Official Emotiva XPA-5 Owners Thread - Page 86 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 102Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2551 of 2605 Old 08-26-2016, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,642
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1412 Post(s)
Liked: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpr View Post
Any recommendations? Looking for good to high quality most bang for the buck type option.
Some test results here:

http://data-bass.ipbhost.com/index.p...plifier-tests/

Most are overkill though. Majority of people like the INUKE from behringer and for the price they are hard to beat (assuming price is a driving factor for you). I wouldn't consider anything less than the 6000 (with dsp if this is for subwoofers). Works with 4 or 8 ohms per channel. Single channel usage will allow for more power than stereo even though you cannot bridge the amplifier.

You can pick up an amp that you can actually bridge, but will more than likely pay more money per watt than running the inuke with a single channel.

Crest CC4000 or CC5500 are also good options along with the Crown XLS series.

This is pretty off topic now though so if you link to a new thread we can continue discussion.
dwaleke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2552 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 07:16 AM
rpr
Member
 
rpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for all the feedback. Looks like I also need an external crossover. Those miniDSP's look like a PITA to configure. Probably will go the analog route.

Two final questions, one on topic and one final off topic (apologies):

1. I have the XPA-5 Gen 2. That puts out 250 WRMS/channel with all channels driven I believe. I can't seem to find to what degree that will ramp up if I don't use all 5 channels. If I only use 4 channels (including for the sub), how much would the power per channel likely increase?

2. Of all the amps mentioned, Crest, Crown, Behringer, etc., which ones and which lines run the quietest? That's a major consideration for me. I have all my equipment in a cabinet with fans that come on automatically when the temp reaches a certain point. I'm already close to what I would consider to be my max acceptable fan dB level.

Thanks for all the help!
rpr is offline  
post #2553 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
Minimal power increase if you only use one or two channels. Going from 5 to 4 channels I would not expect it to be remotely audible. It ain't an AVR with limited power supply and cooling.

Is the closet ventilated? Whenever I have done that I have installed a vent (sometimes a vented door) and ceiling exhaust fan to keep the (things in the) closet from overheating. I have also added insulation to dampen the sound in the listening area on occasion.

I have no recent experience with Crest and the experience I had in the past with several of their amplifiers in a couple of installations was poor (unreliable).
Crown I have a lot of experience with, all positive, and Crown has a good rep. Behringer seems widely recommended here but I have no experience with their recent amplifiers. The iNuke's have fans but they make some amplifiers like the A500 that are fanless.

The fan noise depends on how hot the amp and how hard you push it. There are mods around to reduce the noise, but I'd be leery of doing that if they are mounted in a closet. Most folk running pro amps are not pushing them anywhere near their limits so fan noise is rarely an issue. You could look for fanless (convection-cooled) amps, pro or consumer, but you will likely pay more and will need to ensure adequate airflow even for them.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley

Last edited by DonH50; 08-27-2016 at 08:16 AM.
DonH50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2554 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpr View Post
1. I have the XPA-5 Gen 2. That puts out 250 WRMS/channel with all channels driven I believe. I can't seem to find to what degree that will ramp up if I don't use all 5 channels. If I only use 4 channels (including for the sub), how much would the power per channel likely increase?
THe XPA-5 is rated at 200W/CH @8ohms and 300W/CH @4ohms . I don't see anywhere in the documentation stating an increase in output power if not all channels are used. If there was a power increase it would most likely be negligible between the 5CH driven ratings vs. 4CH driven. A doubling of your power will, at best, give you an increase of 3dB in output.



Quote:
Originally Posted by rpr View Post
2. Of all the amps mentioned, Crest, Crown, Behringer, etc., which ones and which lines run the quietest? That's a major consideration for me. I have all my equipment in a cabinet with fans that come on automatically when the temp reaches a certain point. I'm already close to what I would consider to be my max acceptable fan dB level.
I'm not sure about the Crown or the Crest, but my Behringer with a fan mod is dead silent unless your ear is right on it. Of course this will negate any warranty, but if you're willing to take the risk it's the way to go. I've heard that some Crowns are silent until they start getting too warm, but I don't know what "too warm" is nor do I know how loud they are when that happens.

