Parasound Owners Thread - Page 212 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 713Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6331 of 6432 Old 04-10-2019, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
WAFWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by neulee View Post
Hi,


I just purchased a 2250 v2 and I have some questions maybe someone here can answer.
What, in electrical terms, does the speaker load switch actually do?
Does it limit current somehow in the 2 ohm position?
Does it change bias in some way?
Why does this switch even exist? I have never owned a piece of equipment with such a switch.


Thanks,


Warren
Hi,
I just purchased a 2250 v.2 and I have some questions maybe someone here can answer.
What, in electrical terms, does the speaker load switch actually do?

The speaker load impedance switch reduces the power supply rail voltage for the output stage. The purpose of this is to avoid stressing the output stage and to reduce its heat output.

Does it limit current somehow in the 2 ohm position?
It does not limit current. Ohm’s Law lets us reduce the output stage B+/B- rail voltage so that driving a 2 ohm load won’t draw more current (and create more heat) than driving a 4 ohm load.
When the switch is set to 2-3 ohms rather than 4-8 ohms the rated power output at 2 ohms is the same as the rated power output at 4 ohms.
Per our website:
400 watts x 2 into 4 Ω or 2 Ω (all channels driven)


Does it change bias in some way?
No. Idle current is the same.

Why does this switch even exist? I have never owned a piece of equipment with such a switch.
The 2250 v.2 is one of a family of power amplifiers that are frequently spec’d by custom installers. It is not unusual for them to need high quality amplifiers that can each drive speakers in multiple zones without overheating and shutting down to protect themselves. Something as simple as connecting 4 ohm speakers to both the A & B speaker becomes a 2 ohm load.

I hope this information is helpful.
Kind regards,
Richard Schram
President & CEO
Parasound Products, Inc.

Chris
Parasound Products Inc.
2250 Mckinnon Ave.
San Francisco CA 94124
415-397-7100
WAFWarrior is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6332 of 6432 Old 04-10-2019, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
neulee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mr. Schram \ Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions! This not only benefits me, but everyone on this site.
It is a testament to the quality of Parasound as a company.


Thank you again,

Warren
audiofan1 likes this.
neulee is offline  
post #6333 of 6432 Old 04-18-2019, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I am considering purchasing the Parasound Halo A 52+. Looking for thoughts on adding this amplifier to my system. Currently, I am using an Outlaw 755 which I purchased in 2004. Specs on my current amp: Power output: 200 watts RMS x 5 (all channels driven simultaneously into 8 ohms from 20 Hz to 20 kHz with less than 0.05% total harmonic distortion). I just installed a Marantz 8805 pre/pro. My speakers are SVS Ultra (L,C,R,SR,SL) and two SVS SB13 subwoofers. I play movies, streaming and High Def (SACD) Multichannel surround music (Classical and Jazz).

I read really good reviews of the Parasound amplifier. My thought is to use the Parasound Amp for the 5 main speakers. I'm hopeful it will primarily improve music listening. Then, use my old Outlaw amp to power new elevation speakers for Auro3D. I know pre/pros are like computers and go obsolete (which is why I upgraded from my Marantz AV7702). Amplifiers? I'm not so sure if age is an issue.

Your thoughts?

Marcus

Last edited by Desert Pilot; 05-10-2019 at 06:09 AM.
Desert Pilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6334 of 6432 Old 04-22-2019, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Pilot View Post
I am considering purchasing the Parasound Halo A 52+. Looking for thoughts on adding this amplifier to my system. Currently, I am using an Outlaw 755 which I purchased in 2004. Specs on my current amp: Power output: 200 watts RMS x 5 (all channels driven simultaneously into 8 ohms from 20 Hz to 20 kHz with less than 0.05% total harmonic distortion). I just installed a Marantz 8805 pre/pro. My speakers are SVS Ultra (L,C,R,SR,SL) and two SVS PB13 subwoofers. I play movies, streaming and High Def (SACD) Multichannel surround music (Classical and Jazz).

I read really good reviews of the Parasound amplifier. My thought is to use the Parasound Amp for the 5 main speakers. I'm hopeful it will primarily improve music listening. Then, use my old Outlaw amp to power new elevation speakers for Auro3D. I know pre/pros are like computers and go obsolete (which is why I upgraded from my Marantz AV7702). Amplifiers? I'm not so sure if age is an issue.

Your thoughts?

