Panamorph DCR Paladin Owners Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 464Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 1235 Old 03-06-2019, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,153
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tward2 View Post
which means I need to cut a hole in my theater wall.
Now that's called dedication :-) - I hope Steve B is watching this post
Ash Sharma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 1235 Old 03-06-2019, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Now that's called dedication :-) - I hope Steve B is watching this post


It’s either cut a hole or go with a smaller screen. Seriously who ever goes smaller? Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mikela likes this.
Tward2 is offline  
post #843 of 1235 Old 03-06-2019, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,280
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2652 Post(s)
Liked: 2153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tward2 View Post
It’s either cut a hole or go with a smaller screen. Seriously who ever goes smaller? Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not this poor bastard...

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/857577...-paris-clinic/
thrang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 1235 Old 03-07-2019, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Shawn Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tward2 View Post
I just ordered a Paladin DCR and I need to move my projector back to get the proper throw ratio, which means I need to cut a hole in my theater wall. How far does the Paladin DCR protude from the front of a RS1000?
I would allow about 5" in front of the projector. The DCR itself is 4" deep but when tilted for fine tuning it takes up a bit more.

Shawn Kelly
Panamorph, Inc.
www.panamorph.com
[email protected]
Shawn Kelly is offline  
post #845 of 1235 Old 03-07-2019, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn Kelly View Post
I would allow about 5" in front of the projector. The DCR itself is 4" deep but when tilted for fine tuning it takes up a bit more.


Perfect. Thank you!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tward2 is offline  
post #846 of 1235 Old 03-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Shepardos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, define your "display" to be a digital projector, then in the new "screen config" settings page check the "anamorphic lens" option. Furthermore check "define visible screen area by cropping masked borders" to define which part of the projector panel is actually visible on your screen, with the anamorphic lens in the light path. If you do all this correctly, any movies should automatically be scaled to have the correct aspect ratio through the lens, and fill the full screen (as much as possible).

You will probably also want to enable automatic detection of black bars (see processing -> zoom control) so that madVR will automatically detect and handle scope movies correctly.

If you only want to have the lens in the light path for scope movies, you have to setup 2 profiles, one for scope movies (with the anamorphic lens option activated) and one for other movies (with the anamorphic lens option deactivated).

P.S: Oh, and in case you haven't seen it yet, here's something you might want to have a look at...
Hi Madshi,

Thanks for the instruction, however I'm not able to fill the whole screen with my Sony VW760. I switched from "V-Stretch" to "2.35 Zoom" and enabled "anamorphic lens" option with default 4/3 which should be the right ratio for V stretch only. However, my problem is that not the full screen (left and right) will be used. Stretching works, but still the movies don't fill the entire screen.

Attached you can see what happen. I also tried to play with the Zoom option, without success. Can you or anybody tell me, how to get the full screen with HTCP??

Thanks
S.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenCapture at Fri Mar 8 00:14:58 CET 2019.png
Views:	67
Size:	1.75 MB
ID:	2535782  
Shepardos is offline  
post #847 of 1235 Old 03-07-2019, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,870
Mentioned: 594 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2776 Post(s)
Liked: 3951
Did you enable black bar detection? Proper auto-zooming only works if madVR understands which part of the video is actual image content and which is black bars. And black bar detection currently doesn't work with native DXVA or D3D11 decoding, so you need to switch to software decoding, or DXVA/D3D11 "copyback" decoding. Furthermore, in MPC right click on the video, then choose "Video Frame" -> "Touch Window From Inside". Finally, the screen masking setup in madVR may have to be changed for the anamorphic lens. But this only has an affect in fullscreen mode, not if you're playing the video in windowed mode.
madshi is online now  
post #848 of 1235 Old 03-07-2019, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Did you enable black bar detection? Proper auto-zooming only works if madVR understands which part of the video is actual image content and which is black bars. And black bar detection currently doesn't work with native DXVA or D3D11 decoding, so you need to switch to software decoding, or DXVA/D3D11 "copyback" decoding. Furthermore, in MPC right click on the video, then choose "Video Frame" -> "Touch Window From Inside". Finally, the screen masking setup in madVR may have to be changed for the anamorphic lens. But this only has an affect in fullscreen mode, not if you're playing the video in windowed mode.
Will the Paladin lens not the dcr still add considerable brightness to an RS4500 without the use of a Lumagen Pro --- 99.9% of everything that i will watch will be 4KUHD discs from a Panasonic 9000 also have the Oppo 203
Is there any other way of using the DCR lens without the use of the Lumagen Pro?
SSnarski is offline  
post #849 of 1235 Old 03-07-2019, 09:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,807
Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5133 Post(s)
Liked: 3998
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSnarski View Post
Will the Paladin lens not the dcr still add considerable brightness to an RS4500 without the use of a Lumagen Pro --- 99.9% of everything that i will watch will be 4KUHD discs from a Panasonic 9000 also have the Oppo 203
Is there any other way of using the DCR lens without the use of the Lumagen Pro?
I have the RS4500, no Lumagen and the regular Paladin lens. Works like a champ and most certainly adds brightness but closer to 31% vs 38%.

