"OFFICIAL" Pioneer MCACC thread - Page 206 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 154Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6151 of 6792 Old 06-07-2016, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 62
What is the best way to run my Subwoofer 1 full range (crossover off) in order to tune before running MCACC Auto?
Would I use a pre-out on the main L/R and set them to "large"?
Mr. Electric Wiz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6152 of 6792 Old 06-07-2016, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
welldun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
What is the best way to run my Subwoofer 1 full range (crossover off) in order to tune before running MCACC Auto?
Would I use a pre-out on the main L/R and set them to "large"?
we need more details about your setup if you want a better answer. but, assuming that you have a traditional 5.1 setup, then you should first find the best location for the sub by either measuring the room or doing a sub crawl. once you have that and the rest of your speakers have been optimally placed, then you should run the mcacc.

if you are looking for a way to set your sub then (depending on the sub) set the gain on the sub to 0db, set the crossover to its highest setting, and keep the phase at 0 degrees.

in MCACC, if you are running auto you should be able to set the speakes to small and the crossover to 80hz from the system setup menu. then to prevent MCACC from changing those setting, you will choose Keep settings from the auto MCACC menu.
.

Last edited by welldun; 06-07-2016 at 07:08 PM.
welldun is offline  
post #6153 of 6792 Old 06-07-2016, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The subwoofer crawl was completed, and the new sub system installed recently.
2 infinite baffle subwoofer manifolds, each with 2x18" FiCar subs.
Living room has a vaulted ceiling, with one manifold just below the peak in the front of room (in the ceiling) and one in the rear of the room.
AVR is a Pioneer Elite SC-65, Amplification [for sub] is an iNuke NU3000, and between the two is a MiniDSP 2x4 Balanced.

I am trying to calibrate my subwoofers, but I am unsure about which crossover point I want to use and I also would like to get a baseline tune on my subs without having a crossover point set.
I'd like to run them full range while I'm calibrating, then run Auto MCACC later.

I've tried to calibrate with the front L/R speaker cables disconnected (and later connected) but obviously I'm seeing a dip ~80Hz because of the crossover point.
Mr. Electric Wiz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6154 of 6792 Old 06-07-2016, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
welldun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
The subwoofer crawl was completed, and the new sub system installed recently.
2 infinite baffle subwoofer manifolds, each with 2x18" FiCar subs.
Living room has a vaulted ceiling, with one manifold just below the peak in the front of room (in the ceiling) and one in the rear of the room.
AVR is a Pioneer Elite SC-65, Amplification [for sub] is an iNuke NU3000, and between the two is a MiniDSP 2x4 Balanced.

I am trying to calibrate my subwoofers, but I am unsure about which crossover point I want to use and I also would like to get a baseline tune on my subs without having a crossover point set.
I'd like to run them full range while I'm calibrating, then run Auto MCACC later.

I've tried to calibrate with the front L/R speaker cables disconnected (and later connected) but obviously I'm seeing a dip ~80Hz because of the crossover point.
I'm seeing the dip vary based on where I place the mic. from everything that I've read, fixing dips is tougher than lowering peaks. If your subs are in a fixed location, you might want to consider adjusting the seating positions.
welldun is offline  
post #6155 of 6792 Old 06-07-2016, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
juanchibiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Colombia - Florida
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hi, does anyone know what is the mic used by the Pioneer Elite SC-85? Thanks
juanchibiris is online now  
post #6156 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 12:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I understand. My SC 95 arrives today. I am excited about the PRO with what it does. I have XT right now but don't use it as I do not like how the sub sounds with it.
Me also come from Audyssey XT and, indeed, there are a large learning curve... and i'm in the true beginning

Greats differences between both systems. The best, more control, the worst, really difficult to tame bass sound (i'm in it)...

