The Mcintosh MX170 A/V Processor Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 240Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 01:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2276 Post(s)
Liked: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
I still believe that the levels RoomPerfect set should be negative and not positive. Definitely not +15, +20, and +30 dB.

See this link: https://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html
Here you go Mark, what do you think?
I have restored previous EQs.

RP Sept 2019, subs set to 1/4 gain, RP sub level +24.3db (true distance for subs from MLP)
RP Jan 2020, subs set to zero gain, RP sub level -7db (added extra 3' to real measuement, Tom requested)
RP Jan 2020, subs set to 1/4 gain, RP sub level + 32.1db (added extra 3' to real measurment, Tom requested)

All the other speaker dbs are similar, the results are different for the sub levels.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RP Sept 2019.png
Views:	34
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	2669684   Click image for larger version

Name:	RP Jan 2020 sub level zero.png
Views:	20
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	2669686   Click image for larger version

Name:	RP Jan 2020 subs qaurt level.png
Views:	19
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	2669688  

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 02:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,261
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6072 Post(s)
Liked: 5651
@joerod , is having +trims normal with RoomPerfect on the MX-160? To this extent? It is not normal on the MP-50 IME. The numbers do not jive with at all with my expectations based on the speaker sensitivities.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #393 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,261
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6072 Post(s)
Liked: 5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Here you go Mark, what do you think?
I am flummoxed! My neighbour had a pair of MTM-210s. If he still has them I can test them with RoomPerfect over the weekend.

As long as things sound great, I say return to the most recent calibration and enjoy.

BTW, when did you upgrade to V1812s? Neo or IPAL drivers? Your impressions?
Marc Alexander is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #394 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 02:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2276 Post(s)
Liked: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
I am flummoxed! My neighbour had a pair of MTM-210s. If he still has them I can test them with RoomPerfect over the weekend.

As long as things sound great, I say return to the most recent calibration and enjoy.

BTW, when did you upgrade to V1812s? Neo or IPAL drivers? Your impressions?
Thanks Mark, would be keen to know if you can test the MTM-210s for me and see what the result might be. Maybe the 160 performs different in level gains to the MP50?

Ive had my four V1812s now for approx 2 years, they are wonderful subs.

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
post #395 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,261
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6072 Post(s)
Liked: 5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Thanks Mark, would be keen to know if you can test the MTM-210s for me and see what the result might be. Maybe the 160 performs different in level gains to the MP50?



Ive had my four V1812s now for approx 2 years, they are wonderful subs.
Murray, you must either have the older V1800s or V1801s then. The V1811s have the PSA amp (with XLR) but same driver as the V1801. The V1812 has newer drivers available. I assumed you had upgraded your drivers. Perhaps the amp must be swapped with the driver update, I'm not sure. @basshead81 ? @Hopinater ? @Tom V ? I'm out of the loop on upgrades for existing cabs.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #396 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,858
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Mx160/170 v3.6.6

Yes l, this was fast! Long weekend...

You know the drill:

3.6.6 Release Notes:
- Fixed missing Center channel on PCM multi-channel soundtracks.
- Fixed possible crash at system boot-up.
- RoomPerfect Focus position names are now correctly stored.
- Web page and front Info display would indicate 9.1.4 when decoding 9.1.6.

Send me a PM with your email and I will shoot it to you.

If I have sent you then before then just send me an email and I will reply with it.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1A2F388B-247D-4EB0-A09C-E1CA53A6518D.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	2669832  
noah katz likes this.

I have an amazing 995ES for sale. Send me a PM. :)
joerod is offline  
post #397 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,858
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
I did send it to a decent amount of people already. I apologize if you didn’t get it but again just send a PM with your email address and I will fire it to you. Oh and exactly how your email is so I can just tap on it and copy and paste.

svpdog likes this.

