Revel Owners Thread - Page 510 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5382Likes

post #15271 of 16139 Old 07-20-2019, 06:27 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl Maga View Post
You might be right! That’s a strongly stated opinion, surely that level of conviction is born of experience. What amps did you compare?
I'm mainly speaking from experience comparing headphone amps (I know it's apples and oranges, but I think the same concept applies). People in the headphone world have a tendency to greatly over exaggerate the differences between various headphone amps. The only audible differences are generally due to impedance mismatches. But similarly rated amps should sound the same. And I'm assuming the same goes in the speaker amp world. But I'm just getting started in the speaker + power amp / receiver world, maybe it's all completely different (but I doubt it, it's just science).

It's easy to mistake something that's slightly louder as more detail, or more spaciousness, etc.
CruelInventions likes this.

Last edited by sakete; 07-20-2019 at 06:37 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #15272 of 16139 Old 07-20-2019, 06:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
I don't. But to each his own...

IME/IMO output impedance and noise floor tend to be the biggest distinguishing parameters among SS amps. Yes, many of them sound the same. I have no problem picking out a tube from a SS amp even at low levels and in a DBT.