Onkyo HT-RC270 Official thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 733 Old 01-26-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
hclarkjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ended up snagging a 1023 off woot.com for $279.99 plus shipping. closeout deal http://sellout.woot.com/offers/pioneer-7-1-channel-network-a-v-receiver-8
hclarkjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 733 Old 02-14-2015, 11:39 PM
Senior Member
 
uscpsycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Does anyone know how to get a DirecTV remote programmed to control the volume on this receiver? I tried all 8 codes provided by DirecTV but none of them work.

I should have asked this years ago. Happy to say my receiver is still alive and kicking with no signs of giving out. Sorry to hear so many others haven't been so fortunate, I need this thing to hold up for about another year.
uscpsycho is offline  
post #723 of 733 Old 03-21-2015, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all

After 4 perfect working years, my RC270 just stop to show the images/sound from the devices it is connected to.
I still can see the setup screen but none of my devices will show anything.

Any ideas on how can I diagnose and troubleshooting?

Thank you
josecaodaglio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 733 Old 03-21-2015, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 2377
Quote:
Originally Posted by josecaodaglio View Post
Hi all

After 4 perfect working years, my RC270 just stop to show the images/sound from the devices it is connected to.
I still can see the setup screen but none of my devices will show anything.

Any ideas on how can I diagnose and troubleshooting?

Thank you
I'd say it was an HDMI/processor board malfunction until proven otherwise. Check out this thread for info on how to take advantage of the extended warranty repair. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...il-2018-a.html

Good luck!
Swervepf likes this.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye."
DocCasualty is offline  
post #725 of 733 Old 03-23-2015, 10:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks! I will try to contact Onkyo here in Brazil
josecaodaglio is offline  
post #726 of 733 Old 03-24-2015, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asarose247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DIY enabled in SoCal / OC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1202 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
lasy year , Onkyo did revive my 4 y.o. 270
so give them a call
the also fixed the 818, but that was just an on/off relay. ow all good

DIY FAN Denon X4400 , ATI A 2000 for 7.4.6 SCATMOS Sammy 82" 4K/HDR
L/R: Fusion 15 V2 , C: 88 Special , SL/SR: 88 Special(V2) , RL/RR: F-3, TF/TR: Volt 6's TM: SLX, FH: F4Q4
SUBMAXIMUS V2, ,Submaximus V3,LOWARHORNCustom Dual Driver VBSS,2 x 6000DSP
asarose247 is offline  
post #727 of 733 Old 08-10-2015, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Strider518's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Repair/shipping box arrived today!

Good news! The repair/shipping box arrived today. Took nine calendar days. Not bad. I put the HT-RC270 in it, and took it right away to Pakmail. Away it goes!
Strider518 is offline  
post #728 of 733 Old 10-29-2015, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Toronto122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My HDMI board died as well. Sent it off and got it back within two weeks. Pretty sweet deal if you ask me!
Love this receiver. Works like a champ!
Toronto122 is offline  
post #729 of 733 Old 03-26-2017, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Everyone,

Newbie question concerning how to setup my Swing Digital 2.4Ghz TV Headset on my Onkyo HT-RC270.
I tried the audio out Zone 2 rear jacks but I don’t hear any sound from my headset ?


any help appreciated.
thanks.
pc.mobile is offline  
post #730 of 733 Old 06-08-2017, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Ka7niq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Near Tampa Florida
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post
I'd say it was an HDMI/processor board malfunction until proven otherwise. Check out this thread for info on how to take advantage of the extended warranty repair. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...il-2018-a.html

Good luck!
Too late for me! I had one of these years ago, and it took a crap, for no reason. I took it to a repair facility, and was advised it was not worth fixing. I lost my butt on this one, but I did get a deal on it, FWIW.
Ka7niq is offline  
post #731 of 733 Old 09-21-2018, 05:58 AM
Member
 
desmo907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo HT-RC270 HDMI dead (how to check capacitors?)

Have the older RC270 unit with multiple problems over the years. Even sent back to Onkyo (Bigston) for fix in 2017.
Now the HDMI is dead.
I found this YouTube video but that seem to fix the issue but not specific to my unit.


I took my cover off and the capacitors seem (visually) ok.....
My question is how do I tell if my capacitors are bad and which ones?

I am pretty novice at electronics but thought I would give it a shot.

The Onkyo site has a thread about the issue but their solution is laughable (they want to sell a refurbished unit for more than I can buy it new online).

http://forums.onkyousa.com/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=10723

Bye Bye Onkyo!
desmo907 is offline  
post #732 of 733 Old 09-21-2018, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,069
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 188
capacitors should be checked with an ESR meter. The ~$20 no-name ones on Ebay work fine for this. Many of them come with a chart showing what the MAX resistance should be for given capacitance and voltage values and thus you want your caps to test to be equal to or less than the value in the chart. Often works fine to measure in-circuit. If the ESR meter says a cap is bad, the cap is bad. If it says the cap is good, in circuit, you can't know for sure. But usually it's correct in-circuit. Things that can throw it off are typically when you have multiple capacitors in parallel, or when you have a capacitor in parallel with some low impedance thing like a resistor. Not a bleed resistor, though, as those will be of a pretty high resistance anyway.

Last edited by DonoMan; 09-21-2018 at 08:13 AM.
DonoMan is offline  
post #733 of 733 Old 09-21-2018, 08:20 AM
Member
 
desmo907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonoMan View Post
capacitors should be checked with an ESR meter. The ~$20 no-name ones on Ebay work fine for this. Many of them come with a chart showing what the MAX resistance should be for given capacitance and voltage values and thus you want your caps to test to be equal to or less than the value in the chart. Often works fine to measure in-circuit. If the ESR meter says a cap is bad, the cap is bad. If it says the cap is good, in circuit, you can't know for sure. But usually it's correct in-circuit. Things that can throw it off are typically when you have multiple capacitors in parallel, or when you have a capacitor in parallel with some low impedance thing like a resistor. Not a bleed resistor, though, as those will be of a pretty high resistance anyway.
Thanks.. I was wondering if I can check it on the board..... before removing it.
And there are so many, not sure how the guy in the video determined which to swap (though my model is different).
Thx
desmo907 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
capacitors onkyo ht-rc270 hdmi

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off