Last edited by duc135; 08-27-2016 at 09:29 AM.
duc135 is offline  
post #2555 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 10:30 AM
rpr
Member
 
rpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, my equipment is in an enclosed wooden cabinet. Not ideal by far, but I have vents installed in the cabinet doors with automatic fans. It does the job, I just don't want anymore fan noise than I already have.

I read an article that said the power on the XPA-Gen 2's was increased from 200W RMS/channel to 250 W RMS/channel. That article was obviously incorrect as I just checked the manual based on your response above.

The link to that other thread with the testing is intense, over my head but he seems to have very good results from the Crest CC and Behringer iNuke series. I'm actually leaning toward the 4 channel iNuke as that will solve my crossover issue, I can use 2 channels with a HP filter for my Klipsch satellites (only rated at 85 W RMS/channel) and then bridge the other two channels with a LP filter for my outdoor sub Terra AC.SUBe (rated for "400 W max undistorted", whatever that means). Unfortunately, I think that iNuke puts out way too much power for my application.

Last edited by rpr; 08-27-2016 at 11:16 AM.
rpr is offline  
post #2556 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpr View Post
Thanks, my equipment is in an enclosed wooden cabinet. Not ideal by far, but I have vents installed in the cabinet doors with automatic fans. It does the job, I just don't want anymore fan noise than I already have.

I read an article that said the power on the XOA-Gen 2's was increased from 200W RMS/channel to 250 W RMS/channel. That article was obviously incorrect as I just checked the manual based on your response above.

The link to that other thread with the testing is intense, over my head but he seems to have very good results from the Crest CC and Behringer iNuke series. I'm actually leaning toward the 4 channel iNuke as that will solve my crossover issue, I can use 2 channels with a HP filter for my Klipsch satellites (only rated at 85 W RMS/channel) and then bridge the other two channels with a LP filter for my outdoor sub Terra AC.SUBe (I think this is rated for 200 to a max of 450 W RMS/channel). However, quite frankly, I think that iNuke puts out too much power.
I believe the Gen3s are 250W/CH. You can't have too much power. It could be a waste, but it's not going to harm your system. The speakers will draw what they need and nothing more.
duc135 is offline  
post #2557 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Question on using URL-4 rack ears

Hey guys - Have an XPA-5 gen3 that uses the URL-4 rack ears. It came with 14 little black screws which clearly are to mount the rack ears to the 7 screws on each side of the unit. However the rack ears also came with a separate bag of hardware - specifically 4 thicker silver screws (for which there is no matching holes on the XPA unit), 4 square little brackets of some sort, and 4 black plastic washer-like pieces. What is that stuff for? I am thinking that perhaps there are two different types of mounting hardware depending on what type of rack you are using? My plan is to just use the 14 little screws and set the other hardware aside. Make sense? Just curious - what is that other hardware for? See attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9599.JPG
Views:	76
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	1626177  
lovingdvd is offline  
post #2558 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Hey guys - Have an XPA-5 gen3 that uses the URL-4 rack ears. It came with 14 little black screws which clearly are to mount the rack ears to the 7 screws on each side of the unit. However the rack ears also came with a separate bag of hardware - specifically 4 thicker silver screws (for which there is no matching holes on the XPA unit), 4 square little brackets of some sort, and 4 black plastic washer-like pieces. What is that stuff for? I am thinking that perhaps there are two different types of mounting hardware depending on what type of rack you are using? My plan is to just use the 14 little screws and set the other hardware aside. Make sense? Just curious - what is that other hardware for? See attached.
Those are the screws you would use to mount the amp to the rack. The four square nuts attach to the rack holes then the rack ears are attachednto the rack using the included bolts.
duc135 is offline  
post #2559 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
The washers are to keep the amp from touching the rack to prevent ground loops. May or may not be needed.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #2560 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
Those are the screws you would use to mount the amp to the rack. The four square nuts attach to the rack holes then the rack ears are attachednto the rack using the included bolts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
The washers are to keep the amp from touching the rack to prevent ground loops. May or may not be needed.
Ah, OK, makes sense now. So screw into plastic washer into metal square bracket into rail? However - I just checked and these larger screws are bigger than 10-32 which fit my Middle Atlantic BGR rack. Isn't 10-32 standard? The washer, however, will fit a 10-32 screw so I can just use that.

