Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread - Page 40 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 228Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1257 Old 04-20-2017, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikeitloud View Post
Thank you for pointing that out, I didn't even notice that. Could you suggest something different?


I really cannot as I've been sitting on the side lines in regards to 4K. Been an early adopter all my life but, I finally had enough with all the hdmi madness. I'm waiting on 4K and OLED to mature a bit more before I jump in this time. I have a couple of nice plasmas to get me by until then. And I'm living a pretty much glitch free life with perfectly acceptable 1080p. Good luck with your search.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stevetd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1257 Old 05-29-2017, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Sources available in Zone2?

I was trying to listen to Spotify on my Nvidia Shield through Zone2 (speakers on my deck) yesterday and could not figure for the life of me how to do it. I can listen to Spotify through the app/input on the SC-79 but, it's very buggy and unreliable. I had to restart everything twice before giving up totally. Anyway, is it not possible to do what I'm attempting?
Stevetd is online now  
post #1173 of 1257 Old 05-31-2017, 02:36 PM
Member
 
rrgone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
I was trying to listen to Spotify on my Nvidia Shield through Zone2 (speakers on my deck) yesterday and could not figure for the life of me how to do it. I can listen to Spotify through the app/input on the SC-79 but, it's very buggy and unreliable. I had to restart everything twice before giving up totally. Anyway, is it not possible to do what I'm attempting?
What outputs are available on Nvidia Shield? I seem to remember that the Pioneers would only play analog sources out to zone 2.
rrgone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1174 of 1257 Old 05-31-2017, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
He was a bit vague on that. Would imagine you either go through the headphone jack or BT adapter to analog in.

Sent from my XT1635-02 using Tapatalk
dbpaddler is offline  
post #1175 of 1257 Old 05-31-2017, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrgone View Post
What outputs are available on Nvidia Shield? I seem to remember that the Pioneers would only play analog sources out to zone 2.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dbpaddler View Post
He was a bit vague on that. Would imagine you either go through the headphone jack or BT adapter to analog in.

Sent from my XT1635-02 using Tapatalk

Sorry about the lack of info. I have the Shield connected via HDMI. It doesn't have an analog output. I'm going to assume after googling this issue that this avr doesn't pass digital to zone 2. From what I can gather that didn't become an available feature until a year or two after this model came out.
Stevetd is online now  
post #1176 of 1257 Old 05-31-2017, 06:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Here you go...

https://www.amazon.com/Musou-Extract...onverter&psc=1

Sent from my XT1635-02 using Tapatalk
Snoogleheimer likes this.
dbpaddler is offline  
post #1177 of 1257 Old 06-28-2017, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So, the general consensus is; this receiver does not support HDR even when in passthrough becuase the HDMI ports predate HDMI 2.2?
Michael Medeiros is offline  
post #1178 of 1257 Old 08-19-2017, 02:06 PM
Member
 
yikes21k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 11
no vol control from remote on sc-75

hello, I hope this is the right thread for this...


ive had a pio elite sc-75 for a few years now and other than turning it on and setting up the ARC, I really dont know much about it. my wife while playing her I-pod though the sc-75, must have pressed something so that the remote vol control does not work anymore. the master volume on the sc-75 still works and at this time is the only way I can control volume. while playing around with the buttons on the sc-75, I was able to get the volume indicator to go up and down, however, there was no change in the volume itself. I don't think anything is broken, but I'm stumped as to what she clicked to get it this way. I need to find how to put it back to the way it was. I do not have any other speakers or zones other than 5.1.


any help would be appreciated.


thanks in advance
yikes21k is offline  
post #1179 of 1257 Old 10-18-2017, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Pioneer Elite SC-75

Hi guys,

Can anybody please help me out with Pioneer Elite SC-75 receiver, wanted to know if i can connect a power amp to this receiver as i don't see any PRE-OUT connections at the back of this receiver. Need to run RTI-A9's speakers. Thanks in advance,
tostudd is offline  
post #1180 of 1257 Old 10-18-2017, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Look right in the middle


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Itsstan is offline  
post #1181 of 1257 Old 11-07-2017, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Medeiros View Post
So, the general consensus is; this receiver does not support HDR even when in passthrough becuase the HDMI ports predate HDMI 2.2?
Anyone have any idea? I am trying to run an Xbox 1 X (4k/UHD) and can not even get it to pass-through at 4k. Does anyone have any idea of the HDMI in's that are 4k compatible? If not I think i am just going to try to run the Xbox right to the TV and use the ARC back to the receiver (which I would prefer not to do).

Thanks!
dmariano is offline  
post #1182 of 1257 Old 11-10-2017, 07:34 AM
Member
 
Viritrilbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmariano View Post
Anyone have any idea? I am trying to run an Xbox 1 X (4k/UHD) and can not even get it to pass-through at 4k. Does anyone have any idea of the HDMI in's that are 4k compatible? If not I think i am just going to try to run the Xbox right to the TV and use the ARC back to the receiver (which I would prefer not to do).

