The "Official" Denon AVR-4311CI/AVR-A100 thread [NO PRICE TALK] - Page 839 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2509Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25141 of 25164 Old 07-08-2019, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Just saw your reply. Like you were sending it to me. You like the 4400?
MRAYB is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25142 of 25164 Old 07-08-2019, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,032
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnirlum View Post

I feared that was the reality that I was going to have to accept. Already upgraded main system to a 4400 last winter (primarily for 4K). Our second system was happier with the 4311 but has not been downgraded to an even older Onkyo.


If you are interested, I just retired a 4311. I have an Audyssey Pro license for it, as well as a Pro kit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #25143 of 25164 Old 09-08-2019, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Osamede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 53
How does the sound quality on Denon 4311 hold up compared to a 3-4 year old used low-midrange receiver? I just need 2.0 or 2.1 for film/TV/music in a small room, to power some Sonus Faber Toy Towers and maybe a sub i necessary,
Osamede is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25144 of 25164 Old 11-09-2019, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Daffypuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osamede View Post
How does the sound quality on Denon 4311 hold up compared to a 3-4 year old used low-midrange receiver? I just need 2.0 or 2.1 for film/TV/music in a small room, to power some Sonus Faber Toy Towers and maybe a sub i necessary,
Much better inmo.
Daffypuck is offline  
post #25145 of 25164 Old 11-09-2019, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23203 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osamede View Post
How does the sound quality on Denon 4311 hold up compared to a 3-4 year old used low-midrange receiver? I just need 2.0 or 2.1 for film/TV/music in a small room, to power some Sonus Faber Toy Towers and maybe a sub i necessary,
As a former "flagship" model that uses Audyssey MultEQ XT32, it should still compare quite well, especially to non-XT32 models if using Audyssey.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #25146 of 25164 Old 11-16-2019, 09:22 PM
Member
 
swilson317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zone 2 & 3 suddenly silent

Today, I had zone 3 on for music in the backyard. When I came inside, I turned off zone 3 and attempted to turn on zone 2. I heard nothing. I then tested zone 3 again. Nothing. Unless I'm missing something simple, it seems that I lost the amps for zone 2 & 3.

I can't remember when I bought this receiver, but it was my first multi zone AV receiver. It has served me well over the years.

I did use a small speaker to test the terminals right on the back of the receiver. I confirmed that both zone 2 & 3 were on, but I got nothing from the terminals.

Anyone have any further troubleshooting suggestions or does it sound like I need to find a repair shop? I'm not quite ready to replace this receiver unless the repairs are cost prohibitive!

Thanks, Steve
swilson317 is offline  
post #25147 of 25164 Old 11-16-2019, 09:49 PM
Member
 
swilson317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swilson317 View Post
Today, I had zone 3 on for music in the backyard. When I came inside, I turned off zone 3 and attempted to turn on zone 2. I heard nothing. I then tested zone 3 again. Nothing. Unless I'm missing something simple, it seems that I lost the amps for zone 2 & 3.

I can't remember when I bought this receiver, but it was my first multi zone AV receiver. It has served me well over the years.

I did use a small speaker to test the terminals right on the back of the receiver. I confirmed that both zone 2 & 3 were on, but I got nothing from the terminals.

Anyone have any further troubleshooting suggestions or does it sound like I need to find a repair shop? I'm not quite ready to replace this receiver unless the repairs are cost prohibitive!

Thanks, Steve
Good news! I vaguely remembered that there is a reset procedure. I found it on page 138 of the PDF manual! YAY! The reset restored audio back to zone 2 & 3. I just had to reassign the amps and rename the zones.

Thanks, Steve
swilson317 is offline  
post #25148 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,110
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I'm having some CEC issues between my 4311 and my Samsung Q90, so cross-posting here in case anyone has any suggestions. I just bought a Panasonic UHD Blu-ray player. Since the 4311 can't handle 4k/HDR, I made sure to buy a player with dual HDMI outputs so I could run the video straight to the TV, and audio to the AVR. But CEC is getting in the way. If I set the TV's input to the Blu-ray player, it automatically sets the AVR's input to to the TV for ARC. If I set the AVR back to the proper audio input for the blu-ray playter, the TV automatically switches to the input from the AVR. It seems IMPOSSIBLE to individually choose an audio source for the AVR and a video source for the TV unless I go in to the settings in the TV and disable Anynet AND go into the settings on the AVR and turn off HDMI control. But if I do that, neither the TV nor the receiver allow me to use ARC to get audio from the TV back to the AVR. The vast majority of our watching is sourced from the TV (broadcast or streaming via the TV), so I need audio returned to the AVR most of the time. I suppose an alternative is to use a separate digital audio connection back to the AVR, though I don't have a spare optical input. Perhaps I could juggle some things, but even if I did that, I'd be giving up higher audio formats from Netflix, etc. Is my only other option going into the set-up menus for both the AVR and TV and disabling CEC every time I want to watch a blu-ray, then going back in and re-enabling it when I'm done?!?