Marcus
Just purchased the amp. Should arrive wednesday.
Desert Pilot is offline  
post #6335 of 6432 Old 04-25-2019, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Use JC5 auto-on function to control second amp?

New here to the Parasound club as I just got a new JC5 a couple days ago to drive Martin-Logan Quest Z speakers. I had been using an ADCOM GFA-5500, which I thought sounded pretty good (it is now doing surround speaker duty) but the JC5 is definitely better.


I have been making use of the auto-on function of the JC5, which allows you to set a minimum input level with a knob on the rear panel above which the amp will power up. This is extremely convenient for my use case, which includes family and the equipment hidden away in a closet.


If possible, I would like to come up with a way to extract a signal from the JC5 which I could use to power up the ADCOM amp, which has no such auto-on feature. There are any number of controllable power strips that could handle turning on the ADCOM. One obvious way to use the JC5 auto-on is to plug it into on of those power strips that senses current and triggers another outlet in the strip to turn on. While this would work, it defeats the goal of having the JC5 plugged into my media closet dedicated 20A circuit using 12G wire continuously from the amp all the way to the breaker panel.

Lifespeed

91XG Yagi for San Francisco, DB4e bowtie for Fremont
SiliconDust HDHR4-2US network tuners, one per antenna
Media server PC running Emby
TV Fool report
lifespeed is offline  
post #6336 of 6432 Old 04-26-2019, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Can someone explain how the MC impedance knob works on the back of a JC 3 Jr? I have a Grado Sonata V2 Statement (1.0mV) and am trying to "match" it correctly. Where should impedance be and how much dB gain should I use? Never had anything like this before, so excuse my ignorance.

SOTA Nova (III)/Jelco TS-550S/Grado Sonata V2/Parasound JC 3 Jr and Zpre3/Parasound A23+/TEAC A-2520/Philharmonic BMR
6TCycleHum is offline  
post #6337 of 6432 Old 04-26-2019, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Would someone please provide me a link that describes the class A watts per channel of halo products like a21, a23, a31, a51, etc? Thanks!
pdxaudio is offline  
post #6338 of 6432 Old 04-26-2019, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
WAFWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Give us a call!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6TCycleHum View Post
Can someone explain how the MC impedance knob works on the back of a JC 3 Jr? I have a Grado Sonata V2 Statement (1.0mV) and am trying to "match" it correctly. Where should impedance be and how much dB gain should I use? Never had anything like this before, so excuse my ignorance.
I recommend that you call our office and ask for Phil Jackson who can walk you through some of the controls on the JC3 Jr.

415-397-7100

Chris
Parasound Products Inc.
2250 Mckinnon Ave.
San Francisco CA 94124
415-397-7100
WAFWarrior is offline  
post #6339 of 6432 Old 04-26-2019, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Would a zpre3 preamp sound better then my receiver x4200 in Stereo? Currently I'm using the x4200 as a preamp with the parasound hca 1500a amp.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6340 of 6432 Old 04-27-2019, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxaudio View Post
Would someone please provide me a link that describes the class A watts per channel of halo products like a21, a23, a31, a51, etc? Thanks!


While not a link I believe those to be:
A21: 10 wpc
A31/A51: 7-8 wpc
A23: 1-2 wpc

Not sure how the new plus versions do.

I am certain someone will correct me if I have any of the above wrong.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Main Kef: Reference 205/2 & 202/2c, Surrounds: Kef XQ40, Velodyne Optimum 12, Integra DHC 80.3, Ayre K-5xeMP, Oppo BDP-103, Bryston 4Bsst2, Parasound Halo A31. Second B&W: 685 (3), CCM618, Def Tech Powerfield 1500, Onkyo TX-NR1008, Zone 2 Klipsch AW650.
jima4a is offline  
post #6341 of 6432 Old 04-27-2019, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
While not a link I believe those to be:
A21: 10 wpc
A31/A51: 7-8 wpc
A23: 1-2 wpc

Not sure how the new plus versions do.

I am certain someone will correct me if I have any of the above wrong.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks! I read about 83 page of this thread so far and found similar information for A21 and A31/A51. I believe A23 is about 2.75 wpc. I was told the plus version will have same class A watts as the case is the same size.

I am wondering if it is worth it to switch from A23 to A21 to power my mains.