Thanks!
You're correct that this receiver does not pass through 4K at all, let alone HDR. You have to connect audio only to your receiver and the video direct to your display.

Setup: Oppo UDP-205EU. Pioneer SC-LX87. Cambridge Audio Azur 851A integrated amp. PMC PB1i front speakers. PMC DB1MC centre. BK XSL200-DF Mk2 sub. B&W Solid Centrale rears & rear surrounds. Cheapo front heights.
Viritrilbia is offline  
post #1183 of 1257 Old 01-03-2018, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
Mdk16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’m considering purchasing a pre-owned sc-75 in prestige condition. How does this unit hold up against todays technology considering it’s been out for 5 plus years? What features do the new elite receivers offer over this? Is there a better option new in the $400-$500 range?

Thank you,
Mdk16 is offline  
post #1184 of 1257 Old 01-04-2018, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdk16 View Post
I’m considering purchasing a pre-owned sc-75 in prestige condition. How does this unit hold up against todays technology considering it’s been out for 5 plus years? What features do the new elite receivers offer over this? Is there a better option new in the $400-$500 range?

Thank you,
If you aren't looking at this for 4K use it should perform well but, I think it would be more in the $300 range.
Stevetd is online now  
post #1185 of 1257 Old 01-04-2018, 05:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is the SC79 capable of DTS X and Dolby Atmos?
dremmick is offline  
post #1186 of 1257 Old 01-04-2018, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Mdk16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
If you aren't looking at this for 4K use it should perform well but, I think it would be more in the $300 range.
Thank you. Yes, initially I was under the impression that it had 4K pass through which the literature states it does but it has 1.4 hdmi not 2.0. I’m not running 4K yet but if that’s the current trend it might be foolish to spend anything on 1.4 technology. If I can pickup for $300, I can use for a bit prior to upgrading to 4K and then use it exclusively for my sonos connect and music.
Mdk16 is offline  
post #1187 of 1257 Old 02-04-2018, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Smsoto0055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone know if you can use the rear surrounds to bi-amp the front speakers on the SC-75? The instructions only give you the option of using the front height, but I am using those as front height to give the front stage a little more presence. I like the way it sounds like that. My rear surrounds are unused because my couch is against the wall, so I thought about putting them to use.
Smsoto0055 is offline  
post #1188 of 1257 Old 04-24-2018, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
So weird thing, looking for advice.

I've had the SC77 for about 4 years now. I've never utilized anything other than the HDMI and multiple zones (one set of RCA for my Alexa)

I decided to free up an HDMI that I had my HD DVD hooked too (I KNOW, I KNOW)...so I thought I'd go Component and Digital Optical cable.

The problem is, I can't do that and still use all 8 HDMI, or at least I can't figure out how. When I go assign the Component to the digital optical, it forces me to use an input that would otherwise be used for HDMI.

What am I missing here?

bungi43 is offline  
post #1189 of 1257 Old 04-24-2018, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by yikes21k View Post
hello, I hope this is the right thread for this...


ive had a pio elite sc-75 for a few years now and other than turning it on and setting up the ARC, I really dont know much about it. my wife while playing her I-pod though the sc-75, must have pressed something so that the remote vol control does not work anymore. the master volume on the sc-75 still works and at this time is the only way I can control volume. while playing around with the buttons on the sc-75, I was able to get the volume indicator to go up and down, however, there was no change in the volume itself. I don't think anything is broken, but I'm stumped as to what she clicked to get it this way. I need to find how to put it back to the way it was. I do not have any other speakers or zones other than 5.1.


any help would be appreciated.


thanks in advance
Check two things

1. hit the "receiver" button on the remote
2. Make sure at the bottom that you didn't accidentally click or switch the zone off the main zone
yikes21k likes this.

bungi43 is offline  
post #1190 of 1257 Old 04-29-2018, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
CarloM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 56
So I'm having trouble finding my mcacc mic for my SC-79. Does anyone know of a place to purchase one? It's out of stock at Pioneer's site. Apparently the part number is APM7009 and even The Google has failed me in trying to find a place to purchase this.
CarloM is offline  
post #1191 of 1257 Old 04-30-2018, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
CarloM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Well crap. Pioneer just emailed me back that the mic is discontinued and they don't have any expectation of getting more in the future.

Would anyone be willing to loan me their mic? I'm happy to pay for shipping both ways. Meanwhile I'm going to go through my place and see if I can find my original mic...
CarloM is offline  
post #1192 of 1257 Old 05-21-2018, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Softwareupdate SC79 dosn´t work

Hello,

I just tried to update my Pioneer SC79 with the follwoing firmware:

SC-79 FW May 7 2018 -> Version 1-329-011-733-206

which is available on the Homepage of Pioneer.



But erverytime I try to update, the Receiver tell me, that there is no compatible software on the usb-stick, and denies the update.
I tried a few sticks an differnt downloads (but the same software), but it wont work.


