Sonos vs ‘traditional’ 3.1??? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 10-17-2019, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sonos vs ‘traditional’ 3.1???

Sonos vs Traditional 3.1???

So, I just bought a new house and I’m trying to figure out what direction to go with my home audio.

In my old house I had a 5.1 set-up consisting of an Onkyo TX-NR509 and Polk RM6750’s hooked up to my Samsung UN55D6300. All of which is a bit dated...

Over the years I acquired a few Sonos speakers. Right now I have (2) Sonos Play 1 and (1) Sonos Play 5.

I’m not a real audiophile, I’m a total newbie who just appreciates good stuff. I was happy with my Onkyo/Polk set-up as well as my Sonos speakers.

In my new house I’ll probably have to run a 3.1 system or a Sonos Playbar and Sub. My new house is an open layout and I just don’t have a rear wall/space for two rear channel speakers. Eventually I may be able to add two ceiling speakers...eventually.

The Samsung UN55D6300 will have to stay for a bit.

I do like Sonos’ seemless integration, or so it seems to be.

I’m thinking of a Sonos Playbar and Sub for the den/living area. A Sonos One in the kitchen, upstairs, garage, etc. Maybe add a Sonos amp to run a couple of outdoor speakers.

Should I try to sell off what I have and go full Sonos? Or, go with an updated 3.1 set-up (w/ 5.1 ability later on).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 10-18-2019, 11:07 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 34