The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 119 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2889Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3541 of 5160 Old 02-25-2015, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
^^
Unless you have a 7.1 setup, it doesn't matter if AMP ASSIGN is set to Zone 2, however, the factory default setting is Main Only (7.1) as noted on p. 173 in your Owner's manual.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3542 of 5160 Old 02-26-2015, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
eopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello everyone first time poster but longtime reader. After reading through this thread I decided to pickup the sr7008. Still putting it through its trial period, but wanted to alert everyone of the great price that it going for. I went to my local Magnolia Design Center to look at the sr7009. The rep told me that the sr7008's are being clearance out for 899.00 NIB. They don't show that price on the website, but if you ask I'm sure they would tell you as much. I was all set to buy one when the rep told me that he had a customer return of the sr7008, that he would sell me for 799.00. Looked it over and everything was in the box so now I'm a proud new owner of the sr7008. Thought I would mention the price as this is the lowest I've seen it, and it beats the refurbish price on Accessories for Less.
asoofi1 likes this.
eopher is offline  
post #3543 of 5160 Old 02-27-2015, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Nothing beats finding a nice peace of kit at a bargain price! Now combine it with a good audiostreamer like bluesound and you will rediscover your musiclibrary!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
eopher likes this.
tom1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3544 of 5160 Old 02-27-2015, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
If somebody has a good suggestion to replace my ageing moviestreamer boxeebox just let me know 'cause everythong that I researched wasn't perfect or at least not worth the upgrade....


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
tom1972 is offline  
post #3545 of 5160 Old 02-27-2015, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Hi,

I have a Marantz SR-7008 receiver. Sometimes when watching Blu-ray movies with "Dolby True HD" soundtrack, the front LCD display on the receiver shows "Dolby Digital" instead. However if I check the A/V source info on my TV screen, it says the "Dolby True HD" audio track is selected. Similarly for Blu-ray movies with "DTS HD Master Audio", sometimes the receiver display says "DTS Surround" instead.

This does not happen on all movies. Sometimes the receiver actually displays "Dolby TrueHD", "DTS HD MSTR" or "DTS HD-MA" on its LCD display, which matches the source audio format.

So I wonder if the receiver sometimes fails to decode the original sound track format, so it down-converts it to another lower quality format? Is there anyone else that has experienced this?
Fjodor2000 is offline  
post #3546 of 5160 Old 02-27-2015, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
^^
The AVR is going to play what it is receiving so if you're only seeing DD/DTS on the front panel, that is what the unit is receiving. Ensure you have selected the HD audio sound track on the BD as it's not always the default.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3547 of 5160 Old 02-28-2015, 01:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The AVR is going to play what it is receiving so if you're only seeing DD/DTS on the front panel, that is what the unit is receiving. Ensure you have selected the HD audio sound track on the BD as it's not always the default.
Yes, I have selected the HD audio track on the BD-player. I checked it specifically by pressing the "Info" button on the TV remote, and then the audio and video stream properties gets overlayed in the TV image so I could confirm the selected stream formats.

So does this mean that the Marantz SR-7008 AVR is down-scaling the HD audio stream to a lossy format? Or could the Blu-ray player (Sony BDP-S1200) do the downconversion despite indicating a HD lossless audio format being selected (and using HDMI 1.4 cable to the AVR)? And if so, what could be the reasons for that? Anything that can be done to fix it (e.g. by changing some setting)?

Last edited by Fjodor2000; 02-28-2015 at 02:29 AM.
Fjodor2000 is offline  
post #3548 of 5160 Old 02-28-2015, 02:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fjodor2000 View Post
Yes, I have selected the HD audio track on the BD-player. I checked it specifically by pressing the "Info" button on the TV remote, and then the audio and video stream properties gets overlayed in the TV image so I could confirm the selected stream formats.

So does this mean that the Marantz SR-7008 AVR is down-scaling the HD audio stream to a lossy format? Or could the Blu-ray player (Sony BDP-S1200) do the downconversion despite indicating a HD lossless audio format being selected (and using HDMI 1.4 cable to the AVR)? And if so, what could be the reasons for that? Anything that can be done to fix it (e.g. by changing some setting)?
Ok, I solved it myself now!

