Paradigm Owners Thread - Page 1103 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5489Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #33061 of 37549 Old 01-28-2016, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidwelr1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
I've been looking for a cc690 v4 or v5 to match my Studio 60 v4s and to replace my cc370 v4.

I can't seem to find any cc690 or cc590s but have found a couple cc490 v5.

My room is a very large open basement, but the home theatre area is only 300sq ft of the ~1400sq ft basement.

My listening distance is about 12' away from the centre channel.

Would the CC490 be a good fit for me or am I better off waiting for cc690 to pop up?
i think there were minimal differences b/w versions 4 & 5 other than the cabinets. Either would work fine I would think. I think the biggest changes occurred with versions 2-4. There have been many more complaints of a "nasal" quality with the 490 & 590 centers compared the 690. Not many complaints about the 690. I have one and it's great. One possible downside to the 690 is the size. The other downside of the 690 is finding one that matches your current finish.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwheelwright View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Another question (I'll just keep them coming until someone answers ):

What would be a better match for a pair of Studio 60v4s? A Prestige 55C or a CC490?
I can't speak for Studios but I can tell you everything that I have seen people say over the years. Most people have said that the studio 690 is better than the 590 and 490. They would say stuff like it was more open and cleaner sounding. A few have said that the prestige matches well with the studios. I can't speak for myself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Another question (I'll just keep them coming until someone answers ):

What would be a better match for a pair of Studio 60v4s? A Prestige 55C or a CC490?
A Studio CC490 would be best.
V4 or V5 if you can.
My challenge with waiting for a 690 is I don't think I have the height space for it.

Would a 55C not work as well with the studios as a 490?
Also, would a 490 be a significant improvement over a cc370 (I have that now)?

I can get a 490 used right now no problem, but if a 55C is a better fit I'd rather pay the extra for a new one of those.
Even if I found a 690 used I don't think I could make it fit height wise.
Sittler27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33062 of 37549 Old 01-28-2016, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitey019 View Post
Height of my CC590 v.5 is 9.5" at its peak, which is about 1.5" from the front. Also the I only partially installed the plastic feet (they come in two pieces each) and if completely installed would probably add another 0.5".
Good to know. I can't find a used one right now but looks like that may fit (barely).
A 490 would Be more comfortable and a 55C would Fit no problem.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33063 of 37549 Old 01-28-2016, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
whitey019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Good to know. I can't find a used one right now but looks like that may fit (barely).
A 490 would Be more comfortable and a 55C would Fit no problem.
I'd stick with the Studio centers if possible.
whitey019 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33064 of 37549 Old 01-28-2016, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
So the cc490 would be a big step up in sound overall from my cc370?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33065 of 37549 Old 01-28-2016, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The speaker starts at 9 1/2" at the front and curves slightly upward to 10" at the center before is curves down towards the rear. These measurements include the feet that come attached to the bottom of the speaker but not the additional feet you can put on it if you wish to tilt the speaker upwards. The gentleman that measured 10 1/4" may have measured with the additional feet that tilt it upwards. Good luck in your search.
Rdecker664 is offline  
post #33066 of 37549 Old 01-28-2016, 11:18 PM
Member
 
Addixion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hello all,

I'm in a bit of a bind as my new TV stand no longer accommodates my Studio/CC v2. I use Studio/60 v2s up front, each about 9 feet from the MLP and 7 feet apart from each other. The center slot in my stand could fit a Paradigm SE Center or one of the new Monitor centers. Would either of these be a decent match for the Studio/60s or should I just run a phantom center? FWIW, I can equilibrate with Audyssey XT32.

Last edited by Addixion; 01-29-2016 at 11:38 AM.
Addixion is offline  
post #33067 of 37549 Old 01-29-2016, 01:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdecker664 View Post
The speaker starts at 9 1/2" at the front and curves slightly upward to 10" at the center before is curves down towards the rear. These measurements include the feet that come attached to the bottom of the speaker but not the additional feet you can put on it if you wish to tilt the speaker upwards. The gentleman that measured 10 1/4" may have measured with the additional feet that tilt it upwards. Good luck in your search.
Correct, that includes the feet that tilt it upwards.