Just try and try and try to get best solution.... (that's what i'm doing everyday. Still wait to enjoy my vsx-1130

Last edited by finitol; 06-08-2016 at 01:56 AM.
finitol is offline  
post #6157 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I am receiving the SC 95 today. So I can be ahead of the game what configuration do I pick for a 5.2.2 set up?<br />
Also which one do I pick from All Channels Adjust & Front Align, and Symmetry while doing the calibration?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6158 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Not sure how t works on your newer model but on mine, Auto MCACC will do all of these. One in memory slots 1-3
Mr. Electric Wiz is online now  
post #6159 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
Not sure how t works on your newer model but on mine, Auto MCACC will do all of these. One in memory slots 1-3
Im receiving the 95 today which I thought I'd be delivered yesterday but anyhow. Do you have MCACC PRO?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6160 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I wish. Mine is a lowly SC-65, TOTL from a few years back.
Mr. Electric Wiz is online now  
post #6161 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Electric Wiz View Post
I wish. Mine is a lowly SC-65, TOTL from a few years back.
How does the memory work? Do you run mcacc three times to get 3 different settings?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6162 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Electric Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I am pretty sure it runs all three and assigns them to each of the first three memory slots. It takes a while to run.
asere likes this.
Mr. Electric Wiz is online now  
post #6163 of 6792 Old 06-08-2016, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
How does the memory work? Do you run mcacc three times to get 3 different settings?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
In the auto mode it'll show you before calibrating that there are 3 different calibrations that it will put in slots 1,2,and 3 you can re-arrange and rename these (unfortunately only to a set list of names not custom). There are a total of 6 slots. You can turn 2 of those off by selecting and clicking right until it says none and only do a single calibration if you prefer. If you do a calibration in the Manual EQ Pro mode you have to do it 3 times.
welldun and pacman9270 like this.

My setup: Sonus Faber Venere 2.5 and center, Ascend HTM200SE surround, NHT atmos minis, dual Rythmik L12's, Pioneer SC-95, Minidsp DDRC-88BM, Rotel RMB1077, LG OLED B7P
brianmlamb is offline  
post #6164 of 6792 Old 06-09-2016, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I ran the mcacc pro and the unit sounds smooth but not dynamic and thunderous like my Onkyo 805.<br />
Anything I could be missing with the set up?<br />
<br />
Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6165 of 6792 Old 06-10-2016, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Do you need to set the speaker size and crossover prior to running mcacc or does mcacc override it afterward?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6166 of 6792 Old 06-10-2016, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I ran the mcacc pro and the unit sounds smooth but not dynamic and thunderous like my Onkyo 805.<br />
Anything I could be missing with the set up?<br />
<br />

Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Do you need to set the speaker size and crossover prior to running mcacc or does mcacc override it afterward?
I answered your questions over in the SC95/97/99 thread but for anyone else/future references here's the link:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post44638033

My setup: Sonus Faber Venere 2.5 and center, Ascend HTM200SE surround, NHT atmos minis, dual Rythmik L12's, Pioneer SC-95, Minidsp DDRC-88BM, Rotel RMB1077, LG OLED B7P
brianmlamb is offline  
post #6167 of 6792 Old 06-11-2016, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Claybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 86
&quot;OFFICIAL&quot; Pioneer MCACC thread

I have a vsx-30 pioneer elite that has MCACC. Is there a way to turn MCACC off and not use it? Or are there optimum settings that help things sound better? I am not happy with the set up currently.

Also, is there a way to change the EQ settings? I found where it is but can't change anything?!? Why would they let you see it and not let you change it? I hope I am missing something!

Edit: found manual MCACC and found out how to adjust the EQ. Still wondering about optimum or "recommended" settings. This is not the Pro version which it sounds like is a huge up grade!