My mains are Paradigm Signature S2 v2 and I crossover my mains at 80 Hz. I wonder by crossing over at 80 Hz, will I need more class A watts or not...
pdxaudio is offline  
post #6342 of 6432 Old 04-27-2019, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxaudio View Post
I am wondering if it is worth it to switch from A23 to A21 to power my mains.
I preferred the A21 to A 23 for driving KEF LS50s. There was just more there there. I'm now using 3 JC 1s in low bias mode for LCR. The low-bias spec is 10 watts class A, but they are said to produce more class A watts when tested. I suspect I never use near 10 watts. High bias is 25 watts class A, but the amps get hotter than hell.
dbphd is offline  
post #6343 of 6432 Old 04-28-2019, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
While not a link I believe those to be:
A21: 10 wpc
A31/A51: 7-8 wpc
A23: 1-2 wpc

Not sure how the new plus versions do.

I am certain someone will correct me if I have any of the above wrong.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Any info about hint which is probably closer to a23 than a21?

Sent from my Mi Note 3 using Tapatalk



Parasound Halo Integrated, Pioneer SC-LX 901, Oppo-205, Polk Audio LSiM 705 + Heco Aurora Center 30 + Heco Victa Prime 202
vavan is online now  
post #6344 of 6432 Old 04-28-2019, 07:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I preferred the A21 to A 23 for driving KEF LS50s. There was just more there there. I'm now using 3 JC 1s in low bias mode for LCR. The low-bias spec is 10 watts class A, but they are said to produce more class A watts when tested. I suspect I never use near 10 watts. High bias is 25 watts class A, but the amps get hotter than hell.
Thanks! That was with crossover set at around 80 Hz or so or full range play bank?
pdxaudio is offline  
post #6345 of 6432 Old 04-28-2019, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxaudio View Post
Thanks! That was with crossover set at around 80 Hz or so or full range play bank?
The A21 drove the LS50s full range. Even after I introduced a pair of subs, I used only 24 dB/octave low-pass crossover at 60 Hz so the range of the subs was limited but not that of the LS50s. I don't recall whether I was using a Parasound JC 2 preamp or Cary Cinema 12 processor, probably the Cary.
dbphd is offline  
post #6346 of 6432 Old 04-28-2019, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
The A21 drove the LS50s full range. Even after I introduced a pair of subs, I used only 24 dB/octave low-pass crossover at 60 Hz so the range of the subs was limited but not that of the LS50s. I don't recall whether I was using a Parasound JC 2 preamp or Cary Cinema 12 processor, probably the Cary.
I see. Yeah, I have found that going full range with a23 is just so so. I have been listening to stereo in "All Ch Stereo" mode, using 5 speakers, all crossed 80 Hz or higher. In that way, I think a23 (3 of them) could operate in class A mode most of the time and sound much better that way.
pdxaudio is offline  
post #6347 of 6432 Old 04-29-2019, 12:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,414
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Liked: 2093
Need to figure out if my 5250 stopped working or the rca outs on my Yamaha 5100 went out. Have been losing audio intermittently a few time the past couple weeks. Thought it was my xfinity box. Not the case. Put in the Rotel and used the XLR connectors. So far so good. Guess I need to haul that thing upstairs and try it with my Marantz. Bummer.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #6348 of 6432 Old 04-30-2019, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have read through the thread and don't believe there is a definite answer to optimum operating temperature range. Is there a particular temperature that an amp should not reach? What is a normal operating temperature range for a21, a23, etc? Thanks!
pdxaudio is offline  
post #6349 of 6432 Old 05-02-2019, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Jarrod2750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Need to figure out if my 5250 stopped working or the rca outs on my Yamaha 5100 went out. Have been losing audio intermittently a few time the past couple weeks. Thought it was my xfinity box. Not the case. Put in the Rotel and used the XLR connectors. So far so good. Guess I need to haul that thing upstairs and try it with my Marantz. Bummer.

S~
Try cleaning the inputs/outputs with deoxit. Sometimes the connection points will get dirty

Marantz AV8805, Parasound Halo a21, (2)Parasound 2250, Parasound 275, Panamax 5400PM
Klipsch Epic CF3 V1, KV 4, (4) RP250S,(2)RP140S (2)CDT5650
LG Oled 65C8,Oppo 205, Pro-ject 2xperience Classic w/Music Hall speed Control
Cambridge Audio Azur 851N, Harmony Ultimate
Jarrod2750 is offline  
post #6350 of 6432 Old 05-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
dakar80124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Denver Colo area
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Pilot View Post
I am considering purchasing the Parasound Halo A 52+. Looking for thoughts on adding this amplifier to my system. Currently, I am using an Outlaw 755 which I purchased in 2004. Specs on my current amp: Power output: 200 watts RMS x 5 (all channels driven simultaneously into 8 ohms from 20 Hz to 20 kHz with less than 0.05% total harmonic distortion). I just installed a Marantz 8805 pre/pro. My speakers are SVS Ultra (L,C,R,SR,SL) and two SVS PB13 subwoofers. I play movies, streaming and High Def (SACD) Multichannel surround music (Classical and Jazz).

