New Onkyo TX-NR5008 & TX-NR3008 - Page 291 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8701 of 8770 Old 03-11-2015, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22040 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Feeding my 3008 with an Oppo 103. Tried putting in Dark Side of the Moon SACD tonight, no sound. Flashes the hdmi input then goes to analog and no sound. If I set the Oppo to output auto/pcm, then I get sound. I had it set to output DSD before and no problems. What am I missing here?
AFAIK, DSD bitstream only works on HDMI 2 on 103 as opposed to either output on 103D.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8702 of 8770 Old 03-11-2015, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Thanks, I will see if that is it.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #8703 of 8770 Old 10-26-2015, 09:33 AM
Member
 
JBHorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Issue with Composite and Component --> HDMI

Hi everyone,

I have a TX-NR5008 and am having an issue with converting Composite or Component to HDMI output. All of my other sources are HDMI, so I currently don't have any component/composite devices. I picked up a wii cheap for the kids and am having an issue getting to to output over HDMI. The Onkyo manual states this is possible, but it won't work with any settings I try. I can connect the Wii just fine via composite or component directly to the TV. Then I tried using the composite inputs on the front (AUX) and I get sound but blue screen. OSD menus work. Connecting component to the GAME inputs and setting the mapping to IN3, same issue. I've tried with both the 480i and 480p settings in the Wii.

This unit has had the HDMI board replaced twice already. Is this a sign that it's failing again? I wouldn't think the HDMI board handled the conversion (would think that would be a separate video processor), but I'm at a loss here.

I've ordered an HDMI converter for the Wii, so hopefully that will be an ok workaround, but I'd still like to fix the issue.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated! Thanks!
JBHorne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8704 of 8770 Old 08-02-2016, 04:34 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 3008 just died again. This time, I have the no audio issue and no network connection. Thank God Onkyo extended the warranty. I'm thinking of getting the Denon X6300W when it comes out. Has anyone with a 3008/5008 experienced the loss of audio problem with a receiver that has been repaired in 2016?
valero_r is offline  
post #8705 of 8770 Old 08-09-2016, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 218
I have the 3008 as well. I bought it used. It had just came back from having the HDMI repair done. I knew it was a gamble, but for $500 I jumped on it as I wanted to try some new speaker setups. Mainly front wide channels.
Knowing the big issue with these receivers is the HDMI board getting cooked(at least what I have read) I have always used my Parasound Z-Breeze over the top of the HDMI board. Think have had the receiver for a couple years now and no issues and the unit stays nice and cool. I also don't keep my gear in an enclosed rack or cabinetry. The receiver sits in open air with nothing above it, just the Z-Breeze. Fingers crossed I never have issues as I'm not ready to replace it!!!!
Good luck with yours.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #8706 of 8770 Old 08-09-2016, 11:00 AM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
I have the 3008 as well. I bought it used. It had just came back from having the HDMI repair done. I knew it was a gamble, but for $500 I jumped on it as I wanted to try some new speaker setups. Mainly front wide channels.
Knowing the big issue with these receivers is the HDMI board getting cooked(at least what I have read) I have always used my Parasound Z-Breeze over the top of the HDMI board. Think have had the receiver for a couple years now and no issues and the unit stays nice and cool. I also don't keep my gear in an enclosed rack or cabinetry. The receiver sits in open air with nothing above it, just the Z-Breeze. Fingers crossed I never have issues as I'm not ready to replace it!!!!
Good luck with yours.
Thanks for the reply. Onkyo sent me the packing materials, and I should be getting them tomorrow. I keep my 3008 in a open metal/glass rack/stand, and I use a pair of ~7" fans on top of the receiver. When I get my new receiver, my 3008 will replace my 807 as my secondary/backup receiver.
valero_r is offline  
post #8707 of 8770 Old 09-04-2016, 04:13 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not sure what the proper term is, but I'm trying to make my 3008 put out an "up-converted" simulated surround sound from a stereo source (PS4 and PC). I just got my receiver back from repair, and now it will not put out simulated surround sound no matter which sound mode it's in. I'm pretty sure I wasn't having this problem before it was sent in. Sound only comes out of L/R channels even if the front panel says all of the speakers are in use. All audio and video is being sent to the receiver via HDMI cables from my PC and PS4.

