JBL 705i/708i (7 Series Master Reference Monitors) & 725G/728G (subwoofers): Jan 2015 - Page 103 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1133Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 3073 Old 10-24-2019, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 1288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoochers View Post
The manual states "A DCi 8|300 power amplifier supplies power for up to eight speakers", which made me think 4 channels would be enough for 4 speakers. What am I missing?

Sorry, you are correct. Just looked at the manual again, it's been a while since I dealt with the 708i. I was thinking of bi-wire operation, two amp channels per speaker. You can do single wire operation.

Last edited by Rex Anderson; 10-24-2019 at 11:18 AM.
Rex Anderson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 3073 Old 10-24-2019, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Anderson View Post
Sorry, you are correct. Just looked at the manual again, it's been a while since I dealt with the 708i. I was thinking of bi-wire operation, two amp channels per speaker. You can do single wire operation.
Thank god, those bigger amps are pricey lol. Thank you!
Snoochers is offline  
post #3063 of 3073 Old 10-24-2019, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Balbolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12B4A View Post
There is a single wire tuning file for 7i's.
Yup, that is what i am doing.

Processor Marantz AV8805 Amps Crown DCI/N x2 CT8150 x1 Speakers JBL PRO M2 x3 708i x4 328c x6 Subs SVS SB16 x2 Screen SI 160 Slate AT 1.2 Projector Epson TW5600 Media Steiger Dynamics Ikon Cables&Chords Wireworld & Belden
Balbolito is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3064 of 3073 Old 10-24-2019, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balbolito View Post
Yup, that is what i am doing.
Wow I just looked at your signature, you've got some sweet gear! My goodness. Do you have a theater thread or something to look at? I'd be curious to see the actual space.
Snoochers is offline  
post #3065 of 3073 Old 10-24-2019, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Balbolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoochers View Post
Wow I just looked at your signature, you've got some sweet gear! My goodness. Do you have a theater thread or something to look at? I'd be curious to see the actual space.
Thanks! not really, i posted a few pics on the M2 thread, and some on this thread a few weeks back.

Processor Marantz AV8805 Amps Crown DCI/N x2 CT8150 x1 Speakers JBL PRO M2 x3 708i x4 328c x6 Subs SVS SB16 x2 Screen SI 160 Slate AT 1.2 Projector Epson TW5600 Media Steiger Dynamics Ikon Cables&Chords Wireworld & Belden
Balbolito is online now  
post #3066 of 3073 Old 10-29-2019, 04:12 PM
Member
 
CptSpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Anderson View Post
Sorry, you are correct. Just looked at the manual again, it's been a while since I dealt with the 708i. I was thinking of bi-wire operation, two amp channels per speaker. You can do single wire operation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoochers View Post
Thank god, those bigger amps are pricey lol. Thank you!
Don't forget guys it needs to be a 4/300N, 8/300N network amp or SDA-4600, SDA-8300 to load the DSP files. Or you can use a SDEC-3500 or BSS-BLU 160

Last edited by CptSpig; 10-29-2019 at 04:17 PM.
CptSpig is offline  
post #3067 of 3073 Old 11-02-2019, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I am using profiles posted here and when I am looking at HF response I get some treble roll-off. I wonder if my mic/speakers/amp are faulty (or I am doing measurements or filters wrong) or there is still something missing from the filters (it shouldn't? There are no places to hide for them it seems). Maybe I wasn't measuring far enough from waveguide to be in a farfield. It is winter already and getting them out of apartment is impossible unfortunately for now.
Can anyone else (who uses configuration from the topic) check that out? I'll post my findings when I'll get back where I can measure (monday I think).

Last edited by aats; 11-03-2019 at 01:57 AM.
aats is online now  
post #3068 of 3073 Old 11-03-2019, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
mobeer4don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by aats View Post
Maybe I wasn't measuring far enough from waveguide to be in a farfield. It is winter already and getting them out of apartment is impossible unfortunately for now.
Try measuring at about 1m on the HF axis.
mobeer4don is offline  
post #3069 of 3073 Old 11-03-2019, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobeer4don View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aats View Post
Maybe I wasn't measuring far enough from waveguide to be in a farfield. It is winter already and getting them out of apartment is impossible unfortunately for now.
Try measuring at about 1m on the HF axis.
I was doing at around that distance, but another problem is small room so I can't gate effectively.
Anyway with their DI I should not roll off that much (around 3-4 dB) even without gate imo.

Last edited by aats; 11-03-2019 at 08:01 AM.
aats is online now  
post #3070 of 3073 Old 11-03-2019, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1269 Post(s)
Liked: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptSpig View Post
Don't forget guys it needs to be a 4/300N, 8/300N network amp or SDA-4600, SDA-8300 to load the DSP files. Or you can use a SDEC-3500 or BSS-BLU 160


BLU-50 and BLU-120 also work.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
DS-21 is offline  
post #3071 of 3073 Old 11-03-2019, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,389
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptSpig View Post
Don't forget guys it needs to be a 4/300N, 8/300N network amp or SDA-4600, SDA-8300 to load the DSP files. Or you can use a SDEC-3500 or BSS-BLU 160
DCi 1|1250N is being discontinued at a deep discount.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is online now  
post #3072 of 3073 Old 11-09-2019, 04:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by aats View Post
I am using profiles posted here and when I am looking at HF response I get some treble roll-off. I wonder if my mic/speakers/amp are faulty (or I am doing measurements or filters wrong) or there is still something missing from the filters (it shouldn't? There are no places to hide for them it seems). Maybe I wasn't measuring far enough from waveguide to be in a farfield. It is winter already and getting them out of apartment is impossible unfortunately for now.
Can anyone else (who uses configuration from the topic) check that out? I'll post my findings when I'll get back where I can measure (monday I think).
Ok, I've checked my amplifier and it is flat, roll off is still there, now the last thing remaining is the microphone/preamp/the way I measure. I doubt its fault in speaker because they both do the same thing.

Anyone else measured theirs after applying settings, @andyc56 maybe?

I've also re-checked configuration file and the only thing I don't know what it does is this, except I know that this the parameter that is responsible for "locking" configuration from viewing, I wonder if it does anything else. Any ideas?

<PanelPresetItem AddressNode="1" AddressObject="1376256" NodeClassID="0" SVClassID="517" SVID="31" Value="au6batdx" DataType="String" />
It is present in all speakers - M2, 708i, 705i.

I'll probably still be getting a BLU unit in December for a few days (unsure when and if 100%, need to do some other stuff), so if anyone wants something measured (I don't have any actual measurement equipment, only quite noisy input of my sound card, so no measurements of THD and stuff like that), so if you want something like a specific profile (of some other speakers rather than 7 series) measured you can ask and when (if) I get it I'll do that.

Last edited by aats; 11-09-2019 at 05:53 AM.
aats is online now  
post #3073 of 3073 Old 11-20-2019, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Zzzzz...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Looks like the 7 series at currently 10% off until 2 December.
Zzzzz... is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off