The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 159 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 85Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 4776 Old 05-20-2018, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer VSX 1020

I had my DVD/Blu-ray/Xbox/LD connected to Pioneer VSX 1020 and all working fine
I must have adjusted the settings so normally the Xbox is used when i press HDMI 3. When i go into settings MCACC HDMI3 is greyed out so I cannot select the input. How can i ungrey the HDMI 3 so i can select it, which is the bottom half where you can select Digital/HDMI etc
Tried to follow manual but not much help
mancub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 4776 Old 05-20-2018, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
Bad/loose cable?
Try another input.
Michael
Danabw likes this.
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4743 of 4776 Old 05-20-2018, 05:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah looks like dodgy cable. I switched cables and it worked
Thanks
mancub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4744 of 4776 Old 05-20-2018, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4745 of 4776 Old 10-09-2018, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Do you need to use the included microphone for MCACC?

I'm buying a second hand VSX-1020-K that doesn't come with and of the things like a remote and MCACC microphone. Can I use my own microphone and plug it into the MCACC port on the receiver or it proprietary? Thank you
Ansell-a is offline  
post #4746 of 4776 Old 10-09-2018, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
It is proprietary but available (usually) on eBay.
Welcome to AVS!
Michael
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4747 of 4776 Old 10-10-2018, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ansell-a View Post
I'm buying a second hand VSX-1020-K that doesn't come with and of the things like a remote and MCACC microphone. Can I use my own microphone and plug it into the MCACC port on the receiver or it proprietary? Thank you
I ran auto calibration with the wrong microphone and got very odd results. I can't remember what receiver that was with. I think it's expecting a known microphone so another brand may not work.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4748 of 4776 Old 10-22-2018, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No remote control. What can I do to manually set speakers?

Bought this receiver used from Goodwill. It works like new but I don't have a remote and it looks like most settings are set through the remote. Are their ways to open the MCACC menu on the GUI to manually set speakers through the AVR buttons? Thank you
Ansell-a is offline  
post #4749 of 4776 Old 10-22-2018, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
Yes, download the manual:
https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/P...1020-K#manuals
If you're going to do that, I hope you have a way of taking measurements (REW or the like).
Or just find a mic on eBay and run MCACC.
Or both.
And get a programmable remote (even the cheapest Harmony will have the AVR in the database and provide all the functions you'll ever need).
Michael
Ansell-a likes this.
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4750 of 4776 Old 10-24-2018, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ansell-a View Post
Bought this receiver used from Goodwill. It works like new but I don't have a remote and it looks like most settings are set through the remote. Are their ways to open the MCACC menu on the GUI to manually set speakers through the AVR buttons? Thank you
I haven't used mine in a few years, but it did have a website on the receiver, I can't remember how much you could do from it. There's a pioneer app too, but it wasn't very powerful as I recall.

Make sure any mic you get is a pioneer, I calibrated once with the wrong mic and got really strange results.

A quick glance at ebay shows supposed remotes for the line for around $5, I'm sure they have mics too.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4751 of 4776 Old 11-12-2018, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
dar_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First post as I never had issues before using > 7yrs, Strange problem I am facing now.

When I connect hdmi IN, I hear sound from my pioneer connected speakers fine.

If I connect avr hdmi out to my TV sound stops from my speakers. Also no video on TV. I see pcm flickering displaying up on pioneer display.

I have checked same cable connecting TV directly from cable box working fine. So it's not tv or bad cable. Also done full reset to factory default, No change in behavior. Pass through is off.

Is this hdmi gone bad for my receiver. But why would sound stop when connecting hdmi out, without connecting to HDMI out sound comes out fine.


Any help/insight would be helpful. Thx
dar_p is offline  
post #4752 of 4776 Old 11-12-2018, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
You have, of course, checked the manual and are sure you're using HDMI out.
Michael
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4753 of 4776 Old 11-13-2018, 02:50 AM
Newbie
 
dar_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
You have, of course, checked the manual and are sure you're using HDMI out. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/wink.gif[/IMG]
Michael
Yes it's HDMI Out, connecting to TV. Also pcm shows up flickering on display,


Else would have to buy cheap replacement this Thanksgiving.
dar_p is offline  
post #4754 of 4776 Old 11-13-2018, 07:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by dar_p View Post
Yes it's HDMI Out, connecting to TV. Also pcm shows up flickering on display,