And FWIW, ChadB is not a fan of using the Lumagen.
tigerhonaker likes this.
audioguy is offline  
post #850 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I have the RS4500, no Lumagen and the regular Paladin lens. Works like a champ and most certainly adds brightness but closer to 31% vs 38%.

And FWIW, ChadB is not a fan of using the Lumagen.
Audioguy, Thank you for the quick response, i know the standard Paladin will only use 3840 out of the 4096 hor res, but i think with the projector's zoom mode full 4096 can be used by cropping, i believe this works on the 4500, some other mention that the JVC projectors only accept 3D content in the Anamorph A and B modes, C mode is non-compatible, but i think that is on the new NX series 9, 7, 5 It appears that you strive for perfection and if you think that combination is quite good I am sure it would work for me, this will be my first projector system, along with a dedicated home theater - i have always just had an over done living room theater currently with 77" OLED so going to a large screen and projector is new territory.
SSnarski is offline  
post #851 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,153
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSnarski View Post
this will be my first projector system, along with a dedicated home theater - i have always just had an over done living room theater currently with 77" OLED so going to a large screen and projector is new territory.
If you can afford the DCR I will highly recommend - lenses have much more life than projectors and even screens - the DCR is 8K compatible - and will fetch you a very good resale value in case you decide to sell it one day.
My two cents.
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #852 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
If you can afford the DCR I will highly recommend - lenses have much more life than projectors and even screens - the DCR is 8K compatible - and will fetch you a very good resale value in case you decide to sell it one day.
My two cents.
I get the resale value of the DCR and the 8K etc. but when you want to spend a little more to get the RS4500 over the NX9/RS3000, the DCR lens requires another leap of expense in the Lumagen Pro just to make it play with the Projector properly, whereas the NX9 has the modes built in, the Older RS4500 does not have those built in modes and luxuries. It appears there is no other way to use the DCR lens with the 4500 without the Lumagen Pro or ?
SSnarski is offline  
post #853 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I just got my new DCR and will install it soon.

Just to confirm my thoughts on this:

I will be setting the Sony 995ES to Zoom 2.35 to use the full 17:9 panel (4096*2160) and then have my Lumagen switch the aspect ratios (v-stretch).

Of course I could set the Lumagen to 4096 but this obviously turns off the Sony´s motion flow.

Any recommendations? Thx!
Eventidal is offline  
post #854 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,153
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSnarski View Post
I get the resale value of the DCR and the 8K etc. but when you want to spend a little more to get the RS4500 over the NX9/RS3000, the DCR lens requires another leap of expense in the Lumagen Pro just to make it play with the Projector properly, whereas the NX9 has the modes built in, the Older RS4500 does not have those built in modes and luxuries. It appears there is no other way to use the DCR lens with the 4500 without the Lumagen Pro or ?
Sorry - I can't offer any advice on this since I have a Sony and I wanted to avoid using a Lumagen (I don't have a Lumagen) and use Sony internal processing so DCR is perfect in my situation including AR control.
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #855 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Shepardos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Did you enable black bar detection? Proper auto-zooming only works if madVR understands which part of the video is actual image content and which is black bars. And black bar detection currently doesn't work with native DXVA or D3D11 decoding, so you need to switch to software decoding, or DXVA/D3D11 "copyback" decoding. Furthermore, in MPC right click on the video, then choose "Video Frame" -> "Touch Window From Inside". Finally, the screen masking setup in madVR may have to be changed for the anamorphic lens. But this only has an affect in fullscreen mode, not if you're playing the video in windowed mode.


If I switch from D3D11 to software decoding, I guess it will impact the performance?

MPC was only an example, I would really need to know who to do auto-zooming with Kodi 17.6 without any impact of performance or picture quality.

Can you give me advice here?