It was a setting in the Sony BDP-S1200 Blu-ray player that caused it to not send lossless HD format to the Marantz SR-7008 AVR. This one to be specific:

"[BD Audio MIX Setting]
[On]: Outputs the audio obtained by
mixing the interactive and secondary
audio to the primary audio.
[Off]: Outputs the primary audio only.
Select this to output HD audio signals to
an AV amplifier (receiver).
"

If I set it to "Off", then the AVR receives and displays the lossless HD audio stream correctly. So now I also see e.g. "Dolby TrueHD" and "DTS-HD MSTR" on the AVR LCD display.
Fjodor2000 is offline  
post #3549 of 5160 Old 03-02-2015, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm getting ready to add rear surround speakers to my sr5008. I know that Zone2 can only be used on the speaker outs if the Main Zone is in 5.1 mode.

If I have Main Zone set to 7.1, can Zone2 be used from the pre-amp outs with a separate amp?

Also, the Canton Plus S speakers I'm using for surround are rated at "4-8 ohms". Is that a concern for the sr5008, or am I ok to use these?
Dartr is offline  
post #3550 of 5160 Old 03-02-2015, 03:18 PM
Newbie
 
Slash1953's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Afternoon, folks. I'm having a subwoofer LFE output issue on my 5008. I'm getting a "motorboat" type oscillating thumping that increases with volume. I've tried swapping different subs and cables, and am getting the same results. The subs work fine with another amp, so I'm fearing the worst. This has started since I updated the firmware last week, so that raises my eyebrows. Any ideas? Thanks.
Slash1953 is offline  
post #3551 of 5160 Old 03-02-2015, 06:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartr View Post
I'm getting ready to add rear surround speakers to my sr5008. I know that Zone2 can only be used on the speaker outs if the Main Zone is in 5.1 mode.

If I have Main Zone set to 7.1, can Zone2 be used from the pre-amp outs with a separate amp?

Also, the Canton Plus S speakers I'm using for surround are rated at "4-8 ohms". Is that a concern for the sr5008, or am I ok to use these?
1. Yes, Zone 2 pre-outs can be used with main zone 7.1 setup.
2. Surrounds don't draw much power, so no.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3552 of 5160 Old 03-02-2015, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slash1953 View Post
Afternoon, folks. I'm having a subwoofer LFE output issue on my 5008. I'm getting a "motorboat" type oscillating thumping that increases with volume. I've tried swapping different subs and cables, and am getting the same results. The subs work fine with another amp, so I'm fearing the worst. This has started since I updated the firmware last week, so that raises my eyebrows. Any ideas? Thanks.
First try a soft reset by simply unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes. If still no joy, try resetting the microprocessor (p. 200 Owner's manual) a few times after saving the config file to a PC file using the Web Control feature.
Slash1953 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3553 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 06:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Yes, Zone 2 pre-outs can be used with main zone 7.1 setup.
2. Surrounds don't draw much power, so no.
Thank you, jdsmoothie. I appreciate the help!

Now #2 leads me into a related question. I found a matching center speaker of the same specs, also "4-8 ohms". Would it be problematic if I were to use this as well? Going down that path, if I were to ever replace my mains with a match set with the same stated impedance, would a full set of these be an issue for my sr5008?

Planned setup
Mains: Acoustic Research 318ps
Center: Canton Ergo cm400 (or a GLE 455.2)
Sides & Rears: Canton Plus S
Sub: Canton AS-100

Possible future setup
Mains: Cantons of similar spec
Center: Canton Ergo cm400
Sides & Rears: Canton Plus S
Sub: Canton AS-100

Not sure if this matters, but our listening activity is probably 70% movies and TV (fairly loud with movies), and 30% music, split between either 2.1 or multi-channel mode at all different volumes.