What make me surprised, is the fact,

that the new softwareversion has a size of 27 MBs,

the older softwareversion only had about 17 MBs.


Has anybody the same challange, and solved it ?


Nice to read of any tipps and tricks.
Adonis
Adonis-SC79 is offline  
post #1193 of 1257 Old 05-21-2018, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 12,043
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarloM View Post
Well crap. Pioneer just emailed me back that the mic is discontinued and they don't have any expectation of getting more in the future.

Would anyone be willing to loan me their mic? I'm happy to pay for shipping both ways. Meanwhile I'm going to go through my place and see if I can find my original mic...
Here U go from e-bagger..
$14.50..

https://www.ebay.com/p/100-Replaceme....c100005.m1851

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
post #1194 of 1257 Old 05-26-2018, 04:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,139
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adonis-SC79 View Post
Hello,

I just tried to update my Pioneer SC79 with the follwoing firmware:

SC-79 FW May 7 2018 -> Version 1-329-011-733-206

which is available on the Homepage of Pioneer.


What make me surprised, is the fact,

that the new softwareversion has a size of 27 MBs,

the older softwareversion only had about 17 MBs.
Interesting. This is the first and only firmware update I've seen that apparently only applies to the SC-79, rather than the SC-75, 77, & 79.

According to the change history:

Quote:
Ver 1-329-011-733-206
- Fix Audio Interruptions when playback DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1ch.
- Minor bug fixes and performance improvements.
- This particular firmware update is only available via USB installation.
It certainly seems like this should apply to the series which has up until now used the same firmware, although I don't recall any audio interruptions when playing DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1 on my SC-77. Has anyone experienced this on their SC-79s?
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #1195 of 1257 Old 05-30-2018, 09:08 PM
bml
Newbie
 
bml's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
Interesting. This is the first and only firmware update I've seen that apparently only applies to the SC-79, rather than the SC-75, 77, & 79.

According to the change history:



It certainly seems like this should apply to the series which has up until now used the same firmware, although I don't recall any audio interruptions when playing DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1 on my SC-77. Has anyone experienced this on their SC-79s?
Someone at Pioneer messed it up. Firmware 1-329-011-733-206 is for the newer models.

http://intl.pioneer-audiovisual.com/.../downloads.php

I think they mixed up SC-79 with lx79sc.
KC-Technerd likes this.
bml is offline  
post #1196 of 1257 Old 08-27-2018, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
OfSoundMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help - SC-79 now requires unplugging to make video work

A couple of times per week I turn on my system (SC-79 connected to DirecTV receiver) and I only get audio not video. I have to unplug the SC-79 and plug it back in to get the video. I have tried resetting to factory defaults but that didn't help.

Anyone else out there having the same issue?

Thanks,

David

p.s. Unplugging and plugging also corrects the error I get when trying to use the iControlAV5 iPhone app with the SC-79
OfSoundMind is offline  
post #1197 of 1257 Old 10-29-2018, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Angel L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I picked up a hand me down 75 and coming from an 86. This unit is not jamming hard for long times. Maybe 1/2 hour at most and suddenly shuts off and flashes rt side panel blue led on the ipod. Tinkering with it not much help with settings in small/large. It shuts off on 2.2 and 5.2. My old 86 only clipped after hours of loud jam sessions +3+5 db. Amp not hot, my old 86 got hot. I also tried the D Safety, what ever that is on 1 from off and nope. Going to start channel selection to see if one speaker is on its way out.

Pioneer 60 Kuro
Pioneer sc75
Pioneer BDP
Artison Portraits running center only
Artison LCR surrounds
Martin Logan ESL"s
2 Martin Logan Abyss 12's subs

Angel
Angel L. is offline  
post #1198 of 1257 Old 11-08-2018, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Angel L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well here are my results so far trying to diagnose why this amp clips so easy. I can run individual channels for long times at +3 with no problem. I can run center and rears together no problem. I can also run the towers individually and no problem. I run the towers together and it clips. I run one tower and center and rears it clips. I am going to borrow a 2 channel amp from a friend to see what happens. Any suggestions?

Angel
Angel L. is offline  
post #1199 of 1257 Old 11-08-2018, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Angel L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update

Jamming hard a loaner Bob Carver Magnetic Field TFM 42 stereo amp. Daaam, this little guy is one amazing amp! Jamming hard +3 2.2 and no problems. Well not exactly, now I want a 2 channel amp! I am going to try one last ditch effort and run the ML's in bi amp to see if that solves my need for jam sessions. The manual says this is more than enough power, not really.
My old 86 had a much bigger headroom w/o bi amp. So happy the problem is not my ML's!!
Angel L. is offline  
post #1200 of 1257 Old 11-12-2018, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Angel L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the Sc 75 can handle the ML's when bi amped w/o clipping. That is very good news, although I am hunting down a old Sunfire or a new Emotiva to achieve a much bigger stage with more clarity at higher levels.



Angel
Angel L. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off