I know that my speakers (9.2 no wides) are all working since I hear pink noise when checking the speakers in the "Level Calibration" menu. I also hear sound from the center channel when I'm able to provide a 5.1 source (BD/DVD/NetFlix). If it matters, yes, I have run the Audyssey setup.

If I am forgetting to adjust a menu item on the 3008 or PS4, please point it out. Unfortunately, I can't remember how to set this up.

Thanks!
valero_r is offline  
post #8708 of 8770 Old 09-28-2016, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by valero_r View Post
I'm not sure what the proper term is, but I'm trying to make my 3008 put out an "up-converted" simulated surround sound from a stereo source (PS4 and PC). I just got my receiver back from repair, and now it will not put out simulated surround sound no matter which sound mode it's in. I'm pretty sure I wasn't having this problem before it was sent in. Sound only comes out of L/R channels even if the front panel says all of the speakers are in use. All audio and video is being sent to the receiver via HDMI cables from my PC and PS4.

I know that my speakers (9.2 no wides) are all working since I hear pink noise when checking the speakers in the "Level Calibration" menu. I also hear sound from the center channel when I'm able to provide a 5.1 source (BD/DVD/NetFlix). If it matters, yes, I have run the Audyssey setup.

If I am forgetting to adjust a menu item on the 3008 or PS4, please point it out. Unfortunately, I can't remember how to set this up.

Thanks!


Did you call them? Get it fixed? I run Audyssey DSX for pretty much everything except music. I run 5 front speakers(wides) and 4 rear. Not sure if I will ever try the height speakers as I may just move on to Atmos.
Hope you got it fixed.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #8709 of 8770 Old 09-28-2016, 04:05 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Did you call them? Get it fixed? I run Audyssey DSX for pretty much everything except music. I run 5 front speakers(wides) and 4 rear. Not sure if I will ever try the height speakers as I may just move on to Atmos.
Hope you got it fixed.
The problem isn't really fixed, but I found a way to make it work. I called Onkyo tech support, and the tech said that my DSP chip appeared to be malfunctioning. I sent it back a third time, and it came back better than before. Audio from my media players is separated into multiple channels, but audio from YouTube is still Stereo (L&R only)...and this is from the same computer. Non-5.1 movies on Netflix (PS4) also play in stereo only. I hooked up my PS3 slim to my 3008, and stereo movies (same movie) now have "surround" sound. I know I'm just being picky, but I want the majority of the dialogue to come from the center channel...so I guess I'll keep the PS3 hooked up. I also tried switching to different HDMI ports on the back of the 3008.

A new Denon receiver is looking more tempting every day.

EDIT: I also tried switching HDMI cables--no change.

Last edited by valero_r; 09-28-2016 at 04:11 PM.
valero_r is offline  
post #8710 of 8770 Old 10-05-2016, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
d3193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Control via HDMI

I've recently purchased an LG OLED TV whose remote can control the Onkyo via HDMI. This is convenient except that it always turns the Onkyo on to its number 1 input, which is where I have my PS3 connected (it also turns on the PS3).

Is there some way to have the Onkyo start with a different input (e.g. Cable/Sat)? I cannot find anything in the menus.
d3193 is offline  
post #8711 of 8770 Old 10-21-2016, 12:26 PM
Member
 
JBHorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo has to be the WORST company in the AV business. After installing hundreds of their AVRs and other products, I will NEVER buy from them again. I have had nothing but problems with my TX-NR5008. It has been into service several times already for the same issue -- the audio dropout issue. Last service was done in April. Now, the issue is occurring again. Onkyo Customer Care will not repair the unit stating that since it was already repaired once, the issue "has to have been fixed". Apparently they removed a chip that was causing the issue, and since that chip is no longer there, it's "impossible" for the issue to be still occurring.

If you are not familiar, Onkyo extended the warranty for these units due to this issue (see http://www.onkyousa.com/Support/service_info.php). Within this bulletin it states, "As part of this program we are also extending our standard limited warranty period to cover this issue for affected receivers through December 31, 2018. All other terms, conditions and limitations of the original limited warranty shall continue to apply for the duration of the original standard limited warranty."

The rep flat out stated that they did NOT extend the warranty and will only cover the first repair. Where does it state this within their notice? It's BS and I'll fight this until the end.