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #33068 of 37549 Old 01-29-2016, 01:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addixion View Post
Hello all,

I'm in a bit of a bind as my new TV stand no longer accommodates my Studio/CC v2. I use Studio/60 v2s up front, each about 9 feet from the MLP and 7 feet apart from each other. The center slot in my stand could fit a Paradigm SE Center or one of the new Monitor centers. Would either of these be a decent match for the Studio/60s or should I just run a phantom surround? FWIW, I can equilibrate with Audyssey XT32.
I would stick with a centre channel and look for ways to accommodate the CC. If it is definite no go then wait for a response on the SE and how well it would match as I have no experience with that.

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #33069 of 37549 Old 01-29-2016, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addixion View Post
Hello all,

I'm in a bit of a bind as my new TV stand no longer accommodates my Studio/CC v2. I use Studio/60 v2s up front, each about 9 feet from the MLP and 7 feet apart from each other. The center slot in my stand could fit a Paradigm SE Center or one of the new Monitor centers. Would either of these be a decent match for the Studio/60s or should I just run a phantom center? FWIW, I can equilibrate with Audyssey XT32.
For what it's worth...I'm using the SE center
In my bedroom with Studio 40's V4. I was very
Pleasantly surprised on how well the timbre match
Was...before running Audyssey by the way.

Can't comment on how well the SE would match
With your V2 Studio 60's?

(Main)-Marantz 6012*Outlaw Audio M2200*Rythmik F12 subs*Paradigm Signature S6,C1,S1
******Harman Kardon DMC1000 (music)-Assassin HTPC (movies).
(Bedroom)-Marantz SR5003*Paradigm Studio 40,SE Center,SE One*SVS SB-2000 subs*Sony S6200
(Music room)-Outlaw Audio RR2150*Sierra Two ribbon speakers*Rythmik L12 sub*Yamaha CDR-HD1500
grasshoppers is offline  
post #33070 of 37549 Old 01-29-2016, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addixion View Post
Hello all,

I'm in a bit of a bind as my new TV stand no longer accommodates my Studio/CC v2. I use Studio/60 v2s up front, each about 9 feet from the MLP and 7 feet apart from each other. The center slot in my stand could fit a Paradigm SE Center or one of the new Monitor centers. Would either of these be a decent match for the Studio/60s or should I just run a phantom surround? FWIW, I can equilibrate with Audyssey XT32.
I would stick with a centre channel and look for ways to accommodate the CC. If it is definite no go then wait for a response on the SE and how well it would match as I have no experience with that.
Ok. Just bought a 690v5 to go with my studio 60v4s. Paid more than I wanted to but oh well.
Now to make it fit.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33071 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 12:17 PM
 
witchdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addixion View Post
Hello all,

I'm in a bit of a bind as my new TV stand no longer accommodates my Studio/CC v2. I use Studio/60 v2s up front, each about 9 feet from the MLP and 7 feet apart from each other. The center slot in my stand could fit a Paradigm SE Center or one of the new Monitor centers. Would either of these be a decent match for the Studio/60s or should I just run a phantom center? FWIW, I can equilibrate with Audyssey XT32.
I would use a speaker stand for your CC v2. here are some examples. You will not find a better matching center channel and I would not change it for any reason. Just get a stand.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...+speaker+stand

Last edited by witchdoctor; 01-30-2016 at 12:21 PM.
witchdoctor is offline  
post #33072 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Are the ADP590 v5 a significant upgrade over the ADP370v4s?

I was thinking I'd just live with the ADP370s for a while as part of my newly upgraded Studio 60v4/CC690v5 setup, but came across a deal for the ADP590s (almost out of money though).

I just wanted to know if the ADP370s are good enough for a while or will they sound out of place and the ADP590s would be a big step up?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33073 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 9,904
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1916 Post(s)
Liked: 2699
To my ears, ADP-590s were a noticeable upgrade from ADP-370s. YMMV.
eljaycanuck is online now  
post #33074 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljaycanuck View Post
To my ears, ADP-590s were a noticeable upgrade from ADP-370s. YMMV.
Ok.

Would you happen to know if the brackets from the ADP370v4s fit the ADP590v5s?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33075 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,709
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4688 Post(s)
Liked: 2726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Are the ADP590 v5 a significant upgrade over the ADP370v4s?

I was thinking I'd just live with the ADP370s for a while as part of my newly upgraded Studio 60v4/CC690v5 setup, but came across a deal for the ADP590s (almost out of money though).

