Krell Foundation Owners Thread - Page 159 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 680Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 5062 Old 04-29-2016, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have re-listed my Foundation 4K and Chorus 5200 on Audiogon, if anyone here knows someone that wants a package. Prefer local though just because of the Chorus but we will see.
scpanel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 5062 Old 04-30-2016, 03:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
I have re-listed my Foundation 4K and Chorus 5200 on Audiogon, if anyone here knows someone that wants a package. Prefer local though just because of the Chorus but we will see.
What are you replacing them with, if anything?
artur9 is offline  
post #4743 of 5062 Old 04-30-2016, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
What are you replacing them with, if anything?
Actually a receiver as I am scaling back significantly.
scpanel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4744 of 5062 Old 04-30-2016, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
Actually a receiver as I am scaling back significantly.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #4745 of 5062 Old 05-01-2016, 04:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Anyone else unable to get a connection to Krell's Update servers to check if there is new updates for products? It just sits at the downloading portion for several minutes then says error
JimSatala77 is offline  
post #4746 of 5062 Old 05-01-2016, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
Anyone else unable to get a connection to Krell's Update servers to check if there is new updates for products? It just sits at the downloading portion for several minutes then says error
Yes, I have same problem!
vvuuren is offline  
post #4747 of 5062 Old 05-01-2016, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
Anyone else unable to get a connection to Krell's Update servers to check if there is new updates for products? It just sits at the downloading portion for several minutes then says error
Did you contact Krell?
vvuuren is offline  
post #4748 of 5062 Old 05-03-2016, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jsetliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvuuren View Post
Did you contact Krell?
I had that issue when I first attempted to download 1.43. It took two days and several attempts before I finally got it. Also I have to go into network setup and change from Static to DHCP before I can get network download to work.

Krell Foundation 4K, Parasound Halo A21 and A51, Martin Logan Ethos x 4 (L,R,LS, RS), Martin Logan Stage X (Center), Kimber Kable 12TC speaker cable; Velodyne Digital Drive 18 Plus sub, Oppo 103D, Kimber Kable KCAG interconnects; Panasonic TC-P65VT30 65" monitor.
jsetliff is offline  
post #4749 of 5062 Old 05-03-2016, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsetliff View Post
Also I have to go into network setup and change from Static to DHCP before I can get network download to work.
Interesting. I wonder if that is why my network updates always fail???

You might have stumbled on a bug that Krell could fix.

My gear is all packed up folowing a house move so I can't test at the moment.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #4750 of 5062 Old 05-03-2016, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 92
My update just ran without problem.
vvuuren is offline  
post #4751 of 5062 Old 05-03-2016, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
badbenzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lake Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Called krell and they still don't have the parts sorted to do my 4k upgrade.
badbenzz is offline  
post #4752 of 5062 Old 05-04-2016, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbenzz View Post
Called krell and they still don't have the parts sorted to do my 4k upgrade.
I thought they had their problems sorted out!😒
vvuuren is offline  
post #4753 of 5062 Old 05-04-2016, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
badbenzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lake Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Apparently not
badbenzz is offline  
post #4754 of 5062 Old 05-04-2016, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
I suspect there will be another run on these 4K parts as the new TVs et al come out.
artur9 is offline  
post #4755 of 5062 Old 05-04-2016, 09:06 PM
Member
 
SHadoWFoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange_GT3 View Post
Interesting. I wonder if that is why my network updates always fail???

You might have stumbled on a bug that Krell could fix.

My gear is all packed up folowing a house move so I can't test at the moment.
Is the fw update good for non 4K unit? If not, what was the latest version for non 4K unit?

Thanks

Shadow Fox

SHadoWFoX is offline  
post #4756 of 5062 Old 05-04-2016, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHadoWFoX View Post
Is the fw update good for non 4K unit? If not, what was the latest version for non 4K unit?

Thanks
I can't remember the version for the non-4k unit and can't check at the moment. Netowrk updates have not worked for me for ages but did once work. Maybe that was before I set up a static IP address.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #4757 of 5062 Old 05-05-2016, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHadoWFoX View Post
Is the fw update good for non 4K unit? If not, what was the latest version for non 4K unit?

Thanks
I have v1.29 on mine from Jan 11 2016.
artur9 is offline  
post #4758 of 5062 Old 05-06-2016, 01:04 AM
Member
 
SHadoWFoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
I have v1.29 on mine from Jan 11 2016.
Thanks. I have 1.26 update is in progress now.