Last edited by Claybe; 06-11-2016 at 11:17 AM.
Claybe is offline  
post #6168 of 6792 Old 06-13-2016, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Is it important to have individual sub level calibration like the 95 has even if the subs are co located?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600

Last edited by asere; 06-13-2016 at 07:31 PM.
asere is offline  
post #6169 of 6792 Old 06-15-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I have the Auto calibration on memory 2. Last night on manual eq I measured reverb on memory 2.
Does this mean if I had the reverb at 30-50 on Auto and then on manual I measured at 60-80 then it overrides the 30-50 and now on Auto I have 60-80?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6170 of 6792 Old 06-15-2016, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Off course! If you work over a precise memory this lose their old content.

Try, to get auto on memory 1 (very useful, cause you'll never forgwt their content) and manual with your own test rebervs and EQ on the others....
finitol is offline  
post #6171 of 6792 Old 06-15-2016, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,611
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by finitol View Post
Off course! If you work over a precise memory this lose their old content.

Try, to get auto on memory 1 (very useful, cause you'll never forgwt their content) and manual with your own test rebervs and EQ on the others....
If you do auto. How will you know what reverb it calibrated too? It does not appear on the mccac data review.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6172 of 6792 Old 07-12-2016, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1491 Post(s)
Liked: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCF34 View Post
Anyone know the size of connections for the MCACC cable so I can get an extension on way home from work? I need about a 3' extension and am stopping at Rat Shack and would like to pick one up. Just need the size of male end and female end (or a link to an extension cable would be great)! Thanks!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScAndal View Post

Not sure if it's too late but the size is 1/8" which is pretty standard.
Sorry for the major quote recall from way back in 2013, but Google is an amazing tool... can someone confirm that I can "extend" the length of my MCACC mic chord with just any ($5-$10) 3.5 mm male-to-female extension cable? I need roughly an extra 10-15', and I'm in the process of upgrading to new speakers/sub that are connected to my Pioneer AVR, and sure would like to do a proper room calibration with my new toys...

Last edited by psuKinger; 07-12-2016 at 01:44 PM.
psuKinger is offline  
post #6173 of 6792 Old 07-12-2016, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,029
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3100 Post(s)
Liked: 3035
Yes. Too long and noise pickup can be an issue, and of course really long will cause loss of sensitivity. An extra 10' ~ 15' shouldn't be a problem.
psuKinger likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #6174 of 6792 Old 07-14-2016, 09:18 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
I just finished setting up my room with some new speakers that I purchased. Currently I have Fronts, Center, Sub, Front Heights, Surrounds, and Surround Backs all hooked up to a Pioneer Elite VSX-44. The Receiver can only run 7.1 at a time so EITHER the Front Heights (will run for 5.1 sources using Dolby Digital PLIIz) or Surround Backs (will run for 7.1 sources using auto surround). I've been having some trouble finding some features I read are available with MCACC and this receiver - hoping someone can help.

First, how can I save MCACC runs into memory? I've never seen an option for this, and the manual doesn't explain how to do it. All it says is that if you have surround backs and front heights hooked up like I do, run MCACC twice, once for each of those settings and switching the speaker set will automatically switch the MCACC EQ settings. But I am looking for how to save multiple MCACC settings in just the front height or just the surround back setting. Hope this question makes sense.

Second, is the db level it EQs at 75db?

Third, this isn't exactly MCACC related- but I notice the receiver counts up when changing volume. Movie watching seems about best around volume level 50. Is there any way for me to see what the volume number is in relation to reference audio volume?
citsur86 is offline  
post #6175 of 6792 Old 07-15-2016, 05:22 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
I just finished setting up my room with some new speakers that I purchased. Currently I have Fronts, Center, Sub, Front Heights, Surrounds, and Surround Backs all hooked up to a Pioneer Elite VSX-44. The Receiver can only run 7.1 at a time so EITHER the Front Heights (will run for 5.1 sources using Dolby Digital PLIIz) or Surround Backs (will run for 7.1 sources using auto surround). I've been having some trouble finding some features I read are available with MCACC and this receiver - hoping someone can help.