Else would have to buy cheap replacement this Thanksgiving.
So it was working before, or is this a new tv? Have you tried different hdmi cables?
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4755 of 4776 Old 11-13-2018, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
Could be a simple handshake issue (which isn't really simple).
Turn on tv first, wait for it to say it's equivalent of "no signal," then turn on avr.
Michael
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4756 of 4776 Old 11-13-2018, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Hi everyone. My forthcoming question is regarding an older pioneer receiver- vsx 52 (got it in 2011/12) but I’m hoping someone here can help me out anyway as my question is not necessarily specific to that model.
I have what could be a dumb question but bare with me. I’m looking to upgrade to 4K soon but plan to keep using this receiver. Is it compatible with 4K? In other words, can I use it to play ultra blu ray and other 4K content? I realize I wouldn’t be able to run the ultra HD audio that comes on 4K br discs, but would it then default to true Hd/dts master audio?

Thanks in advance!
markmathers is offline  
post #4757 of 4776 Old 11-15-2018, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmathers View Post
Hi everyone. My forthcoming question is regarding an older pioneer receiver- vsx 52 (got it in 2011/12) but I’m hoping someone here can help me out anyway as my question is not necessarily specific to that model.
I have what could be a dumb question but bare with me. I’m looking to upgrade to 4K soon but plan to keep using this receiver. Is it compatible with 4K? In other words, can I use it to play ultra blu ray and other 4K content? I realize I wouldn’t be able to run the ultra HD audio that comes on 4K br discs, but would it then default to true Hd/dts master audio?

Thanks in advance!
Nope, unless you have a uhd player with 2 hdmi outputs, sending one to the tv and the other to the receiver. There's really just Atmos on the audio side and that needs to be able to understand it, so that won't work either. I doubt that receiver has ARC either. My LG has pretty good apps and I can get Atmos from that. I wouldn't worry about uhd bd for the moment, try Amazon and Netflix first.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4758 of 4776 Old 11-15-2018, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmathers View Post
Hi everyone. My forthcoming question is regarding an older pioneer receiver- vsx 52 (got it in 2011/12) but I’m hoping someone here can help me out anyway as my question is not necessarily specific to that model.
I have what could be a dumb question but bare with me. I’m looking to upgrade to 4K soon but plan to keep using this receiver. Is it compatible with 4K? In other words, can I use it to play ultra blu ray and other 4K content? I realize I wouldn’t be able to run the ultra HD audio that comes on 4K br discs, but would it then default to true Hd/dts master audio?

Thanks in advance!
You can definitely receive Dolby TrueHD and DTSMA on this receiver. I cannot recall whether or not Atmos worked on mine. I replaced this receiver back in 2016 and the only Atmos title I owned was "Transformers: Age of Extinction" on Blu Ray. There's no ARC, nor any 4K Passthrough on this receiver.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4759 of 4776 Old 11-23-2018, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer vsx 1020

Will a pioneer vsx 1020 run Martin Logan 60’s
Towre is offline  
post #4760 of 4776 Old 11-24-2018, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towre View Post
Will a pioneer vsx 1020 run Martin Logan 60’s
They are quite sensitive, 94db. It shouldn't have any problems.

http://www.psbspeakers.com/articles/...Specifications
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4761 of 4776 Old 12-01-2018, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Nope, unless you have a uhd player with 2 hdmi outputs, sending one to the tv and the other to the receiver. There's really just Atmos on the audio side and that needs to be able to understand it, so that won't work either. I doubt that receiver has ARC either. My LG has pretty good apps and I can get Atmos from that. I wouldn't worry about uhd bd for the moment, try Amazon and Netflix first.

Thanks for your response! It sounds like it may be worth it to just upgrade my receiver as well. Thanks again.
markmathers is offline  
post #4762 of 4776 Old 12-01-2018, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
You can definitely receive Dolby TrueHD and DTSMA on this receiver. I cannot recall whether or not Atmos worked on mine. I replaced this receiver back in 2016 and the only Atmos title I owned was "Transformers: Age of Extinction" on Blu Ray. There's no ARC, nor any 4K Passthrough on this receiver.

Thank you for your response! That's too bad, as I really liked this receiver but it sounds like it may be obsolete when it comes to 4K. I'll most likely upgrade at some point.
markmathers is offline  
post #4763 of 4776 Old 12-04-2018, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Any thoughts? I need to retire my 1020k to get 4k, and I’m thinking of getting Costco’s Yamaha TSR-7850. I want Atmos 7.1 in my living room and the ability for stereo on my back porch. The Yamaha has a Zone 2 feature that redirects there at speakers. I’m hoping I won’t see any reduction in power and quality.