The square bracket - that won't fit on my rail. My rail tucks right into the side of the rack so there is no gap on the inside edge of the rail to be able to snap that square bracket on. I suppose it is not needed.

So I guess the question comes down to whether or not to use the washer... It sure seems like a good idea if screwing into a rack can create a possible ground loop issue. However this plastic washer wouldn't provide the same solid "bolting" onto the rack rail like screwing into it would... So I don't want to use the washers if there is no real-world benefit in my situation. Thoughts?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #2561 of 2605 Old 08-27-2016, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
Actually, if there is only one washer it is probably to protect the faceplate. You need two to isolate the chassis (and they usually are flat with a small flange to help keep the bolt from shorting to the component ears or rack rails). I have used them many times with no problems in installations that have been in use for decades but hopefully you do not need to go that far.

bolt -> washer -> rack mount tab/ear on component -> rack rail -> nut

They should be standard 10-32 fine-thread bolts.

HTH - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #2562 of 2605 Old 08-30-2016, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 20


And look what arrived today! Christmas in August!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pacman9270 likes this.

Host of The Beginner Audiophile Podcast http://beginneraudiophile.com - @beginneraudiophile on IG
This Week: Paradigm Prestige 85F mains | Paradigm Prestige 45c center | Paradigm Monitor 3 surrounds | Marantz SR7009 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Marantz 5005 Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4 | REGA DAC.
emptyo is offline  
post #2563 of 2605 Old 08-31-2016, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
pacman9270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 72
What are you pairing with the amp?

Theater Setup: 5.2.5 (10.1 Auro3D) / ~3100 cu.ft. / Vaulted Ceiling
Projector:JVC DLA-X570R Screen:SI Performance Series 16:9 100" Source Player:Oppo BDP-103D/UDP-203 Pre/Pro:Marantz AV8802A Amps:Emotiva XPA-5(Fronts/Surrounds) and BasX A500(Heights) Fronts/Surrounds:Sonus Faber Venere 2.0 Center:Sonus Faber Venere Center Front/Rear Heights:Definitive Technology PM1000 / ProCenter1000(VOG) Subwoofer:Dual SVS SB-2000 Speaker Wire:Monoprice CL2 12-AWG w/Bananas ICs:BlueJeanCables/Mediabridge
pacman9270 is offline  
post #2564 of 2605 Old 08-31-2016, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacman9270 View Post
What are you pairing with the amp?


Marantz SR7009 AVR


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Host of The Beginner Audiophile Podcast http://beginneraudiophile.com - @beginneraudiophile on IG
This Week: Paradigm Prestige 85F mains | Paradigm Prestige 45c center | Paradigm Monitor 3 surrounds | Marantz SR7009 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Marantz 5005 Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4 | REGA DAC.
emptyo is offline  
post #2565 of 2605 Old 08-31-2016, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vitod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pocono, PA
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 165
WOW, I haven't checked Emotiva for a long time and the current prices are compared when they first started. $1500 for the 5 channel? My lord. Granted, mine is Gen 1 but it was a smoking deal. It's staying forever.

The good old days of quality, inexpensive gear is gone.
pacman9270 likes this.

Panasonic AE-8000, Carada BW 120", Paradigm Studio 40v3 x 2, Paradigm 690v4, Paradigm ADP 470v3 (rears), Micca M-8C x 4, Volt 6 x 2 (SR), SI DS4-18 in 12cuft X 2, Marantz 7702MKII, OPPO 103D, Emotiva XPA-3,
vitod is offline  
post #2566 of 2605 Old 08-31-2016, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitod View Post
WOW, I haven't checked Emotiva for a long time and the current prices are compared when they first started. $1500 for the 5 channel? My lord. Granted, mine is Gen 1 but it was a smoking deal. It's staying forever.

The good old days of quality, inexpensive gear is gone.


I agree, what emotiva charges for their gen 3 stuff is too much. Id rather save up and get parasound or something.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
nohcho is online now  
post #2567 of 2605 Old 09-01-2016, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
pacman9270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by emptyo View Post
Marantz SR7009 AVR


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nice! I'm loving XT32 right now. I have mine paired with the AV8802A. I have not regretted my purchases at all. Congrats!