First, how can I save MCACC runs into memory? I've never seen an option for this, and the manual doesn't explain how to do it. All it says is that if you have surround backs and front heights hooked up like I do, run MCACC twice, once for each of those settings and switching the speaker set will automatically switch the MCACC EQ settings. But I am looking for how to save multiple MCACC settings in just the front height or just the surround back setting. Hope this question makes sense.

Second, is the db level it EQs at 75db?

Third, this isn't exactly MCACC related- but I notice the receiver counts up when changing volume. Movie watching seems about best around volume level 50. Is there any way for me to see what the volume number is in relation to reference audio volume?
Anyone? I hate bumping but the answers to the questions above would help me out immensely!
citsur86 is offline  
post #6176 of 6792 Old 07-15-2016, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
pacman9270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
I just finished setting up my room with some new speakers that I purchased. Currently I have Fronts, Center, Sub, Front Heights, Surrounds, and Surround Backs all hooked up to a Pioneer Elite VSX-44. The Receiver can only run 7.1 at a time so EITHER the Front Heights (will run for 5.1 sources using Dolby Digital PLIIz) or Surround Backs (will run for 7.1 sources using auto surround). I've been having some trouble finding some features I read are available with MCACC and this receiver - hoping someone can help.

First, how can I save MCACC runs into memory? I've never seen an option for this, and the manual doesn't explain how to do it. All it says is that if you have surround backs and front heights hooked up like I do, run MCACC twice, once for each of those settings and switching the speaker set will automatically switch the MCACC EQ settings. But I am looking for how to save multiple MCACC settings in just the front height or just the surround back setting. Hope this question makes sense.

Second, is the db level it EQs at 75db?

Third, this isn't exactly MCACC related- but I notice the receiver counts up when changing volume. Movie watching seems about best around volume level 50. Is there any way for me to see what the volume number is in relation to reference audio volume?
Your AVR should save all 3 settings to Memories 1-3 (FRONT ALLIGN, ALL CH ADJ, and SYMMETRY). Not in that specific order but it should. You should see that when you go to the Full Auto MCACC setting. As long as you assign each setting to each memory, it will save the settings. Have you tried this yet?

I don't believe any of the budget receivers ever EQ to 75dB. You'll need to get an SPL meter and make adjustments after you run the MCACC sequence.

Theater Setup: 5.2.5 (10.1 Auro3D) / ~3100 cu.ft. / Vaulted Ceiling
Projector:JVC DLA-X570R Screen:SI Performance Series 16:9 100" Source Player:Oppo BDP-103D/UDP-203 Pre/Pro:Marantz AV8802A Amps:Emotiva XPA-5(Fronts/Surrounds) and BasX A500(Heights) Fronts/Surrounds:Sonus Faber Venere 2.0 Center:Sonus Faber Venere Center Front/Rear Heights:Definitive Technology PM1000 / ProCenter1000(VOG) Subwoofer:Dual SVS SB-2000 Speaker Wire:Monoprice CL2 12-AWG w/Bananas ICs:BlueJeanCables/Mediabridge
pacman9270 is offline  
post #6177 of 6792 Old 07-15-2016, 08:17 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacman9270 View Post
Your AVR should save all 3 settings to Memories 1-3 (FRONT ALLIGN, ALL CH ADJ, and SYMMETRY). Not in that specific order but it should. You should see that when you go to the Full Auto MCACC setting. As long as you assign each setting to each memory, it will save the settings. Have you tried this yet?

I don't believe any of the budget receivers ever EQ to 75dB. You'll need to get an SPL meter and make adjustments after you run the MCACC sequence.