Last edited by Dartr; 03-03-2015 at 07:18 AM.
Dartr is offline  
post #3554 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Slash1953's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
First try a soft reset by simply unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes. If still no joy, try resetting the microprocessor (p. 200 Owner's manual) a few times after saving the config file to a PC file using the Web Control feature.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slash1953 View Post
Afternoon, folks. I'm having a subwoofer LFE output issue on my 5008. I'm getting a "motorboat" type oscillating thumping that increases with volume. I've tried swapping different subs and cables, and am getting the same results. The subs work fine with another amp, so I'm fearing the worst. This has started since I updated the firmware last week, so that raises my eyebrows. Any ideas? Thanks.
First try a soft reset by simply unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes. If still no joy, try resetting the microprocessor (p. 200 Owner's manual) a few times after saving the config file to a PC file using the Web Control feature.



Thanks, jdsmoothie! Your advice is again spot on. The soft reset worked.
Slash1953 is offline  
post #3555 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 12:09 PM
Member
 
andreray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hoping you 4ohm speaker and 7008 owners could chime in. I recently purchased a Marantz 7008, still within the return period. After the purchase I noticed the Marantz does not "officially" support 4ohm speakers which I currently have... Martin Logan 50xt, 40's and 2 pairs for motions 15's. After digging around and reading up on the Denon 4520 (which is still available for about the same price as I paid for the 7008) I am wondering if that is a more optimal receiver for my setup? The 7008 is currently hooked up, sounds great but run pretty warm even in a non closed environment. I need this unit to last if i am keeping it... Thoughts?
andreray is offline  
post #3556 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreray View Post
Hoping you 4ohm speaker and 7008 owners could chime in. I recently purchased a Marantz 7008, still within the return period. After the purchase I noticed the Marantz does not "officially" support 4ohm speakers which I currently have... Martin Logan 50xt, 40's and 2 pairs for motions 15's. After digging around and reading up on the Denon 4520 (which is still available for about the same price as I paid for the 7008) I am wondering if that is a more optimal receiver for my setup? The 7008 is currently hooked up, sounds great but run pretty warm even in a non closed environment. I need this unit to last if i am keeping it... Thoughts?

It officially does not in the manual specs, but technically it does. But you'll need an amp to run the hungry MG no matter what avr you get. Heat is normal, it just shouldn't be burning...like an Onkyo oven. Nothing wrong with going with 4520 either...selling for 900 new on Amazon a couple weeks ago...but been hearing some reports of issues more so than the 7008.
asoofi1 is offline  
post #3557 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 03:56 PM
Member
 
andreray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
It officially does not in the manual specs, but technically it does. But you'll need an amp to run the hungry MG no matter what avr you get. Heat is normal, it just shouldn't be burning...like an Onkyo oven. Nothing wrong with going with 4520 either...selling for 900 new on Amazon a couple weeks ago...but been hearing some reports of issues more so than the 7008.
It isn't burning but it is warm, very warm... but not to hot to touch.

Are you thinking I should add a 2 channel Marantz amp for example to my setup? For which speakers?
andreray is offline  
post #3558 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartr View Post
Thank you, jdsmoothie. I appreciate the help!

Now #2 leads me into a related question. I found a matching center speaker of the same specs, also "4-8 ohms". Would it be problematic if I were to use this as well? Going down that path, if I were to ever replace my mains with a match set with the same stated impedance, would a full set of these be an issue for my sr5008?

Planned setup
Mains: Acoustic Research 318ps
Center: Canton Ergo cm400 (or a GLE 455.2)
Sides & Rears: Canton Plus S
Sub: Canton AS-100

Possible future setup
Mains: Cantons of similar spec
Center: Canton Ergo cm400
Sides & Rears: Canton Plus S
Sub: Canton AS-100

Not sure if this matters, but our listening activity is probably 70% movies and TV (fairly loud with movies), and 30% music, split between either 2.1 or multi-channel mode at all different volumes.
At moderate TV listening volume levels, there still shouldn't be a problem, but the AVR may shut down as you get closer to movie reference level of 80/0db in which case you can simply dial the volume back a bit.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3559 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreray View Post
Hoping you 4ohm speaker and 7008 owners could chime in. I recently purchased a Marantz 7008, still within the return period. After the purchase I noticed the Marantz does not "officially" support 4ohm speakers which I currently have... Martin Logan 50xt, 40's and 2 pairs for motions 15's. After digging around and reading up on the Denon 4520 (which is still available for about the same price as I paid for the 7008) I am wondering if that is a more optimal receiver for my setup? The 7008 is currently hooked up, sounds great but run pretty warm even in a non closed environment. I need this unit to last if i am keeping it... Thoughts?
If the unit doesn't shut down at your desired listening level, then you're good to go. The 4520CI on the other hand would be a much better choice at louder listening levels, not likely requiring any external amplification even at movie reference level of 80/0db.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3560 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreray View Post
It isn't burning but it is warm, very warm... but not to hot to touch.

