JBL 'M2' Master Reference Monitor - Page 53 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2395Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AudioJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Yeah... I restarted the whole AA by closing out and got a bit closer this time. Switched the speakers with LF on ch 1&3 and got a LP signal to woofer and they light up blue, but still no dice on HF sound.

JoshK on most other audio forums
Quantity only when quality is ensured.
AudioJosh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2008 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioJosh View Post
Yeah... I restarted the whole AA by closing out and got a bit closer this time. Switched the speakers with LF on ch 1&3 and got a LP signal to woofer and they light up blue, but still no dice on HF sound.
Josh, I'm going to create a new setup in my SDA8300 as if my 708s are M2s. I just sent you an e-mail.

John Schuermann
The Screening Room Home Theater Sales and Design
JS Music and Sound Film Scoring and Sound Design
John Schuermann is offline  
post #1563 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2008 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Question - is your network cable attacded to your 8300?

John Schuermann
The Screening Room Home Theater Sales and Design
JS Music and Sound Film Scoring and Sound Design
John Schuermann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1564 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Ted C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I agree with the "starting from scratch". AA can be a bit flakey with these tunings. Also make sure you have the "Y" input config set properly. Its a little confusing...
Ted C is offline  
post #1565 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AudioJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 285
I got it to finally work while talking with John on the phone. I am not even 100% what part of it finally made it work, but I got the channels to light up by loading and then adding in the speaker and range fields. Then I had to reverse the HF/LF channels again because they swamped somehow and then we were cooking with gas. I don't think I did anything wrong originally, I think it just wasn't saving the settings to the amp for whatever reason. From scratch made it seem the crown amp successfully.

Will be a while before I comment on sound, but they sound pretty good now. I am in a new room with lots of new gear. The acoustics of this room need some work.
Gooddoc likes this.

JoshK on most other audio forums
Quantity only when quality is ensured.
AudioJosh is offline  
post #1566 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioJosh View Post
I got it to finally work while talking with John on the phone. I am not even 100% what part of it finally made it work, but I got the channels to light up by loading and then adding in the speaker and range fields. Then I had to reverse the HF/LF channels again because they swamped somehow and then we were cooking with gas. I don't think I did anything wrong originally, I think it just wasn't saving the settings to the amp for whatever reason. From scratch made it seem the crown amp successfully.

Will be a while before I comment on sound, but they sound pretty good now. I am in a new room with lots of new gear. The acoustics of this room need some work.
Nice! A bit weird and screwy. At Least it's working now.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1567 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioJosh View Post
I got the channels to light up by loading and then adding in the speaker and range fields.
Curious, what did you put in those fields? Was it supposed to populate those fields and didn't? It didn't put anything in there for me either.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1568 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AudioJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Curious, what did you put in those fields? Was it supposed to populate those fields and didn't? It didn't put anything in there for me either.
Well I don't know if it did much, but loaded the tuning files and then manually wrote in speaker "M2" band "HF" and such, usually having to go back in and edit it again. But then all of them were blue, not sure if simply coincidence but I tried everything 12 times over.

JoshK on most other audio forums
Quantity only when quality is ensured.
AudioJosh is offline  
post #1569 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioJosh View Post
Well I don't know if it did much, but loaded the tuning files and then manually wrote in speaker "M2" band "HF" and such, usually having to go back in and edit it again. But then all of them were blue, not sure if simply coincidence but I tried everything 12 times over.
Apparently those fields have to be filled. I went back in to Architect and when those fields are filled it turns blue. Without a speaker name it won't load.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1570 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Not sure if you guys read this or not yet but if not, enjoy


http://www.realhd-audio.com/?p=2861
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1571 of 4920 Old 11-27-2016, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
Not sure if you guys read this or not yet but if not, enjoy


