Official Sony VW885ES / VW760ES Owner's Thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3490Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 5511 Old 09-14-2019, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Well now that’️s where the new update HDR / SDR Auto feature will come in handy. For 4k you have it off and for SDR you have it on.
So if I have interpreted that new feature correctly, it will be like having essentially 18 presets instead of 9?

Having set up one preset for HDR, one for 3D and one for SDR, I cannot see it making any difference for me really. I still have 6 I don't use. Lol.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 5511 Old 09-14-2019, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,545
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3289 Post(s)
Liked: 2144
Official Sony VW885ES / VW760ES Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
So if I have interpreted that new feature correctly, it will be like having essentially 18 presets instead of 9?

Having set up one preset for HDR, one for 3D and one for SDR, I cannot see it making any difference for me really. I still have 6 I don't use. Lol.


Image from ArrowAV post



I was referring to the above. So when a HDR Disc is put in it automatically now refers to that setting ( where you can switch RC off and calibrate for HDR ) .Same applies to SDR ( where you switch it on and calibrate for SDR ) . Its what JVC has been doing for awhile now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

_________________________

God Bless!
Equipment: Bose Soundbar; 1951 Philco Model 50-T701 Black and White tabletop TV;Projection :HANIMEX ZOOM 8 MM PROJECTOR

Last edited by Franin; 09-14-2019 at 08:11 PM.
Franin is online now  
post #4923 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 01:58 AM
Member
 
rola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
So if I have interpreted that new feature correctly, it will be like having essentially 18 presets instead of 9?

Having set up one preset for HDR, one for 3D and one for SDR, I cannot see it making any difference for me really. I still have 6 I don't use. Lol.
You dont have to change setting manually, instead the projector automatically goesto the hdr settings when sensing hdr. Earlier the only setting that changed was contrastsetting.
This change is much much better.
rola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4924 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 02:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by rola View Post
You dont have to change setting manually, instead the projector automatically goesto the hdr settings when sensing hdr. Earlier the only setting that changed was contrastsetting.
This change is much much better.
Yeah I get that. But what I am getting at is that once you have calibrated HDR settings, they will then be applied to whichever of the 9 presets you happen to be using. So that will essentially give 18 effective presets. There will be HDR/SDR settings for each one.
At the moment though, when I use a UHD disc, I just press the preset that was calibrated for HDR and that is it.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.

Last edited by Archibald1; 09-15-2019 at 03:12 AM.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4925 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 03:06 AM
Member
 
Slinkywizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I guess it's correcting something for which everyone already has a simple and effective workaround. If it were there from the start we'd all be using it, but it's a bit late now.
tassop and Archibald1 like this.

VISION: Sony VPL-VW760ES, 125" | AMPLIFICATION: Denon AVC-X8500H, 7.5.6; two subs, plus Earthquake XJ-300ST and 3xADS Maximus Shakers | DEVICES: Oppo 203 UHD BD player, Apple TV 4K, Gaming PC w/i7700k CPU, NVIDIA RTX 2080ti | SPEAKERS: 6xSVS Prime Bookshelf, 2xSVS PB-2000 subs, SVS Prime Centre, 6xSVS Prime Elevation
Slinkywizard is offline  
post #4926 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 03:09 AM
Member
 
rola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Are you sure it will be applied to all presets? Its not like that today with hdr contrast i I remember correctly.
rola is offline  
post #4927 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,585
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1121 Post(s)
Liked: 745
Wonder if the HDR setting will be selected if you send SDR2020 to the projector? Seems that would be needed for many folks. SJ
SJHT is offline  
post #4928 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Well now that’s where the new update HDR / SDR Auto feature will come in handy. For 4k you have it off and for SDR you have it on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I can do that now with the press of a button. All this will do is negate the need to even do that. Pushing a button to engage my HDR preset has never been particularly onerous.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4929 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by rola View Post
Are you sure it will be applied to all presets? Its not like that today with hdr contrast i I remember correctly.
Currently you have to set up separate presets for HDR 3D and SDR. The way I read it with the new firmware, it will allow two sets of settings (HDR and SDR) for each of the nine presets, therefore giving, in essence, 18 presets.