Same issue = not fixed.
JBHorne is offline  
post #8712 of 8770 Old 10-21-2016, 04:58 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's odd. When I got my 3008 repaired again (~1 mo. ago) for the same problem, they didn't have a problem repairing it under the extended warranty. I don't remember who I spoke to, but I would call back, and hopefully you can talk to a different person in tech support. Good luck. If my 3008's sound dies again, I'll probably end up getting the Denon 6300.
valero_r is offline  
post #8713 of 8770 Old 03-18-2017, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
chrishicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried searching this topic but I didn't see anything like what I'm experiencing with my 3008 currently. I'm in MI and about 2 weeks ago we lost our power. It was out for my area for 5 days. In this time my house had no heat so the house dropped to around 40 degrees over time. My 3008 was working prior to the power going out and was plugged into a UPS. Once I noticed the power wasn't coming back(around 3-5 minutes) I powered down the receiver. Fast forward those 5 days and power comes back finally. The house is still an icebox because the furnace died so I start checking other things out. I power up the 3008 again and it turns on, I get sound but no video. I try running through the various settings on the display and it's as if the output is stuck on 480i/60. My TV says "not supported". I check one of my sources(Tivo since it has a video output button to cycle through) and no matter what I try I still get not supported on the TV. I pull up the display on the 3008 and I see 2 resolutions on the screen. The top is the 480i/60 and the bottom one is 1080p/60 and it's flickering. I then try to run a standard A/V cable to the TV and it's all wonky. I get 4 boxes on the screen and all of them are just a blur.

I start to suspect the TV so I reconnect my HTPC to the TV directly and it works. I test all the HDMI on the set and they're all fine. Go back to the receiver and it's the same not supported mode on screen. Also, switching between say HDMI Main and Sub as well as using "both" all result in mode not supported on the TV. I'm guessing it's something to do with the 480i/60 shown on the display. After a while of messing with it I decide to do a reset on the unit. After that it's still the same issue. No video at all. Is there some other thing I should try to get this to maybe start working or is it just dead again? I had the HDMI board repaired/replaced back in 2013 due to no sound before Onkyo did the extended warranty so this would be the second repair on it. The Onkyo extended warranty page basically says to toss it in a landfill because I have sound so I'm not sure what to do here.

And just to toss this out there, I connected a Pioneer 1130 I had and everything works with that so it's definitely an issue with the 3008.
chrishicks is offline  
post #8714 of 8770 Old 05-06-2017, 03:21 PM
Member
 
jayman_1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wondering if anyone has tried using their 5008 as a 2 channel pre being fed by a really good analogue source. Just wondering if I need a 2 channel preamp or just a really really good player or maybe dac. Wondering if the 5008 is up to the task
jayman_1975 is offline  
post #8715 of 8770 Old 10-09-2017, 03:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Does anyone know what the Q-factor is in the graphic equalizer for NR-3008?
rickardl is offline  
post #8716 of 8770 Old 12-13-2017, 01:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Does anyone know what the Q-factor is in the graphic equalizer for NR-3008?
I figured it out: 3
rickardl is offline  
post #8717 of 8770 Old 03-31-2018, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 859 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Request for information...

To any TX-NR3008 owner out there can I get a readout of the latest firmware that your receiver is running, also what the download file was?

Examples below:

Like this for the firmware as displayed from the receiver: 1291-2403-0511-4103

And for the firmware file name: ONKAVR001_H2H30000EOREHAHA_111.ZIP

Thanks!

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #8718 of 8770 Old 04-03-2018, 12:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
Request for information...

To any TX-NR3008 owner out there can I get a readout of the latest firmware that your receiver is running, also what the download file was?

Examples below:

Like this for the firmware as displayed from the receiver: 1291-2403-0511-4103

And for the firmware file name: ONKAVR001_H2H30000EOREHAHA_111.ZIP

Thanks!
Are you interested in European firmwares as well?

By the way, is there any difference between all the HDMI inputs AND outputs?
The only difference I can find is that HDMI Main is the only one for ARC but otherwise,
are they indentical of what they can output and receive in terms of formats etc?

I am thinking of adding a chromecast to one of the inputs, any thoughts on that?
rickardl is offline  
post #8719 of 8770 Old 04-03-2018, 06:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 859 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Are you interested in European firmwares as well?

