Help Choosing an Audio System - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Zorba922
  • 2 Post By Zorba922
  • 1 Post By KenM10759

post #1 of 18 Old 08-15-2015, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help Choosing an Audio System

So I am new to this form however have been reading a lot of amazing posts about home audio. The reason for me posting today is because I am trying to build a home audio system on a budget. I recently visited best buy to hear the klipsch quintet speakers because of their low cost and compact design. However after hearing a set of $1300 bowers and wilkins floor speakers I decided that I would much rather have a set of floor speakers as they produce a very clean mid vocal range and are not as bright as a cube speaker. It would be ideal if I could find a discontinued set of floor speakers at a price point of under $500 that produce a very nice vocal range without being horn loaded. The klipsch quintet version 5 is going for $500 while the version 4 is selling on amazon for $200 which makes me assume that you can acquire discontinued speakers on a budget please correct me if I am wrong? If you could point me in the right direction of some nice discounted floor speakers it would be greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 08-15-2015, 08:04 PM

Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I enjoy my BIC Acoustechs, which like the Klipsch, have horn tweeters. I have the PL-980s, but they are a bit above your target price. The BIC PL-89iis, however are right in your target price and they get good reviews (see below).

http://floor-standing-speakers.topte...89-review.html

I think they are some speakers that you should add to your list to check out.

BIC Acoustech 5.0 (pl-980s/pl-28ii/pl-66s), HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP, Onkyo 626, Sharp LC-70C6600U, Sony Bluray, Apple TV, Four Sonos Play:1s and a Sonos Connect.
post #3 of 18 Old 08-15-2015, 08:35 PM