The "official" Yamaha RX-V673 thread. 7.2-Channel Network AVR - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 714Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 3983 Old 07-21-2012, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Lemmons View Post

Long time creeper, this is my first post.
Wanted to let everyone know that I ordered the V671 from Electronics Expo on Amazon today for $363.88. Amazon immediately listed it as "shipped". I will check back in with whatever shall unfold.
My hope is that my luck will pan out and I will get the V673 upgrade. But I will let you guys know either way -- this forum has helped me many times before. Hope I can help someone now, however simple it may be.

Did you receive and email offer yet?

You can call me Sheila.
sheshechic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 3983 Old 07-21-2012, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Joseph Lemmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes I did, here is the beginning of the email they sent me:

Dear Customer,

 

Thank you for your order. Unfortunately, due to an overwhelming

>response on this item, we are out of stock on the YAMRXV671BL. I

>would like to apologize for the delay in shipping your product. I would

>like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to the new model the YAMRXV673BL.

>This new model has improved features and performance and actually sells

>for a higher price. Due to the inconvenience I can upgrade your order

>and expedite this through our warehouse; there will be no additional

>charge.


Seems that it works!! I've got a friend that is doing the same! Thanks to everyone for the great advice!
ryan0000 likes this.
Joseph Lemmons is offline  
post #123 of 3983 Old 07-21-2012, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Joseph Lemmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Also, here is their follow-up after I confirmed that I would "settle" for the upgraded unit:

Dear Customer,

As per your request I have upgraded your order to the new model. I will have it expedited out of our warehouse and sent to you as quickly as possible. Also there is no additional charge for anything and this is a brand new item. Once your order ships, you will receive tracking information sent to the email address used to place this order. 



Hope this helps someone else before they stop doing it!
Joseph Lemmons is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 3983 Old 07-22-2012, 12:58 PM
Member
 
rothlike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Lemmons View Post

Also, here is their follow-up after I confirmed that I would "settle" for the upgraded unit:
Dear Customer,
As per your request I have upgraded your order to the new model. I will have it expedited out of our warehouse and sent to you as quickly as possible. Also there is no additional charge for anything and this is a brand new item. Once your order ships, you will receive tracking information sent to the email address used to place this order. 
Hope this helps someone else before they stop doing it!

I hope so too, I pulled the trigger last night. What concerns me is that it showed 11 in stock, hope that is inaccurate.

Cheers! Big Rich
rothlike is offline  
post #125 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 25
How long did it take people to hear back from EE? My Amazon order marked as SHIPPED, ordered on Saturday, still no email from EE offering an upgrade yet.

Will be really bummed if I get the 671 and probably out the expense to return it.
BradP is offline  
post #126 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
RudeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It showed 8 in stock this morning, hope this will work.

RudeX is offline  
post #127 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
RudeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's showing shipped in my Amazon account without a tracking number. Guess it did not work, oh well. frown.gif

RudeX is offline  
post #128 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Got the email just now, so anyone who's waiting, sit tight, it's looking like we're all still getting upgraded. Very cool and thanks again for pointing this out!
Joseph Lemmons likes this.
BradP is offline  
post #129 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 12:08 PM
Member
 
azboricua86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the same experience. It will show shipped on Amazon without any emails or tracking information. You will then get the email within 24 hours depending on how busy they are.
Joseph Lemmons likes this.
azboricua86 is offline  
post #130 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just wonder when it shipped or if we'll know? Amazon has no tracking information and I was just told it would be "expedited" and I'd receive tracking info via email, but haven't gotten anything.

Those who have been upgraded, how were you notifed of shipment/tracking or did it just show up at your door without any further communication after accepting the upgrade offer?

I need this for the weekend, hence the reason I'm curious. wink.gif
BradP is offline  
post #131 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
chjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a 673 today. So far, I really like it. Can someone point me to a discrete code set list for this ting b/c my wife has threatened to boycott the living room unless I can get everything to work "easy" with my Pronto "like it did yesterday." wink.gif

Also, I found an odd bonus that no-one has mentioned, so maybe it is unknown. I have a Squeezebox, which uses a NON-DLNA server. When I went to the network input, it showed my SqueezeServer and I was able to access the files on that server, with cover art. This can be a solution to the no-pandora issue as you can set up a Pandora account with the Squeezeserver, as well as a Sirius/XM and a number of other streaming services. You dont have to have a squeezebox to d/l and use the squeeze server and there are several good IOS applications that will control it. There are also some for Android but I have not used them.I have not yet played much as I have been trying to get the HDMI switching set up so we can actually watch TV tonight.

chj
chjones is offline  
post #132 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Joseph Lemmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sorry for the delay guys, seems you figured out the Amazon shipping issue. They seem to mark its shipped as quickly as possible, who knows why. I finally have a real tracking number and can still track it through Amazon. So you can look forward to that. My estimated dates are from 7/20 - 7/25 --- going from New Jersey to South Carolina, I expect it by tomorrow.