I read really good reviews of the Parasound amplifier. My thought is to use the Parasound Amp for the 5 main speakers. I'm hopeful it will primarily improve music listening. Then, use my old Outlaw amp to power new elevation speakers for Auro3D. I know pre/pros are like computers and go obsolete (which is why I upgraded from my Marantz AV7702). Amplifiers? I'm not so sure if age is an issue.

Your thoughts?

Marcus
Hello. Hey, I'm seriously looking at the Halo A52+ as well. I won't be doing anything for approx. 2 months from now due to moving but this is the #1 amp on my list and want to use it with a 5.1 Martin Logan Motion system with 35XT's and ML 15 surrounds. And then later setup 5.1.4.
So what did you think of this amp with your SVS? What differences did you notice and does this amp get hot at all?
The Halo A52+ has gotten some rave reviews and seems to have the perfect amount of power.
dakar80124 is offline  
post #6351 of 6432 Old 05-09-2019, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I was planning to get Halo A21 or A23. Do you guys which one would i be able to use with Martin Logan Vista or Klipsch RF280?
iliasmd is offline  
post #6352 of 6432 Old 05-09-2019, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by iliasmd View Post
I was planning to get Halo A21 or A23. Do you guys which one would i be able to use with Martin Logan Vista or Klipsch RF280?

Hard to go wrong with high power into electrostatic speakers. I upgraded from an ADCOM GFA-5500 (350W into 4 ohms) to Parasound JC5 (600W into 4 ohms) driving ML Quest Z. The difference was noticeable and well worth it.

Lifespeed

91XG Yagi for San Francisco, DB4e bowtie for Fremont
SiliconDust HDHR4-2US network tuners, one per antenna
Media server PC running Emby
TV Fool report

Last edited by lifespeed; 05-16-2019 at 07:25 PM.
lifespeed is offline  
post #6353 of 6432 Old 05-09-2019, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifespeed View Post
New here to the Parasound club as I just got a new JC5 a couple days ago to drive Martin-Logan Quest Z speakers. I had been using an ADCOM GFA-5500, which I thought sounded pretty good (it is now doing surround speaker duty) but the JC5 is definitely better.


I have been making use of the auto-on function of the JC5, which allows you to set a minimum input level with a knob on the rear panel above which the amp will power up. This is extremely convenient for my use case, which includes family and the equipment hidden away in a closet.


If possible, I would like to come up with a way to extract a signal from the JC5 which I could use to power up the ADCOM amp, which has no such auto-on feature. There are any number of controllable power strips that could handle turning on the ADCOM. One obvious way to use the JC5 auto-on is to plug it into on of those power strips that senses current and triggers another outlet in the strip to turn on. While this would work, it defeats the goal of having the JC5 plugged into my media closet dedicated 20A circuit using 12G wire continuously from the amp all the way to the breaker panel.

So to answer my own question, this is possible. The trigger input has a "loop" output, I think they are electrically the same point, to allow daisy-chaining a trigger signal. However, I tested this 1/8" mono jack connection point and it does go high when auto-on activates. So I then connected the JC5 trigger loop jack to this voltage-controlled opto-isolated power strip, and the second amp is now switched on by the Parasound.

Lifespeed

91XG Yagi for San Francisco, DB4e bowtie for Fremont
SiliconDust HDHR4-2US network tuners, one per antenna
Media server PC running Emby
TV Fool report
lifespeed is offline  
post #6354 of 6432 Old 05-10-2019, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakar80124 View Post
Hello. Hey, I'm seriously looking at the Halo A52+ as well. I won't be doing anything for approx. 2 months from now due to moving but this is the #1 amp on my list and want to use it with a 5.1 Martin Logan Motion system with 35XT's and ML 15 surrounds. And then later setup 5.1.4.
So what did you think of this amp with your SVS? What differences did you notice and does this amp get hot at all?
The Halo A52+ has gotten some rave reviews and seems to have the perfect amount of power.
So far I am loving this amp. Of course, I am tweaking settings in my system to get the best sound so I am not completely set yet. The amp does not run hot. Aside from the huge heat sinks, I put an AC Infinity AIRCOM T8, Quiet Cooling Blower Fan on top for extra cooling. For a multi channel surround system, this is a great amp.

