Active Subwoofer connected to Passive ONKYO HT-R340 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 11-04-2008, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will this be possible? Also is there any danger to the sub or receiver?

I want to connect the Jamo SUB200 Active Subwoofer to the passive SUBwoofer speaker terminals on the HT-R340.

It will be connected via x2 Speaker Line Level Inputs on the Sub to the Clip-on Subwoofer Output Terminals of the Receiver via 16 gauge speaker wire.


To clarify this R340 receiver does not have any "pre output" subwoofer options.


Thanks in advance.

P.S. The Receiver out terminals output 120W of power.
The Sub supplies itself with 200W of power.
blazingazn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 11-04-2008, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing really solid found via Google.

Would appreciate help.
blazingazn is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 11-04-2008, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,368
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2051 Post(s)
Liked: 1376
That's exactly what those speaker level inputs are there for on your sub, to use with a receiver that doesn't have a dedicated line level sub output.

You'll be fine.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 11-04-2008, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,812
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 481
As long as you connect to your speaker level input on sub, not line input, you should be fine.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-05-2008, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took some pics. Please let me know if I did it right.


Terminals on the Sub itself


Close up


Receiver's Subwoofer Speaker Wire Output


Another picture of the subwoofers speaker wire output.


Basically I doubled up the Negative and Positive Terminals on the receiver for the L and R Channel Line Levels.

The wires are exposed so I'm a little worried.

Let me know.
blazingazn is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-05-2008, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me know.
blazingazn is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-05-2008, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any more tips?

Is it okay that the Speaker Wire output from the receiver is sending power and also I am plugging into the wall for power?

Thanks.
blazingazn is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-06-2008, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump for help.
blazingazn is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-06-2008, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,330
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4667 Post(s)
Liked: 4851
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

That's exactly what those speaker level inputs are there for on your sub, to use with a receiver that doesn't have a dedicated line level sub output.

You'll be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

As long as you connect to your speaker level input on sub, not line input, you should be fine.

you're fine, just like hooking up a speaker, black-to-black, red-to-red. again, that is what those inputs are for....

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-06-2008, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

you're fine, just like hooking up a speaker, black-to-black, red-to-red. again, that is what those inputs are for....

Thanks for the reassurance!

Mostly wondering now if I can double up the Sub L/R inputs like that onto the Receiver output.
blazingazn is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 11-07-2008, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazingazn View Post

Thanks for the reassurance!

Mostly wondering now if I can double up the Sub L/R inputs like that onto the Receiver output.

Bump for help with the inputs to outputs.
Can I double the 2 inputs going into the single output?

The manual tells me not to do it...




I'll leave you all alone after this
blazingazn is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 11-07-2008, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
robfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You are fine. Yes you can double up because you are not connecting directly to a speaker. It won't hurt anything as long as you connect the reds to reds and blacks to blacks. I can see that you have it all wired but have you tried running it yet?
robfive is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 11-07-2008, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robfive View Post

You are fine. Yes you can double up because you are not connecting directly to a speaker. It won't hurt anything as long as you connect the reds to reds and blacks to blacks. I can see that you have it all wired but have you tried running it yet?


Yep it's running great so far (cross fingers)

It's a much cleaner punch then my old HTIB subwoofer, that was so muddy.

Thanks all, any other suggestions would be appreciated.


Also for my next receiver upgrade I want to get the SR606 ($350 CDN through my employee discount).
Is that 606 a good receiver, value and quality wise?

Thanks.
blazingazn is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 11-09-2008, 01:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blazingazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BUMP for interest.
blazingazn is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 11-10-2008, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
robfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The Onkyo 606 is a good receiver and will be a big step up from your htib receiver in terms of power output, input and output flexibility, audio codec support, etc. You won't be disappointed as long as you don't put it in an enclosed cabinet. It needs room to breath.
robfive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off