Which budget subwoofers has an LFE input - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By gajCA
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 06-03-2020, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thedjs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Which budget subwoofers has an LFE input

Are there any budget subs (under $200) that have an LFE input?


Thanks
thedjs6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 06-03-2020, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 21,426
Mentioned: 257 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10181 Post(s)
Liked: 7214
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedjs6 View Post
Are there any budget subs (under $200) that have an LFE input?


Thanks
All of them do.

Subs with only speaker level inputs are no longer around.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 06-03-2020, 02:33 PM
Member
 
austinout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedjs6 View Post
Are there any budget subs (under $200) that have an LFE input?


Thanks



On your budget you may want to consider some of the Dayton offerings.

austinout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 06-03-2020, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 28,362
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2507 Post(s)
Liked: 1641
afrogt is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 06-04-2020, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thedjs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
All of them do.

Subs with only speaker level inputs are no longer around.

Thanks for the reply. I'm new in this and so excuse me if I ask a stupid question. My Sony receiver has a single wire (LFE) outlet for for a sub. (It really has two outlets but that's for two separate subs) Most of the subs I've look at have two input ports so I would think I would need some kind of special wire or connector to make a connection. ( that's not a problem) But if I did this will my auto calibration still set the cross-over, level and other things or will they have to be set manually? Would it be better for me to keep looking and find a sub with a single (LFE) input? Sony has one that will match my speakers and has a single LFE input connection, however, I've seen some mixed reviews on it and that worries me a little.



Thanks again.
thedjs6 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 06-04-2020, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thedjs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinout View Post
On your budget you may want to consider some of the Dayton offerings.

Thank you. I'll check these out.
thedjs6 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 06-04-2020, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thedjs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
thedjs6 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 06-04-2020, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 21,426
Mentioned: 257 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10181 Post(s)
Liked: 7214
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedjs6 View Post
Thanks for the reply. I'm new in this and so excuse me if I ask a stupid question. My Sony receiver has a single wire (LFE) outlet for for a sub. (It really has two outlets but that's for two separate subs) Most of the subs I've look at have two input ports so I would think I would need some kind of special wire or connector to make a connection. ( that's not a problem) But if I did this will my auto calibration still set the cross-over, level and other things or will they have to be set manually? Would it be better for me to keep looking and find a sub with a single (LFE) input? Sony has one that will match my speakers and has a single LFE input connection, however, I've seen some mixed reviews on it and that worries me a little.



Thanks again.
An RCA splitter where one plug becomes two, is very inexpensive so no worries whether it has one rca input or two.

Often if there are two one is labeled "lfe" so you just use that one with a single wire.

You just turn the knob on the back of the sub that says "crossover" to its maximum so it does not interfere with the crossover that you set in the receiver.

This right now is the very best under $200 subwoofer bargain out there and it won't last long.

https://www.jbl.com/studio-5-series/...c7012b0a1c0e10

And, sorry if I came off as rude, there are no "stupid" questions.

My apologies.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-04-2020, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thedjs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
An RCA splitter where one plug becomes two, is very inexpensive so no worries whether it has one rca input or two.

Often if there are two one is labeled "lfe" so you just use that one with a single wire.

You just turn the knob on the back of the sub that says "crossover" to its maximum so it does not interfere with the crossover that you set in the receiver.

This right now is the very best under $200 subwoofer bargain out there and it won't last long.

https://www.jbl.com/studio-5-series/...c7012b0a1c0e10

And, sorry if I came off as rude, there are no "stupid" questions

My apologies.

No need for an apology. I didn't think anything you said was rude. It's just that this is all new to me and I feel like a lot of the time the questions I ask show how little I know. In fact the more I read the more confused I get. Anyway, thanks for the reply and I'm going to check out the sub you mentioned.
thedjs6 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-04-2020, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 21,426
Mentioned: 257 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10181 Post(s)
Liked: 7214
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedjs6 View Post
No need for an apology. I didn't think anything you said was rude. It's just that this is all new to me and I feel like a lot of the time the questions I ask show how little I know. In fact the more I read the more confused I get. Anyway, thanks for the reply and I'm going to check out the sub you mentioned.
No worries.

Most of my friends/family who've had surround systems for years have no clue how to set them up "properly."

Plenty of helpful folks here to answer your questions.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 06-06-2020, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
An RCA splitter where one plug becomes two, is very inexpensive so no worries whether it has one rca input or two.

Often if there are two one is labeled "lfe" so you just use that one with a single wire.

You just turn the knob on the back of the sub that says "crossover" to its maximum so it does not interfere with the crossover that you set in the receiver.

This right now is the very best under $200 subwoofer bargain out there and it won't last long.

https://www.jbl.com/studio-5-series/...c7012b0a1c0e10

And, sorry if I came off as rude, there are no "stupid" questions.

My apologies.

I just wanted to chime in and say i have that subwoofer and the amp gets hot and starts to have a burning smell if pushed past half way. I dont no if i just got a bad one but i wanted op to be aware of this possibility.
stngray72 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 06-07-2020, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 21,426
Mentioned: 257 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10181 Post(s)
Liked: 7214
Quote:
Originally Posted by stngray72 View Post
I just wanted to chime in and say i have that subwoofer and the amp gets hot and starts to have a burning smell if pushed past half way. I dont no if i just got a bad one but i wanted op to be aware of this possibility.
First time I've read that about that sub or any JBL sub; hopefully you put in a warranty claim and stopped using it as you do NOT want a fire.

It's actually a good idea any time you travel, well, when you can travel again, to unplug your subs.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 06-07-2020, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
First time I've read that about that sub or any JBL sub; hopefully you put in a warranty claim and stopped using it as you do NOT want a fire.

It's actually a good idea any time you travel, well, when you can travel again, to unplug your subs.

That was playing music for what I consider not to be that long.
stngray72 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 06-07-2020, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 21,426
Mentioned: 257 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10181 Post(s)
Liked: 7214
Quote:
Originally Posted by stngray72 View Post
That was playing music for what I consider not to be that long.
Obviously a manufacturing flaw and if JBL is notified they'll send a new amp unless it's out of warranty.

Do not use that sub.
sigpig likes this.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #15 of 16 Old 06-07-2020, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
Obviously a manufacturing flaw and if JBL is notified they'll send a new amp unless it's out of warranty.

Do not use that sub.

Do you no how long the warranty is?
stngray72 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-08-2020, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 21,426
Mentioned: 257 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10181 Post(s)
Liked: 7214
Quote:
Originally Posted by stngray72 View Post
Do you no how long the warranty is?
Looks like 5 years, with one year of simply exchanging the product.

Quote:
Call us: 1.800.336.4525

1 Year / 5 Years Warranty

Products purchased online or from an authorized local retailer and under warranty may qualify for an exchange with a valid receipt.

Purchases made from an unauthorized dealer will not be eligible for exchange.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off