Unless I have misread something of course...

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4930 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Wonder if the HDR setting will be selected if you send SDR2020 to the projector? Seems that would be needed for many folks. SJ
Would that not frustrate those who use SDR (100nit tone mapping) and BT 2020 settings from their sources?

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4931 of 5511 Old 09-15-2019, 12:36 PM
Member
 
rola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Currently you have to set up separate presets for HDR 3D and SDR. The way I read it with the new firmware, it will allow two sets of settings (HDR and SDR) for each of the nine presets, therefore giving, in essence, 18 presets.

Unless I have misread something of course...
We mean the same thing but explains it differently I think.

Im totally with you, this will be nice. My calibrator is booked, doing both the sony and the trinnov
rola is offline  
post #4932 of 5511 Old 09-16-2019, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I don't see why it would follow the HDR routing if it doesn't see an HDR flag. Even then what is great about Sony is you can still manually select a custom or regular gamma and color space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Would that not frustrate those who use SDR (100nit tone mapping) and BT 2020 settings from their sources?
jqmn is offline  
post #4933 of 5511 Old 09-16-2019, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Currently you have to set up separate presets for HDR 3D and SDR. The way I read it with the new firmware, it will allow two sets of settings (HDR and SDR) for each of the nine presets, therefore giving, in essence, 18 presets.

Unless I have misread something of course...
If I am not mistaken, i think 3D already have it's own preset that is different from the HDR/SDR.
Eventidal likes this.
coolgeek is offline  
post #4934 of 5511 Old 09-16-2019, 08:40 AM
Member
 
rola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgeek View Post
If I am not mistaken, i think 3D already have it's own preset that is different from the HDR/SDR.
No, 3d has no calibrated preset. The 3d-button on the remote is a shortcut to the 3d-settings only
rola is offline  
post #4935 of 5511 Old 09-16-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by rola View Post
No, 3d has no calibrated preset. The 3d-button on the remote is a shortcut to the 3d-settings only
I don't mean like a '3D preset' on the option such as 'cinema1, cinema2, bright tv, etc'...

what I meant is if you use say Cinema, and then pop in a 3D movie, then say adjust the brightness, color, gamma, etc, it'll remember that as for '3D movies only'.. meaning, if you select Cinema again, and when you pop in a normal non-3D movie, it'll be a different set of setings that you adjust for that... ie, 2 different presets right here.. just like what they are intending to do for HDR and SDR. Meaning, if you adjusted anything for HDR, it'll remember that everytime you pop in a HDR source.

Here, try using Cinema 1, then pop in a 3D movie, then adjust the brightness to 35 for example.... then pop back in a 2D movie, you'll see that the brightness remain at 50, but everytime you pop in a 3D movie, it'll be 35 where you adjusted it.
rola likes this.
coolgeek is offline  
post #4936 of 5511 Old 09-16-2019, 11:15 AM
Member
 
rola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgeek View Post
I don't mean like a '3D preset' on the option such as 'cinema1, cinema2, bright tv, etc'...

what I meant is if you use say Cinema, and then pop in a 3D movie, then say adjust the brightness, color, gamma, etc, it'll remember that as for '3D movies only'.. meaning, if you select Cinema again, and when you pop in a normal non-3D movie, it'll be a different set of setings that you adjust for that... ie, 2 different presets right here.. just like what they are intending to do for HDR and SDR. Meaning, if you adjusted anything for HDR, it'll remember that everytime you pop in a HDR source.

Here, try using Cinema 1, then pop in a 3D movie, then adjust the brightness to 35 for example.... then pop back in a 2D movie, you'll see that the brightness remain at 50, but everytime you pop in a 3D movie, it'll be 35 where you adjusted it.
Thanks, I learned something new today. Todays a nice day
rola is offline  
post #4937 of 5511 Old 09-17-2019, 01:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jqmn View Post
I don't see why it would follow the HDR routing if it doesn't see an HDR flag. Even then what is great about Sony is you can still manually select a custom or regular gamma and color space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Would that not frustrate those who use SDR (100nit tone mapping) and BT 2020 settings from their sources?
I was responding to post #4927 .