Has anyone else run in to this and have a work-around?
Darin is offline  
post #25149 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post
I'm having some CEC issues between my 4311 and my Samsung Q90, so cross-posting here in case anyone has any suggestions. I just bought a Panasonic UHD Blu-ray player. Since the 4311 can't handle 4k/HDR, I made sure to buy a player with dual HDMI outputs so I could run the video straight to the TV, and audio to the AVR. But CEC is getting in the way. If I set the TV's input to the Blu-ray player, it automatically sets the AVR's input to to the TV for ARC. If I set the AVR back to the proper audio input for the blu-ray playter, the TV automatically switches to the input from the AVR. It seems IMPOSSIBLE to individually choose an audio source for the AVR and a video source for the TV unless I go in to the settings in the TV and disable Anynet AND go into the settings on the AVR and turn off HDMI control. But if I do that, neither the TV nor the receiver allow me to use ARC to get audio from the TV back to the AVR. The vast majority of our watching is sourced from the TV (broadcast or streaming via the TV), so I need audio returned to the AVR most of the time. I suppose an alternative is to use a separate digital audio connection back to the AVR, though I don't have a spare optical input. Perhaps I could juggle some things, but even if I did that, I'd be giving up higher audio formats from Netflix, etc. Is my only other option going into the set-up menus for both the AVR and TV and disabling CEC every time I want to watch a blu-ray, then going back in and re-enabling it when I'm done?!?

Has anyone else run in to this and have a work-around?
Have you tried just using one HDMI from the UHD player to the TV? I have a similar setup as you, but instead of the Samsung and Panasonic, I have a Sony TV and LG UHD player. I have the LG connected directly to the TV then use ARC to send the audio back to the 4311. I also have other UHD devices connected directly to the TV and use ARC for all those as well. When I turn on the devices the TV will automatically change inputs and the 4311 input remains on TV for the audio. If I turn off the 4311 then the TV will automatically switch to the internal speakers.
duc135 is online now  
post #25150 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,110
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
Have you tried just using one HDMI from the UHD player to the TV?
Thanks for the reply. No, I'm sure that would solve the switching issue, but the whole point was maintaining full quality. Since neither the Q90 nor the 4311 support eARC, it can't pass the full quality uncompressed multi-channel audio streams via ARC. It would have to use something lower. There have been rumors that the Q90 would receive an eARC update, but even if it does, I doubt the 4311 will, considering it's age.
Darin is offline  
post #25151 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post
Thanks for the reply. No, I'm sure that would solve the switching issue, but the whole point was maintaining full quality. Since neither the Q90 nor the 4311 support eARC, it can't pass the full quality uncompressed multi-channel audio streams via ARC. It would have to use something lower. There have been rumors that the Q90 would receive an eARC update, but even if it does, I doubt the 4311 will, considering it's age.
In that case, get a programmable remote and ditch ARC altogether. ARC is working as designed in your case. ARC has no way of knowing that you're splitting the signals to two different devices. As far as I know, the only way to do what you want is manually set the inputs. The other option would be to get a new AVR that does 4K passthrough.
duc135 is online now  
post #25152 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,110
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
In that case, get a programmable remote and ditch ARC altogether.
Yeah, I have one, the problem is I can't find a way to disable the auto-switching part of CEC while keeping ARC. Most of our viewing is TV content... OTA, streaming apps in the TV, etc., and the only way to get that audio back to the receiver at the best quality possible (keeping DD+, etc.) is via ARC. It just boggles my mind that higher end products don't consider that you might be using programmable remotes or other external control components, and maybe don't want HDMI making my switching decisions.
Darin is offline  
post #25153 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post
Yeah, I have one, the problem is I can't find a way to disable the auto-switching part of CEC while keeping ARC. Most of our viewing is TV content... OTA, streaming apps in the TV, etc., and the only way to get that audio back to the receiver at the best quality possible (keeping DD+, etc.) is via ARC. It just boggles my mind that higher end products don't consider that you might be using programmable remotes or other external control components, and maybe don't want HDMI making my switching decisions.
The 4311 has assignable 2 optical and 2 coax digital inputs. Can any of your other devices be switched to the coax or analog RCA inputs? That would free up one of the optical inputs for the TV. Then you can disable ARC and use the remote for turning on your devices and switching to the proper inputs.