Thanks
Shepardos is offline  
post #856 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
ddgdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSnarski View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
If you can afford the DCR I will highly recommend - lenses have much more life than projectors and even screens - the DCR is 8K compatible - and will fetch you a very good resale value in case you decide to sell it one day.
My two cents.
I get the resale value of the DCR and the 8K etc. but when you want to spend a little more to get the RS4500 over the NX9/RS3000, the DCR lens requires another leap of expense in the Lumagen Pro just to make it play with the Projector properly, whereas the NX9 has the modes built in, the Older RS4500 does not have those built in modes and luxuries. It appears there is no other way to use the DCR lens with the 4500 without the Lumagen Pro or ?[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]
A few notes:

1) there is a new DCR lens for sale in the classifieds for about what a regular paladin would cost

2) you don't have to have a lumagen with the DCR and 4500, if you are comfortable with PCs and would be willing to test out madVR, which can do the scaling necessary for the 4500 at a much lower cost than a lumagen (albeit this requires you to have most of your material on digital files on a hard drive)

3) if you are willing to wait a few months, madVR is coming out with a plug and play, lumagen-type solution called the madVR Envy. But this could end up costing as much as a lumagen, costs are unknown right now
ddgdl is offline  
post #857 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,870
Mentioned: 594 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2776 Post(s)
Liked: 3951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shepardos View Post
If I switch from D3D11 to software decoding, I guess it will impact the performance?
Software decoding should be easy for Blu-Rays, but with HDR UHD Blu-Rays, it's really hard. But you can try D3D11 copyback decoding instead. That should work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shepardos View Post
MPC was only an example, I would really need to know who to do auto-zooming with Kodi 17.6 without any impact of performance or picture quality.
I'm not a big Kodi expert. I'd suggest that you try to make MPC work (in fullscreen mode) first. Once that works, you can check if Kodi then might already work, too.
madshi is online now  
post #858 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
I just got my new DCR and will install it soon.

Just to confirm my thoughts on this:

I will be setting the Sony 995ES to Zoom 2.35 to use the full 17:9 panel (4096*2160) and then have my Lumagen switch the aspect ratios (v-stretch).

Of course I could set the Lumagen to 4096 but this obviously turns off the Sony´s motion flow.

Any recommendations? Thx!
No Sony plus Lumagen owners here?
Eventidal is offline  
post #859 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
ddgdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
No Sony plus Lumagen owners here?
I think Ash owns the 5000
ddgdl is offline  
post #860 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,153
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddgdl View Post
I think Ash owns the 5000
I own a 5000 with DCR but no Lumagen
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #861 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,280
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2652 Post(s)
Liked: 2153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
No Sony plus Lumagen owners here?
I have the DCR and the 5000 - I prefer 3840 out and let the 5000 scale so I can use the True Cinema or Combination MF settings.
thrang is offline  
post #862 of 1235 Old 03-08-2019, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnnyWilkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
I have the DCR and the 5000 - I prefer 3840 out and let the 5000 scale so I can use the True Cinema or Combination MF settings.
I love how high end your setup is and yet how relaxed / comfortable your HT is.
JohnnyWilkinson is offline  
post #863 of 1235 Old 03-09-2019, 03:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Shepardos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Software decoding should be easy for Blu-Rays, but with HDR UHD Blu-Rays, it's really hard. But you can try D3D11 copyback decoding instead. That should work fine.





I'm not a big Kodi expert. I'd suggest that you try to make MPC work (in fullscreen mode) first. Once that works, you can check if Kodi then might already work, too.


Excuse me if I ask maybe a basic question, but what is the difference and drawback between D3D11 copyback and nativ? I mainly watch HDR and use all upscaling enhancements....
Shepardos is offline  
post #864 of 1235 Old 03-09-2019, 03:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,870
Mentioned: 594 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2776 Post(s)
Liked: 3951
I don't really want to turn this thread into a madVR support thread, so please follow up with general (Panamorph unrelated) questions in an appropriate thread. But to answer in short: Native is faster, but doesn't work with black bar detection.
madshi is online now  
post #865 of 1235 Old 03-09-2019, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
I have the DCR and the 5000 - I prefer 3840 out and let the 5000 scale so I can use the True Cinema or Combination MF settings.
Thanks Thrang.

Are you also using the Lumagen for aspect ratio switching? Did you set the Sony to 2.35 zoom to use the entire panel´s resolution?
Eventidal is offline  
post #866 of 1235 Old 03-09-2019, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 20,226
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1676 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Sorry - I can't offer any advice on this since I have a Sony and I wanted to avoid using a Lumagen (I don't have a Lumagen) and use Sony internal processing so DCR is perfect in my situation including AR control.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Now that's called dedication :-) - I hope Steve B is watching this post
ASH! Get the Lumagen and then we'll talk! Your talk about the upcoming MadVR box is funny, since you will have the same excuse, that you are waiting for all the kinks to get out! HA!
appelz likes this.