I have an amazing 995ES for sale. Send me a PM. :)
joerod is offline  
post #398 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,656
Mentioned: 206 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 10265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Murray, you must either have the older V1800s or V1801s then. The V1811s have the PSA amp (with XLR) but same driver as the V1801. The V1812 has newer drivers available. I assumed you had upgraded your drivers. Perhaps the amp must be swapped with the driver update, I'm not sure. @basshead81 ? @Hopinater ? @Tom V ? I'm out of the loop on upgrades for existing cabs.
V1812 has only been out for a couple months...he must mean the V1801's.
basshead81 is offline  
post #399 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,858
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
“joerod, is having +trims normal with RoomPerfect on the MX-160? To this extent? It is not normal on the MP-50 IME. The numbers do “not jive with at all with my expectations based on the speaker sensitivities.”

Yes, the “+ Trims” is normal now. It’s the new way that Lyngdorf is trying to display the relative differences.

They tried to explain it in their Release Notes, even though it doesn’t specifically say “+” or “-“.
They were just trying to reassure people that the change they see is OK.

https://lyngdorf.com/downloads/lyngd...p-60-software/

MP50/60: Note regarding RoomPerfect gains in installer menu – “Channel gain” page:
/The RoomPerfect levels you see on the gains page, have been normalized in recent Software. That means the channel that plays the loudest is displayed as 0dB.
//So the absolute number is not important, what you can see from them, is the difference between the channels. And if LFE is 0dB, that means it's the one we've measured to be the highest. If he looks at the differences between the channels, they should be the same as with old SW.

I have an amazing 995ES for sale. Send me a PM. :)
joerod is offline  
post #400 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2276 Post(s)
Liked: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
“joerod, is having +trims normal with RoomPerfect on the MX-160? To this extent? It is not normal on the MP-50 IME. The numbers do “not jive with at all with my expectations based on the speaker sensitivities.”

Yes, the “+ Trims” is normal now. It’s the new way that Lyngdorf is trying to display the relative differences.

They tried to explain it in their Release Notes, even though it doesn’t specifically say “+” or “-“.
They were just trying to reassure people that the change they see is OK.

https://lyngdorf.com/downloads/lyngd...p-60-software/

MP50/60: Note regarding RoomPerfect gains in installer menu – “Channel gain” page:
/The RoomPerfect levels you see on the gains page, have been normalized in recent Software. That means the channel that plays the loudest is displayed as 0dB.
//So the absolute number is not important, what you can see from them, is the difference between the channels. And if LFE is 0dB, that means it's the one we've measured to be the highest. If he looks at the differences between the channels, they should be the same as with old SW.
So this now means all my + measurements are ok Mark?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RP Jan 2020 subs qaurt level.png
Views:	26
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	2669936  
joerod likes this.

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
post #401 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
Yes l, this was fast! Long weekend...

You know the drill:

3.6.6 Release Notes:
- Fixed missing Center channel on PCM multi-channel soundtracks.
- Fixed possible crash at system boot-up.
- RoomPerfect Focus position names are now correctly stored.
- Web page and front Info display would indicate 9.1.4 when decoding 9.1.6.

Send me a PM with your email and I will shoot it to you.

If I have sent you then before then just send me an email and I will reply with it.

Thanks for the email joe. My MX170 is still not passing video when my Sony projector (695ES) is set to enhanced (18 Gb). Yes I’ve unplugged/reset the projector after changing this setting. Still nothing, only works on standard (barely). When it’s set to standard a lot of the time the projector go back and forth from signal/no signal and I have to unplug hdmi (going to the projector) from the mx170 them plug back in. My dealer and I have tried EVERYTHING. Factory resets, testing all cables, sources, different firmwares (expect this last one). Do you think 3.6.6 would help? It won’t even pass Dolby Atmos audio, only legacy Dolby digital and 2 channel audio. Any ideas?
Breen Lyden is offline  
post #402 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,858
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breen Lyden View Post
Thanks for the email joe. My MX170 is still not passing video when my Sony projector (695ES) is set to enhanced (18 Gb). Yes I’ve unplugged/reset the projector after changing this setting. Still nothing, only works on standard (barely). When it’s set to standard a lot of the time the projector go back and forth from signal/no signal and I have to unplug hdmi (going to the projector) from the mx170 them plug back in. My dealer and I have tried EVERYTHING. Factory resets, testing all cables, sources, different firmwares (expect this last one). Do you think 3.6.6 would help? It won’t even pass Dolby Atmos audio, only legacy Dolby digital and 2 channel audio. Any ideas?
I have a message into “support” for you. First question though is which hdmi cable are you using? Second, in the menu (set up) for the 170 do you have HDR enabled? Make sure your hdmi out matches your main out in the set up GUI. Let’s see if getting an image solves Atmos.

