Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread - Page 42 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 228Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1257 Old 10-20-2019, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Never took the sc-75 apart but have taken apart other amps and replaced fuses. Should be easy to unscrew the top part and just take a look at the fuses. My last amp that died ended up being the power supply. All the fuses were intact.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
dbpaddler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1257 Old 10-29-2019, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Wow... I picked up a Marantz Sr7007 on the cheap. It was an impulse decision when the pioneer app stopped working after the Android Pie update. Just swapped in the Marantz after reconfiguring my theater room allowing me to use my JVC again. Didn't think I'd hear much of a difference, but I just watched the final scenes of Endgame adn was just wowed. Didn't do any calibrating as I just got done rewiring the speakers and wanted to make sure everything worked. Immediately noticed more detail in general and more so in the upper mids and highs. Bass sounded a little tighter.

I feel like I've been missing out. Maybe my Monitor Audios just prefer thr Marantz. Now I want to pull out my old M&K's and see how they fare.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
dbpaddler is offline  
post #1233 of 1257 Old 11-24-2019, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungi43 View Post
I apologize if this has been asked.

I see that the SC 77 does 4k pass through...what does that mean with new HDR compliant TV's? If I purchased, for example, a new HDR player and an ultra HD blu ray player...can I run it through my receiver to get full results or will I need to bypass the SC77 to get the full potential?
Does anyone have a concrete answer to this?

bungi43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1234 of 1257 Old 11-24-2019, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungi43 View Post
Does anyone have a concrete answer to this?
It won't pass hdcp 2.2 copy protection and HDR..

I have passed 4k 24/30.. Non hdcp 2.2 and non HDR..

This is from pioneer feature page also..

4K Ultra HD Pass-through is the next-generation standard of ultra-high video resolution, boasting 3,840 x 2,160 (24 Hz/25 Hz/30 Hz)..

Hope this helps...
bungi43 likes this.
muad'dib is online now  
post #1235 of 1257 Old 11-24-2019, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post
It won't pass hdcp 2.2 copy protection and HDR..

I have passed 4k 24/30.. Non hdcp 2.2 and non HDR..

This is from pioneer feature page also..

4K Ultra HD Pass-through is the next-generation standard of ultra-high video resolution, boasting 3,840 x 2,160 (24 Hz/25 Hz/30 Hz)..

Hope this helps...
Thanks man.

I saw that on their page (that last line)...but since that was out BEFORE HDR...I didn't know if HDR could be passed.

Is all HDR done via HDCP 2.2 then?

I mean, at the end of the day it's no big deal and I can bypass the receiver for the video, but I was hoping not to.


Last edited by bungi43; 11-24-2019 at 01:09 PM.
bungi43 is offline  
post #1236 of 1257 Old 11-24-2019, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungi43 View Post
Thanks man.



I saw that on their page (that last line)...but since that was out BEFORE HDR...I didn't know if HDR could be passed.



Is all HDR done via HDCP 2.2 then?



I mean, at the end of the day it's no big deal and I can bypass the receiver for the video, but I was hoping not to.
Hdr can be sent without hdcp 2.2, but unfortunately this model model of pioneer can't pass it..

At least there are external video switches that can..
bungi43 likes this.
muad'dib is online now  
post #1237 of 1257 Old 11-24-2019, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post
Hdr can be sent without hdcp 2.2, but unfortunately this model model of pioneer can't pass it..

At least there are external video switches that can..
Thanks for the info man, again, I appreciate it.

I have a Elite 502 in my living room...but man oh man the sound on it just does not compare to the SC 77. I have the same (or I did for a while) set of speakers on both. So even though the 502 will pass and do HDR, I don't want it my HT room.

bungi43 is offline  
post #1238 of 1257 Old 11-24-2019, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
There's still many that live in a 1080 world and don't care. Sell it and upgrade if you want keep the setup simple.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
dbpaddler is offline  
post #1239 of 1257 Old 01-24-2020, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
PlanarSpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: New England
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
Are you using the http://www.radio-pioneer.com website to register with vTuner? Click the ACCEPT box at the bottom of the first page (below the disclaimer) to proceed through the registration process.

My registration there is working and I'm not having any difficulty logging in and accessing my station lists, but I don't know if there is any problem with it accepting new registrations.
FYI - Denon in January 2020 is no longer supporting vTuner access (for free) on their legacy products like the AVR-1912. Essentially you need to pay for the vTuner service on a yearly basis in order to search or locate stations. Denon (D&M) and Marantz are also not upgrading the firmware to open up internet radio searching by other means.