I’ll miss my 1020k.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4764 of 4776 Old 12-04-2018, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Any thoughts? I need to retire my 1020k to get 4k, and I’m thinking of getting Costco’s Yamaha TSR-7850. I want Atmos 7.1 in my living room and the ability for stereo on my back porch. The Yamaha has a Zone 2 feature that redirects there at speakers. I’m hoping I won’t see any reduction in power and quality.

I’ll miss my 1020k.
I had a Yamaha 867 and really liked that feature too!

I have a 5.4.4 system running on a Denon x6400, previously an x4200. I don't have room for rear surrounds. I think that 5.4.1 is a lot better than 5.2.1, I had 5.2.2 pre Atmos using heights. The rear heights are great on the rare occasion that a show/movie is in Atmos and they actually put something there.

The x6400 supports 11 channels and can reassign 2 speakers to another zone, the x4400 is 9 channels.

I didn't need to upgrade, but got a real deal on a package with a JVC projector and had to get it!

You will not miss the 1020, it was a very primitive gen 1 internet enabled receiver and the app was terrible.
ItzMe likes this.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4765 of 4776 Old 12-11-2018, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer vsx 1020

Will a pioneer vsx 1020 run Martin logan motion 60’s effectively
Towre is offline  
post #4766 of 4776 Old 12-17-2018, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towre View Post
Will a pioneer vsx 1020 run Martin logan motion 60’s effectively
Shouldn't be a problem, they are pretty sensitive speakers.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4767 of 4776 Old 03-08-2019, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 23
There is a lot to read here in this thread. I am considering purchasing a used one of these to upgrade my VSX 919. My 919 is playing fine, but I do like the additional HDMI Inputs on these. I love my 919 actually.

Can someone summarize the issues with the 1020 receiver (if there are any)?

Here are my main wants out of a receiver
1. I want to connect my XBOX, BD Player (x2), Firestick or Chromecast and Cable box via HDMI
2. I want to connect my phono, VCR (yes, I still have a VCR for fun)
3. I want to connect my PC via digital coax out.
4. HDMI Output will feed into my Projector

I like the 1020 for ALL of the possibly inputs, I love having the flexibility even if I dont use them all, I like having it for that just in case I want to hook up my old tape deck.

If the 1020 should be skipped for a newer (older), then what do you recommend...1021, 1022, etc..

Basically I am looking for a successor to my 919 with all the input flexibility.
kezug is offline  
post #4768 of 4776 Old 03-08-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,159
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked: 2224
If whatever AVR you find doesn't have a dedicated phono input, you'll need a separate preamp. No biggie, just something to keep in mind.
You may want to consider upgrading the PC to HDMI output while you're at it.
Michael
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4769 of 4776 Old 03-08-2019, 09:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
If whatever AVR you find doesn't have a dedicated phono input, you'll need a separate preamp. No biggie, just something to keep in mind.
You may want to consider upgrading the PC to HDMI output while you're at it.
Michael
What would I get to upgrade my PC for HDMI out? (Sound card??)
kezug is offline  
post #4770 of 4776 Old 03-09-2019, 06:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,596
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by kezug View Post
What would I get to upgrade my PC for HDMI out? (Sound card??)
I'm confused by what you mean by digital coax. Digital cable tv needs a tuner since it's all encrypted these days, no receiver does that. If you mean coax connection from a pc for digital sound, the 1020 has that input.

HDMI out is video/audio, so you'd need a video card with HDMI out, they aren't expensive at the low end, but most modern pcs whether desktop or laptop have hdmi ports. Personally, I have had pcs connected to my tv/receiver and they're generally a pita because most tvs have overscan which can hide the edges of the windows making it difficult to get to programs. You're better off using the pc to serve up content via plex or some other dlna server. There are plex clients for just about everything including firestick and xbox. My Yamaha and Denon are able to see dlna servers and directly play from them, I can't remember if the 1020 does.

This receiver is the first generation of internet connected devices and is pretty limited in what it can do compared to newer receivers. I went from Pioneer to Yamaha and now to Denon. Pioneer is now owned by Onkyo, so I have written them off. My Denon x6400 has just about everything, including phono, but's very high end.

It would have to be an awfully good deal to get a 10 year old receiver
gregoryperkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off