I have an amazing 995ES for sale. Send me a PM. :)
joerod is offline  
post #403 of 456 Old 01-14-2020, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I have a message into “support” for you. First question though is which hdmi cable are you using? Second, in the menu (set up) for the 170 do you have HDR enabled? Make sure your hdmi out matches your main out in the set up GUI. Let’s see if getting an image solves Atmos.
I’m using an Audioquest Cherry Cola active 18gb 10m hdmi. Hdmi out matches main out and yes hdr is enabled.
Breen Lyden is offline  
post #404 of 456 Old 01-15-2020, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,858
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breen Lyden View Post
I’m using an Audioquest Cherry Cola active 18gb 10m hdmi. Hdmi out matches main out and yes hdr is enabled.
I am using an Audioquest 10M Cinnamon cable. You may want to consider just for fun trying a different hdmi cable. Maybe just run it direct from the 170 to your projector. I’m not saying for sure it’s not the 170 acting up but at least we could rule it out one way or another. Maybe your dealer has one you can try (different model) or you can get one from somewhere with easy returns just in case.

I have an amazing 995ES for sale. Send me a PM. :)
joerod is offline  
post #405 of 456 Old 01-15-2020, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,261
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6072 Post(s)
Liked: 5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breen Lyden View Post
I’m using an Audioquest Cherry Cola active 18gb 10m hdmi. Hdmi out matches main out and yes hdr is enabled.
Double check the arrows on the active cable. It will only work one way.
markrubin, joerod and cn256 like this.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #406 of 456 Old 01-16-2020, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
hartmann-nbg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
Yes l, this was fast! Long weekend...

You know the drill:

3.6.6 Release Notes:
- Fixed missing Center channel on PCM multi-channel soundtracks.
- Fixed possible crash at system boot-up.
- RoomPerfect Focus position names are now correctly stored.
- Web page and front Info display would indicate 9.1.4 when decoding 9.1.6.

Send me a PM with your email and I will shoot it to you.

If I have sent you then before then just send me an email and I will reply with it.

can you send me the 3.6.6 too (info(at)nepomuks-kinderwelt.de)

regards Peter
hartmann-nbg is offline  
post #407 of 456 Old 01-16-2020, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by hartmann-nbg View Post
can you send me the 3.6.6 too (info(at)nepomuks-kinderwelt.de)

regards Peter
So, just today got my MX 170 installed. Ran RP, at the end RP said 98 percent. When I looked at the room dimensions they are all zero.
WHy might that be?

Next, when I tune in Netflix, choose a 4k UHD movie, it comes out at 1080p from my ROKU. I have ROKU set for Auto Detect, then tried forcing it to HD UHD 30 hz then 60 hz, MX 170 reports at the UHD 60 hz video is unknown.

Ooperator error? Watcha think?
Peter
Peter27284 is offline  
post #408 of 456 Old 01-16-2020, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,749
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter27284 View Post
So, just today got my MX 170 installed. Ran RP, at the end RP said 98 percent. When I looked at the room dimensions they are all zero.
WHy might that be?

Next, when I tune in Netflix, choose a 4k UHD movie, it comes out at 1080p from my ROKU. I have ROKU set for Auto Detect, then tried forcing it to HD UHD 30 hz then 60 hz, MX 170 reports at the UHD 60 hz video is unknown.

Ooperator error? Watcha think?
Peter
What are room dimensions? If you mean the speaker distance, they have to be entered manually. RP does not do this. SJ
SJHT is online now  
post #409 of 456 Old 01-19-2020, 09:53 AM
Member
 
JrFlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Weems Virginia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Good Morning;

Anyone have any idea why my USB ports are not seeing my thumb drives, either one of the two. I have tried numerous drives and still no luck. All my computers see the thumb drives and the software update. The MX170 is silent on these USB ports!

Am I missing a setting?

