Yamaha RX-V 75 Series owners thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5004Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3371 Old 05-07-2013, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 81
All MHL lets you do is charge (or power) a compatible device while having it plugged into the front HDMI jack of the receiver. If the device doesn't support MHL then you can still hook it up to the front HDMI jack i (f it has an HDMI output, like most Apple devices these days) and/or the front USB jack if you want to charge it.
Ross Ridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3371 Old 05-07-2013, 07:52 PM
Member
 
grsmith317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross Ridge View Post

All MHL lets you do is charge (or power) a compatible device while having it plugged into the front HDMI jack of the receiver. If the device doesn't support MHL then you can still hook it up to the front HDMI jack i (f it has an HDMI output, like most Apple devices these days) and/or the front USB jack if you want to charge it.
As far as I know, no apple devices have an HDMI jack unless you buy an adapter. The one for the latest apple connector is $40. Apple doesn't use standard connectors ... they love to sell accessories. More change in the pocket for them that way.
grsmith317 is offline  
post #63 of 3371 Old 05-07-2013, 10:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Yes, with many Apple devices you'd need to use a special HDMI cable that connects to a proprietary port on the device, just like you would need to use special USB cable to connect one of these devices to a USB port. However a number of Apple devices have standard HDMI, USB and/or other ports, like their laptops and desktop computers.
Ross Ridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 3371 Old 05-15-2013, 01:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Just got the 675. I have 2 front presence and 1 back surround hooked up. Supposedly when you use Cinema DSP 3D the presence speakers will work and then when you turn off the Cinema DSP 3D the "Intelligent amp" will automatically switch the front presence off and switch to the back surround. This is not happening for me.
I have to go into the Manual setup and set the front presence speakers to "None" in order to get the back surround speaker to work.
What is the deal?

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #65 of 3371 Old 05-15-2013, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Looks like you cant save Pandora and Rhapsody stations as presets anymore. Bummer.

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #66 of 3371 Old 05-15-2013, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Just got my first Pandora "access error". Rhapsody doesnt work properly either. Pretty often after playing a song it will go back to the Main menu instead of playing the next song.

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #67 of 3371 Old 05-16-2013, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Bond 007 is offline  
post #68 of 3371 Old 05-16-2013, 06:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,061
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 8743
hmm I have been lucky no access errors for a couple weeks. I found out the issue was my lte device dropping into 3g because verizon had a tower that was down close to my residence.

Is that with the new 675?
basshead81 is offline  
post #69 of 3371 Old 05-16-2013, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Quote:
Originally Posted by basshead81 View Post

hmm I have been lucky no access errors for a couple weeks. I found out the issue was my lte device dropping into 3g because verizon had a tower that was down close to my residence.

Is that with the new 675?
Yes, sir.
Did you see my other recent posts?

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #70 of 3371 Old 05-16-2013, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
MountainMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 72

Bond,

Thanks for that link. Looks like Newegg will sell the A820 for $499 until 6-22. They don't list the 775 right now, but show an "in cart" price discount to 549 for the 773. Not sure how long that offer is good for.

All:

I haven't looked for an AVR in a long time. My current/old Yami R-V1105 has lasted for something like 15 years and is still working fine. But no hdmi capability, of course.

Here's the thing: I've been looking at ALL brands and models of AVR's customer feedback and I see a too common trend: Way too many complaints of super early failure in the first 1 to 3 months. Some complaining they have had the same AVR replaced 3 times in 30 days and gave up due to 3 failures in a row. These were listed as new purchases, not open box or used.

Could it be that a sizable percentage of these failures are actually the average Joe screwing up and damaging the receiver due to dumb errors? I dunno on that.

Is reliability across all brands really that poor - or is it more likely the numbers are skewed because satisfied buyers frequently don't give feedback whereas pretty much anyone who gets burned will be leaving feedback?

Final question: Any opinions on which is likely to be more reliable - v773 or a820

I suppose near the 500 mark for these receivers, it's worth the time and 15% restock fee if I have to return a couple to Newegg before getting a reliable one?

I'm surprised at the complaints of frequent reliability problems including Yamaha's 'cause my 1105 has been worked hard, moved a lot and acts tough as an anvil.

