on some stuff it looks perfect.
My screen is an Oz Theatre screen https://www.projectorscreens.com.au ... its supposed to have a gain 1.26 BUT a few who have measured it say it smore like 1.1 real world.

I may take you up on the offer ( thanks ) of sending the G4 Sample......let me know for sure and i can give you postal details and pay freight costs..
woofer is online now  
post #3956 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
So I got my ST130 G4 installed today. It's so much brighter than what I had. And I can't see any sparkles at all. I'm able to run the majority of my content on LOW LASER! HDR might need mid laser. Have to test where games will fall.


Did you get it microperf? Would that affected gain ?
blake is offline  
post #3957 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
So I got my ST130 G4 installed today. It's so much brighter than what I had. And I can't see any sparkles at all. I'm able to run the majority of my content on LOW LASER! HDR might need mid laser. Have to test where games will fall.
Mark,

Since this is the RS4500 thread do you mind elaborating more on the New screen buddy ???
(Meaning, I don't think any of us will get all that Up-Set)
If you did more Post about it on other threads please post those Links if you don't mind.
I'm interested .................

I wonder what would be the Real-World "Advantage" between my Stewart Firehawk 1.35-Gain and your New ST130 G4 ???
Would your's be BRIGHTER if I had it in my exact same size 16x9, 123" ???

Terry

Last edited by tigerhonaker; 02-21-2020 at 07:44 AM.
tigerhonaker is offline  
post #3958 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,997
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8050 Post(s)
Liked: 10615
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerhonaker View Post
Mark,

Since this is the RS4500 thread do you mind elaborating more on the New screen buddy ???
(Meaning, I don't think any of us will get all that Up-Set)
If you did more Post about it on other threads please post those Links if you don't mind.
I'm interested .................

I wonder what would be the Real-World "Advantage" between my Stewart Firehawk 1.35-Gain and your New ST130 G4 ???
Would your's be BRIGHTER if I had it in my exact same size 16x9, 123" ???


Terry
Yes. I went from a Firehawk to a StudioTek 130. Brighter, truer color. The key is making your room dark to use the ST130. You did that. You could probably just change out the material in your existing Stewart screen.
OzHDHT and tigerhonaker like this.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #3959 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerhonaker View Post
Mark,

Since this is the RS4500 thread do you mind elaborating more on the New screen buddy ???
(Meaning, I don't think any of us will get all that Up-Set)
If you did more Post about it on other threads please post those Links if you don't mind.
I'm interested .................

I wonder what would be the Real-World "Advantage" between my Stewart Firehawk 1.35-Gain and your New ST130 G4 ???
Would your's be BRIGHTER if I had it in my exact same size 16x9, 123" ???
Terry


Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Yes. I went from a Firehawk to a StudioTek 130. Brighter, truer color. The key is making your room dark to use the ST130. You did that. You could probably just change out the material in your existing Stewart screen.
Craig,

When the guys lowered my screen I looked and it does have Buttons to hold the actual material to the frame.
So I think your correct just the actual Screen-Material could be switched.

Terry
tigerhonaker is offline  
post #3960 of 4557 Old 02-21-2020, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,997
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8050 Post(s)
Liked: 10615
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerhonaker View Post
Terry




Craig,

When the guys lowered my screen I looked and it does have Buttons to hold the actual material to the frame.
So I think your correct just the actual Screen-Material could be switched.

Terry
Un-snap the old material, snap in the new material. If you ever plan on getting Chad B back, do this first so he can re - calibrate with the new material.
OzHDHT and tigerhonaker like this.
Craig Peer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off