By the way, is there any difference between all the HDMI inputs AND outputs?
The only difference I can find is that HDMI Main is the only one for ARC but otherwise,
are they indentical of what they can output and receive in terms of formats etc?

I am thinking of adding a chromecast to one of the inputs, any thoughts on that?
Richard,

It is my understanding that the firmware will be the same in Europe as they are here in Canada, so yes please share the code version.

I believe you are correct about the HDMI inputs/outputs, and adding Chromecast to one of the inputs should work fine although at this point I do not use Chromecast.

Thanks, Al

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #8720 of 8770 Old 04-05-2018, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I am using 1101-0800-0310-2101 (Main displayed as 1.10/2619AH)
filename is ONKAVR0003_H2H3000000EOREHAHA_111.zip
still available here http://www.se.onkyo.com/en/articles/...012-53187.html
since 05-07-2012.
That zipfile is identical to the one here: https://www.onkyousa.com/Downloads/firmware.php

Last edited by rickardl; 04-05-2018 at 06:57 AM.
rickardl is offline  
post #8721 of 8770 Old 04-05-2018, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 859 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
I am using 1101-0800-0310-2101 (Main displayed as 1.10/2619AH)
filename is ONKAVR0003_H2H3000000EOREHAHA_111.zip
still available here http://www.se.onkyo.com/en/articles/...012-53187.html
since 05-07-2012.
That zipfile is identical to the one here: https://www.onkyousa.com/Downloads/firmware.php
Thanks Richard, that clears up a question that I had about the code that the 3008 used versus the 3007, it is different.

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #8722 of 8770 Old 05-02-2018, 01:55 PM
Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys, Im about to get a second hand 3008 (which was repaired with a new HDMI board a couple of years ago) working perfectly and have a few questions:

1- Is it possible to use BTL in 5.X channels?? some say only 2 channels but in the manual is not clear and having 9 internal amplifiers I guess 5.X should be feasible right?

2- HDMI board issues are ONLY HEAT related or there is any other reasons of malfunction in this receiver?

3- If I use heatsinks for every single chip in the board + proper fan ventilation can I asume I will be problems free? (or pretty much)

4- Is my understanding that onkyo receivers are known as having kind of bright sound but also a POWERFUL (fuller), rich of BASS sound (in fact not only bass but powerful mids that actually makes you feel drums)...Im looking for a receiver that has plenty of impact in the bass (I mean if using capable speakers in full range mode, not in the subwoofer channel which I assume will have good bass)...I have had Denon but dont like the "thin" and flat sound because when using my mains in "large" i barely have any bass coming from them (subwoofer even disabled in the receiver). A friend of mine has a very old onkyo and has some incredible powerfull bass coming from his mains with lots, and I mean LOTS of slam and bass (mostly upper kicking bass) when watching movies AND with music but I dont with my denon and Im tired of this. I know is not a very objetive question but I think most people would agree if it lacks or if it has plenty. The question is, can I expect this kind of fuller, rich, bass sound (with capable speakers) from the 3008?

5- Any advice on what to do once I have the receiver to test everything is working properly?


Thanks a lot!

Last edited by watermanpc; 05-02-2018 at 03:48 PM.
watermanpc is offline  
post #8723 of 8770 Old 05-03-2018, 08:46 AM
Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone can help me with my previous post please?, Even if you are a former owner your opinion is very helpful...thanks
watermanpc is offline  
post #8724 of 8770 Old 05-04-2018, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Edward Chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For I went to Anthem over two years, I will reply by memory.
1.Could 7.x before for BTL or biwire, but not sure which I did.
2.no other issue during those two years.
3.I did added heat sink and fan ib the beginning .
4.Far different voice sounded between onkyo and Anthem .

MyAv [email protected]
Anthem AVM60/QSC DCA 1644*3/BDP-S780/Viewsonic pro8200/Klipsch UltraII/Rythmik FV15HP

Last edited by Edward Chen; 05-04-2018 at 05:42 AM.
Edward Chen is offline  
post #8725 of 8770 Old 05-04-2018, 09:07 AM
Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Chen View Post
For I went to Anthem over two years, I will reply by memory.
1.Could 7.x before for BTL or biwire, but not sure which I did.
2.no other issue during those two years.
3.I did added heat sink and fan ib the beginning .
4.Far different voice sounded between onkyo and Anthem .
Many thanks for your reply...could you please elaborate the point #4 , I dont understand you well...

