Cambridge Soundworks Volume Control Issues - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-09-2008, 12:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brandtlj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Did some searching and didn't find much, so here it goes. I've been the owner of Cambridge soundworks Megaworks 210D computer speaker system for roughly 5 years. Within the last month or so, the volume level had been severely jumping without reason...called their tech support and they suggested replacing the volume control...they quoted me $25 bucks plus another $10 for S&H. My question is, is there anything cheaper that might be feasible to use as a replacement volume control unit? I've done some looking and it appears to be some kind of RJ-11 modular unit....look at the pic below...thanks in advance for any possible help!




LL
LL
LL
brandtlj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-09-2008, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brandtlj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
just one bump in hopes that some1 knows
brandtlj is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-19-2008, 09:10 AM
Member
 
woodyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Amesbury, MA USA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Assuming you are using it with a PC, just try it without the volume control and use the soundcard volume. The 210d will simply revert to full volume when the control is unplugged. I use mine this way because I have a control on my keyboard that's just as convenient.
woodyh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 11-15-2008, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
skidabump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you ever find a alternative solution to for the RJ-11 volume control? I am having the same darn problem.

Regards,

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandtlj View Post

Did some searching and didn't find much, so here it goes. I've been the owner of Cambridge soundworks Megaworks 210D computer speaker system for roughly 5 years. Within the last month or so, the volume level had been severely jumping without reason...called their tech support and they suggested replacing the volume control...they quoted me $25 bucks plus another $10 for S&H. My question is, is there anything cheaper that might be feasible to use as a replacement volume control unit? I've done some looking and it appears to be some kind of RJ-11 modular unit....look at the pic below...thanks in advance for any possible help!




skidabump is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-03-2008, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
zuhx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem with my cambridge soundworks microworks pc speakers. I get A LOT of static feedback throughout the volume range. Can any one verify that replacing the volume control will fix this issue? I'm not to keen on paying cambridge for their defective product either, are there alternatives?
zuhx is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-17-2010, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brandtlj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Wow, almost TWO years later and I'm back to follow-up. I found a cheap exact replacement volume control on eBay and it solved my problem! Now I think I have a bigger problem...

I'm getting hissing/buzzing noise through my speakers and a light hum coming from my sub. This started about a month ago and has really started to irritate me. Although the unit still produces nice sound which covers up the buzzing, when idle, it drives me nuts. At first I thought it was signal interference so I unplugged the line input - still there. Then I tried moving the system to other rooms in the house in hoping that it may be a wiring issue in the wall - still there. I don't believe it's ground loop because there is no ground pin on the amp.

From what I read it may be a capacitor or zeners gone bad (whatever that is), but I'm not sure. CS wants $75 for the repair including round-trip shipping, but that's a lot of money for a 10 y/o system. I'm still very happy with the sound quality and it meets all my needs except for the buzzing. Is there anybody who may be able to walk me through a repair? I am very trainable :-) and it may help others with this issue as it seems to be relatively common.
willzone1 likes this.
brandtlj is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-10-2010, 07:19 AM
Newbie
 
convolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems this might be common problem. I was searching here as well since my system developed the same symptoms (erratic volume control, changing volume without touching the knob, non-stable volume, and occasional static).

Here is my solution which will probably correct most situations: First, if the volume control knob is used every day in a hand-held mode, this will stress the four wires inside the unit which will eventually fail and disconnect from the small printed circuit card inside. Take the unit apart (slide the knob portion away from the body) and observe the pcb board which has four holes where the telephone wires attach. If one or more of these wires are disconnected, then the volume control will function unpredictably. Clean and solder the four wires back on in this order: YELLOW and GREEN on the wide trace (which has TWO holes - the order does not matter since both are electrically connected). Then solder the RED wire to the center trace (with one hole only). And finally, solder the BLACK wire on the outermost trace (with one hole). These wires connect to the 45.7 Kohm potentiometer (variable resistor) which sets the correct voltage in the Megaworks 210D subwoofer unit.

I performed this operation and now my unit works great! No erratic volume issues and no static. Look at the top post in this thread for photos of the inside of the volume control unit to see the small pcb, potentiometer, and four colored telephone type wires. Interestingly, these photos show the wires disconnected entirely! If you do this fix and it does not work, then you may have a bad volume control potentiometer or perhaps something is faulty in the subwoofer unit. Try this fix first, as it is no cost and will probably work.
convolution is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-03-2012, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
willzone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandtlj View Post

Wow, almost TWO years later and I'm back to follow-up. I found a cheap exact replacement volume control on eBay and it solved my problem! Now I think I have a bigger problem...


I'm getting hissing/buzzing noise through my speakers and a light hum coming from my sub. This started about a month ago and has really started to irritate me. Although the unit still produces nice sound which covers up the buzzing, when idle, it drives me nuts. At first I thought it was signal interference so I unplugged the line input - still there. Then I tried moving the system to other rooms in the house in hoping that it may be a wiring issue in the wall - still there. I don't believe it's ground loop because there is no ground pin on the amp.


From what I read it may be a capacitor or zeners gone bad (whatever that is), but I'm not sure. CS wants $75 for the repair including round-trip shipping, but that's a lot of money for a 10 y/o system. I'm still very happy with the sound quality and it meets all my needs except for the buzzing. Is there anybody who may be able to walk me through a repair? I am very trainable :-) and it may help others with this issue as it seems to be relatively common.

See this thread for the fix! I had the same issue...
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=11931
Basically, it's just the 2 filter caps. It's an easy (and cheap!) fix. Just order 2 220uf 200v caps.
Panasonic part # ECOS2DA221BA works well.
Order from Digi-Key or Newark.
willzone1 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-20-2013, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
Jose Arroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Does anybody can share with me the board for volume control?, Are there any other components beside potentiometer?, If you please share pics?.

Thanks in advance

Jose Arroyo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off