Next it will be HEOS (having to pay for HEOS service)...I told the Denon rep - how would you like it if you purchased a new car and in 6 months I make you pay to use the tuning knob on your radio or use the already installed smartphone connectivity software...

//////// Denon AVR-1912 and Bertagni BES planar speakers
PlanarSpeak is offline  
post #1240 of 1257 Old 02-22-2020, 08:46 AM
Member
 
rrgone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanarSpeak View Post
FYI - Denon in January 2020 is no longer supporting vTuner access (for free) on their legacy products like the AVR-1912. Essentially you need to pay for the vTuner service on a yearly basis in order to search or locate stations. Denon (D&M) and Marantz are also not upgrading the firmware to open up internet radio searching by other means.

Next it will be HEOS (having to pay for HEOS service)...I told the Denon rep - how would you like it if you purchased a new car and in 6 months I make you pay to use the tuning knob on your radio or use the already installed smartphone connectivity software...

I've been using my Logitech Squeezebox to listen to IR for quite some time now. It plays nicely through my Pioneer via analog input but the HDMI board crapped out awhile back. The Squeezebox is another dying antique now too though... Looks like I will have to move along to newer hardware soon. I try to get my money's worth before I replace anything.
rrgone is offline  
post #1241 of 1257 Old 03-11-2020, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Disregard...I'm a moron.


Last edited by bungi43; 03-11-2020 at 12:27 PM.
bungi43 is offline  
post #1242 of 1257 Old 04-11-2020, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 38
So...I think it's time to upgrade from my SC-77. I'm not as impressed with the Elite stuff currently. What would be a 2020 AVR that is comparable in sound/output to the SC-77?
I don't have an extremely fancy setup, but this unit seems fairly powerful compared to the SCLX502 I have in my living room which is okay, but not great.


I'm considering the Marantz Sr6014.

bungi43 is offline  
post #1243 of 1257 Old 05-19-2020, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
afterlife2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida(Broward County)
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Bump😀 Hi guys I have a SC-79 and not getting any sound via hdmi. Video looks great though hdmi. Please any suggestions would be of big help. Thank you!
afterlife2 is offline  
post #1244 of 1257 Old 05-20-2020, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
afterlife2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida(Broward County)
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Thanks guys! More info. I get a great picture with Blu-ray via any hdmi input and no sound. I did a manual setup. Do you guys think if I buy the Mcacc mic it will work? I tried every setting and nothing. Only sound I get is from rca input with analog direct on the AVR. Stereo mode I get no sound just analog direct. Any help would be appreciated.
afterlife2 is offline  
post #1245 of 1257 Old 06-13-2020, 08:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Should I 9.1?

Curious (if anybody else is still running on e of these) if there would be any point in setting up front height speakers for 9.1 with this unit? If I am using TrueHD and other 7.1 signals, will any of the DSP modes add anything to those height channels> Or do they only get used in fully synthetic modes like Music-EX?
mprachar is offline  
post #1246 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Mine has been sitting. Keep meaning to hook it back up to do some more comparisons to my Marantz. Been so long, I definitely wouldn't know the answer. I'm just running 5.2 with 7.2 at the ready. Speakers are up. Just haven't run the wire.

Wouldn't the manual be able to tell you?

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
dbpaddler is offline  
post #1247 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I read through it yesterday, but I couldn't find an answer...
mprachar is offline  
post #1248 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Actually....

In reading the appropriate section over again a few times I think it's becoming more clear. The simple answer is "yes" the synthetic upmixes are available in multi-channel decoding. I think I have always assumed that that those modes discard (or at least mess with) the original studio per-channel signals in favor of their own decoding. Now I am wondering if they leave those channels alone and ONLY extract the necessary info to fill in empty channels? Sounds like a question for a different thread...

Thanks for spurring me to RTFM again
mprachar is offline  
post #1249 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbpaddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprachar View Post
Actually....



In reading the appropriate section over again a few times I think it's becoming more clear. The simple answer is "yes" the synthetic upmixes are available in multi-channel decoding. I think I have always assumed that that those modes discard (or at least mess with) the original studio per-channel signals in favor of their own decoding. Now I am wondering if they leave those channels alone and ONLY extract the necessary info to fill in empty channels? Sounds like a question for a different thread...



Thanks for spurring me to RTFM again
That'd be interesting to see if it just extrapolates out to fill those other channels leaving the originals intact or completely makes it their own.

