The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 816 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2506Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24451 of 25142 Old 03-21-2016, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,328
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4667 Post(s)
Liked: 4849
Quote:
Originally Posted by derreckla View Post
Question?

Someone told me today that Amplifier only puts out 80 watts to rear speakers in surround mode. Is this true? I can't find any literature that supports this. The Specs on 4311 only read 140 watts across all channels…

Thanks for your help…

Derreck
Derreck - you might be confusing the results of "all channels driven" benchmark tests with the capability of each amp individually.

The 4311, like nearly any modern receiver, has 100% identical amps on ALL channels. Each amp individually driven will meet or exceed its spec'd output.

However, there is only one power supply shared by all 9 channels, so with all channels driven simultaneously there is only so much total power to go around. This is true of any receiver really. In bench tests they will drive all amps together to see how much total current the system can sustain -- in that kind of torture tests, as JD notes above you will probably only get 60-80% of the total capability of each amp (because the bottleneck becomes the total current available from the single power supply).

So it's not like the surround amps are weaker than the front channel amps, they are all identical. It's just about total system power driving everything full bore.

Thankfully however this "all channels driven" situation doesn't have much relevance for real world program content. You aren't going to be playing test signals through all channels simultaneously at huge volumes. Real program content will be variable, with ebbs and peaks. So it's not really worth worrying about unless you have very insensitive speakers or are trying to power speakers to crazy loud volumes in a big room.
bmcn likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24452 of 25142 Old 03-23-2016, 11:54 PM
Member
 
derreckla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Derreck - you might be confusing the results of "all channels driven" benchmark tests with the capability of each amp individually.

The 4311, like nearly any modern receiver, has 100% identical amps on ALL channels. Each amp individually driven will meet or exceed its spec'd output.

However, there is only one power supply shared by all 9 channels, so with all channels driven simultaneously there is only so much total power to go around. This is true of any receiver really. In bench tests they will drive all amps together to see how much total current the system can sustain -- in that kind of torture tests, as JD notes above you will probably only get 60-80% of the total capability of each amp (because the bottleneck becomes the total current available from the single power supply).

So it's not like the surround amps are weaker than the front channel amps, they are all identical. It's just about total system power driving everything full bore.

Thankfully however this "all channels driven" situation doesn't have much relevance for real world program content. You aren't going to be playing test signals through all channels simultaneously at huge volumes. Real program content will be variable, with ebbs and peaks. So it's not really worth worrying about unless you have very insensitive speakers or are trying to power speakers to crazy loud volumes in a big room.
Thank you so much this was the explanation I have been looking for.


Derreck

Sony XBR-75Z9D
Klipsch Original RF-7s LCR & Surrounds, RS-7 Ceiling Atmos YES!! [/SIZE])
SVS PB13 Ultra
Samsung UBD-K8500 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player
Denon AVR-X3300
derreckla is offline  
post #24453 of 25142 Old 03-27-2016, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Ak Gara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How does the external input and pre outs work? Is it possible to run HDMI > Pre Outs and External Input > Speaker Wires, or would it just go HDMI > Speaker wires ?
Ak Gara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24454 of 25142 Old 03-28-2016, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,979
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22003 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ak Gara View Post
How does the external input and pre outs work? Is it possible to run HDMI > Pre Outs and External Input > Speaker Wires, or would it just go HDMI > Speaker wires ?
No, rather you can only select either EXT IN or HDMI and that source audio would pass to both the speaker posts and pre-outs.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24455 of 25142 Old 04-04-2016, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Anyone know about the ~19 minute firmware update?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24456 of 25142 Old 04-04-2016, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,979
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22003 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
Anyone know about the ~19 minute firmware update?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Firmware change log provided at the bottom of post 1 of this thread. When was the last time you did a firmware update?
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24457 of 25142 Old 04-04-2016, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
The AVR has been on Ethernet with notifications "ON" but this is the first firmware notice I've gotten in at least 2-3 years. I suppose it is the Pandora patch. For a second, I had a glimmer of hope Denon would offer Atmos/DTS upgrade for $200 lol


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24458 of 25142 Old 04-05-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
For a second, I had a glimmer of hope Denon would offer Atmos/DTS upgrade for $200 lol
That would be awesome, but not likely going to happen. Lol. I have no doubt the CPU inside these units could probably handle the additional processing, but then Denon (and every other manufacturer) couldn't sell you new units every other year. Damned planned obsolescence.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
4.0 - TBD
blipszyc is offline  
post #24459 of 25142 Old 04-05-2016, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,979
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22003 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
That would be awesome, but not likely going to happen. Lol. I have no doubt the CPU inside these units could probably handle the additional processing, but then Denon (and every other manufacturer) couldn't sell you new units every other year. Damned planned obsolescence.
AFAIK, it actually couldn't. The X4311CI only has a single processor while the Atmos+XT32 models have 4 processors required to run Audyssey with Atmos.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24460 of 25142 Old 04-05-2016, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
That would be awesome, but not likely going to happen...Damned planned obsolescence.
IKR someone mentions planned obsolescence in at least 80% of meetings I attend. Smh

Anyway, I was window shopping today and wound up buying an Anthem MRX-1120, so the 4311 will be stored for emergency backup. It was a great AVR.