http://www.realhd-audio.com/?p=2861
Mark Waldrep is a huge fan of the M2's and considers them the best speakers he's ever heard, regardless of price, even as of today. But that's just one mans opinion. One I agree with BTW, but that only makes 2 opinions between both of us .
SciFiJunkie and Blackdevil77 like this.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1572 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 04:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Mark Waldrep is a huge fan of the M2's and considers them the best speakers he's ever heard, regardless of price, even as of today. But that's just one mans opinion. One I agree with BTW, but that only makes 2 opinions between both of us .
I have a feeling these are gonna end up being my all time dream speakers once I hear them. I'm gonna make the appointment either today or tomorrow to audition them
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1573 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 04:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
JonasHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
Not sure if you guys read this or not yet but if not, enjoy


http://www.realhd-audio.com/?p=2861
Thanks! Now I'm looking even more forward to receiving my M2s - hopefully next week. With all the praise going on, I'm afraid that I will get dissapointed...

Home Theater: JBL M2 & SUB18 powered by Crown and BSS.
JonasHansen is offline  
post #1574 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 04:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasHansen View Post
Thanks! Now I'm looking even more forward to receiving my M2s - hopefully next week. With all the praise going on, I'm afraid that I will get dissapointed...
I'm excited for you. Have you auditioned them? I can't give my personal opinion on them yet since I haven't heard them, but my expectations are high as well. Be sure to post your thoughts in here once you get them up and running. I'll do the same after I listen to them.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1575 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Mark Waldrep is a huge fan of the M2's and considers them the best speakers he's ever heard, regardless of price, even as of today. But that's just one mans opinion. One I agree with BTW, but that only makes 2 opinions between both of us .
There may be a third once I hear them!
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1576 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasHansen View Post
Thanks! Now I'm looking even more forward to receiving my M2s - hopefully next week. With all the praise going on, I'm afraid that I will get dissapointed...
Actually, compared to other owner threads I think there is very little praise for these speakers. That should dampen your enthusiasm a little bit.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1577 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AudioJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Apparently those fields have to be filled. I went back in to Architect and when those fields are filled it turns blue. Without a speaker name it won't load.
Yeah, that was my conclusion as well and their documentation on setup should be updated to reflect that IMO. Way too much frustration for such a trivial solution.

JoshK on most other audio forums
Quantity only when quality is ensured.
AudioJosh is offline  
post #1578 of 4920 Old 11-28-2016, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioJosh View Post
Yeah, that was my conclusion as well and their documentation on setup should be updated to reflect that IMO. Way too much frustration for such a trivial solution.
Yeah, document it or code into AA as an error when loading the tunings so it's clear that those fields need values.

Oh well, at least you have them up and running. Any longer and the woofer surrounds would have dry rotted .
AudioJosh likes this.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1579 of 4920 Old 11-29-2016, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2008 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Agreed - weird behavior from Audio Architect. There is no real feedback from within the program that you are doing things properly, unlike when you load the proper tunings for the 708s (which populates the necessary fields nicely).
Gooddoc likes this.

John Schuermann
The Screening Room Home Theater Sales and Design
JS Music and Sound Film Scoring and Sound Design
John Schuermann is offline  
post #1580 of 4920 Old 11-29-2016, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Take these comments for what they are, which is a casual back and forth between a Sonos Connect digital straight to the I-Tech 5000HD's, and digital to my Anthem prepro and then analog to the ITechs.

Initially I really couldn't tell the difference between the two. Although I still can't put my finger on what the difference actually is, I find that straight digital to the amps is more "engaging", you know, in that emotional way that just grabs your attention.

No chance yet to round someone up to do a blind A/B, and I'm not in any rush to do that to be honest . Just found this "difference" that I can't quite define yet interesting. Can't rule out expectation bias, but it does seems to be a real difference.
thxman likes this.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1581 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 12:16 PM
Member
 
SciFiJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
There may be a third once I hear them!
You will have to settle for the fourth!
Blackdevil77 likes this.

SciFiJunkie

Last edited by SciFiJunkie; 11-30-2016 at 03:01 PM.
SciFiJunkie is offline  
post #1582 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Take these comments for what they are, which is a casual back and forth between a Sonos Connect digital straight to the I-Tech 5000HD's, and digital to my Anthem prepro and then analog to the ITechs.