Thanks again and hope some more 3008 owners (or former owners) can give their impressions also.
watermanpc is offline  
post #8726 of 8770 Old 05-05-2018, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Edward Chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by watermanpc View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Chen View Post
For I went to Anthem over two years, I will reply by memory.
1.Could 7.x before for BTL or biwire, but not sure which I did.
2.no other issue during those two years.
3.I did added heat sink and fan ib the beginning .
4.Far different voice sounded between onkyo and Anthem .

Many thanks for your reply...could you please elaborate the point #4 , I dont understand you well...

Thanks again and hope some more 3008 owners (or former owners) can give their impressions also.
For Anthem AVM60 sounds more clear and more powerful and more detail than onkyo 5008
, especially surround channel.

MyAv [email protected]
Anthem AVM60/QSC DCA 1644*3/BDP-S780/Viewsonic pro8200/Klipsch UltraII/Rythmik FV15HP
Edward Chen is offline  
post #8727 of 8770 Old 08-11-2018, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ONKYO TX-NR5008
(Version 1101-0800-0310-2101) 5/07/2012
Onkyo tx-nr5008 last official firmware:
Main: 1.10/12619AH
DSP 1st/NET: 1.08/12614AHA
DSP 2 : 1.00/10519AH2
DSP 3 : 1.03Q10909BH3
Video : 1.02/10806AR
VSP (Reon) : 1.01/10624AEO

Dear friends, I am looking for updated firmware for VSP Reon from 1.01->1.02->1.03
Could anyone help me with this kind of update!
Many thanks
Loren
LorenOA76 is offline  
post #8728 of 8770 Old 08-14-2018, 07:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 859 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by LorenOA76 View Post
ONKYO TX-NR5008
(Version 1101-0800-0310-2101) 5/07/2012
Onkyo tx-nr5008 last official firmware:
Main: 1.10/12619AH
DSP 1st/NET: 1.08/12614AHA
DSP 2 : 1.00/10519AH2
DSP 3 : 1.03Q10909BH3
Video : 1.02/10806AR
VSP (Reon) : 1.01/10624AEO

Dear friends, I am looking for updated firmware for VSP Reon from 1.01->1.02->1.03
Could anyone help me with this kind of update!
Many thanks
Loren

Curious as to why you want to do just the VSP Reon?, these packaged firmware's (AFAIK) are matched sets, unexpected results may occur when changing only one section...

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #8729 of 8770 Old 09-25-2018, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Just picked up the 5008 for a bargain price, little used and shows it, was not even on the latest firmware, added a heat sink to the DTS HDMI board chip, and a couple of fans, and so far very pleased.


Replaced my Sony STR DN1040 which although worked well it was a bit brash although more punchy than the 5008 which is way more reveling and musical sounding, bit too many sound presets for my taste and i doubt i'll ever use use most of them, anyway there are a couple of things i want to ask, fist being for some reason my Tanoy sub wont auto switch on with the receiver, it did with the Sony no problem, and yes it is selected as on in the receiver menu.
Apparently you can monitor its internal temp by holding menu and pressing the power button followed by releasing tone and pressing tone, but i cannot seem to achieve this, any ideas?
Tricky-Ricky is offline  
post #8730 of 8770 Old 09-25-2018, 11:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricky-Ricky View Post
my Tanoy sub wont auto switch on with the receiver, it did with the Sony no problem, and yes it is selected as on in the receiver menu.
Are you getting sound from the sub when you adjust the trim level for the sub?
It could be that you have a negative or low trim value for the sub.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricky-Ricky View Post
Apparently you can monitor its internal temp by holding menu and pressing the power button followed by releasing tone and pressing tone, but i cannot seem to achieve this, any ideas?
Haven't used that for years. This is what the sequence was for the 3007:

On the front panel, press down 'DISPLAY' and keep it pressed down while
pressing 'Standby', release both buttons and then press 'TONE' to display
V:000 F:x S:L
T:037

not sure about the meaning.
Press down 'DISPLAY' and keep it pressed down while
pressing 'Standby', release both buttons and then press 'SETUP'
(US models show Farenheit instead of Celsius)
34°C 23 B1
02:00 68h
Tricky-Ricky likes this.
rickardl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off