Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 458 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 369Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13711 of 13725 Old 12-06-2019, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Junior77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I understand the board is no longer available. But is the board itself repairable? Or does the preamp/processor become recyclable trash once the hdmi board fails.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Junior77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13712 of 13725 Old 12-06-2019, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,094
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23200 Post(s)
Liked: 12728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior77 View Post
So, I understand the board is no longer available. But is the board itself repairable? Or does the preamp/processor become recyclable trash once the hdmi board fails.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not likely repairable; however, a repair facility would be the best judge of that.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13713 of 13725 Old 12-06-2019, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
Junior77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not likely repairable; however, a repair facility would be the best judge of that.


Good to know. Anecdotally, it ‘seems’ repair facilities do not attempt to fix a damaged board, since the whole board is no longer available. I’m curious if anyone has had success in a repair or more importantly what is the failure rate of these boards. Will they all die out eventually?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Junior77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13714 of 13725 Old 12-11-2019, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
Junior77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other fix to (other than disconnecting from main power supply) to correct iOS remote app from not working? (Instant crash on app launch).

Has anyone else found an easier solution or how to prevent it from happening?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Junior77 is online now  
post #13715 of 13725 Old 12-12-2019, 08:02 PM
Member
 
JustPlainNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Easley, SC
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior77 View Post
Any other fix to (other than disconnecting from main power supply) to correct iOS remote app from not working? (Instant crash on app launch).

Has anyone else found an easier solution or how to prevent it from happening?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you read my post with the response from Marantz (page before this one), they suggest sending the unit to United Radio for repair and that although the board is not available the parts on the board are available...
JustPlainNuts is offline  
post #13716 of 13725 Old 12-13-2019, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
Junior77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustPlainNuts View Post
If you read my post with the response from Marantz (page before this one), they suggest sending the unit to United Radio for repair and that although the board is not available the parts on the board are available...


Thank-you for the response. Are you suggesting the hdmi board failure and iOS remote app crashing are related?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Junior77 is online now  
post #13717 of 13725 Old 12-14-2019, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Stewy04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alberta
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have just updated my TV but I am having trouble and I am now not able to get it to recognize my Apple box. I run everything through my Marantz but when I choose the Apple TV source on my Marantz the screen tells me to check my device power. I know the apple tv has power and I know everything is hooked up properly. Does anybody know how to get this working?
Stewy04 is offline  
post #13718 of 13725 Old 12-14-2019, 09:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bigguyca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Turkestan
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1239 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustPlainNuts View Post
I purchased a Marantz AV8801 five years ago to this day. The HDMI board went out about 8 months later and Marantz serviced and replace the HDMI board under warranty. Recently, the HDMI board went out again. This time the unit is out of warranty so I drove to my closest authorized Marantz repair center in Atlanta and dropped the unit off for repair. Within 24 hours later, I received a call that the problem was indeed the HDMI board (P/N: 8U-310116D). However, the tech let me know that part was no longer available.

I contacted the 3rd party company that handles Marantz replacement parts called Encompass only to receive the same information. I asked if there was a replacement part with a different part number, but the answer was still no. So now I have a $3500 paper weight. It seems odd to me that Marantz would not have replacement parts for their flagship pre/pro that is only 5 years old.

I plan to work my way up the levels of management at Marantz until I get a solution. Does any one else have this issue? Does anyone have any idea on a solution?
Your's seems to be a common issue with electronics, sorry to hear about it.

A different idea is to check if there is a law in your state concerning a requirement for the availability of spare parts and/or a requirement to fix equipment for a certain time period after sale. Many states have these laws, but they do vary by state.

Added thought:

You might check if you used a credit card that extends the warranty for two years, to purchase the AV8801. That level unit today has a 3-year warranty and several current credit cards, for example the Costco Visa and at least one Citi MasterCard, provide two years of added warranty after the original warranty expires up to a total of five years.

Last edited by bigguyca; 12-14-2019 at 11:39 PM.
bigguyca is online now  
post #13719 of 13725 Old 12-17-2019, 11:24 AM
Member
 
mjz3348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Factory reset question

When I do a factory reset - what gets reset and what is left alone?


I am asking because my AV8801 has an annoying habit since last firmware update to no longer respond to the remote control, hard knobs for audio and source as well as no sound. Only by unplugging the unit and "rebooting" will it return to normal function. This lasts only a short set of standby cycles when I have to unplug it again to get working.


I was told by Marantz to do a factory reset. I know I lose Auddessy, what else is lost?


Thanks
mjz3348 is offline  
post #13720 of 13725 Old 12-17-2019, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,094
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23200 Post(s)
Liked: 12728
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjz3348 View Post
When I do a factory reset - what gets reset and what is left alone?


I am asking because my AV8801 has an annoying habit since last firmware update to no longer respond to the remote control, hard knobs for audio and source as well as no sound. Only by unplugging the unit and "rebooting" will it return to normal function. This lasts only a short set of standby cycles when I have to unplug it again to get working.


I was told by Marantz to do a factory reset. I know I lose Auddessy, what else is lost?


Thanks
The majority of your configuration setup settings which is why you're best served doing a SAVE (p. 107 Owner's manual) to a PC file prior to doing the microprocessor reset.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13721 of 13725 Old 12-17-2019, 01:46 PM
Member
 
mjz3348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The majority of your configuration setup settings which is why you're best served doing a SAVE (p. 107 Owner's manual) to a PC file prior to doing the microprocessor reset.

Thank you for that suggestion! I just did the save (creates a config.dat file) in prep for the microprocessor reset. Just to confirm, this will also save my Audessey settings?
mjz3348 is offline  
post #13722 of 13725 Old 12-17-2019, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,094
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23200 Post(s)
Liked: 12728
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjz3348 View Post
Thank you for that suggestion! I just did the save (creates a config.dat file) in prep for the microprocessor reset. Just to confirm, this will also save my Audessey settings?
Yes.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13723 of 13725 Old 01-04-2020, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
ama732mx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Will the 8801 allow me to stream Pandora from my phone?

Thanks
ama732mx1 is offline  
post #13724 of 13725 Old 01-09-2020, 07:05 AM
Member
 
goodkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
spotify is gone ?

hello

I was in a looong process of moving my house and I had to keep my 8801 in a box. I managed to put my HT system back couple of weeks ago and updated marantz firmware to latest. I see that spotify is gone from the network tab. is this related to firmware ? what happened while im gone

Emotiva XPR-5 | Marantz AV8801 | Klipsch RF-7II Front | Klipsch RF-82II Surround | Klipsch RC-64II Center | Oppo 105 BRP | Sunfire TS EQ12 Sub | Elitescreen Cinetension2 120" screen | Sony HW55ES Pj | Playstation 4
goodkat is offline  
post #13725 of 13725 Old 01-10-2020, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,094
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23200 Post(s)
Liked: 12728
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodkat View Post
hello

I was in a looong process of moving my house and I had to keep my 8801 in a box. I managed to put my HT system back couple of weeks ago and updated marantz firmware to latest. I see that spotify is gone from the network tab. is this related to firmware ? what happened while im gone
Spotify was removed via firmware update 3/2018 on the 2013 and earlier models. You now must use Spotify Connect via phone/tablet.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off