And yeah, I've gotten to the point where my time is more valuable than just fiddling, trial and error and what not in figuring things out. So I'm happy to read the manual if it gets me moving forward and on to other things quicker.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk
dbpaddler is offline  
post #1250 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprachar View Post
Curious (if anybody else is still running on e of these) if there would be any point in setting up front height speakers for 9.1 with this unit? If I am using TrueHD and other 7.1 signals, will any of the DSP modes add anything to those height channels> Or do they only get used in fully synthetic modes like Music-EX?
My understanding is that the front height channels are only used in Dolby Pro Logic IIz and DTS Neo:X modes. I also believe that the front height channels are completely derived/extrapolated in Dolby Pro Logic IIz. However DTS Neo:X is supposed to have the capability of mixing and recovering 11.1 channels including front height and front width, as well as deriving/extrapolating front height and/or front width from soundtracks that aren't mixed with those channels. I'm not sure if any sources with Neo:X audio including front height/width channels other than the "Expendables 2" Blu-ray Disc exist.

Here's some links with some info that might help. Sorry, I didn't find much for DTS Neo:X. It seems like it was forgotten in the wake of Neural:X and DTS:X.

Dolby Pro Logic IIz

First listen: Dolby Pro Logic IIz 'height' surround falls flat

Dolby Pro Logic IIz: Taking a second listen
mprachar likes this.

Oppo UDP-203 (UDP20X-65-0131), Apple TV 4K 32GB tvOS 13.4.6 (17L570)
Pioneer SC-77 (1–149–020–516–120), M&K Sound S150II/S150T/X12
LG OLED65C9AUA (04.80.03), CalMAN Home for LG 2019 R3, i1Display EODIS3–XR Rev. B–02
KC-Technerd is online now  
post #1251 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks!

I had found some of this info this morning, but your links look like they'll be even more specific to my use case.
mprachar is offline  
post #1252 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprachar View Post
Thanks!

I had found some of this info this morning, but your links look like they'll be even more specific to my use case.
OK - I read the CNET reviews - looks like Dolby didn't give them any setup guidance or they ignored it. BOTH times they "tested" the height speakers, they were only a few feet above the mains which is WAY below the minimum difference angle recommended for front height speakers (45 degrees) - no wonder they "didn't work"

Oh well, that was 11 years ago...

Thanks again!
mprachar is offline  
post #1253 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprachar View Post
WAY below the minimum difference angle recommended for front height speakers (45 degrees) - no wonder they "didn't work"
45 degrees? I think that may be the placement recommendation placement recommendation for overhead speakers (Atmos), but not for front height speakers (ProLogic IIz).

Dolby's current recommendation for 9.1 Speaker Placement (which I believe is unchanged since CNET wrote their articles):
Quote:
Front height speakers add a vertical dimension to surround sound listening. The best placement is directly above the front left and right speakers and facing the listening position. For maximum effect, they should be at least three feet above the front speakers.
Pioneer's recommendation:
Quote:
Place the left and right front height speakers at least one meter (3.3ft.) directly above the left and right front speakers.
They're still FRONT height with IIz, not OVERHEAD like Atmos.

Oppo UDP-203 (UDP20X-65-0131), Apple TV 4K 32GB tvOS 13.4.6 (17L570)
Pioneer SC-77 (1–149–020–516–120), M&K Sound S150II/S150T/X12
LG OLED65C9AUA (04.80.03), CalMAN Home for LG 2019 R3, i1Display EODIS3–XR Rev. B–02

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 06-14-2020 at 07:36 PM.
KC-Technerd is online now  
post #1254 of 1257 Old 06-14-2020, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I can find the old, pre-Atmos, diagram I was referring to, but in the attached (current) diagram they have a recommended angle for FH speakers of 20-30 degrees. I seem to recall the old recommendation was 30 - 45 degrees which would make sense since there were no overheads involved back then. Regardless, looking at those CNET pics the FH's were on tall speaker stands, BARELY 3 ft. above the (quite tall) mains. And if they were sitting back any reasonable distance it would have been a pretty slim angle for sure.

Anyway, I have really tall ceilings so I am hoping for decent results. I'm already using an 18GBps HDMI switcher to route the UHD directly to my TV, so I am hoping this small surround improvement keeps me happy with my receiver another year or two...

Thanks again for the conversation - have a great night!