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24461 of 25142 Old 04-06-2016, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,236
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1873 Post(s)
Liked: 1418
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
That would be awesome, but not likely going to happen. Lol. I have no doubt the CPU inside these units could probably handle the additional processing, but then Denon (and every other manufacturer) couldn't sell you new units every other year. Damned planned obsolescence.
Denon doesn't do CODECs. When Dolby rolls out a new audio system they certify/license people like MT to make chips. If those parts are remarkable they might be able to be updated.
AC-3 was introduced in 1995.
E-AC-3 was circa 2005.
True-HD was also circa 2005.
Atmos is 2015.
Of course this is just Dolby.

I don't think anyone can be faulted for not supporting a CODEC that is 10 to 20 years in the future but since the chips have to be licensed/certified I suppose you could blame Dolby for both not planning ahead and for vigorously protecting their intellectual property which would inhibit specualtion by chip foundries on future needs.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #24462 of 25142 Old 04-10-2016, 04:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,979
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22003 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
The AVR has been on Ethernet with notifications "ON" but this is the first firmware notice I've gotten in at least 2-3 years. I suppose it is the Pandora patch. For a second, I had a glimmer of hope Denon would offer Atmos/DTS upgrade for $200 lol


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Any other 4311CI owner that previously had the firmware up to date get a recent firmware update notice?
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24463 of 25142 Old 04-10-2016, 04:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Any other 4311CI owner that previously had the firmware up to date get a recent firmware update notice?
Not me. I even went in to the menu to check for firmware updates and it shows that I already am on the latest firmware version.
duc135 is offline  
post #24464 of 25142 Old 04-10-2016, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 97
I just recently purchased an Oppo BDP-95 and am not sure how to set it up correctly with my 4311. I have them connected for CD listening with the analog output of the Oppo via RCA cables. I'm not sure though about settings to use the DAC on the oppo and bypass the DAC on the AVR. If I set the AVR to pure direct, does that bypass its DAC? What about HDCD settings?

Last edited by brendelac; 04-10-2016 at 10:48 AM.
brendelac is offline  
post #24465 of 25142 Old 04-10-2016, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
My OPPO BDP-105 was setup the same way with my 4311 and I used Pure Direct mode to bypass Denon processing.

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24466 of 25142 Old 04-10-2016, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
My OPPO BDP-105 was setup the same way with my 4311 and I used Pure Direct mode to bypass Denon processing.
What settings need to be changed in the Oppo on screen menu?
brendelac is offline  
post #24467 of 25142 Old 04-11-2016, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
@brendelac

For 2.1: connect OPPO stereo out to Denon 4311 CD in (you can connect OPPO 7.1 to 4311 EXT. IN for analog surround - the stereo out is on a different circuit).
1. In OPPO go to Setup/Audio Processing: set Stereo Signal to L/R
2. In Speaker Config: set downmix to Stereo, change speakers to small, subwoofer on, then exit
3. Set crossover accordingly for bass management

For 2.1 double bass: keeping all settings the same as above except set Stereo Signal to Down-mixed Stereo which ignores the bass management.

For 2.0: set Stereo Signal to Down-mixed Stereo and speakers to Large for full range, subwoofer off

Set Denon 4311 to Pure Direct mode and enjoy.

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24468 of 25142 Old 04-11-2016, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
^^^^
oh, and set OPPO HDCD Decoding to ON in Audio Format Setup

If 4311 is in Pure Direct, I do not think it will try and decode HDCD.

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24469 of 25142 Old 04-11-2016, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Thank you.

I was also having an issue with certain CD tracks where it sound like it was sped up slightly and/or everything was up an octave. I turned off the RESTORER option on the AVR under AUDIO ADJUST options and haven't noticed it since.
bigdogaxis likes this.
brendelac is offline  
post #24470 of 25142 Old 04-22-2016, 12:27 PM
Member
 
jedovaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: orange county, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi there: I bought this receiver a little over 5 years ago and have enjoyed the heck out of it. Two weeks ago it "died". I took it to a local authorized repair shop, and after a couple weeks, they tell me that there's some sort of short on the HDMI port causing a power drop preventing it from working. Apparently I need a whole new mainboard, and the part is no longer available from Denon?

I don't really want to buy a new AVR now.. what am I supposed to do? I've always fixed my own computers, electronics, etc, but this is a little beyond me. I don't really have time to research a replacement, either. Oh booger Sorry to be a whiner, timing just sucks.
jedovaty is offline  
post #24471 of 25142 Old 04-22-2016, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Watch eBay and audiogon


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4.
MartinLogan speakers and subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #24472 of 25142 Old 04-23-2016, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
mo0sic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedovaty View Post
Hi there: I bought this receiver a little over 5 years ago and have enjoyed the heck out of it. Two weeks ago it "died". I took it to a local authorized repair shop, and after a couple weeks, they tell me that there's some sort of short on the HDMI port causing a power drop preventing it from working. Apparently I need a whole new mainboard, and the part is no longer available from Denon?