Note: I have the SVS SB13 Ultra subwoofers, not the ported model. My error in my original post.

Marcus
dakar80124 likes this.
Desert Pilot is offline  
post #6355 of 6432 Old 05-14-2019, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I have a question related to adding Parasound A23 to Anthem MRX 520 to add more power to ML Vista electrostatic speakers at the front. Will I lose the ARC capabilities for these front speakers from Anthem or other features from ANthem receiver by using the amplifier? Sorry for this naive question as I am still in learning mode.
iliasmd is offline  
post #6356 of 6432 Old 05-14-2019, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Delija's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NS
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 285
ARC (and any room correction on any AVR) will work just fine.

Anthem MRX 720 | Parasound Halo A21
Dynaudio Contour 60 | Dynaudio Excite X28 | Dynaudio Emit M20 | 2x SVS SB16-Ultra
LG OLED65C7V
Delija is offline  
post #6357 of 6432 Old 05-16-2019, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,889
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 583 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Proud owner of my first Parasound. The A52+ was delivered on Tuesday. It will be another week till my custom entertainment center gets finished so it's sleeping in its box at the moment lol. The wait is killing me but I'm hoping this will be much better than running my setup on a stand alone Marantz 7011. Will report back with pics in a week or two.

Sony 75X900E 4K
Marantz SR7011 Parasound Halo A52+
Klipsch RF7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's, RP500SAs Atmos
SVS Dual SB13 Ultra's
Oppo UDP-203 4K Sony PS4 Pro Panamax 5300PM
cchunter is offline  
post #6358 of 6432 Old 05-21-2019, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I bought the Parasound A23 and it is driving my Martin Logan Vista electrostatic speakers thru Anthem MRX 520. I hooked up the system and see a good difference with my surround since Anthem is now getting some bandwidth to drive them. But my ML speakers are not that great. I had set up the parasound with THX reference for gain level. Kept the sensitivity at 12 o clock, ran the ARC. Is there anything i am missing here to make them sound extraordinary? Because I don't see any significant difference with parasound a23.
iliasmd is offline  
post #6359 of 6432 Old 05-21-2019, 09:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by stash64 View Post
^
The 12V trigger works fine on my A21 as well. But given there is only one trigger input, the audio sensing turn on option is the better choice if using more than one pre-amp. I may have to purchase a couple of male to female mono cables, one for each pre-amp, and just swap the amp trigger cable back and forth.

If both sources offer a 12V trigger output you can build a simple wired-OR with a diode in series with each of the 12V trigger outputs. Just another way to skin the cat.

Lifespeed

91XG Yagi for San Francisco, DB4e bowtie for Fremont
SiliconDust HDHR4-2US network tuners, one per antenna
Media server PC running Emby
TV Fool report
lifespeed is offline  
post #6360 of 6432 Old 05-21-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by iliasmd View Post
I bought the Parasound A23 and it is driving my Martin Logan Vista electrostatic speakers thru Anthem MRX 520. I hooked up the system and see a good difference with my surround since Anthem is now getting some bandwidth to drive them. But my ML speakers are not that great. I had set up the parasound with THX reference for gain level. Kept the sensitivity at 12 o clock, ran the ARC. Is there anything i am missing here to make them sound extraordinary? Because I don't see any significant difference with parasound a23.

There are a lot of variables here. Presumably you're using the pre-outs from Anthem MRX receiver -> A23 amp -> ML Vista speakers? I own a pair of ML Quest Z electrostats, and noticed a significant improvement when I upgraded from ADCOM GFA-5500 at 350W to Parasound JC5 at 600W. I chalked this up to the lower source impedance driving the panels, which drop to less than 1 ohm at high frequencies.


I guess what I'm saying is there is some evidence that ML speakers sound better with a very powerful amp driving them, which does not describe the A23. I have also heard the Vistas are not ML's best design, but I have no personal experience with them, so take that for what it is worth.

Lifespeed

91XG Yagi for San Francisco, DB4e bowtie for Fremont
SiliconDust HDHR4-2US network tuners, one per antenna
Media server PC running Emby
TV Fool report
lifespeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Parasound , Parasound Products Inc , Parasound Classic 2100 Stereo Pre Amp

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off