Initially I really couldn't tell the difference between the two. Although I still can't put my finger on what the difference actually is, I find that straight digital to the amps is more "engaging", you know, in that emotional way that just grabs your attention.

No chance yet to round someone up to do a blind A/B, and I'm not in any rush to do that to be honest . Just found this "difference" that I can't quite define yet interesting. Can't rule out expectation bias, but it does seems to be a real difference.
That is interesting. Have you tried A/B-ing between different processors also? The difference probably has something to do with either the DAC in the Anthem or the additional DSP.

I'd love to hear the M2's combined with a McIntosh MX160 and it's "Room Perfect" room eq.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1583 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2008 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
That is interesting. Have you tried A/B-ing between different processors also? The difference probably has something to do with either the DAC in the Anthem or the additional DSP.

I'd love to hear the M2's combined with a McIntosh MX160 and it's "Room Perfect" room eq.
Do you know if the "Room Perfect" EQ allows you to specify the cutoff frequency above which room correction is applied? The guys at Harman are pretty adamant that auto room correction above Schroeder should be avoided, especially on speakers as accurate as the M2s. The nice thing about the Anthem is that you can tell it to leave everything above your specified cutoff frequency alone. I have my Anthem set at 500 hz. If the McIntosh allows for the same flexibility it might be another good alternative

John Schuermann
The Screening Room Home Theater Sales and Design
JS Music and Sound Film Scoring and Sound Design
John Schuermann is offline  
post #1584 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Schuermann View Post
Do you know if the "Room Perfect" EQ allows you to specify the cutoff frequency above which room correction is applied? The guys at Harman are pretty adamant that auto room correction above Schroeder should be avoided, especially on speakers as accurate as the M2s. The nice thing about the Anthem is that you can tell it to leave everything above your specified cutoff frequency alone. I have my Anthem set at 500 hz. If the McIntosh allows for the same flexibility it might be another good alternative
I'm actually not sure, that's a good question. I'm gonna ask in the MX160 official thread.

The Shroeder frequency is relative to room size, right? I think for my room dimensions, it's under 500hz.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1585 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2008 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Yes, relative to room size. For most people it's well under 500 hz.

John Schuermann
The Screening Room Home Theater Sales and Design
JS Music and Sound Film Scoring and Sound Design
John Schuermann is offline  
post #1586 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
I think it's around 300hz for me.

I posted the question here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/86-ult...thread-47.html

Thread is in an unusual spot, I would of expected it to be in the Receiver/pre pro section. I had to find it through google.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1587 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
I'd love to hear the M2's combined with a McIntosh MX160 and it's "Room Perfect" room eq.
Well, @thrang would be the perfect person to ask such a question .
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1588 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Well, @thrang would be the perfect person to ask such a question .
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1589 of 4920 Old 11-30-2016, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3774 Post(s)
Liked: 3382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
That is interesting. Have you tried A/B-ing between different processors also? The difference probably has something to do with either the DAC in the Anthem or the additional DSP.

I'd love to hear the M2's combined with a McIntosh MX160 and it's "Room Perfect" room eq.
Not A/B no, but over a several week period I had three different processors in the room. Marantz 7702, Onkyo 875, and the Anthem AVM 60. Between the 7702 or the AVM 60 I can't say one is better than the other, aside from the RC. I prefer ARC to Audyssey, at least in it's current state. Both were clearly better than the Onkyo 875.
John Schuermann likes this.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1590 of 4920 Old 12-01-2016, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nassau County, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Schuermann View Post
Do you know if the "Room Perfect" EQ allows you to specify the cutoff frequency above which room correction is applied? The guys at Harman are pretty adamant that auto room correction above Schroeder should be avoided, especially on speakers as accurate as the M2s. The nice thing about the Anthem is that you can tell it to leave everything above your specified cutoff frequency alone. I have my Anthem set at 500 hz. If the McIntosh allows for the same flexibility it might be another good alternative
Here's your answer directly from the MX160 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
You cannot set an upper limit

Nonetheless, Room Perfect is the best I've experienced. For all we know it may internally evaluate and ignore higher frequencies based on response.
John Schuermann likes this.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off