I just wanted to know if the ADP370s are good enough for a while or will they sound out of place and the ADP590s would be a big step up?
I'm going to recommend that you NOT go with the ADP's, especially if you ever decide to move towards immersive surround formats like Dolby Atmos. You want wide dispersal monopoles, not dipoles. Dipoles can negatively effect the 3D surround field.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #33076 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
I'm going to recommend that you NOT go with the ADP's, especially if you ever decide to move towards immersive surround formats like Dolby Atmos. You want wide dispersal monopoles, not dipoles. Dipoles can negatively effect the 3D surround field.
Ok. Currently I have ADP370s mounted and the others I have acquired for the fronts and centre.

What would you recommend in this line I get to replace the ADP370s then to function as surrounds that would give me that boost in surround performance over my existing?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33077 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,709
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4688 Post(s)
Liked: 2726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Ok. Currently I have ADP370s mounted and the others I have acquired for the fronts and centre.

What would you recommend in this line I get to replace the ADP370s then to function as surrounds that would give me that boost in surround performance over my existing?
If you can find Studio 20 v.4 's, they could be wall mounted with side clamp brackets or placed on stands (v.5's would also work on stands, if you didn't mind the change in cabinet shape, which it looks like you're not adverse to seeing as you got a v.5 CC-690). Around the time of the Studio v.4's, Paradigm also had a series of slim wall-mount speakers (Esprit v.4) that were voice matched to the Studio range designed for flat panel TV's. If you can find some used that would be another good option.

Otherwise, you'll have to go with mismatched surrounds that still beat your current Paradigm surrounds.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #33078 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
If you can find Studio 20 v.4 's, they could be wall mounted with side clamp brackets or placed on stands (v.5's would also work on stands, if you didn't mind the change in cabinet shape, which it looks like you're not adverse to seeing as you got a v.5 CC-690). Around the time of the Studio v.4's, Paradigm also had a series of slim wall-mount speakers (Esprit v.4) that were voice matched to the Studio range designed for flat panel TV's. If you can find some used that would be another good option.

Otherwise, you'll have to go with mismatched surrounds that still beat your current Paradigm surrounds.
My ADP-370s are mounted about 6.5' high. Would I mount the Studio 20s that high or would they be at ear level?

If at ear level, it would cause a problem as I already have holes in my walls behind my ADP370s.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33079 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,709
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4688 Post(s)
Liked: 2726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
My ADP-370s are mounted about 6.5' high. Would I mount the Studio 20s that high or would they be at ear level?

If at ear level, it would cause a problem as I already have holes in my walls behind my ADP370s.
You would place any of your surrounds (no matter the type or model) just above seated listeners' heads, so the sound isn't blocked for adjacent viewers sitting away from the main "sweet spot." That creates better separation between the main layer of speakers and the overheads using immersive surround formats.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #33080 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
You would place any of your surrounds (no matter the type or model) just above seated listeners' heads, so the sound isn't blocked for adjacent viewers sitting away from the main "sweet spot." That creates better separation between the main layer of speakers and the overheads using immersive surround formats.
Sorry, just to clarify, I think you mean:
-My ADP370s are fine mounted where they are (~6.5' high) - after all, this is how Paradigm manuals state to mount these or any ADPs
-however, if I get the studio 20s and use them as surrounds (or any the such style of direct speaker as surrounds), that they should be mounted lower just above the viewer's heads

Is this correct?

If so, this means I would need to do some repair work on the holes in my walls as I would need to move the speakers down the wall a few feet.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33081 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,709
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4688 Post(s)
Liked: 2726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Sorry, just to clarify, I think you mean:
-My ADP370s are fine mounted where they are (~6.5' high) - after all, this is how Paradigm manuals state to mount these or any ADPs
-however, if I get the studio 20s and use them as surrounds (or any the such style of direct speaker as surrounds), that they should be mounted lower just above the viewer's heads

Is this correct?

If so, this means I would need to do some repair work on the holes in my walls as I would need to move the speakers down the wall a few feet.
Even if you stayed with the current surround speakers, you would still want to move them down to where I mentioned. As they are, they're too high up on the wall.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #33082 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
Even if you stayed with the current surround speakers, you would still want to move them down to where I mentioned. As they are, they're too high up on the wall.
Interesting, first time I've heard this.

So why does the Paradigm manuals say to mount the ADPs at a height of 6-9'?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33083 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 02:53 PM
 
witchdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Interesting, first time I've heard this.

So why does the Paradigm manuals say to mount the ADPs at a height of 6-9'?
The manual says 3-9 ft-
http://www.paradigm.com/downloads/OM-35.pdf

I have my Active ADP's on stands at around ear level and they sound great. I think the intent is just to make the sound diffuse so you can't tell it is coming directly from the speaker. You just need to experiment a little to achieve that.
witchdoctor is offline  
post #33084 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,709
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4688 Post(s)
Liked: 2726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Interesting, first time I've heard this.