Unfortunately, I won't be able to test it for a while. We just built a house and are still settling in --- got to help with other things first lol, keep the ladies happy smile.gif
Joseph Lemmons is offline  
post #133 of 3983 Old 07-23-2012, 10:58 PM
Member
 
rothlike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my complimentary upgrade offer this morning just as others have. Glad it worked out! Thanks folks!

Cheers! Big Rich
rothlike is offline  
post #134 of 3983 Old 07-24-2012, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
RudeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
congrats Roth, I'm still waiting...

RudeX is offline  
post #135 of 3983 Old 07-24-2012, 09:03 AM
Member
 
azboricua86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now I have a huge debate I need to deal with, can someone help me here.

Denon AVR-1913 @ $330 (after tax) from Frys Electronics OR Yamaha RX-V673 at $430 from EE.

I know the Denon has slightly less connectivity but it still meets my needs. My biggest needs are 7.1, Airplay, Powered ZONE 2, Ethernet, Great Sound, can do 6 ohms, and must look great as it will be the center piece of my HT setup.

I am open to any opinions. I need some brainstorming help here.

I move into my new home in less than a month, I'm so excited to set it all up.
azboricua86 is offline  
post #136 of 3983 Old 07-24-2012, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,023
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22598 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
^^
The 1913 (using Audyssey MultEQ) will be able to EQ the sub whereas the V673 (using YPAO) cannot so audio fidelity nod goes to the 1913; however, the V673 offers Zone 2 pre-out jacks so you can have a powered 7.1 in the main zone with 2CH external amp powering Zone 2 speakers whereas the 1913 only offers powered Zone 2 and no Zone 2 pre-out jacks. Also V673 can drop from powered 7.1 in the main zone to powered 5.1/Zone 2 (ie. separate speaker connections) whereas with the 1913 you only have speaker posts for either one configuration or the other. Also V673 can pass/upscale to 4k while the 1913 can only go to 1080p, so really boils down to what additional secondary requirements might be important to you as well as what you have listed.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #137 of 3983 Old 07-24-2012, 09:24 AM
Member
 
azboricua86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Damn, I just noticed the speaker post issue. That's a deal breaker for me for sure. I want to just change the Amp setup with the remote and not have to be swapping wires.

VERY GOOD CATCH!
azboricua86 is offline  
post #138 of 3983 Old 07-24-2012, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
y2k02c5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I can kick myself for this one. Yesterday amazon had the 671 for 349 shipped. Today it's back up to 394. It's like dealing with the airlines with these price swings.
y2k02c5 is offline  
post #139 of 3983 Old 07-24-2012, 10:33 PM
Member
 
rothlike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudeX View Post

congrats Roth, I'm still waiting...

Did you get the offer yet?

Cheers! Big Rich
rothlike is offline  
post #140 of 3983 Old 07-25-2012, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
y2k02c5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ok so I pulled the trigger on the 671 from EE last night. Just got the email regarding the complimentary upgrade to the 673. Replied back and waiting on the follow up confirmation. smile.gif this a huge savings
y2k02c5 is offline  
post #141 of 3983 Old 07-25-2012, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
dplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I jumped on that deal also, just got the follow up confirmation. Came along at just the right time as I needed a replacement for my HK AVR-254 that just died! biggrin.gif
dplant is offline  
post #142 of 3983 Old 07-25-2012, 01:31 PM
Member
 
DEvans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called ElectronicsExpo and got a new 673 for $440 including shipping. Thanks for the tip.
DEvans is offline  
post #143 of 3983 Old 07-25-2012, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
y2k02c5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEvans View Post

I called ElectronicsExpo and got a new 673 for $440 including shipping. Thanks for the tip.

Should have gone the online route. Would have saved more
y2k02c5 is offline  
post #144 of 3983 Old 07-25-2012, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
BrianS56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a 673 and it has been along time since I have bought any audio component. I put an Internet cable in the hook up and the receiver was recognized. Moved to net radio and it says it's loading. This has been going on for 20 mins now. Is this normal or is there something wrong?

Wished I would have came on here before I purchased and got in on the Amazon deal. That is really sweet.