Hmm I'm not home at the moment, but I've never seen those settings before. When I go to the top menu, it just says Auto MCACC. If I hit OK, it automatically goes into the entire run of first Room Analyze, then Surround Analyze. There is no sub menu or options where I can see Front Align, All Ch Adj, or symmetry. Also - I dont see any UI where i can assign any settings to memory. It basically just redoes the Auto MCACC when i hit OK over it, and then next time just redoes it again and changes the settings - no options to save memory.
citsur86 is offline  
post #6178 of 6792 Old 07-15-2016, 08:33 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
I found in the manual a step I hadn't noticed before. In the image below - step 4 says to press BD button to switch to BD entry? Does that mean while at the MCACC screen I have to hit a source button to save the MCACC profile to that source? Or does it mean I can have different MCACC for different receiver inputs? This thing reads like a stereo manual!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	428.4 KB
ID:	1547313  
citsur86 is offline  
post #6179 of 6792 Old 07-15-2016, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
I just finished setting up my room with some new speakers that I purchased. Currently I have Fronts, Center, Sub, Front Heights, Surrounds, and Surround Backs all hooked up to a Pioneer Elite VSX-44. The Receiver can only run 7.1 at a time so EITHER the Front Heights (will run for 5.1 sources using Dolby Digital PLIIz) or Surround Backs (will run for 7.1 sources using auto surround). I've been having some trouble finding some features I read are available with MCACC and this receiver - hoping someone can help.

First, how can I save MCACC runs into memory? I've never seen an option for this, and the manual doesn't explain how to do it. All it says is that if you have surround backs and front heights hooked up like I do, run MCACC twice, once for each of those settings and switching the speaker set will automatically switch the MCACC EQ settings. But I am looking for how to save multiple MCACC settings in just the front height or just the surround back setting. Hope this question makes sense.

Second, is the db level it EQs at 75db?

Third, this isn't exactly MCACC related- but I notice the receiver counts up when changing volume. Movie watching seems about best around volume level 50. Is there any way for me to see what the volume number is in relation to reference audio volume?
1st when you perform a full auto mcacc calibration. It will automajically determine which speakers you have. By intially sending the test tone for the individual speaker.

No individual audible test tone - no individual speaker present.

During the full auto mcacc calibration it will automajically calibrate all of your speakers.

I can't think of a reason for you to create a seperate calibration memory for your height speakers. Please enlighten me.

From memory if your AVR was like my SC-1222. It is capable of 7.1

You have to choose between surround back speakers or height speakers. While enjoying a movie.

It will drop the back surround speakers and the play the heights.

The only way to engage this mode (heights) was by selecting a DSPmode of Dolby PLIIz

When using Dolby PLIIz, front r and l, center, surround r and l and height speakers will produce sound.

For native 7.1 front r and l, center, surround r and l and back surround speakers will produce sound.

If you want to save individual mcacc cal results. Just remember that everytime you re run mcacc that it will overite memory 1.

Also memory 1 is the default location unless you change to a different memory present.

After you perform full auto mcacc calibration. Go into the gui and select copy mcacc settings to a memory location. Choose any of the six memory presets.

Good luck

Last edited by LNEWoLF; 07-15-2016 at 09:11 AM.
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #6180 of 6792 Old 07-15-2016, 09:10 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
I can't think of a reason for you to create a separate calibration memory for your height speakers. Please explain.
I want a separate MCACC memory for Front Height so I can run it multiple times and see if one EQ run differs from another. If not, I know its consistent and i'll be happy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
If you want to save individual mcacc cal results. Just remember that every time you re run mcacc that it will overwrite memory 1.

Also memory 1 is the default location unless you change to a different memory present.

After you perform full auto mcacc calibration. Go into the gui and select copy mcacc settings to a memory location. Choose any of the six memory presets.

Good luck
This is what I am trying to figure out how to do. I am beginning to suspect that my receiver is not capable of storing MCACC EQs in separate memories because I do not see any screen within the AVR menu that shows me memory presets 1-6 or anything like that. All I have is Auto MCACC (which I understand what it is doing and how it works). I just want to know how, if it exists at all, I access the menu where the memory locations are visible.
citsur86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off