Shadow Fox

SHadoWFoX is offline  
post #4759 of 5062 Old 05-07-2016, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Krell Will Be Debuting new gear soon, Website has been altered to make room for new sources and processors
JimSatala77 is offline  
post #4760 of 5062 Old 05-21-2016, 01:49 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,158
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1800 Post(s)
Liked: 3579
please help getting ARC to work

got a Sony 940D XBR display and using Amazon to stream 4K

want to feed audio to the Krell using the ARC HDMI input 4 from the XBR to Krell Z2 out

in the menu I set an unused input audio to ARC2 and select that input

but no audio: turned on ARC on the XBR/turned off TV speakers

edit: got it to work for some XBR inputs: just not Amazon streaming: so I will post over in the Sony thread

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner



Last edited by markrubin; 05-21-2016 at 02:26 PM.
markrubin is offline  
post #4761 of 5062 Old 05-21-2016, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
please help getting ARC to work

got a Sony 940D XBR display and using Amazon to stream 4K

want to feed audio to the Krell using the ARC HDMI input 4 from the XBR to Krell Z2 out

in the menu I set an unused input audio to ARC2 and select that input

but no audio: turned on ARC on the XBR/turned off TV speakers

edit: got it to work for some XBR inputs: just not Amazon streaming: so I will post over in the Sony thread
I couldn't get ARC to work for the Skype app on my LG Smart TV. Maybe it is an app issue... that said, Netflix works fine .
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #4762 of 5062 Old 05-21-2016, 09:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
edit: got it to work for some XBR inputs: just not Amazon streaming: so I will post over in the Sony thread
On my Panny you have to use a specific HDMI port for ARC to work. Maybe it's like that with the Sony.
artur9 is offline  
post #4763 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 06:33 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,158
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1800 Post(s)
Liked: 3579
my Foundation 4K will not work with a new Samsung K8500 4K BD player with an HDR disc

when the Samsung is connected directly to the Sony 940D is works

do you think Krell will provide an update for this?

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner


markrubin is offline  
post #4764 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Did Krell make a model "FPB 750cx" mono amp? I've seen this listed a few time around the internet but not on krell's website. I'm familiar with the "FPB 750mcx" ones retailed for $27,000 back in the 90's. When was the released date & discontinued date for the FPB 750mcx ones
acemorgan is offline  
post #4765 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 12:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,158
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1800 Post(s)
Liked: 3579
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
my Foundation 4K will not work with a new Samsung K8500 4K BD player with an HDR disc

when the Samsung is connected directly to the Sony 940D is works

do you think Krell will provide an update for this?
Krell responded the 4K Foundation hardware will not support HDR and there is no upgrade path being considered at this time

from what I read on other threads, where several switchers/processors were tested, only the Marantz NR 1607 will support HDR: but note it has only one HDMI out: I think any HDR rated processor/receiver will be like this: there will be no path for a splitter, or matrix switch

not a big deal since I can run HDR direct to the display: and HDMI audio out to the Krell

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner



Last edited by markrubin; 05-23-2016 at 04:00 PM.
markrubin is offline  
post #4766 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
Krell responded the 4K Foundation hardware will not support HDR and there is no upgrade path being considered at this time
That kills any desire I had for the 4K upgrade. IMO, HDR is the only thing worth having in the new HDMI landscape.

The 4K difference isn't supposed to be visible from where I sit and I have no need for Atmos/X/etc.

But I can see HDR making a big difference on the chiaroscuro movies like Blade Runner. Or Dark City.
artur9 is offline  
post #4767 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,985
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Don't forget Wide Color Gamut...that's pretty impressive too. When I go back to "regular" Blu-ray or TV after watching a UHD disc, the colors looks so bland by comparison. What's amazing is that there's still further to go since we are only getting P3 at this point...can't wait until we can do the full 2020 gamut!

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #4768 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 05:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,357
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
Don't forget Wide Color Gamut...that's pretty impressive too. When I go back to "regular" Blu-ray or TV after watching a UHD disc, the colors looks so bland by comparison. What's amazing is that there's still further to go since we are only getting P3 at this point...can't wait until we can do the full 2020 gamut!
Interesting. Which makes more difference - HDR or Wide Color Gamut?
artur9 is offline  
post #4769 of 5062 Old 05-23-2016, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,985
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Interesting. Which makes more difference - HDR or Wide Color Gamut?
Hard to separate the two from one another. The HDR is not only great for bright highlights, but the shades of gray on the bottom end are much better versus what we have with REC.709 colorspace. Personally, I would have loved to have seen HDR and WCG with 1080P...the increased resolution is the least impressive aspect of 4KUHD BD to me.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #4770 of 5062 Old 05-28-2016, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello!

I have a problem with my Foundation and PS4 - when audio on Playstation set to PCM mode, Foundation some time working correctly in PCM Multichannel 7.1, but later it resets to PCM stereo while game running. If game restarted or source on Foundation changed to other and back - it change to correct PCM 7.1 mode again.

Do you know how to solve this issue?
Thanks.
zver_mephi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off