I don't really want to buy a new AVR now.. what am I supposed to do? I've always fixed my own computers, electronics, etc, but this is a little beyond me. I don't really have time to research a replacement, either. Oh booger Sorry to be a whiner, timing just sucks.
Fortunately you live in California. California's lemon laws apply to electronics. Denon has to keep parts available for seven years.

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-f...11-column.html
jedovaty likes this.
mo0sic is offline  
post #24473 of 25142 Old 04-23-2016, 06:24 AM
Member
 
jedovaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: orange county, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo0sic View Post
Fortunately you live in California. California's lemon laws apply to electronics. Denon has to keep parts available for seven years.

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-f...11-column.html
Wow, that's interesting! I'm not much of a fighter and dislike confrontation, I don't really know what to do. Call Denon directly, or take it up with the authorized repair center first? Life lessons I never learned :/ I'm not looking for a freebie from them. It is discouraging that my ps3 and other electronics have all outlived the avr.

Oh - edit - I just looked up the lemon law, and I'm not sure whether it applies to the AVR. It points back to section 9801 of the B&P code here in california, which contains definitions of equipment. This is the definition that might apply:

"(h) "Electronic set" includes, but is not limited to, any television, radio, audio or video recorder or playback equipment, video camera, video game, video monitor, computer system, photocopier, or facsimile machine normally used or sold for personal, family, household, or home office use."

Is an AVR "playback equipment" ? Or "computer system" ? There is that nice catch-all, "includes but is not limited to".. interesting.

If Denon doesn't acknowledge, do I threaten law suit? Ugh. I don't like this much.

Last edited by jedovaty; 04-23-2016 at 06:28 AM.
jedovaty is offline  
post #24474 of 25142 Old 04-23-2016, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mo0sic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedovaty View Post
Wow, that's interesting! I'm not much of a fighter and dislike confrontation, I don't really know what to do. Call Denon directly, or take it up with the authorized repair center first? Life lessons I never learned :/ I'm not looking for a freebie from them. It is discouraging that my ps3 and other electronics have all outlived the avr.

Oh - edit - I just looked up the lemon law, and I'm not sure whether it applies to the AVR. It points back to section 9801 of the B&P code here in california, which contains definitions of equipment. This is the definition that might apply:

"(h) "Electronic set" includes, but is not limited to, any television, radio, audio or video recorder or playback equipment, video camera, video game, video monitor, computer system, photocopier, or facsimile machine normally used or sold for personal, family, household, or home office use."

Is an AVR "playback equipment" ? Or "computer system" ? There is that nice catch-all, "includes but is not limited to".. interesting.

If Denon doesn't acknowledge, do I threaten law suit? Ugh. I don't like this much.

I would call them and send them the article. It is playback equipment.
mo0sic is offline  
post #24475 of 25142 Old 04-23-2016, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendelac View Post
Thank you.

I was also having an issue with certain CD tracks where it sound like it was sped up slightly and/or everything was up an octave. I turned off the RESTORER option on the AVR under AUDIO ADJUST options and haven't noticed it since.
I thought this solved my problem, but it happened again two days ago. I have contacted Oppo, but have yet to find the cause.
brendelac is offline  
post #24476 of 25142 Old 05-03-2016, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hey guys, stupid question. I have a 940c Sony 75" and a 4311ci receiver. I get sound while watching cable tv while watching DVDs, but when I watch Netflix or YouTube through my tv apps, it only plays out of my tv speakers. How do I get Netflix/YouTube to automatically play through my AVR?
dasanii19 is offline  
post #24477 of 25142 Old 05-04-2016, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,979
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22003 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
Hey guys, stupid question. I have a 940c Sony 75" and a 4311ci receiver. I get sound while watching cable tv while watching DVDs, but when I watch Netflix or YouTube through my tv apps, it only plays out of my tv speakers. How do I get Netflix/YouTube to automatically play through my AVR?
Easiest way is to just connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR, otherwise, you can use HDMI(ARC) which requires setting BraviaSync to ON on the TV and also setting the TV's audio to "external speakers" and on the AVR set HDMI Control to ON. Note this doesn't always work with some TVs which is why optical is your best solution.
bmcn likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24478 of 25142 Old 05-04-2016, 07:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Thanks. So if I use the optical cable, will it play audio automatically? Because right now, while I'm trying to watch Netflix, I get cable box audio coming out of my speakers.
dasanii19 is offline  
post #24479 of 25142 Old 05-04-2016, 07:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,979
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22003 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
Thanks. So if I use the optical cable, will it play audio automatically? Because right now, while I'm trying to watch Netflix, I get cable box audio coming out of my speakers.
No, rather if you are using the OPT1(TV) input on the AVR, then you would need to select "TV" on the remote.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24480 of 25142 Old 05-04-2016, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
Thanks. So if I use the optical cable, will it play audio automatically? Because right now, while I'm trying to watch Netflix, I get cable box audio coming out of my speakers.
No, rather if you are using the OPT1(TV) input on the AVR, then you would need to select "TV" on the remote.
Ok, so just a matter of switching inputs on the AVR. Thank you
dasanii19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , AVR-4311CI , Denon , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off