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4938 of 5511 Old 09-17-2019, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Yes, I read it differently (maybe incorrectly!). I read it as, with the new firmware, the projector going into HDR mode even though that was not wanted since the user would want to apply a regular gamma due to SDR incoming (as you pointed out in a later post). If the user sends SDR/2020 to the projector I am not sure why you would ever want the projector to apply an HDR tone map or have it be selectable. Is someone doing this? When would this be needed?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I was responding to post #4927 .
jqmn is offline  
post #4939 of 5511 Old 09-17-2019, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jqmn View Post
Yes, I read it differently (maybe incorrectly!). I read it as, with the new firmware, the projector going into HDR mode even though that was not wanted since the user would want to apply a regular gamma due to SDR incoming (as you pointed out in a later post). If the user sends SDR/2020 to the projector I am not sure why you would ever want the projector to apply an HDR tone map or have it be selectable. Is someone doing this? When would this be needed?
The question was posed; If someone sends BT 2020 to the PJ would it enable HDR automatically. I responded by saying that if it did, it would frustrate those that want to use SDR BT2020.

Hence I would hope that is not the case. The HDR flag is what should prompt switching and that is what should happen in the new firmware imo.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4940 of 5511 Old 09-17-2019, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Yes, we are agreeing then and my question as to why it would do that since it didn't see an HDR flag with SDR/2020. I also hope they don't reverse their course and key off of 2020 instead of the HDR flag. Even then they have been very flexible with allowing you to choose a curve other than their internal HDR10, Auto, or Reference so unless they changed that too we should be OK.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
The question was posed; If someone sends BT 2020 to the PJ would it enable HDR automatically. I responded by saying that if it did, it would frustrate those that want to use SDR BT2020.

Hence I would hope that is not the case. The HDR flag is what should prompt switching and that is what should happen in the new firmware imo.
jqmn is offline  
post #4941 of 5511 Old 09-17-2019, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jqmn View Post
Yes, we are agreeing then and my question as to why it would do that since it didn't see an HDR flag with SDR/2020. I also hope they don't reverse their course and key off of 2020 instead of the HDR flag. Even then they have been very flexible with allowing you to choose a curve other than their internal HDR10, Auto, or Reference so unless they changed that too we should be OK.
Indeed.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4942 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 03:50 AM
Member
 
Slinkywizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 44
My 760/885 is arriving today, but I won't be able to get it home/set up until tomorrow. It's going to be very interesting (for me at last) going from a 260/285 all the way up to the 760/885 in a single jump, espcially since I will be avoiding many of the early-adopter issues with this projector. I feel a bit like the guy who turns up half an hour before the end of the party and snuffles up all the remaining booze.

UPDATE: Arrived!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190918_143011.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	906.4 KB
ID:	2617104  
Archibald1 likes this.

VISION: Sony VPL-VW760ES, 125" | AMPLIFICATION: Denon AVC-X8500H, 7.5.6; two subs, plus Earthquake XJ-300ST and 3xADS Maximus Shakers | DEVICES: Oppo 203 UHD BD player, Apple TV 4K, Gaming PC w/i7700k CPU, NVIDIA RTX 2080ti | SPEAKERS: 6xSVS Prime Bookshelf, 2xSVS PB-2000 subs, SVS Prime Centre, 6xSVS Prime Elevation

Last edited by Slinkywizard; 09-18-2019 at 06:36 AM.
Slinkywizard is offline  
post #4943 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Howdle View Post
My 760/885 is arriving today, but I won't be able to get it home/set up until tomorrow. It's going to be very interesting (for me at last) going from a 260/285 all the way up to the 760/885 in a single jump, espcially since I will be avoiding many of the early-adopter issues with this projector. I feel a bit like the guy who turns up half an hour before the end of the party and snuffles up all the remaining booze.

UPDATE: Arrived!