If not, you can get an optical splitter box like this one. Just make sure only one source device is on at a time.
duc135 is online now  
post #25154 of 25164 Old 12-01-2019, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,110
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Right, as I mentioned, that is an option, though I'd then lose out on higher audio formats from the TV, like DD+ in Netflix. I was hoping there was some trick to keep the receiving from changing inputs via CEC, but it sounds like there isn't.
Darin is offline  
post #25155 of 25164 Old 12-25-2019, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, not sure I am using the right thread.
My question is : if I buy a Dolby Atmos capable Bluray player (example the Panasonic UB9000), can I have the Atmos sound going through the 4311ci to the 7.1 speakers connected to it, using the receiver only as an amplifier? I am not sure how the Dolby Atmos is decoded by time the player and sent out.. would it be through hdmi?
Supersonick is offline  
post #25156 of 25164 Old 12-25-2019, 10:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Yes it will work fine. The UHD player does not process the Atmos channels. It is passed in the bitstream for the 4311 to process via HDMI. Since the 4311 is not Atmos capable it will just ignore the additional Atmos channel information and will continue to process the 7.1 channels as it normally would.
duc135 is online now  
post #25157 of 25164 Old 12-25-2019, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supersonick View Post
Hello, not sure I am using the right thread.
My question is : if I buy a Dolby Atmos capable Bluray player (example the Panasonic UB9000), can I have the Atmos sound going through the 4311ci to the 7.1 speakers connected to it, using the receiver only as an amplifier? I am not sure how the Dolby Atmos is decoded by time the player and sent out.. would it be through hdmi?
Not being able to pass the newer sound mixes is one of the reasons I sold my 4311CI. That and more/better options for my zone 2. I miss the old girl. Hell of a receiver. Sold it to a co-worker who uses it just for music in his four bay garage/woodshop. Still sounds amazing. Replaced mine with an X4400H snagged new on Amazon for nearly half off. Well worth it.

Last edited by MRAYB; 12-25-2019 at 10:56 PM.
MRAYB is online now  
post #25158 of 25164 Old 12-26-2019, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krabapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: in a state bordered by Kentucky and Maine
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
Yes it will work fine. The UHD player does not process the Atmos channels.


THe UB9000 claims to be able to decode (process) Dolby Atmos. If you set the UB9000 to decode Dolby Atmos (rather than pass a bitstream), the decoded Dolby signal would be passed as PCM over HDMI. THe AVR does not have to be Atmos-decoding in that case. You would have to physically reconfigure a standard loudspeaker 7.1 setup -- reposition two of the surround speakers to make them height speakers.

Last edited by krabapple; 12-26-2019 at 08:32 AM.
krabapple is offline  
post #25159 of 25164 Old 12-26-2019, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by krabapple View Post
THe UB9000 claims to be able to decode (process) Dolby Atmos. If you set the UB9000 to decode Dolby Atmos (rather than pass a bitstream), the decoded Dolby signal would be passed as PCM over HDMI. THe AVR does not have to be Atmos-decoding in that case. You would have to physically reconfigure a standard loudspeaker 7.1 setup -- reposition two of the surround speakers to make them height speakers.
Was not aware of that. Thanks for the info. However, if the OP set to bitstream he would still be okay. If bitstream doesn't have issues I would think that would be the preferred format as it lets the AVR/Prepro do the decoding. Not sure how the 4311 will react if he set to PCM in this case.
duc135 is online now  
post #25160 of 25164 Old 12-26-2019, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,730
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5000 Post(s)
Liked: 5440
Quote:
Originally Posted by krabapple View Post
THe UB9000 claims to be able to decode (process) Dolby Atmos. If you set the UB9000 to decode Dolby Atmos (rather than pass a bitstream), the decoded Dolby signal would be passed as PCM over HDMI.
Do you have a citation for that? I just checked the manual and I don't see any mention of Atmos decoding internally. I've never heard of a player doing that.
MRAYB likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #25161 of 25164 Old 12-26-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krabapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: in a state bordered by Kentucky and Maine
Posts: 5,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Do you have a citation for that? I just checked the manual and I don't see any mention of Atmos decoding internally. I've never heard of a player doing that.
I was going by Product Specs on the Best Buy site, which say:

Surround sound decoders
Include Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS-HD High Resolution, Dolby Atmos and DTS:X for an immersive listening experience.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/panason...?skuId=6350371
krabapple is offline  
post #25162 of 25164 Old 12-26-2019, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,730
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5000 Post(s)
Liked: 5440
Quote:
Originally Posted by krabapple View Post
I was going by Product Specs on the Best Buy site, which say:

Surround sound decoders
Include Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS-HD High Resolution, Dolby Atmos and DTS:X for an immersive listening experience.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/panason...?skuId=6350371
OK, I would not put any stock in that. On the actual Panasonic product page in the specs they note "Bitstream Ouput" for Atmos/DTS:X, as opposed to "Decode and Bistream Output" for the standard channel-based formats. Which is what you'd expect. I don't know of any BDP's that internally decode the Atmos bitstream.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	5
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	2659306  
krabapple likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #25163 of 25164 Old 12-26-2019, 10:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you All. I think this last post have the answer I was looking for.. there is no internal decoding for Atmos in the player. So I’ll need to look for a proper receiver. !
Supersonick is offline  
post #25164 of 25164 Old 12-27-2019, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
miguelbarroso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lisbon- PORTUGAL
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 4311 is still holding strong... I do not see myself adding speakers to the ceeling, unless I had a dedicated room. My system is in the living room, so it needs to be quite inconspicuous. 5.1 is good enough
miguelbarroso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , AVR-4311CI , Denon , Denon Avr 4311ci 9 2 Channel Network Multi Room Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi 1 4a , Denon Avr A100 100th Anniversary 9 2 140w

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off