Theater Setup: 5.2.5 (10.1 Auro3D) / ~3100 cu.ft. / Vaulted Ceiling
Projector:JVC DLA-X570R Screen:SI Performance Series 16:9 100" Source Player:Oppo BDP-103D/UDP-203 Pre/Pro:Marantz AV8802A Amps:Emotiva XPA-5(Fronts/Surrounds) and BasX A500(Heights) Fronts/Surrounds:Sonus Faber Venere 2.0 Center:Sonus Faber Venere Center Front/Rear Heights:Definitive Technology PM1000 / ProCenter1000(VOG) Subwoofer:Dual SVS SB-2000 Speaker Wire:Monoprice CL2 12-AWG w/Bananas ICs:BlueJeanCables/Mediabridge
pacman9270 is offline  
post #2568 of 2605 Old 09-01-2016, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vitod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pocono, PA
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohcho View Post
I agree, what emotiva charges for their gen 3 stuff is too much. Id rather save up and get parasound or something.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Don't forget Adcom. Ugly as hell but built like tanks. Used 7500 are around $300-$450.

Panasonic AE-8000, Carada BW 120", Paradigm Studio 40v3 x 2, Paradigm 690v4, Paradigm ADP 470v3 (rears), Micca M-8C x 4, Volt 6 x 2 (SR), SI DS4-18 in 12cuft X 2, Marantz 7702MKII, OPPO 103D, Emotiva XPA-3,
vitod is offline  
post #2569 of 2605 Old 09-01-2016, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacman9270 View Post
Nice! I'm loving XT32 right now. I have mine paired with the AV8802A. I have not regretted my purchases at all. Congrats!


Thanks! I haven't run it yet, but am excited to.

Is there some sort of remote turn on for the amp?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Host of The Beginner Audiophile Podcast http://beginneraudiophile.com - @beginneraudiophile on IG
This Week: Paradigm Prestige 85F mains | Paradigm Prestige 45c center | Paradigm Monitor 3 surrounds | Marantz SR7009 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Marantz 5005 Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4 | REGA DAC.
emptyo is offline  
post #2570 of 2605 Old 09-02-2016, 08:18 AM
Home Theater Enthusiast
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 5,823
Mentioned: 125 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1366 Post(s)
Liked: 2130
Someone sell me their mint condition/100% working perfect XPA5-GEN2 AMP please...

Wisconsin Home Theater Enthusiasts Meet: Main Thread l Gear For Sale
SOWK Home Theater
SOWK is offline  
post #2571 of 2605 Old 09-02-2016, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
Quote:
Originally Posted by emptyo View Post
Thanks! I haven't run it yet, but am excited to.

Is there some sort of remote turn on for the amp?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There is a trigger output from the Marantz. Should coome with a mono cable to plug into the trigger input on the Emotiva amp. Be sure to check the manual and get the switches set rightly on the back of the amp.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #2572 of 2605 Old 09-03-2016, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
There is a trigger output from the Marantz. Should coome with a mono cable to plug into the trigger input on the Emotiva amp. Be sure to check the manual and get the switches set rightly on the back of the amp.
I thought there should be something like that. Thanks!

Host of The Beginner Audiophile Podcast http://beginneraudiophile.com - @beginneraudiophile on IG
This Week: Paradigm Prestige 85F mains | Paradigm Prestige 45c center | Paradigm Monitor 3 surrounds | Marantz SR7009 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Marantz 5005 Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4 | REGA DAC.
emptyo is offline  
post #2573 of 2605 Old 09-04-2016, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I grabbed a cable from Radio Shack. All is well.

Next question: After running Audyssey, my settings are REALLY low, and it was suggested I turn the amp down. Is that even possible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Host of The Beginner Audiophile Podcast http://beginneraudiophile.com - @beginneraudiophile on IG
This Week: Paradigm Prestige 85F mains | Paradigm Prestige 45c center | Paradigm Monitor 3 surrounds | Marantz SR7009 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Marantz 5005 Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4 | REGA DAC.
emptyo is offline  
post #2574 of 2605 Old 09-04-2016, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by emptyo View Post
I grabbed a cable from Radio Shack. All is well.

Next question: After running Audyssey, my settings are REALLY low, and it was suggested I turn the amp down. Is that even possible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What settings are low? Any changes you make to the output of the amp will require a rerun of audyssey.