Thanks,

mm
MountainMichael is offline  
post #71 of 3371 Old 05-16-2013, 08:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
I wasnt aware of what you are saying. I have had 3 Yamahas in 4 years and have only had minor technical issues. Mostly poor firmware updates. I have had so many because I keep upgrading.
And I keep up pretty well with the Yamaha threads and have not noticed any unreasonable amount of people reporting failures.

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #72 of 3371 Old 05-16-2013, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
MountainMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I wasnt aware of what you are saying. I have had 3 Yamahas in 4 years and have only had minor technical issues. Mostly poor firmware updates. I have had so many because I keep upgrading.
And I keep up pretty well with the Yamaha threads and have not noticed any unreasonable amount of people reporting failures.

Thanks for the info. Good to know. I think if they look reliable in the threads in AVS, that means more to me than average customer feedback since people in here seem generally more knowledgeable.

I'll see if I can find any dedicated threads in AVS on both.
MountainMichael is offline  
post #73 of 3371 Old 05-22-2013, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Stiege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone running zone 2 on a 775? If so, can you confirm that Airplay AND Pandora run to the second zone? I'd like to know before I pull the trigger and pick one up.

TIA,

Jason
Stiege is offline  
post #74 of 3371 Old 05-25-2013, 10:39 AM
Member
 
BT&annie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiege View Post

Is anyone running zone 2 on a 775? If so, can you confirm that Airplay AND Pandora run to the second zone? I'd like to know before I pull the trigger and pick one up.

TIA,

Jason

Pandora works in zone 2, haven't tried airplay but don't see why that wouldn't if Pandora does. I've got bot the rear surrounds and zone two speakers powered by the 775 so it swaps from 7.1 to 5.1 + zone 2 when I turn on zone 2. For digital signals (e.g. Dish via HDMI) party mode works to send that to zone 2.
BT&annie is offline  
post #75 of 3371 Old 05-28-2013, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ctbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the RX-V375 can pass the HDMI signal while in standby mode? I'm planing on getting this unit for a bedroom and don't want too use the AVR 100% of the time. I have an A1000 in living room that is able to do that. Although the Onkyo HT-R667 that's currently in by bedroom (to be replaced by the Yamaha) will not and I need to turn on the AVR to use the TV.
ctbrown is offline  
post #76 of 3371 Old 05-28-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctbrown View Post

Does anyone know if the RX-V375 can pass the HDMI signal while in standby mode?
Yes

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #77 of 3371 Old 05-29-2013, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Yes
I'm not so sure about that. Look at the manual for the RX-V475/575, page 74. It specifically discusses the "Standby Through" feature.

Now look at that same HDMI section in the 375 manual (page 59). No mention of standby HDMI pass-through.

It was that way with the 373 and 473/573 as well.

JBWIII is offline  
post #78 of 3371 Old 05-29-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
I could very well be wrong then. I have a 467, 671 and 675. They all have standby pass through. I figured they all do. Why would my 467 have it but not the 473 and 573?

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #79 of 3371 Old 05-29-2013, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,910
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 749 Post(s)
Liked: 474
He means the 373 doesn't have it but the 473/573 do. The 3xx is based on a different design to meet the low price point. HDMI standby through seems to be one of the features it doesn't have.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #80 of 3371 Old 06-07-2013, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
zielenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The main differences between the 675 and the 775 appear to be:
1) Aluminum front
2) Wireless adapter included
3) Multi-point YPAO
4) Party mode

Right now on Amazon there's a $250 price differential. I have CAT-5 to my receiver, so I don't really need the wireless. Anyone think the other three are worth the extra $250?
zielenator is offline  
post #81 of 3371 Old 06-07-2013, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Quote:
Originally Posted by zielenator View Post

The main differences between the 675 and the 775 appear to be:
1) Aluminum front
2) Wireless adapter included
3) Multi-point YPAO
4) Party mode

Right now on Amazon there's a $250 price differential. I have CAT-5 to my receiver, so I don't really need the wireless. Anyone think the other three are worth the extra $250?
I dont but thats up to you. Multi point can be helpful.I live in an apt so no use for party mode. Plus Im cheap. smile.gif

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #82 of 3371 Old 06-07-2013, 07:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,910
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 749 Post(s)
Liked: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by zielenator View Post

The main differences between the 675 and the 775 appear to be:
1) Aluminum front
2) Wireless adapter included
3) Multi-point YPAO
4) Party mode

Right now on Amazon there's a $250 price differential. I have CAT-5 to my receiver, so I don't really need the wireless. Anyone think the other three are worth the extra $250?