Are you thinking I should add a 2 channel Marantz amp for example to my setup? For which speakers?
You would want to add an amp to the FL/FR speakers ... say an Emotiva XPA-2, although for that additional cost, you might as well just get the 4520CI.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3561 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
When I play music from my iPhone or iTunes via AirPlay, only one Marantz shows up in the list of available players. Selecting it causes music to play in the main zone. Is there a way to play AirPlay from my iPhone directly to Zone2? That is, how do I get Zone2 to appear in the list of AirPlay devices?
Roadshow is offline  
post #3562 of 5160 Old 03-03-2015, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreray View Post
It isn't burning but it is warm, very warm... but not to hot to touch.

Are you thinking I should add a 2 channel Marantz amp for example to my setup? For which speakers?
If you're uncomfortable with the warmth, exchange it for another 7008...then see if that performs the same way. You may realize the temperature to be normal if second feels the same or you may have had a credible issue.

Using just the 7008, test your two ML 40 running as 'Large' setting for full range 2-channel...Take the volume up as high as you like it and if you like what you hear and there is no distortion, then you may be happy without an amp.

But they could benefit from more power...I would recommend picking up a new/used Emotiva XPA-200 for your LR mains to give you 240w per 4ohm channel...your Martin Logans will thank you for the extra power when running full range as 2-channel.

Although it is a good avr, I'm not pushing for the 4520 because of multiple complaints and lackluster warranty support some are experiencing. My 7008 has been wonderful...knock on wood.
asoofi1 is offline  
post #3563 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 02:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Idk if I'm in the right spot but I have a question if someone can help me lol. I have a marantz sr5008, emotiva xpa5 gen2, klipsch rc-25, klipsch r-28f, klipsch rs-42ii, and the klipsch sw-350. I was wondering if a dedicated preamp or better receiver would give me better sound quality or should I stick with what I have. I could probably spend like 1200 to upgrade my system so any reccomendations on what would be the best upgrade would be appreciated. And also, my marantz has 2 sub outs but how would I calibrate both. I think I have a decent system I just think it could be better and I'm still learning
Romanoandrew3 is offline  
post #3564 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 03:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadshow View Post
When I play music from my iPhone or iTunes via AirPlay, only one Marantz shows up in the list of available players. Selecting it causes music to play in the main zone. Is there a way to play AirPlay from my iPhone directly to Zone2? That is, how do I get Zone2 to appear in the list of AirPlay devices?
In order to play Airplay to Zone 2, you must first select it in the main zone. Once playing there, you can then select the same networking source in Zone 2, and either keep it playing in the main zone or select the original source playing in the main zone. Bottom line, the main zone must be hijacked for a few minutes when using Airplay.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3565 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 03:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,947
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23675 Post(s)
Liked: 13037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanoandrew3 View Post
Idk if I'm in the right spot but I have a question if someone can help me lol. I have a marantz sr5008, emotiva xpa5 gen2, klipsch rc-25, klipsch r-28f, klipsch rs-42ii, and the klipsch sw-350. I was wondering if a dedicated preamp or better receiver would give me better sound quality or should I stick with what I have. I could probably spend like 1200 to upgrade my system so any reccomendations on what would be the best upgrade would be appreciated. And also, my marantz has 2 sub outs but how would I calibrate both. I think I have a decent system I just think it could be better and I'm still learning
The SR5008 uses Audyssey MultEQ XT, and although upgrading to the SR7008 with XT32 would provide improved audio quality, you're generally going to be better served investing in upgrading speakers or adding another sub before upgrading the AVR. The dual sub pre-outs on the SR5008 and SR6008 are nothing more than an internal "Y" splitter so you would ideally want to place identical subs equidistant from the main listening position before running Audyssey. The XT32 models (eg. SR7008) have an extra feature, Audyssey Sub EQ HT, which can independently set the level and delay of each sub prior to EQ'ing them together.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3566 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 05:24 AM
Member
 
andreray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
If you're uncomfortable with the warmth, exchange it for another 7008...then see if that performs the same way. You may realize the temperature to be normal if second feels the same or you may have had a credible issue.