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9.1.6 Overhead.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	2742560  
mprachar is offline  
post #1255 of 1257 Old 06-15-2020, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprachar View Post
I can find the old, pre-Atmos, diagram I was referring to, but in the attached (current) diagram they have a recommended angle for FH speakers of 20-30 degrees. I seem to recall the old recommendation was 30 - 45 degrees which would make sense since there were no overheads involved back then. Regardless, looking at those CNET pics the FH's were on tall speaker stands, BARELY 3 ft. above the (quite tall) mains. And if they were sitting back any reasonable distance it would have been a pretty slim angle for sure.
The "current" diagram you attached is labeled "9.1.6" which is an Atmos overhead setup (from the 9.1.6 Mounted / Overhead Speakers Setup Guide), not a ProLogic IIz front height setup. The first image below is the one where I thought you might have seen 45 degrees (Dolby's current 9.1.6 for Atmos). I don't remember seeing any vertical angle recommendations until overhead speakers for Atmos. For ProLogic IIz front heights it was always 3 feet or 1 meter DIRECTLY above the front L & R speakers.

ProLogic IIz with front heights is 9.1 (or 9.2). If you see anything like 9.1.2, 9.1.4, or 9.1.6, it's referencing Atmos with the .2, .4, & .6 of the last digit being the number of overhead speakers. In ProLogic IIz the 9 in the first digit includes the L & R Front Height speakers. With Atmos the 9 refers to the inclusion of L & R wide speakers.

The second and third images below are Dolby's current recommendation for 9.1 setup (Front Height ProLogic IIz) as I referenced in my post above: 9.1 Speaker Placement
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-06-15 at 7.55.27 AM.png
Views:	4
Size:	150.1 KB
ID:	2742632   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-06-15 at 8.09.53 AM.png
Views:	4
Size:	523.2 KB
ID:	2742638   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-06-15 at 8.13.15 AM.png
Views:	5
Size:	527.1 KB
ID:	2742644  

Oppo UDP-203 (UDP20X-65-0131), Apple TV 4K 32GB tvOS 13.4.6 (17L570)
Pioneer SC-77 (1–149–020–516–120), M&K Sound S150II/S150T/X12
LG OLED65C9AUA (04.80.03), CalMAN Home for LG 2019 R3, i1Display EODIS3–XR Rev. B–02

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 06-15-2020 at 06:35 AM.
KC-Technerd is online now  
post #1256 of 1257 Old 06-15-2020, 07:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
The "current" diagram you attached is labeled "9.1.6" which is an Atmos overhead setup (from the 9.1.6 Mounted / Overhead Speakers Setup Guide), not a ProLogic IIz front height setup. The first image below is the one where I thought you might have seen 45 degrees (Dolby's current 9.1.6 for Atmos). I don't remember seeing any vertical angle recommendations until overhead speakers for Atmos. For ProLogic IIz front heights it was always 3 feet or 1 meter DIRECTLY above the front L & R speakers.

ProLogic IIz with front heights is 9.1 (or 9.2). If you see anything like 9.1.2, 9.1.4, or 9.1.6, it's referencing Atmos with the .2, .4, & .6 of the last digit being the number of overhead speakers. In ProLogic IIz the 9 in the first digit includes the L & R Front Height speakers. With Atmos the 9 refers to the inclusion of L & R wide speakers.

The second and third images below are Dolby's current recommendation for 9.1 setup (Front Height ProLogic IIz) as I referenced in my post above: 9.1 Speaker Placement
Thanks for the current diagram. Either they have amended things since Atmos became a thing, or I just remember that old diagram/spec completely wrong

I still plan on going pretty high with those FH's ~6ft above my mains and then angled down slightly - seem good?
mprachar is offline  
post #1257 of 1257 Old 06-15-2020, 09:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprachar View Post
Thanks for the current diagram. Either they have amended things since Atmos became a thing, or I just remember that old diagram/spec completely wrong

I still plan on going pretty high with those FH's ~6ft above my mains and then angled down slightly - seem good?
Sounds like that should work well to me, and fit with Dolby's recommendations. I've never been clear on what ProLogic IIz actually extracts as height information to play on the front height speakers. There's not really information in the source audio to determine what should go to those speakers. I doubt I'll ever try front heights (or front wides) with mine. I'm of similar opinion to CNET, that money is better spent on getting the best reproduction from channels in the source material (L,C,R, SL, SR, SBL, SBR, LFE).

Oppo UDP-203 (UDP20X-65-0131), Apple TV 4K 32GB tvOS 13.4.6 (17L570)
Pioneer SC-77 (1–149–020–516–120), M&K Sound S150II/S150T/X12
LG OLED65C9AUA (04.80.03), CalMAN Home for LG 2019 R3, i1Display EODIS3–XR Rev. B–02
KC-Technerd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off