Other major differences on the 775:-
o Pre-amp outputs
o Second HDMI output
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #83 of 3371 Old 06-08-2013, 04:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Other major differences on the 775:-
o Pre-amp outputs
o Second HDMI output
Those could be useful. smile.gif

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #84 of 3371 Old 06-12-2013, 05:00 AM
Member
 
WBFAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello all

Sorry for such a silly question, but I just picked up a 475 an was wondering...

...is there anyway to stop the volume level adjustment pop-up that comes up on the screen every time I make an adjustment to that?

Probably some like this but I find it quite distracting an thus annoying.

Am hoping there is someway to do this.

Thanks.
WBFAir is offline  
post #85 of 3371 Old 06-12-2013, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Quote:
Originally Posted by WBFAir View Post

Hello all

Sorry for such a silly question, but I just picked up a 475 an was wondering...

...is there anyway to stop the volume level adjustment pop-up that comes up on the screen every time I make an adjustment to that?

Probably some like this but I find it quite distracting an thus annoying.

Am hoping there is someway to do this.

Thanks.
Yes. There is a way to turn the "short message" off. I am not at home right now but you have to go into the Setup Menu. It is described in the owners manual.

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #86 of 3371 Old 06-12-2013, 05:09 AM
Member
 
WBFAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow thanks for the quick reply.

Have scanned through the manual but didn't find anything on this yet, all though its a big manual so not surprised if I haven't found it yet.

Btw, is the term "short Message" what I should be looking for? As I did a adobe search of the doc for that and got nothing.

Thanks again.
WBFAir is offline  
post #87 of 3371 Old 06-12-2013, 05:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,734
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3199 Post(s)
Liked: 2513
Bond 007 is offline  
post #88 of 3371 Old 06-12-2013, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,910
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 749 Post(s)
Liked: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by WBFAir View Post

...I just picked up a 475 an was wondering...

...is there anyway to stop the volume level adjustment pop-up that comes up on the screen every time I make an adjustment to that?

This was a big issue a few years ago and I thought it was solved. But I only see the "short message" setting in the manual for the 675 and above, and the 475/575 don't seem to have it. If you really can't turn off the on-screen volume then Yamaha never seem to learn from previous mistakes.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #89 of 3371 Old 06-12-2013, 06:35 AM
Member
 
WBFAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah started Google-ing for Short Message & Rx-V and stuff like that an found path to this in the settings being mentioned for others, but checked an for my unit, this option is not there. frown.gif
WBFAir is offline  
post #90 of 3371 Old 06-13-2013, 02:56 AM
Newbie
 
lmolenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am the recent owner of the RV-V775 but I have two issues:
1:> 3D content redirected via the receiver to my projector does not show any video (sound works fine). Power cycling the BD player makes no difference. Normal content is displayed ok.

Setup: Panasonic DMP-BDT230 (blu-ray drive) connected to my RV-V775, again connected to my Panasonic PTA-8000 projector. All using HQ hdmi 1.4 cables.
Note: When I connect the projector directly to the blu-ray player I have no problems.

2:> The Subwoofer is detected during auto configuration (produces a mild 'woof' sound) but it does not activate when playing music or watching a movie. During configuration I set the volume 100%, the phase on 0% and the cutt off on 100%. Did I go wrong there?

Any help is greatly appreciated
lmolenaar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
a/v receiver , component cables , fire stick , hdmi , optical audio , receiver , Samsung 55 Inch Led Hdtv Un55c5000 , sound , television , Tivo , yahama rx v675 , Yamaha , Yamaha Rx V375 5 1 Channel Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V575 7 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V675 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V775wa 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off