Alcons Audio - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By taskvig
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-09-2017, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
taskvig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Alcons Audio

Coludn't find any thread for Alcons Audio, is there any?

And is there any Alcons users here?
taskvig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-09-2017, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
taskvig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am plannig to connect my newly bought Alcons CR2 during next week, replacing (at least for a test) my "DIY JBL M2 hybrids
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0022.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	682.3 KB
ID:	2328334  
taskvig is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-09-2017, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
kyzer soze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 364
I know @thxman has alcons setup you could ask him.

Also the Alcons thread might be somewhere in here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/86-ult...t-gear-20-000/

Ascend Sierra 2's (LCR & side surrounds) + Pioneer atmos modules. 5.1.4 setup
Marantz AV7703
Rythmik FV15HP
JVC DLA-X590R (RS 440) projector
Stewart StudioTek 130 screen
kyzer soze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 12-09-2017, 07:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
Liked: 1482
There's a thread about their recent CEDIA demo in the ultra-high-end subforum.

The consensus seems to be they can play absurdly loud without distortion and have enough HF energy to peel the paint off of the walls.

HT: Sony 940C, Oppo 203, Harman/Kardon DPR1001, Infinity Interlude IL40 x2, Infinity Interlude IL36C, Infinity MS-1 ii x2, Infinity MSW-1
Computer: Elac Uni-Fi UB5 x2, Elac Element EA101EQ integrated amp, SVS SB-12NSD
Dedicated 2-channel: Infinity Intermezzo 4.1t towers, Bluesound Node 2, Emotiva PT-100, Crown XLS 1502, Furman PL-8C
TuteTibiImperes is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-10-2017, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 718
thxman is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-10-2017, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 670 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by taskvig View Post
I am plannig to connect my newly bought Alcons CR2 during next week, replacing (at least for a test) my "DIY JBL M2 hybrids
Congrats, looking forward to your impressions.
thxman is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-11-2017, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
taskvig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've never listend to Alcons in hometheaters before, but the local cinema have a set of CR2 and it sounds real good!

It is also fun to watch Movies at this cinema, useing quite a bit of Alcons



My CR2 are similar to CRMS but uses a larger 6" ribbon and dual 8". Unfortuntely I don't have the sentiel amps but will be useing Crown instead.
taskvig is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-11-2017, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Depending on model and series it may require the Alcons amps.

Where are you located?

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-12-2017, 02:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
taskvig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiles View Post
Depending on model and series it may require the Alcons amps.

Where are you located?
My speakers need active crossover between mid/high and woofer, but otherwise it's fine running without the Alcons amp, an alternative is to make passive crossover at 270hz. The local cinema is also running their set With ordinary amps and Yamaha processor doing the crossover and EQ, I'll be useing Crown/BSS.

I'm located in Norway.

Anyone know what SIS really means/is? The SIS pre-wiring ensures complete (long!) cable/connector compensation between CR2 and ALC
taskvig is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-12-2017, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,322
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Since you are in Europe you can reach out to Alcons direct. I got Tom’s contact info somewhere.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 12-19-2017, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
taskvig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Finally I got the chance to connect my Alcons peakers today

The design of the boxes is an real issue in my kinda small room so I might need to consider makeing DIY boxes for them



PS: Normally everything is hidden behind the screen and covers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	alcons.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	733.7 KB
ID:	2332850  
thxman likes this.
taskvig is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 04-29-2018, 04:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Bumping this thread. With all the mentions of Alcons Audio are there any new owners?

Just noticed their new VR5 which has a slanted cabinet might be useful as a wide channel although ment as a small studio monitor. Uses the new 90x60° horn and 2" pro-ribbon.
clausdk is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 05-03-2018, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2003 Post(s)
Liked: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post
Bumping this thread. With all the mentions of Alcons Audio are there any new owners?

Just noticed their new VR5 which has a slanted cabinet might be useful as a wide channel although ment as a small studio monitor. Uses the new 90x60° horn and 2" pro-ribbon.
Try asking in this forum on AVS: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/86-ult...t-gear-20-000/

There are a few Alcons Audio owners there.
Kain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off