J
JrFlight is offline  
post #410 of 456 Old 01-19-2020, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Does the MX170 control illumination of McIntosh gear with the stereo mini cable? The MX123 shows the illumination control pinout in the manual but I am not finding a way to turn amp illumination off like some pre-amps.
RaceCarDriver is offline  
post #411 of 456 Old 01-19-2020, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1485 Post(s)
Liked: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by JrFlight View Post
Good Morning;

Anyone have any idea why my USB ports are not seeing my thumb drives, either one of the two. I have tried numerous drives and still no luck. All my computers see the thumb drives and the software update. The MX170 is silent on these USB ports!

Am I missing a setting?

J

what did you format the drives as?

Selling in AVS Classifieds
FS: D-Sonic Three Channel Amp
madhuski is online now  
post #412 of 456 Old 01-19-2020, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
JFR0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceCarDriver View Post
Does the MX170 control illumination of McIntosh gear with the stereo mini cable? The MX123 shows the illumination control pinout in the manual but I am not finding a way to turn amp illumination off like some pre-amps.
Yes. See Page 10 of the MX170 manual for the pin-out and Page 12 for instructions on how to turn the connected amp light on or off.

John
JFR0317 is online now  
post #413 of 456 Old 01-19-2020, 02:33 PM
Member
 
JrFlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Weems Virginia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
what did you format the drives as?
Tried FAT32? and NTFS . Both never saw the flash drive.
JrFlight is offline  
post #414 of 456 Old 01-19-2020, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2276 Post(s)
Liked: 784
Can someone please help me. I played the movie Labour Day last night and my bass from the subs was horrible in some parts, Ive never heard this before. I dont know if they call this ringing or what, but I'll try to describe it...
At the start of the film there is some very longs slow bass notes playing continuously. They seem to get louder and boomer and longer, its almost like the not doesn’t finish, its horrible to hear….. It goes on and on….
Is this called ringing?
I want to stop this, can someone help me please?

I have three fronts PSA MTM-210s and four PSA V1081s up front.

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
post #415 of 456 Old 01-20-2020, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I am using an Audioquest 10M Cinnamon cable. You may want to consider just for fun trying a different hdmi cable. Maybe just run it direct from the 170 to your projector. I’m not saying for sure it’s not the 170 acting up but at least we could rule it out one way or another. Maybe your dealer has one you can try (different model) or you can get one from somewhere with easy returns just in case.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Double check the arrows on the active cable. It will only work one way.
I tried a Monoprice Luxe Series Active High Speed HDMI Cable - [email protected] 18Gbps HDR 28AWG YCbCr 4:4:4 CL3 30ft no picture at all when the Sony projector is on enhanced mode. When I unplug the Sony 695es after changing it to standard HDMI format still no picture for new and old cable. I have to restore the MX170 to get any kind of picture. Also, double checked that the cable is running in the right direction. It seems like the MX170 isn’t playing nice with Sony’s enhanced HDMI AT ALL. I think I’m still getting the best picture with 4K 10bit HDR 30hz with 4:2:0. The Sony says its passing this on standard HDMI format. That’s the highest specs for most 4k movies right? I think the only problem I have is HDR video games with 60hz which requires a higher bandwidth.
Breen Lyden is offline  
post #416 of 456 Old 01-21-2020, 02:57 PM
Member
 
cn256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breen Lyden View Post
I tried a Monoprice Luxe Series Active High Speed HDMI Cable - [email protected] 18Gbps HDR 28AWG YCbCr 4:4:4 CL3 30ft no picture at all when the Sony projector is on enhanced mode. When I unplug the Sony 695es after changing it to standard HDMI format still no picture for new and old cable. I have to restore the MX170 to get any kind of picture. Also, double checked that the cable is running in the right direction. It seems like the MX170 isn’t playing nice with Sony’s enhanced HDMI AT ALL. I think I’m still getting the best picture with 4K 10bit HDR 30hz with 4:2:0. The Sony says its passing this on standard HDMI format. That’s the highest specs for most 4k movies right? I think the only problem I have is HDR video games with 60hz which requires a higher bandwidth.
Hi Breen, I was wondering, why in both cases of cables are you trying active cables? I mean the "active" means that they will modify the original signal, versus passive that would transmit the signal unaltered. I'm not saying that HDMI is the culprit, but I think it is uncommon to use an active cable, and it might help to at least try a passive cable?