Enjoy!!
Dan Howdle likes this.
GBProjector is offline  
post #4944 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
sprins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: mainland Europe
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Is it the end of September yet?


Asking for a friend...
Dan Howdle likes this.

HT:7.2.4 - Marantz AV7705 - InterM amps - Bose Controlspace ESP88 16x16
LCR: Bose 802-III - Surround/Atmos: Bose 502A - LFE: Bose AWCS
Living:3.1 - Marantz AV7702mk2 - InterM reference amps - Bose Controlspace ESP880 8x8
LR: Bose 901mk3 - C: Bose Acoustimass satelites - LFE: Bose MB12
sprins is offline  
post #4945 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
hasta666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 178
In my mind the end of a month starts with the fourth week.
sprins and Dan Howdle like this.
hasta666 is online now  
post #4946 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Howdle View Post
My 760/885 is arriving today, but I won't be able to get it home/set up until tomorrow. It's going to be very interesting (for me at last) going from a 260/285 all the way up to the 760/885 in a single jump, espcially since I will be avoiding many of the early-adopter issues with this projector. I feel a bit like the guy who turns up half an hour before the end of the party and snuffles up all the remaining booze.

UPDATE: Arrived!
Let us know what firmware is on it when you crack that bad boy open and fire it up won't you?

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4947 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 09:24 AM
Member
 
Slinkywizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Let us know what firmware is on it when you crack that bad boy open and fire it up won't you?
It's 8.100 – I already checked with the dealer. I'm in the same boat as everyone else as of today. It's a pretty cool boat to be fair.

VISION: Sony VPL-VW760ES, 125" | AMPLIFICATION: Denon AVC-X8500H, 7.5.6; two subs, plus Earthquake XJ-300ST and 3xADS Maximus Shakers | DEVICES: Oppo 203 UHD BD player, Apple TV 4K, Gaming PC w/i7700k CPU, NVIDIA RTX 2080ti | SPEAKERS: 6xSVS Prime Bookshelf, 2xSVS PB-2000 subs, SVS Prime Centre, 6xSVS Prime Elevation
Slinkywizard is offline  
post #4948 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Howdle View Post
It's 8.100 – I already checked with the dealer. I'm in the same boat as everyone else as of today. It's a pretty cool boat to be fair.
Ahh, okay. That means you need to gen up on the update procedure..... Only a few more sleeps.... I hope!

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #4949 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Slinkywizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Ahh, okay. That means you need to gen up on the update procedure..... Only a few more sleeps.... I hope!
I learned that already: Submerge the unit in 20 inches of water, switch it on. After a popping sound, followed by a loud bang, remove the unit from the water and reinstall. Pretty simple really.

VISION: Sony VPL-VW760ES, 125" | AMPLIFICATION: Denon AVC-X8500H, 7.5.6; two subs, plus Earthquake XJ-300ST and 3xADS Maximus Shakers | DEVICES: Oppo 203 UHD BD player, Apple TV 4K, Gaming PC w/i7700k CPU, NVIDIA RTX 2080ti | SPEAKERS: 6xSVS Prime Bookshelf, 2xSVS PB-2000 subs, SVS Prime Centre, 6xSVS Prime Elevation
Slinkywizard is offline  
post #4950 of 5511 Old 09-18-2019, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2037 Post(s)
Liked: 1104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Howdle View Post
I learned that already: Submerge the unit in 20 inches of water, switch it on. After a popping sound, followed by a loud bang, remove the unit from the water and reinstall. Pretty simple really.
That is what I was doing wrong!

Seriously though, there are a couple of versions of how to update doing the rounds, so it pays to gen up so there are no surprises.

The way that worked for me was:

Grab a cuppa and something to read.
Power off at mains. Wait for light to go out.
Insert USB stick with firmware on it.
Power on
Blinking of lights ensues.
Have a read of magazine or whatever whilst enjoying one's beverage.
Wait until you hear the units power relay click to power the unit down and only then remove the USB stick.
Then power back up (can take a little longer than normal) and marvel in the new functions!

Don't take those instructions as gospel by the way, it is just how I remember it!

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off