Am I risking damage to my new speakers (low power)? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
  • 1 Post By ronny31
  • 1 Post By GIEGAR
  • 1 Post By mmiles
  • 1 Post By pase22
  • 1 Post By pase22
  • 5 Post By 18Hurts
  • 1 Post By Pete7874

post #1 of 27 Old 07-07-2019, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Am I risking damage to my new speakers (low power)?

So, I finally got a chance to do something I have wanted to for a decade, thanks to some lucky thrifty shopping, and have started a nice home theater setup. And just as I am starting to get in the process of building it, I am now worried I may damage it right off the bat. In short, what I have is:
2x Polk RTI A9 (Black)
2x Polk RTI A5 (Cherry)
MartinLogan Motion 8
Yamaha RX-A710 Receiver
It will be connected with 16g OCC wire (as short a run as I can).

So, in my complete noobish haste (the speakers were an amazing deal - the A9's were $170 each, the A5s were $120 each), I figured the receiver would be good enough, and something I can upgrade later. So imagine my surprise when I read that a LACK of power can damage speakers... I am at a complete loss now, and im afraid to setup the system at this point. I really don't have amp budget (heck, I didn't have budget for these, but the deal could not be passed up on..), nor is my receiver one that can even support one (I don't believe it has a pre-amp output).

So, if I run these speakers from the receiver, at moderate volume (I am in a condo, so I cant blast it), and I going to damage them (clipping I guess)?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 07-07-2019, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
just don't run your amp to clipping and you'll be fine. A doubling in power is only 3db.