Do you have a description of what Sony enhanced HDMI does differently?

--Chris
cn256 is offline  
post #417 of 456 Old 01-21-2020, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,261
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6072 Post(s)
Liked: 5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breen Lyden View Post
I tried a Monoprice Luxe Series Active High Speed HDMI Cable - [email protected] 18Gbps HDR 28AWG YCbCr 4:4:4 CL3 30ft no picture at all when the Sony projector is on enhanced mode. When I unplug the Sony 695es after changing it to standard HDMI format still no picture for new and old cable. I have to restore the MX170 to get any kind of picture. Also, double checked that the cable is running in the right direction. It seems like the MX170 isn’t playing nice with Sony’s enhanced HDMI AT ALL. I think I’m still getting the best picture with 4K 10bit HDR 30hz with 4:2:0. The Sony says its passing this on standard HDMI format. That’s the highest specs for most 4k movies right? I think the only problem I have is HDR video games with 60hz which requires a higher bandwidth.
Breen, I had the same problem with the Monoprice Luxe. I was told it is a known problem with the Luxe chipset which they have removed from the market (or should have).

I replaced the cable with a Monoprice DynamicView Active High Speed HDMI Cable 4K HDR 18Gbps 24AWG CL2 which displays 4k 4:4:4 8-bit and 4:2:2 10-bit properly.

It appears that the Audioquest Coca Cola is a hybrid/optical solution. It could be that the McIntosh doesn't supply enough power to the Coca Cola (these often have an external power supply for this circumstance). I suggest purchasing a DynamicView to try.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cn256 View Post
Hi Breen, I was wondering, why in both cases of cables are you trying active cables? I mean the "active" means that they will modify the original signal, versus passive that would transmit the signal unaltered. I'm not saying that HDMI is the culprit, but I think it is uncommon to use an active cable, and it might help to at least try a passive cable?

Do you have a description of what Sony enhanced HDMI does differently?

--Chris
No, active means that the signal is amplified (or transcoded in the case of optical) for longer runs. This is common for anyone utilizing a projector. A good passive cable can transmit 18Gbps for 5m but not 10m.

Sony STD is ≤10.2Gbps which can support up to 12-bit HDR only up to 30FPS. 60FPS (gaming, live sports, Youtube, etc.) requires Enhanced, which is anything >10.2Gbps.
cn256 likes this.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #418 of 456 Old 01-21-2020, 04:19 PM
Member
 
cn256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
No, active means that the signal is amplified (or transcoded in the case of optical) for longer runs. This is common for anyone utilizing a projector. A good passive cable can transmit 18Gbps for 5m but not 10m.
Sorry, my bad. I didn't realize you can't passively connect at that distance. Active though is doing modification though could be implemented differently by different manufacturers, within the limits of the specification.
cn256 is offline  
post #419 of 456 Old 01-21-2020, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,261
Mentioned: 282 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6072 Post(s)
Liked: 5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn256 View Post
Sorry, my bad. I didn't realize you can't passively connect at that distance. Active though is doing modification though could be implemented differently by different manufacturers, within the limits of the specification.
Even though it is "active" it is transparent to the projector. If Breen wants to send me the Coca Cola I'll be glad to test it with my Murideo Six-G/Six-A.

https://www.murideo.com/

If I recall, the Luxe could do 4k60 4:2:0 10-bit (~11Gbps) but nothing higher. The DynamicView passes all formats under 18Gbps without issue.

Monoprice DynamicView Active High Speed HDMI Cable 4K HDR 18Gbps 24AWG CL2 60ft Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079YYQNKR/

Last edited by Marc Alexander; 01-21-2020 at 04:29 PM.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #420 of 456 Old 01-21-2020, 08:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,326
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2310 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn256 View Post
Active though is doing modification though could be implemented differently by different manufacturers, within the limits of the specification.

Not really; it's the same digital bits in the end.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off