Are you hitting the negative 12.5db wall on your speakers?
goros is offline  
post #2575 of 2605 Old 09-04-2016, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
If you have very efficient speakers and/or are sitting fairly close to them then the gain trims may be set too low. Implies you don't really need the amplifier... You can pick up inline attenuators to reduce the effective amplifier gain.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #2576 of 2605 Old 09-04-2016, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by goros View Post
What settings are low? Any changes you make to the output of the amp will require a rerun of audyssey.



Are you hitting the negative 12.5db wall on your speakers?
Here's what I ended up with after running Audyssey.







Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Host of The Beginner Audiophile Podcast http://beginneraudiophile.com - @beginneraudiophile on IG
This Week: Paradigm Prestige 85F mains | Paradigm Prestige 45c center | Paradigm Monitor 3 surrounds | Marantz SR7009 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Marantz 5005 Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4 | REGA DAC.
emptyo is offline  
post #2577 of 2605 Old 09-05-2016, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by emptyo View Post
Here's what I ended up with after running Audyssey.







Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's really weird. Did you use the correct microphone that came with the avr and on a mic stand?
goros is offline  
post #2578 of 2605 Old 09-05-2016, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
It is indicative of a system with too much gain from AVR to ears. And that you may not have needed to add the amplifier at all. Or simply that the external amplifier has more gain than the internal amplifiers (not unusual) so you need to adjust the gain someplace before the amplifier.

- What were the settings before you added the amplifier?
- What speakers are you using, and how far away from them do you sit?

I would check to see if there is another gain or trim setting someplace in the AVR to reduce the volume.

You can buy inline attenuators to reduce the signal level to the amplifier, something like these: http://www.parts-express.com/Search....itesearch=true I would try the 12 dB version since you are all the way down, or maybe 6 dB if you want room to turn up the trims after Audyssey does its thing. There are probably cheaper versions around, I found these after a quick search of Parts Express.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #2579 of 2605 Old 09-05-2016, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
If you have very efficient speakers and/or are sitting fairly close to them then the gain trims may be set too low. Implies you don't really need the amplifier... You can pick up inline attenuators to reduce the effective amplifier gain.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
It is indicative of a system with too much gain from AVR to ears. And that you may not have needed to add the amplifier at all. Or simply that the external amplifier has more gain than the internal amplifiers (not unusual) so you need to adjust the gain someplace before the amplifier.

- What were the settings before you added the amplifier?
- What speakers are you using, and how far away from them do you sit?

I would check to see if there is another gain or trim setting someplace in the AVR to reduce the volume.

You can buy inline attenuators to reduce the signal level to the amplifier, something like these: http://www.parts-express.com/Search....itesearch=true I would try the 12 dB version since you are all the way down, or maybe 6 dB if you want room to turn up the trims after Audyssey does its thing. There are probably cheaper versions around, I found these after a quick search of Parts Express.
Interesting. What is the concern about having his trims set where they are? In the Marantz 8802a thread I think it is pretty common for people to report around -8 to -10 dB levels as set by Audyssey. In my case I am using an 8802a with a Emotiva gen3 and speakers with 90 dB sensitivity and Audyssey sets my trims at around -9 dB. Are there any potential issue running it like that?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #2580 of 2605 Old 09-05-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,102
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3143 Post(s)
Liked: 3100
I thought the lower trim limit was -12 dB but I may be wrong. My concern is that, if the "real" value required is say -15 dB, then correct amplitude balance cannot be achieved among the speakers because the attenuation limits at -12 dB, and there is no way for the user to know how far off from ideal the gain is in the system. If the limit of the AVR is -12.1 dB then there is no concern (except very little margin). I am also concerned about the implications for the internal filters with respect to gain and amplitude optimization through the filter chain but have no way of knowing exactly how Audyssey handles that internal. Optimization of signal levels through a cascade of filters gets complicated.

I would not be concerned about a -9 dB trim level if the limit is -12 dB.

I would have the same concerns if Audyssey set the level to +12 dB, implying the amplifier did not have enough gain to balance levels among the speakers. Similar analogy; if a channel needs +15 dB, and the limit is 12 dB, that channel will be be loud enough relative to the other channels,and there is no way to know how far off it is.

HTH - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off