Theater Renovation: 3 Aerial Acoustics 7ts & 6 7LCRs; 13 Triad Rotating Silver/9 Sat; 9 Seaton 21" sealed subwoofers; Trinnov Altitude 32 SSP; 3 Theta Digital Prometheus, Trinnov Amplitude 8 & 8M, and ATI AT526NC amplifiers; Sony VW5000 projector; Lumagen Radiance Pro; Panamorph DCR lens; Stewart Filmscreen Vistascope 14' wide 2.40 SnoMatte 100 screen; Kaleidescape & Pioneer UDP-LX500 4k players; Apple TV 4k; TIVO Bolt OTA.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #867 of 1235 Old 03-09-2019, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post
ASH! Get the Lumagen and then we'll talk! Your talk about the upcoming MadVR box is funny, since you will have the same excuse, that you are waiting for all the kinks to get out! HA!
Well i ordered the Panamorph DCR lens and the Lumagen Rad Pro for the JVC RS4500 i purchased today as well, hopefully he in few weeks i can figure all this out. Did not want to step in the Lumagen water but if
i purchased the Standard Paladin Lens it would have been a set back (literally) i would have had to move the Projector back a little, i am sure with the new auto tone mapping in the Lumagen it will be worth something, can't use the DCR on this projector without it time will tell, this will be my first projection system ever with a dedicated theater room.
SSnarski is offline  
post #868 of 1235 Old 03-10-2019, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
silver700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I asked this in another thread, but would anyone here, that has had experience using the DCR lens, recommend it for users who will be doing 40-50% SDR viewing? I guess what I am asking is if I have a 2.35 130"screen, but watch SDR tv viewing (tv shows, sports) about half the time, would it still be advisable to use a DCR lens? I would definitely like the additional brightness, but worry about the barrel edges when the picture goes back to 16X9 viewing since I can't mask that image like I can a movie in 2.35/2.41. I know I had asked a similar question earlier in this thread, but I don't think I worded it correctly. I just don't want to put down a big chunk of money on a DCR lens if I will be watching 16X9 material and have to see the distorted edges if they are really noticeable. I tried googling images or pictures of setups that use the DCR lens when viewing 16X9 video on a 2.35 screen to see if it was really noticeable but no luck seeing pics of what it looks like.
silver700 is offline  
post #869 of 1235 Old 03-10-2019, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver700 View Post
I asked this in another thread, but would anyone here, that has had experience using the DCR lens, recommend it for users who will be doing 40-50% SDR viewing? I guess what I am asking is if I have a 2.35 130"screen, but watch SDR tv viewing (tv shows, sports) about half the time, would it still be advisable to use a DCR lens? I would definitely like the additional brightness, but worry about the barrel edges when the picture goes back to 16X9 viewing since I can't mask that image like I can a movie in 2.35/2.41. I know I had asked a similar question earlier in this thread, but I don't think I worded it correctly. I just don't want to put down a big chunk of money on a DCR lens if I will be watching 16X9 material and have to see the distorted edges if they are really noticeable. I tried googling images or pictures of setups that use the DCR lens when viewing 16X9 video on a 2.35 screen to see if it was really noticeable but no luck seeing pics of what it looks like.


There's only additional brightness if you have a fixed anamorphic installation (DCR always in the light path). Fantastic for movies, regardless wether SDR or HDR. More brightness, more detail, more punch...

I then use a Lumagen for masking, shrinking and cropping (NLS- feature: non linear stretch) as I don't mind losing about 10% on top and on the bottom of the picture (for sports that's mostly audience ) I have one setup for NLS sports and one for NLS movies and tv shows (so the picture is not cutting actor's heads off). So I am saying that I am scaling the picture to fit a 2.40 (in your case 2.35) screen.

If you are not using a scaler you would most likely see a bit of barrel edges, but of course you could simply take the DCR out of the light path for 16:9 content as an option.
Eventidal is offline  
post #870 of 1235 Old 03-10-2019, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
silver700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
There's only additional brightness if you have a fixed anamorphic installation (DCR always in the light path). Fantastic for movies, regardless wether SDR or HDR. More brightness, more detail, more punch...

I then use a Lumagen for masking, shrinking and cropping (NLS- feature: non linear stretch) as I don't mind losing about 10% on top and on the bottom of the picture (for sports that's mostly audience ) I have one setup for NLS sports and one for NLS movies and tv shows (so the picture is not cutting actor's heads off). So I am saying that I am scaling the picture to fit a 2.40 (in your case 2.35) screen.

If you are not using a scaler you would most likely see a bit of barrel edges, but of course you could simply take the DCR out of the light path for 16:9 content as an option.

Thanks for the info. That is what I was afraid of. I was all set on a DCR lens when I get my new projector but not sure I could watch TV/Sports with distorted edges. On movies you can just stretch the image a tad to mask the barrel, but on 16X9, I'm afraid it would be too noticeable (might not be too bad, but then again with out see how it will look, it makes me hesitant). Moving the lens out of the way for 16X9 might be prohibitive. From what I've read, it's a bit of a chore to do and when it is moved back, I would have to mess the adjustments all over again.
silver700 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off