So why does the Paradigm manuals say to mount the ADPs at a height of 6-9'?
The manuals were written before Dolby Atmos, DTS: X, and Auro came into the picture. Immersive audio is a whole new ballgame.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #33085 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchdoctor View Post
The manual says 3-9 ft-
http://www.paradigm.com/downloads/OM-35.pdf

I have my Active ADP's on stands at around ear level and they sound great. I think the intent is just to make the sound diffuse so you can't tell it is coming directly from the speaker. You just need to experiment a little to achieve that.
Sorry, I was thinking of pg 5 on the following manual for the ADP-590

http://www.paradigm.com/downloads/OM-560.pdf
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33086 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
The manuals were written before Dolby Atmos, DTS: X, and Auro came into the picture. Immersive audio is a whole new ballgame.
Ok, I get it. So my ADP-370s (assuming I don't upgrade from them right now and live with them with my newly acquired Studio fronts/centre) are fine where they are until I decide to pursue an Atmos setup after which I should get Studio 20s and mount them just above ear level?

Sound fair?

I don't have an Atmos receiver yet and am not thinking ceiling speaker installations at all right now.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #33087 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,709
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4688 Post(s)
Liked: 2726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Ok, I get it. So my ADP-370s (assuming I don't upgrade from them right now and live with them with my newly acquired Studio fronts/centre) are fine where they are until I decide to pursue an Atmos setup after which I should get Studio 20s and mount them just above ear level?

Sound fair?

I don't have an Atmos receiver yet and am not thinking ceiling speaker installations at all right now.
Fair enough.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #33088 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
tidwelr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Ok, I get it. So my ADP-370s (assuming I don't upgrade from them right now and live with them with my newly acquired Studio fronts/centre) are fine where they are until I decide to pursue an Atmos setup after which I should get Studio 20s and mount them just above ear level?

Sound fair?

I don't have an Atmos receiver yet and am not thinking ceiling speaker installations at all right now.
the millenia series speakers have the same drivers as studios. Those would work well too and they are slimmer for wall mounting on tbe sides and back wall. I've been thinking I may go that route if/when I get a dedicated theatre. I think they are sharpe looking as well. The 20s are great speakers. Just think I would prefer the slimmer profile speakers for especially the sides. The 20s to me would take up too much area as I've seen them mounted as my brother has them setup as rear surrounds for a 5.1 setup.
tidwelr1 is offline  
post #33089 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 06:36 PM
 
witchdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Ok, I get it. So my ADP-370s (assuming I don't upgrade from them right now and live with them with my newly acquired Studio fronts/centre) are fine where they are until I decide to pursue an Atmos setup after which I should get Studio 20s and mount them just above ear level?

Sound fair?

I don't have an Atmos receiver yet and am not thinking ceiling speaker installations at all right now.
As for the ADP's being fine where they are yes, 3 ft to 9 ft. The closer the speaker is to your listening position likely the higher you would want to mount it to create the proper diffusion.
I own the active version of the Studio 20. If you want to use them for Atmos you will need either a heavy duty ceiling mount or tall stands. I use my 20's on 80 inch tall stands in an Auro 3D speaker setup as front and back height channels. If you are going Atmos paradigm makes ceiling speakers you may want to consider instead. When you are ready to cross that bridge just start a new thread.
witchdoctor is offline  
post #33090 of 37549 Old 01-30-2016, 08:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,749
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1166 Post(s)
Liked: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchdoctor View Post
As for the ADP's being fine where they are yes, 3 ft to 9 ft. The closer the speaker is to your listening position likely the higher you would want to mount it to create the proper diffusion.

I own the active version of the Studio 20. If you want to use them for Atmos you will need either a heavy duty ceiling mount or tall stands. I use my 20's on 80 inch tall stands in an Auro 3D speaker setup as front and back height channels. If you are going Atmos paradigm makes ceiling speakers you may want to consider instead. When you are ready to cross that bridge just start a new thread.

80" stands!? Got a pic?


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still

"Rockbiter" DO SI18 sub build - https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-d...o-si-18-a.html
Ambesolman's Cleverly Titled Theater build - https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-de...ter-build.html
ambesolman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Tags
Paradigm , Speaker Systems

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off