Using just the 7008, test your two ML 40 running as 'Large' setting for full range 2-channel...Take the volume up as high as you like it and if you like what you hear and there is no distortion, then you may be happy without an amp.

But they could benefit from more power...I would recommend picking up a new/used Emotiva XPA-200 for your LR mains to give you 240w per 4ohm channel...your Martin Logans will thank you for the extra power when running full range as 2-channel.

Although it is a good avr, I'm not pushing for the 4520 because of multiple complaints and lackluster warranty support some are experiencing. My 7008 has been wonderful...knock on wood.
I will give everyone of those recommendations a shot today and tomorrow. There is another new 7008 locally that I can test run to rule out the heat issue.

Will I still enjoy the benefits of the extra amp/power in 7.1 theatre mode or is that mainly going to affect 2-channel stereo?
andreray is offline  
post #3567 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 06:26 AM
Member
 
dbrimberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I saw in a tutorial video recently that you can set up bi-wiring for L/R via OSD using the SR6008. How does this process work exactly? I'm guessing it takes away from another channel in the 7.1 set up corrrect? So bi-wiring L/R mains takes up 4.1 sort of? So out of curiosity would the LF and RF mains also use up say Surround L and Surround R connector on the back of the receiver to complete the bi-wiring of L/R? On top of the and the main reason I'm asking is that my center channel speak can also accept bi-wiring and hence I wanted to see if I'd be able to bi-wire all 3 speakers L/R/C and where the cabling would connect to on the receiver. I don't have any surrounds and such at this time so I realize it may take up 6 of 7 channels available on this receiver if my idea is possible. Thanks!

Is what I'm thinking of passively bi-amping and not bi-wiring? The speakers have 4 binding posts in which I can remove the bridge. Run a pair of +/- from LR to one pair of binding posts and another pair say from LS to the second set of binding post on the same speaker.

Last edited by dbrimberg; 03-04-2015 at 06:38 AM.
dbrimberg is offline  
post #3568 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
garthpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5008 owner here. My old "component" / "RCA-plug-style" DVD player cashed out, so I bought a Samsung H5100 Blu-Ray/ DVD combo HDMI player.
I did the usual hookups, and the 5008 sees that the HDMI cable is in the "BLU-RAY" slot, but I get no signal, only a message stating such on the Samsung F7500 TV. ("Check cables, check slot...")
The WiiU with HDMI works fine, no issue, but I did encounter a similar issue with the Cable STB, which I dumped a few months ago, having never solved the issue but doing a work-around straight to TV with optical out audio.

I haven't tried Samsung customer support, since the last time all I got was that I needed to do a start up sequence, which worked about 5% of the time.

ANY HELP that WON'T require me to run another cable to the TV, since that was a major goal?
garthpro is offline  
post #3569 of 5160 Old 03-04-2015, 10:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Your blu Ray hdmi slot in the marantz isn't assigned to another input is it? I only say this because I did the same thing lol
Romanoandrew3 is offline  
post #3570 of 5160 Old 03-05-2015, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
garthpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BluRay to 5008 won't sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanoandrew3 View Post
Your blu Ray hdmi slot in the marantz isn't assigned to another input is it? I only say this because I did the same thing lol
It says, "BluRay" on the screen? so I think that means it's set correctly. I only have the WiiU going thru the receiver, nothing else. I am thinking one of the gurus here is laughing because this is a rookie mistake somewhere on my part! I was pulling my hair out trying to diagnose the STB issue, only to have one of them say, "Forget it, you can't fix it, no one has" ! I wish Marantz and the WOW would have told me that in the first place!
garthpro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
audio , avr , bass management , bluray , crossover , Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr6008 , Marantz Sr7008 , passhtough , passthrough , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off