video randomly cuts out on Denon AVR-1712 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-26-2011, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
digiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I recently bought a new denon avr-1712 receiver. I have my appletv2 and ps3 hooked up via hdmi to my tv. Using all HDMI. I notice that my tv would randomly cut out at times leaving a blank screen and then come back 1-2 seconds later. This happens randomly. I'm not sure what the problem is. Could it be my HDMI cables are old or incompatible? I am using Belkin HDMI cables. This problem doesn't happen when my TV is directly connected via HDMI to my ps3 or appletv. I don't know if I should return my receiver for another one. Perhaps a bad unit?

Anyone else experience this blank screen issue with their denon receivers?
digiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-26-2011, 07:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,015
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22594 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
Seeing as quality HDMI HI Speed cables can be purchased from forum sponsor Monoprice for about $5/each, you might want to try replacing the cables first. Next would be resetting the microprocessor, and finally if still no joy, replacing the AVR.

For more information on your new 1712, join us in the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig. You could also try the HDMI reset procedure listed in post #3 of the XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-27-2011, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
digiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will try replacing the HDMI cables 1st to see if that fixes it. Hopefully that could be the problem.
digiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 07-23-2012, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
koshizan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are not alone. Another one here. Signal periodically cuts out for a short time. Occurs on the hd player and also the hd TWT cable box. Replaced cables with WireLogic 9 Foot Sapphire gold plated high speed HDMI Cables. Have reset 1712. Exchanged cable box. Problem persists. How is Denon at addressing issues on the AVR's (this is my first Denon since an MD in the 90's and do like it)?
Thanks, David
koshizan is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-23-2012, 06:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,015
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22594 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
The cable box issue is quite common with all brands of AVRs and can be resolved by bypassing the AVR. If the HD player has a "Deep Color Output" setting, then set it to OFF.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
koshizan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks JD,
The Samsung BD-D5500 does have a deep color setting - will check that tonight. In theory the 1712 supports it over high speed cables and doesn't look like it can be switched off there... With only the BD player connected to the AVR, was able to recreate the problem. Ditto with just the the SA 4250HD cable box (adjusts resolution to broadcast, not locked on 1080). Don't think the SA 4250HD has a setting for deep color. Can't really bypass the AVR - TV has only one HDMI in and the sound on it sucks... Could try composite cable to the AVR though for the SA box.
koshizan is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,015
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22594 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
You would bypass the AVR for video only ... in your case having to use an HDMI switch and then also connect an optical cable from the cable box to the AVR for surround audio. As you suggest, you could also connect a component and optical cable from the cable box to the AVR as well although doing so you would lose the ability to pass the cable box video/audio through to the TV when the AVR is in Standby (which is why most prefer going the HDMI to TV/optical to AVR route).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-30-2012, 07:55 PM
Newbie
 
koshizan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe tied into the auto-lipsync. Turned that off and had not had a video drop in days...
koshizan is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-05-2012, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
krwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the Auto-lipsync on the AVR or TV?
krwade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1712 Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off