Sony 5000ES, Datasat RS20i and Nvidia Shield Problem - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-28-2019, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Lafayette, (Bay Area) CA USA
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Sony 5000ES, Datasat RS20i and Nvidia Shield Problem

After the last major Sony firmware update (I believe), The Datasat only receives 2.0 PCM from Nvidia Shield. A restart of the Shield always fixes it. A power cycle of the Datasat also fixes it. With the Sony OFF the entire time, no problem at all. PCM 5.1 consistently.
Does anyone have same set up with all latest firmwares?
Any ideas? It is driving me nuts having to restart every time. Thanks

Silence is overrated!
adidadi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-28-2019, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 24,329
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1338 Post(s)
Liked: 1812
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidadi View Post
After the last major Sony firmware update (I believe), The Datasat only receives 2.0 PCM from Nvidia Shield. A restart of the Shield always fixes it. A power cycle of the Datasat also fixes it. With the Sony OFF the entire time, no problem at all. PCM 5.1 consistently.
Does anyone have same set up with all latest firmwares?
Any ideas? It is driving me nuts having to restart every time. Thanks
No, but have you tried a different startup-sequence, perhaps with the Sony up fully first? Just a thought.

Art
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-28-2019, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Lafayette, (Bay Area) CA USA
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Sonneborn View Post
No, but have you tried a different startup-sequence, perhaps with the Sony up fully first? Just a thought.

Art
Very good suggestion. Exactly what I was going to try. Have Nvidia turn on last. I just fear that even a simple turn on doesn't clear the edid issue. When problem occurs, just turning Shield off and then on does NOT fix problem. I'll try your suggestion and report back. thanks again

Silence is overrated!
adidadi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 01-02-2020, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Lafayette, (Bay Area) CA USA
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Sonneborn View Post
No, but have you tried a different startup-sequence, perhaps with the Sony up fully first? Just a thought.

Art
So I reprogrammed the Nvidia to turn off every time I power entire system down. I also set it to turn on very last in that viewing macro sequence. Sony 5000 ES on first, Datasat immediately after. (Datasat takes forever to switch on and change input: 33 seconds. They really need to sort that out.) then finally Nvidia turns on. I have been seeing it start on PCM 2.0, but most times, when I click arrow up on Nvidia Shield home screen, the click sound switches the Datasat to 5.1 PCM.
If it doesn't, I've been turning Nvidia Shield off, switching Datasat to an alternate ACTIVE input, then back to Nvidia source and turn Shield back on. then do the arrow up and it usually works.

I have no idea what on earth caused this. Only explanation was Sony firmware update. That's when problem started. If I keep Sony 5000ES off, problem doesn't seem to manifest.

Any thoughts?

Silence is overrated!
adidadi is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-09-2020, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adidadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Lafayette, (Bay Area) CA USA
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 53
seems as though turning shield off every time and making sure it is LAST to switch on in power up sequence resolves issues so far. Just an FYI....

Silence is overrated!
adidadi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off