Need Help with Low Budget 2.1 Speaker System - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 03-07-2014, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am by no means an audio expert and also don't have lots of disposable cash for toys (single

income/ 2 kids / house payment / live in SoCal, etc.).  I do like good sounding music though.  

At home I have a projector and play movies through my computer and listen to music either

through my laptop or an MP3.  For a while I was using Logitech Z-2300 computer speakers which I

thought were awesome for music but not so great for watching movies - hard to hear the dialog -

almost always sounded like there was too much base and I could not turn it down enough.  I have

about $200 to spend and would like a system that is loud and basey enough to fill my house when

cranking the tunes (like the z-2300 could do) but can be toned down for movie watching - where

the dialog clarity would come through.  I have two young kids and usually watch movies after

they go to bed - so clarity is important above all - not too worried about base and loudness at

that point.  I also don't want or have room for a receiver / amplifier unit - that's why I liked

the computer speaker option originally...

So I was thinking of this option:

Using a 12" powered sub from Monoprice or Parts-Express (Dayton)

And the little Lepai LP 2020A amp (that I can easily stash away out of sight) and some bookshelf type speakers for around $80/pair - I see a lot on Amazon in this price range with good ratings

Then hook up the above mess somehow to my 1/8 jack on my laptop or MP3?  Is this crazy?

Couple of other questions.  I noticed the powered subs have speaker inputs and ouputs - a bypass

system.  Do I still need to go through the sub with the speaker wires if using the little Lepai