Budget in-ceiling Atmos speakers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 03-25-2020, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Budget in-ceiling Atmos speakers

Hi all,
I'm looking to make the Atmos jump and am able to install in-ceiling speakers. From what I've read, timbre matching isn't essential. Are there any recommended that have the enclosure included? My room is 12x16x7. I rather not lose SPL by installing the speaker alone straight into the ceiling but if an enclosure isn't needed, that's fine too. I'm still new to Atmos and trying to learn. Any other install tips or recommendations would be appreciated! Thank you!

Video: JVC RS35 on 110". - 60" Panasonic plasma. - Darby Darblet/eeColor video processor. - Panasonic BD85 Blu-ray playback.
Audio: Denon X4500H. - Speakers: Philharmonic AA+ LRC, Mirage Omnipolar Spherex surrounds. Subwoofers: - Seaton F18+
Misc: Sennheiser HD558 powered by Recon3d USB. HCFR with i1 Pro. PSVR for 3D Blu-ray.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-25-2020, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Quoted: 2005 Post(s)
Liked: 1643
Price would be very useful.

Having an enclosure reduces SPL.

Angled ceiling speakers are better for a theater scenario. Flat ceiling speakers are better for distributed audio.

I’m a fan of Revel in ceilings, but whatever speaker you end up with, make sure you get them discounted by a dealer.

Leave it at 8 ohms and call it a day :)
post #3 of 8 Old 03-25-2020, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3370 Post(s)
Liked: 3273
For budget Atmos look at DCM -- on closeout pricing

DCM TFE630 ... price by the pair
https://pricedrightsales.com/product...e630lcr-2-pack

Also sold as a pack of 4
https://pricedrightsales.com/product...e630lcr-4-pack

----------------
Who AM I
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 03-26-2020, 05:43 AM