Anyway if someone can help me out here I would appreciate it. This certainly won't be the last question I ask. The last receiver I purchased was 14 yrs ago and you didn't have to have a NASA degree to figure it out. Thanks for any help provided.
BrianS56 is offline  
post #145 of 3983 Old 07-25-2012, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
RudeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rothlike View Post

Did you get the offer yet?

Yeah Roth. I should receive it this Friday, cant wait.

RudeX is offline  
post #146 of 3983 Old 07-26-2012, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Feoen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone. Just installed this receiver and LOVING it. I am having an issue, though, with something that should be simple: AirPlay

On my iPad (3rd gen), any time I play music in the Music app there is no AirPlay button. I have the receiver on and in Server mode, and both are on the same network.

I installed the Yamaha app, and I can control the receiver from it and stream music on my iPad from the app to the receiver.

However, I thought the benefit of AirPlay was to be able to do that not from a 3rd party app but from within Apple's applications themselves.

Has anyone else had trouble doing this? Am I perhaps mistaken in thinking that AirPlay should work with the receiver in a first party app? (meaning maybe AirPlay in the Music app is intended to work solely with the Apple TV?)

Thank you in advance for your help. This topic saved me on the component upscaling through HDMI issue for my Wii, which was driving me bonkers. Still incredible that Yamaha cut corners by not including upscaling for 480p, but I guess you can't have everything.

Additional but not imperative question: The iPad in the above question is actually my dad's. I use an Asus Transformer tablet. My entire music library is stored in Google Music and I stream it through the Google Music app rather than keeping it on any of my devices. Unfortunately, it seems that there is no way to stream music from my tablet that is being streamed to my tablet; I MUST have the file on my tablet in order for it to be recognized by the receiver, even in USB mode. Is there any way to jerry rig this setup as to let me stream from Google Music to my tablet, and from my tablet to the receiver?
Feoen is offline  
post #147 of 3983 Old 07-26-2012, 12:35 PM
Member
 
gkgibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian,
Pg 98 or the electronic manual shows the setup for your Internet connection.
Pull up "Network" in the setup menu and it should run a test showing if you are connected to the outside world.
Once you are, then you can do a software/firmware download, and listen to "V-tuner" internet radio.

LG 55LV5500 - TV
Yamaha RX-V673 - Receiver
LG BP620 - Blu-Ray
Sony 300 Disc CD Changer
JBL Northridge Speakers
Cerwin Vega LW12 Sub
gkgibbs is offline  
post #148 of 3983 Old 07-26-2012, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
JD NC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainan View Post

One thing they did confirm is about the upconversion. The following is from Yamaha support.
The conversion from component IN to HDMI OUT accepts only 480i input and converts up to 4K.
- This is true, only 480i component input is converted/scaled to HDMI out.
The conversion from component IN to component OUT accepts 480i,480p, 720p, 1080i and converts up to 1080i.
- This is not how the chart reads. Basically, component in/out is just a pass through - no conversion or scaling.

I tested my Wii with the V673 and did a comparison between 480p Component out and upscaled 480i HDMI out. As expected, there is no HDMI video output when the Wii is set to 480p. The upscaled 480i picture over HDMI doesn't look that much worse than the 480p picture over component, but it's still a noticeable downgrade, with harsher edges and colors, particularly in the background animation. I have a Wii HDMI converter on order ($20 from amazon), which is a kludgy solution, but ought to resolve the problem by sending the 480p signal directly to an HDMI input on the V673. My only other non-HDMI source is a VHS deck that is 480i to begin with anyway, so as long as I can get the Wii looking its best, I'll be happy.

So in the end, the lack of more robust upconversion is disappointing, but not a deal breaker. I'll do another comparo when the converter comes in to confirm whether this is a good fix.

[UPDATE] The Wii HDMI converter arrived early, and I can confirm that it outputs a clean 480p signal (with audio) through HDMI. The picture is comparable to running 480p to the TV via component. Very pleased with the result. There are many converters available, all around $20 or so. Here's the one I bought:

http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Wii-HDMI-Converter-480p/dp/B0072JP56G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1343394815&sr=8-1&keywords=sewell+wii+hdmi

JD NC is offline  
post #149 of 3983 Old 07-26-2012, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
Landoiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I sent my question concerning this receiver's ability to display a computer video signal via HDMI to Yamaha customer support. I'll post any response I receive.
Landoiv is offline  
post #150 of 3983 Old 07-26-2012, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
y2k02c5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Looks like they finally pulled the EE listing off amazon. The amazon price for the 671 shot up to 549.95 today. glad I ordered when I did.
ryan0000 likes this.
y2k02c5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
firmware update , pandora , sound dropping out , Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off